View Full Version : Man U
Pages :
[
6]
DeLorean
25/09/2009, 4:14 PM
Expect some smart remarks to this Roadend;)
No need. His :D said it all really.
Nah to be honest I don't know much about either's form at international level. Thought Anderson would have got more game time alright but wouldn't be well up on the situation. Lucas was obviously highly regarded at one stage anyway, captaining them at underage.
Brazil have already qualified haven't they? I think most people would prefer their players not to travel to South America for meaningless games mid season, but whatever floats your boat I guess.
DeLorean
30/09/2009, 1:20 PM
Looking forward to his return. I think he will add an awful lot, he's a real big game player too I think. Hopefully he won't break down again but it's surely a real possibility.
United handed Hargreaves boost (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/m/man_utd/8155610.stm)
Owen injured again i believe. Him and Duff take crocks to a new level.
DeLorean
01/10/2009, 9:51 AM
Owen injured again i believe. Him and Duff take crocks to a new level.
Hamstring- 3 weeks they reckon. With 2 handy enough home games and an international break coming up the timing was ok. Hopefully it's just an isolated injury but with Owen you'd always be fearful it's more than that.
Had a lot of isolated injuries over the years. Glad we didn't sign him now. Media would go into over drive on Rafa.
DeLorean
01/10/2009, 11:33 AM
Had a lot of isolated injuries over the years. Glad we didn't sign him now. Media would go into over drive on Rafa.
Like I thought at the time, it was a no risk signing. Aquilani is far more risky if you ask me.
01/10/2009, 11:33 AM
He can stay injured all year for all i care, the goal against Man City was more than enough :D
Berbatov played very well last night when he came on so if he can preform like that on a consistant basis Owen won't get near the team even when fit.
01/10/2009, 12:52 PM
Rio Ferdinand is gone to the dogs altogether, turned his arse to the cross for the goal last night. Thats the 3rd or 4th time he's done that this season and had it result in a goal!
01/10/2009, 2:30 PM
Vidic looked shaky as well last night.
The 2 of them are only coming back from injury so it'll take a few games to get back to their best i reckon.
Vidic should have walked last night, very lucky to escape a 2nd red card.
01/10/2009, 5:15 PM
Vidic should have walked last night, very lucky to escape a 2nd red card.
Jeez, usually just the one is enough to end someone's game.
Like I thought at the time, it was a no risk signing. Aquilani is far more risky if you ask me.
Sorry just meant Owen was injured again didn't mean it to start a this player is a bigger risk than that player. Anyway you are right Aquilani is a risk signing but then again all players are even free signings. Amazes me people think because no fee is paid it's a no risk. Ok no fee paid but if the player is on as Owen is 40k/50k per week and ain't playing due to injury it is costing the club big time. For that reason Owen is a risk signing. Anyway just meant he was injured in my original post. Didn't post it to start a bi*ch fight!!!!
DeLorean
02/10/2009, 9:25 AM
Sorry just meant Owen was injured again didn't mean it to start a this player is a bigger risk than that player. Anyway you are right Aquilani is a risk signing but then again all players are even free signings. Amazes me people think because no fee is paid it's a no risk. Ok no fee paid but if the player is on as Owen is 40k/50k per week and ain't playing due to injury it is costing the club big time. For that reason Owen is a risk signing. Anyway just meant he was injured in my original post. Didn't post it to start a bi*ch fight!!!!
I didn't think it was a bi*ch fight. I thought Owen was on some kind of pay-per-play type deal. I know he would have some kind of a basic wage alright but didn't think it was big money, relatively speaking. The guy is definitely injury prone, despite what he says. As well, when I said no risk, I also meant that in a way he's a bonus type signing as I don't think United were going to sign another striker if they didn't get him, whereas with the departure of Alonso, Liverpool need Aquilani to be a success. That's what I meant really.
Two year contract not pay-per-play. David Gills words not mine. They signed Owen because they couldn't get Benzema right? As regards Aquilani of course we need him to do well. Any player a club signs they need them to do well sure what's the aim/point of them signing.
I didn't think it was a bi*ch fight. I thought Owen was on some kind of pay-per-play type deal. I know he would have some kind of a basic wage alright but didn't think it was big money, relatively speaking. The guy is definitely injury prone, despite what he says. As well, when I said no risk, I also meant that in a way he's a bonus type signing as I don't think United were going to sign another striker if they didn't get him, whereas with the departure of Alonso, Liverpool need Aquilani to be a success. That's what I meant really.
DeLorean
02/10/2009, 9:39 AM
Two year contract not pay-per-play. David Gills words not mine
Fair enough. Didn't hear that.
They signed Owen because they couldn't get Benzema right?
Yeah the Benzema ship had sailed by the time they got Owen. They had missed out on him and if I recall correctly, Ferguson was saying he wouldn't be making anymore signings.
As regards Aquilani of course we need him to do well. Any player a club signs they need them to do well sure what's the aim/point of them signing.
Naturally!! I just meant with his injury troubles it was more high risk than normal, especially seeing as ye lost Alonso and he's needs replacing. It wasn't just to bolster the squad.
05/10/2009, 12:31 PM
Very poor stuff again from United on Saturday evening. Think i heard 3 quarters of all their goals this season have come in the 2nd half :eek:
Foster is not the long term keeper for United, far to unsure of himself as Kenwyne Jones proved, he absolutely floored him when scoring, really should be the other way around when a keeper is coming out to collect a ball.
Very poor stuff again from United on Saturday evening. Think i heard 3 quarters of all their goals this season have come in the 2nd half :eek:
Foster is not the long term keeper for United, far to unsure of himself as Kenwyne Jones proved, he absolutely floored him when scoring, really should be the other way around when a keeper is coming out to collect a ball.
Didn't see this game but from what i heard Sunderland fully deserved to win. A game dare i say Ronaldo would have pulled something out of the bag to win the game. I believe Rooney stamped on Andy Reids calf muscle and encouraged the ref to send Richardson off?
05/10/2009, 1:08 PM
I believe Rooney stamped on Andy Reids calf muscle and encouraged the ref to send Richardson off?
Rooney didn't stamp on Andy Reid but Fletcher nearly decapitated him in the lead up to Jones' goal.
Richardson didn't need anyone to encourage the referee to send him off as he deserved to go.
Didn't see this game
You should have ended your post there!
[QUOTE=rambler14;1244179]Rooney didn't stamp on Andy Reid but Fletcher nearly decapitated him in the lead up to Jones' goal.
Richardson didn't need anyone to encourage the referee to send him off as he deserved to go.
Ok must have got my information wrong. Was told he stamped on Reids calf off the ball.
Sorry you took me up wrong i didn't say Richardson didn't deserve to go.
Didn't see this game but from what i heard Sunderland fully deserved to win. A game dare i say Ronaldo would have pulled something out of the bag to win the game. I believe Rooney stamped on Andy Reids calf muscle and encouraged the ref to send Richardson off?
Absolutely not, Sunderland played above themselves but didn't deserve to win. It was backs to the wall stuff for them for the last 15 minutes, Can't imagine anyone who watched the game could think Sunderland fully deserved it.
Richardson was sent off because of his own stupidity, he was already booked and when he comiotted another foul kicked the ball away as a United player went to get the ball, Rooney had no say in it what so ever.
Absolutely not, Sunderland played above themselves but didn't deserve to win. It was backs to the wall stuff for them for the last 15 minutes, Can't imagine anyone who watched the game could think Sunderland fully deserved it.
Richardson was sent off because of his own stupidity, he was already booked and when he comiotted another foul kicked the ball away as a United player went to get the ball, Rooney had no say in it what so ever.
Ok i'll take your word for it. Amazing how it's being reported that Utd didn't play at all. Talk of them being very sluggish. Did you see the supposed incident with Rooney and Reid. The other poster is saying it didn't happen?
United were sluggish and played no where near there best at all, if they had have they would have tore Sunderland to shreads. Even though it was another late goal by United i think they deserved to take something from the game, they actually could have stole it right at the end with the pressure they had on the Sunderland rearguard.
I think the supposed incident with Rooney and Reid your talking about was a nothing really. Rooney was chasing Reid, Reid passed the ball and Rooney slightly caught him, nothing tackle really, Reid didn't even go to ground from what i remember. Certianly didn't stamp on him or anything even close to it.
So Reid played on ahh right. Was told he asked the ref the question. Will have a look tonight on the net and see the incident for myself as seems to be conflicting stories on this one. Fella in here (Man U fan) just told me it was a nasty piece of work that Rooney intended to do.
United were sluggish and played no where near there best at all, if they had have they would have tore Sunderland to shreads. Even though it was another late goal by United i think they deserved to take something from the game, they actually could have stole it right at the end with the pressure they had on the Sunderland rearguard.
I think the supposed incident with Rooney and Reid your talking about was a nothing really. Rooney was chasing Reid, Reid passed the ball and Rooney slightly caught him, nothing tackle really, Reid didn't even go to ground from what i remember. Certianly didn't stamp on him or anything even close to it.
old git
05/10/2009, 10:38 PM
So Reid played on ahh right. Was told he asked the ref the question. Will have a look tonight on the net and see the incident for myself as seems to be conflicting stories on this one. Fella in here (Man U fan) just told me it was a nasty piece of work that Rooney intended to do.
from what i made of incident rooney had a sneaky kick at reid which did not look to bad on replays !! commetators / match of the day / rte never made any big deal of incident...:ball:
RTE etc probably didn't comment on it due to the fact they had to concentrate on a certain manager cowardly attacking a ref for a change:D Fair play an honest view on the Reid incident unlike others. Saw it last night a sneaky kick is right which he meant.
You said Utd were very poor again and then you said sluggish:confused:
old git
06/10/2009, 11:45 AM
RTE etc probably didn't comment on it due to the fact they had to concentrate on a certain manager cowardly attacking a ref for a change:D Fair play an honest view on the Reid incident unlike others. Saw it last night a sneaky kick is right which he meant.
yeah he meant it alright and probally lucky ref missed it again but he is going to get caught sooner or later .. certain manager comments about ref cowardly is a bit strong.. everybody knows fergie always blames refs when things don't go his way and he usually gets away with it.. personally i think sam allardace comments were worse .. he said ref should be sacked when interviewed after arsenal game. yet f.a. want an explanation from fergie on his comments but have said they will not pursue allardace as he has no case to answer ..:confused: but then again name 1 manager who has not had a go at ref after games. :ball:
Personal attack on his fitness was way over the top imo. Remember he was having a laugh with this ref when Owen scored the winner against City now two weeks later he's attacking him. Could come back to haunt him as can't see many refs entertaining him now. Your opinions are honest though which have to say fair play. I was told on this thread yesterday that the Reid incident was nothing.
yeah he meant it alright and probally lucky ref missed it again but he is going to get caught sooner or later .. certain manager comments about ref cowardly is a bit strong.. everybody knows fergie always blames refs when things don't go his way and he usually gets away with it.. personally i think sam allardace comments were worse .. he said ref should be sacked when interviewed after arsenal game. yet f.a. want an explanation from fergie on his comments but have said they will not pursue allardace as he has no case to answer ..:confused: but then again name 1 manager who has not had a go at ref after games. :ball:
DeLorean
06/10/2009, 12:11 PM
Ferguson is ridiculous when it comes to ref's but no worse than Wenger or Benitez in my opinion. Maybe the attack on his fitness may have been over the top but that's not to say it isn't true, I wasn't at the game myself so I wouldn't really know.
[QUOTE=DeLorean;Maybe the attack on his fitness may have been over the top but that's not to say it isn't true, I wasn't at the game myself so I wouldn't really know.[/QUOTE]
Why would you need to be at the game to know:confused: If there was something wrong with Alan Wiley's fitness i think it would have been noticed by now baring in mind they do regular fitness checks and he refs in the league regularly;)
DeLorean
06/10/2009, 12:31 PM
Why would you need to be at the game to know:confused: If there was something wrong with Alan Wiley's fitness i think it would have been noticed by now baring in mind they do regular fitness checks and he refs in the league regularly;)
Well I suppose you'd have a better idea of how well he gets around the field from being at the game, and if he looked under pressure in keeping up. Personally I doubt very much this is an issue, maybe he's just lazy!!:D
Well I suppose you'd have a better ideal of how well he gets around the field from being at the game, and if he looked under pressure in keeping up. Personally I doubt very much this is an issue, maybe he's just lazy!!:D
Or whiskey nose needed someone to blame for not getting his Brucie Bonus:D
old git
06/10/2009, 9:27 PM
Personal attack on his fitness was way over the top imo. Remember he was having a laugh with this ref when Owen scored the winner against City now two weeks later he's attacking him. Could come back to haunt him as can't see many refs entertaining him now. Your opinions are honest though which have to say fair play. I was told on this thread yesterday that the Reid incident was nothing.
as already said i found allaladice's comments to to be more personal and way over the top as he actually said "ref should be sacked " plus i also think the so called big four always will get the referee's benefit in a lot of games no matter how much they have a go at ref's .:ball:
Maybe Whiskeynose told Fat Sam to make the comments:D
No Giggs last weekend. Big mistake by the manager surely?
DeLorean
08/10/2009, 11:22 AM
No Giggs last weekend. Big mistake by the manager surely?
I suppose in hindsight with the form he's in. Would have expected to beat Sunderland at home with their Carling Cup side though to be fair. Giggs definitely can't play every match.
International break after the Sunderland game. Not even on the bench. Pulling the strings and in line for world player of the year:D
Den Perry
08/10/2009, 11:46 AM
Am going off topic a little here, but was reading an article in last Saturday's Mail, I think about the Glasgow derby and the bitterness etc.The writer alluded to Wayne Rooney attending an Old Firm match and joining the Celtic support. Can anybody elaborate on this?
thanks
DeLorean
08/10/2009, 11:46 AM
International break after the Sunderland game.
Yeah, good point. I'd say he just thought it was a gimme. Maybe there was another reason we don't know about.
DeLorean
08/10/2009, 11:50 AM
Am going off topic a little here, but was reading an article in last Saturday's Mail, I think about the Glasgow derby and the bitterness etc.The writer alluded to Wayne Rooney attending an Old Firm match and joining the Celtic support. Can anybody elaborate on this?
Don't know about the last day Den, but... (http://www.goal.com/en/news/1716/champions-league/2008/11/05/949991/rooney-im-a-celtic-fan)
thanks
Defo at an old firm either last season or the season before. The usual i always followed or had a soft spot for them sh1t. Remember Duff, Carr and Given being at one recently as well singing along before the game.
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_5630807,00.html
old git
16/10/2009, 5:55 PM
[QUOTE=Rafa B;1244617] a certain manager cowardly attacking a ref for a change:D
rafa just wondering your views on another preimership manager not charged by fa for attack on referee... mr benetiz when asked about phil dowd in tv interview after match takes his classes out of his coat pocket looks through them and then puts them away. :D is this not as bad as fergie commenting on a referee's fitness .. and yet the f a only warn him about his future behaviour :confused:
[QUOTE=Rafa B;1244617] a certain manager cowardly attacking a ref for a change:D
rafa just wondering your views on another preimership manager not charged by fa for attack on referee... mr benetiz when asked about phil dowd in tv interview after match takes his classes out of his coat pocket looks through them and then puts them away. :D is this not as bad as fergie commenting on a referee's fitness .. and yet the f a only warn him about his future behaviour :confused:
How many times has Benitez been involved in these sort of situations compared to whiskey nose? I agree what Rafa did was wrong but he got off due to his record. Whiskey nose has been getting away with it for years.
DeLorean
19/10/2009, 11:27 AM
How many times has Benitez been involved in these sort of situations compared to whiskey nose? I agree what Rafa did was wrong but he got off due to his record. Whiskey nose has been getting away with it for years.
I had good time for Benitez the first couple of years he was at Liverpool. The past year or two he has become as bad as Wenger and Ferguson, in my opinion. Always blaming somebody else and making excuses. He was more like the Benitez of old in the aftermath of the Sunderland match, in which he had grounds for complaints. Long may it continue.
He certainly changed in a few situations over the last few seasons probably seeing what the others were doing but it was good to see him saying what he said on Saturday. Basically kept his blinkers off and saw we were well beaten instead of trying to blame the ref.
Sir Alex Ferguson has been charged with improper conduct by the Football Association over his comments regarding referee Alan Wiley's fitness.
The Manchester United manager launched an outspoken attack on the official following the 2-2 draw with Sunderland at Old Trafford on 3rd October.
The Scot claimed in a post-match interview that the experienced official was 'not fit enough for a game of that standard' and accused Wiley of 'walking up the pitch for the second goal needing a rest'.
Ferguson provided the FA with an explanation of his comments but has now been charged for his outburst, which provoked an angry response from representatives of the professional referees.
Respond
The Red Devils boss did issue a personal apology to Wiley for any embarrassment that his comments may have caused, but went on to reiterate his call for improved fitness levels among top-flight officials.
Ferguson has until 3rd November to respond to the charge and could be handed a fine or a touchline ban as punishment if he is found guilty by the game's governing body.
A statement on the FA's official website read: "Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has been charged with improper conduct.
"The charge relates to media comments made by Ferguson about referee Alan Wiley following United's match against Sunderland at Old Trafford on 3 October."
DeLorean
19/10/2009, 2:19 PM
Water off a ducks back I'd say. Fergie speaks a load of rubbish, the FA fine him, United pick up the bill and on the pitch get the next 50/50 decision go their way. An effective, if completely unethical tactic.
CF1989
19/10/2009, 3:13 PM
CSKA surely worth a bet at around 3/1
usually freezing weather over there and long trip plus united without a few players, evra, fletcher, park, giggs, maybe rooney