View Full Version : Pat Scully is new manager

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Monkfish
25/03/2009, 5:29 PM
So what happens when a job comes up in a few months with one of the bigs clubs in Dublin can any of ye honestly say that Pat wont be tempted to take it the club will be left in chaos again

So we should just get a local nobody who will get us nowhere just cause he wont run away? :confused:

Very much a smalltime moaning attitude in your first ever post, maybe you are more suited to the junior forums?

LK37oldskool
25/03/2009, 7:33 PM
So what happens when a job comes up in a few months with one of the bigs clubs in Dublin can any of ye honestly say that Pat wont be tempted to take it the club will be left in chaos again

Another wum :mad:

trueview6
25/03/2009, 8:06 PM
So we should just get a local nobody who will get us nowhere just cause he wont run away? :confused:

Very much a smalltime moaning attitude in your first ever post, maybe you are more suited to the junior forums?
Sharkfish whats wrong with the junior forums ye have most of our team without junior status there wouldnt be a limerick side. Barrett,colbert,hayes,chucka,purcell,cosgrave,heff o,harrington,wall,robbie kel,purcell,whites,barry ryan,considine,judge,ronan hanrahan,bobby tier,owen sully.

pimpong
25/03/2009, 9:38 PM
Sharkfish whats wrong with the junior forums ye have most of our team without junior status there wouldnt be a limerick side. Barrett,colbert,hayes,chucka,purcell,cosgrave,heff o,harrington,wall,robbie kel,purcell,whites,barry ryan,considine,judge,ronan hanrahan,bobby tier,owen sully.
You mean had and 3 or so of these only played with the A side last year wih limerick

25/03/2009, 10:18 PM

Well if he does go off to a Dublin club they will have to buy Limerick out of his contract so doubt he would just up and leave mid way through the season....especially if Limerick are doing well.

Square Heir
25/03/2009, 11:22 PM
Great appointment! I really hope this is the start of something good for Limerick FC. Would love to see them in the premier. A club with huge potential. Best of Luck with Scully.

fire away
26/03/2009, 8:09 AM
great appointment by the club hope scully can get the team playing some good football again and stick around to finish what he started.

eduardo
26/03/2009, 8:38 AM
all im saying is that rather than going into this with blind optimism and believe me as a regular supporter of Limerick I hope scully works out we should be wary of a manger who obviously wants to work at higher level and who could easily clear off taking the good young talent that kerley put together last season withn him . having an opinion different to yours dosent make me a moaner hopefully im not proved right

Football Alien
26/03/2009, 9:26 AM
it'd be great for limerick if he can use the talent he has at his diposal with limerick (and there is a lot of potential/talent up there) and bring in 2 or 3 experienced heads with prem experience and i reckon Limerick will be bang in the middle of a promotion battle!!

Football Alien
26/03/2009, 9:34 AM
all im saying is that rather than going into this with blind optimism and believe me as a regular supporter of Limerick I hope scully works out we should be wary of a manger who obviously wants to work at higher level and who could easily clear off taking the good young talent that kerley put together last season withn him . having an opinion different to yours dosent make me a moaner hopefully im not proved right

lads every one on this site is entitled to their opinion, at the end of the day thats what the forum is about!! just because people follow junior football as well as limerick doesnt mean they should be berated for voicing their opinion, regardless if it differs or not from anyone else

KevB76
26/03/2009, 12:27 PM

Whats your point?
That Scully will leave Limerick is guaranteed, whether thats in 3 months or 3 years. Same as every other manager at every other club will eventually leave.
Its what happens in the interim that matters. The club will survive post-Scully, and there's a very good chance that he'll raise the profile of the club in the meantime giving us a taste of success and increasing the support base.

You need to learn to enjoy the good times while they last my friend, we'll all be dead in 100 years :)

van der wheil
26/03/2009, 2:32 PM
Does anyone know if he will be bringing in his own backroom staff or be using the likes of Paul O Donnell and Mike Shields?

trueview6
26/03/2009, 2:56 PM
Id say they will have to take a step back,scully will bring in hes own people have no doubt is there a 20s league.

26/03/2009, 3:02 PM
we'll all be dead in 100 years :)

Speak for yourself Kev. :)

is there a 20s league.

Yes.

26/03/2009, 3:04 PM
Id say they will have to take a step back,scully will bring in hes own people have no doubt is there a 20s league.

And an A League....Limerick in this again this year??

26/03/2009, 3:05 PM
And an A League....Limerick in this again this year??

Nope.

Football Alien
26/03/2009, 3:09 PM
Nope.

not a bad thing Limerick not in the A league because its an added expense and not that big a squad as it is. the U20's gives good competitive football to the young lads comin through

Monkfish
26/03/2009, 3:45 PM
Sharkfish whats wrong with the junior forums

Its full of posts that start with 'I heard' and 'I was told' and. whats with list of players? We'll keep Wayne, Paddy and Tommy you can have the rest ;)
Greatest of respect for the Whites though.

ramblersnb1
26/03/2009, 4:42 PM
How is Martin Deady getting on with ye ?

Boroman
26/03/2009, 10:29 PM
what a great appointment for Limerick FC
the club is moving in the right direction
good man Jack and best of luck against Shels friday night lads

trueview6
27/03/2009, 8:23 AM
what a great appointment for Limerick FC
the club is moving in the right direction
good man Jack and best of luck against Shels friday night lads
Is there any truth shane o hanlon is going too be scullys adviser.

27/03/2009, 10:24 AM
Is there any truth shane o hanlon is going too be scullys adviser. Don't know....is there any truth that Jack McCarthy lll is playing in goals tonight??:rolleyes:

limfan
27/03/2009, 10:44 AM
IMO i dont think there is a better manager around to take us to the premier... he led shamrocks rovers there, brought killkenny from nearly extintion at the time to new heights... his managerial skills are arguably perfect for a club like ours...
If we had him in january and he built up hes squad of players i would have no doubts we would be a serious contender for promotion.. My fingers are crossed that we do a top 3-4 finish and he takes us up next season. My only reason for thinkin we wont do it this year is only coz of the fact that he inherited sum1 elses squad. Then again if we can do wel to june and he gets hes own players in then il get excited :)

KevB76
27/03/2009, 12:27 PM
Maybe I'm wrong but I dont see him bringing in a raft of new players, not this season anyway. We already have a lot of Limericks best players (although there are a few more around in various junior clubs) and they're playing for the right reasons (i.e. they're getting paid a pittance but theyre playing for pride and because they want to be involved with Limerick).

They are paid so little because the clubs income is very low as we only get crowds of 600 twice a month. That wont change overnight, and I cant imagine that Scully would be able to bring other players from outside because the money isnt there for them (personally I dont want a team of Dubs, we have enough talent in our own region).

Westernblue
27/03/2009, 4:33 PM
I think you have to be positive about Pat Scullys appointment. He is a high profile manager who will attract better quality players to the club. He has proved himself in Div 1 and was given too little time with Rovers in my opinion. I can see him taking you into the shake up for promotion. Best of luck with him.

no17 fan
27/03/2009, 4:36 PM
Maybe I'm wrong but I dont see him bringing in a raft of new players, not this season anyway. We already have a lot of Limericks best players (although there are a few more around in various junior clubs) and they're playing for the right reasons (i.e. they're getting paid a pittance but theyre playing for pride and because they want to be involved with Limerick).

They are paid so little because the clubs income is very low as we only get crowds of 600 twice a month. That wont change overnight, and I cant imagine that Scully would be able to bring other players from outside because the money isnt there for them (personally I dont want a team of Dubs, we have enough talent in our own region).

i wouldn't like to see a team of dubs playing in limerick jersey's but i have to say pat scully is a great appointment for limerick and some experienced players form other parts of the country including dublin would do no harm, I'm delighted though good luck to scully and the lads for the season

da bishop
27/03/2009, 11:27 PM
lads this slagging off ...juniorballers...is getting a bit tedious,give it a rest.scully is a good choice high profile and a good record.as regards wages there is a sugar daddy imo who,s backing this which is great cause we got a manager who with this squad should have us challenging for promotion.yes there is a chance scully might be tempted else where if a vacancy turns up but for now have no doubt he will give his all.scully as his previous record shows wont be afraid to crack the whip so if players are not doing what he expects we will see new faces,probably loan signings,however the squad is there for him to mould as he sees fit.can we go up....yes we can.

Denis The Red
27/03/2009, 11:55 PM
Did Pat take over team duties tonight? If he did, from those who were at the game, how did he fare?

28/03/2009, 6:11 PM
will pat live in limerick lads?

28/03/2009, 6:26 PM
Dave Cambell was in the dugout with Pat Scully last night. Scully lives in Naas Co Kildare and its a one hour forty min drive so not too bad.

28/03/2009, 6:30 PM
Dave Cambell was in the dugout with Pat Scully last night. Scully lives in Naas Co Kildare and its a one hour forty min drive so not too bad.

Ex Pats player Dave Campbell? He was manager of Rovers u21 side for the last couple of years. Didn't realise he has left them

29/03/2009, 7:38 PM
:D yeah I'm a big fan...

Cheers for info.

KevB76
30/03/2009, 12:34 PM
Did Pat take over team duties tonight? If he did, from those who were at the game, how did he fare?

We were very poor first half, his second half substitutions completely turned things around. He also put on a striker for a defender (Hayes for O'Brien), that sort of postive action is not something we've been used to seeing.

Also he seemed to have good interaction with the players, he was down at the gate shaking their hands and giving them encouragement as they were heading to the dressing rooms afterward. When they came out for the warm up they all looked fairly positive, in stark contrast to the depression that was evident after the UCD game.

By the way special mention for Brendan Daly who I thought played very well when he came on in midfield 2nd half.

KevB76
30/03/2009, 12:46 PM
Did anyone hear the Pat Scully interview with Spin South West yesterday (recorded after the macth on Friday)?
The jist of it was that he was saying there is an awful lot of work to do to build up all aspects of the club so that when we get promoted we will be preapered and dont just come straight back down the following season.
He also said he had no intention of coming here just for 6 months, that he sees it as more of a longer term commitment.

LK37oldskool
30/03/2009, 12:59 PM
he also gave a similar interview to the Leader. good to see he's got media savy.heard more from Pat in the last few days then i did from Kearly for the whole of last season.
He also states he's here for the long haul and his confidence will certainly rub off on the players.

balanced view
30/03/2009, 3:01 PM
heres the link for the leader interview. very reassuring. he seems to be in it for the longterm which is exactly what we need.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/Pat-Scully-39I-think-the.5121209.jp

KevB76
01/04/2009, 7:56 AM
An OUTRAGEOUS offside decision cost us a draw against the team that went and beat fingal a week later no wonder they were downbeat after the game..deedy went left full and scanlon went left wing 4 hayes 2 go up front still playing 4 4 2 so wat u on about the formation and tactics stayed the same????

So are you telling me you didnt see any difference in the players mood?
And you are saying Scully's substitiutions made no differnece to the game?
So wat u on about ?

trueview6
01/04/2009, 11:35 AM
Is pat coming down for training,or is there someone else doing it.

01/04/2009, 3:01 PM
Is pat coming down for training,or is there someone else doing it.

Scully is taking the training. I would expect nothing less really cause if he isn't watching them train he has no way of picking his best team.

Boroman
01/04/2009, 5:47 PM
As it should be

trueview6
01/04/2009, 10:07 PM
Scully is taking the training. I would expect nothing less really cause if he isn't watching them train he has no way of picking his best team.
When noel king was manager he only came down on match days which was a shambles,anynews on the marketsfield are limerick moving or did talks break down.

01/04/2009, 10:43 PM
When noel king was manager he only came down on match days which was a shambles,anynews on the marketsfield are limerick moving or did talks break down.

come to the grayhound night on sat and find out all you need to know.

leather
02/04/2009, 10:10 AM
loose the txt speak

trueview6
02/04/2009, 11:40 AM
loose the txt speak
Ha ha ha ha ha yes sir:D

KevB76
02/04/2009, 12:43 PM
1 of em was forced cus calla was injured the other was c.mid for a c.mid because googins was on a yellow and an accident waiting 2 happen d oter was hayes for e.o.brien which was an obvious 1..limerick wer on top from d 1st minute of 2nd half til d last min..d boys done well wen they came on 2 b fair..but the shape r tactics never changed just the clientel...and im glad that your happy 2 c d boys upbeat after losing a game they shud have got at least a draw from!!!!!!!!!!!!

How did you think Pat Scully fared on his first game in charge?
Thats the question that was asked to which I offered my opinion.

Which just make it clear for you is:
1. He made substitutions which had an immmediate positive influence on our game.
2. There was an obvious differnce in the mood of the players in contrast to the UCD game, both of which we lost by a goal to potential title contenders. (I put that difference in mood down to Pat Scully).

It hard to tell from your posts what point you're trying to make.

You seem to be saying that the substitutions made no difference or that they were obvious therefore no credit due to the manager - dont you remember some of the bizzarre substitutions our previous manager made time and again, and all the obvious ones that werent made? Short memory.

You seem to agree there was a difference in the players mood between the two similar matches, yet at the same time you dont seem to grasp the significance of it. Would you not agree that the confidence of the squad has any bearing on how they will perform as the season progresses?

What is your opinion on Pat Scully on his first Limerick match?

KevB76
03/04/2009, 8:13 AM
You actually come across pretty well when you give your own opinion rather than drawing bizarre conclusions from somebody elses's (how you could read anything I said about Scully as a slight on the players is beyond me :confused: ).
By the way I agree 100% with everything you said in your last post :ball:

trueview6
03/04/2009, 1:40 PM
Pat scully done reasonably well for his 1st game in charge considering the preperation that the team has had for this season..It will take him time to sort it out hopefully before we fall to far behind..my point is that the players have been superb when they have only had 1 pre-season game to get sharp..especialy against ucd&shelbourne who wud have had prepared properly for the start of the season..people get carried away with managers influences&forget the most important thing that is the bunch of lads who have given 110% for the shirt so far this season,aswell as dealing with a host of injuries..If we were as sharp&as fit as we were the back end of last season do you think we wud be top of the table now?? We have nothing to fear from ucd&shels if scully can get us back to that level..Why the negativity towards mike kerly he had us at a level that wud have put us right up in the top 2 or 3 at least??...lets judge him over the next 3 weeks when we expect 9 points from the next 3 games and every one is back fit..if he can make us play attractive football on that surface in jackman then he cud be THE SPECIAL ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After that you are the special one!

Buller
03/04/2009, 3:00 PM
The chant "Who needs Mourinho, we've got Pat Scullyho" spring to mind... Was only sang once and even still was embarrisingly shocking!
Scully wont have ye playing attractive football, but he will get results given time.

03/04/2009, 3:28 PM
Scully wont have ye playing attractive football, but he will get results given time.

I'll take results any day of the week.

Monkfish
03/04/2009, 4:16 PM
I'll take results any day of the week.

Thats not all you'll take! :p:p