View Full Version : Shams away - Match thread

Pages : 1 [2]

14/03/2009, 3:03 PM
Flap, flap,flap - sound of chickens coming home to roost. Ventre can't play and Holmes wouldn't defend OJ with a bag full of gloves. Raf should have played right full and Parkhouse should have started and Cook should have been let go when he went.
I shall now enter my bunker ahead of expected shelling from heavy artillery.

red arrow
14/03/2009, 3:08 PM
well i did'nt get to the game but watched it on the telly and my heart missed several beats especially in the firt half. the defence was all over the "shop". however (not making excuses) we were without almeida and keane. we will have to improve big time next week. also the windy conditions are not condusive to the type of football we try to play on the deck. a few times we put some nice moves togeather but there was very little good supply to the front runners. also i think creataro should concentrate on playing the game and not keep arguing with the officials he has the ability but shold release the ball earlier when he beats a man . he has a tendency to over elaborate. however its early days yet and next sat night will be a big test. the big danger is if we keep losing games the crowds will fall off and the money will dry up so the players need to be aware that they are being well looked after and need to perform for the jersey. however i still believe in the team and manager and a bit of luck will kick start the season for us

roversforever
14/03/2009, 3:13 PM
well i did'nt get to the game but watched it on the telly and my heart missed several beats especially in the firt half. the defence was all over the "shop". however (not making excuses) we were without almeida and keane. we will have to improve big time next week. also the windy conditions are not condusive to the type of football we try to play on the deck. a few times we put some nice moves togeather but there was very little good supply to the front runners. also i think creataro should concentrate on playing the game and not keep arguing with the officials he has the ability but shold release the ball earlier when he beats a man . he has a tendency to over elaborate. however its early days yet and next sat night will be a big test. the big danger is if we keep losing games the crowds will fall off and the money will dry up so the players need to be aware that they are being well looked after and need to perform for the jersey. however i still believe in the team and manager and a bit of luck will kick start the season for us

Id agree with you the the conditions weren't conducive to good football, we could accept that but what we can't accept is a team that plays with no fight and were beaten before the game started!

Red Star
14/03/2009, 3:13 PM
http://www.flickr.com/photos/soccerc/3352103427/in/set-72157615137336265/

Inside Man
14/03/2009, 4:16 PM
Shambolic display. I feel sorry for the fans who travelled because they just don't deserve that. Great fans though heard ye singing throughout, but that team doesn't deserve ye.
Serious amount of work to be done. Holmes is muck. Not only his defending but some of his touches also, there was one opportunity where the ball was spread wide in front of him and holmes ran to the ball stopped and hoofed it, and this was with 30yards in front of him to run into and in the opposition half. What I am simply saying is i don't like the cut of him at all. Secondly the poor lad Noctor. I have to say i felt for him, with 3,500 people getting on your back its hard to raise your game but this fella is really out of his league. The defence was pathetic and they were all over the shop. No organisation. It wouldn't be harsh for us to be sitting here talking about a 6-0 thrashing. We were lucky. I have never been the biggest believer in Cook and Im sure most on here know that already, but the calibre of players he has brought in is frightening, and i wouldn't be surprised to see us battling near the bottom after that display of effort on friday. I think some people tend to forget we are a full time squad and playing against teams like shams, We should be giving them a game, because on friday those shams players looked fitter and more willing than us mand thats just not on. We are a full time club and should be at least finishing in top half of the league every season. Maybe all that is just the anger thats still inside me after seeing that on the box on friday so maybe its a bit ott.
But all that aside I'd be worried after that display friday against an average bunch of part-timers.

brianw82
14/03/2009, 9:18 PM
I guess we've gotta try and be positive.

We showed that we're capable of playing decent football, but only in patches last night. Too much hoofing from Peers, not sure where that came from. Noctor did alright, but got rattled after making a mistake and then kept making them. He doesn't deserve to be written off after making a few mistakes during his debut, on one of the season's biggest occasions. Morrison played well too.
As I said in the 'tonight's latest' thread on the main forum, it's the same old problem though, isn't it? Trying to pass the ball to death around the box, going from side to side. Nobody wants to take a shot or get on the end of something. At times, we're like a poor man's Arsenal. Parkhouse must start against Pats. We need to get points on the board soon. And the sooner we have Mauro back, the better.

celticV3
14/03/2009, 10:52 PM
Short and sweet, we were a mixture of sloppy and when we tried to play passing football in the first half we were closed down too easily which lead to the ball being given away. That lead to the hoofing off the ball but conditions and the way shams were playing left us stumped and with little other option than to hoof it. Thought Ryan should have been left on as well thought he was doing good.

I would hope next week we will be able to play football. No doubt we will perform better given better conditions.

srfc1928
15/03/2009, 1:22 AM
Friday night was really disapointing,
It was definetly the worst display from a Rovers team under Paul Cook.
But lets not get carried away,
It took us 5 games last season to get a win and at this stage last season we were in a worse situation statisticly.
We’ll come good, its only two games in.
Flap,flap, flap - wow it didnt take the 'i told you' so brigade to start.:rolleyes:
You have to wonder about some people,

Keep the faith lads.

Fair play to the Forza lads for organising the red flags etc on the night.
Great atmosphere for the entire match despite the result.

Boo_Boy
15/03/2009, 4:37 AM
I say sign up Foyzer for LB til' July:)

15/03/2009, 1:12 PM
[QUOTE=srfc1928;1123041]Friday night was really disapointing,

Flap,flap, flap - wow it didnt take the 'i told you' so brigade to start.:rolleyes:

No, you don't have to wonder about some people at all. Just ignore us and bog the ould head in the sand. You'll be grand.
The reason it didn't take the I told you so brigade long to start is that it didn't take long for the I told you so brigade to be proven right.
A Pat's win next weekend and the Galway match becomes a cup final.

15/03/2009, 1:22 PM
Can't believe some people have written off Holmes already.

One poor enough game and one mistake in a game which he actually did very well in, does not make a bad player.

Rovers Maniac
15/03/2009, 2:09 PM
[quote=srfc1928;1123041]Friday night was really disapointing,

No, you don't have to wonder about some people at all. Just ignore us and bog the ould head in the sand. You'll be grand.
The reason it didn't take the I told you so brigade long to start is that it didn't take long for the I told you so brigade to be proven right.

We have gained 1 point extra than what we gained on those fixtures last year, deal with that bit of spin avvenalaf :p.

Lads we are two games into the season lets allow things to settle down a bit first and get some players like Mauro Almeida back in the team. Also Torpey i want to see more of him he seemed to have some football in him.

roversman
15/03/2009, 2:27 PM
Can't believe some people have written off Holmes already.

One poor enough game and one mistake in a game which he actually did very well in, does not make a bad player.

defending wise hes not great for a team that wants to be at the top

15/03/2009, 5:34 PM
[quote=avvenalaf;1123119]

We have gained 1 point extra than what we gained on those fixtures last year, deal with that bit of spin avvenalaf :p.

Lads we are two games into the season lets allow things to settle down a bit first and get some players like Mauro Almeida back in the team. Also Torpey i want to see more of him he seemed to have some football in him.

The real spin merchants are the ones who claim that we finished fourth in the league last year and who eulogised Cook for that fact. We were actually eight points behind fourth place.

Inside Man
15/03/2009, 7:40 PM
The real spin merchants are the ones who claim that we finished fourth in the league last year and who eulogised Cook for that fact. We were actually eight points behind fourth place.
And of all the teams that finished on a full-time set up we were last. That is something that some people have tend to have forgotten. There is a huge advantage to teams on full time set ups and we have that advantage. We are full time and should be challenging at the top end of the table every season. Just remember that.

As for the Holmes debate. I've watched enough players over my lifetime to know the difference between a good player and a bad player. And after seeing him playing 180mins for Rovers and probably triple that for Finn Harps I know he is a bad player, or even worse. He is not good enough for us or any team in Europe for that matter, he belongs in the first division, if he was any good Derry would have kept him.

Rovers Maniac
15/03/2009, 7:50 PM
And of all the teams that finished on a full-time set up we were last. That is something that some people have tend to have forgotten. There is a huge advantage to teams on full time set ups and we have that advantage. We are full time and should be challenging at the top end of the table every season. Just remember that.

As for the Holmes debate. I've watched enough players over my lifetime to know the difference between a good player and a bad player. And after seeing him playing 180mins for Rovers and probably triple that for Finn Harps I know he is a bad player, or even worse. He is not good enough for us or any team in Europe for that matter, he belongs in the first division, if he was any good Derry would have kept him.

I actually never said that Inside man, it was avvenalaf the quote is from, not sure what messing is going on.

Edit: Just edit it at the top and take my name out actually and it will come up as a quote from avvenalaf.

Rovers Maniac
15/03/2009, 7:55 PM

Rubbish, what about Drogs and Galway? Change that quote in your previous post i never said it.

15/03/2009, 8:03 PM
No, Maniac, but I bet you wish you did:D

Inside Man
15/03/2009, 8:35 PM
Rubbish, what about Drogs and Galway? Change that quote in your previous post i never said it.
I did say who finished Full time. Galway did not finish full time and Drogs... well they simply imploded and their players weren't even getting payed and not putting in the effort at the end. They would have finished ahead of us if they didn't get that points deduction.
Just worth a mention that in 2yrs Cook has only won one cup game. What I am trying to say is some of the lads on here blow him way out of proportion.

**Indeed edited. Sorry about that i think avvenalaf was playing tricks.

15/03/2009, 8:51 PM
They would have finished ahead of us if they didn't get that points deduction.Check again, no they wouldn't have.

15/03/2009, 9:00 PM
Check again, no they wouldn't have.

Team P W D L F A GD P GSPG GCPG TGPG
Bohemians 33 27 4 2 55 13 42 85 1.67 0.39 2.06
St Patricks Athletic 33 20 6 7 48 24 24 66 1.45 0.73 2.18
Derry City 33 16 10 7 46 25 21 58 1.39 0.76 2.15
Cork City 33 15 11 7 45 28 17 46* 1.36 0.85 2.21
Sligo Rovers 33 12 12 9 41 28 13 48 1.24 0.85 2.09
Drogheda Utd 33 12 9 12 38 32 6 35* 1.15 0.97 2.12
Bray Wanderers 33 11 6 16 28 52 -24 39 0.85 1.58 2.42
Shamrock Rovers 33 8 13 12 33 35 -2 37 1.00 1.06 2.06
Galway Utd 33 8 8 17 34 49 -15 32 1.03 1.48 2.52
Finn Harps 33 9 4 20 26 53 -27 31 0.79 1.61 2.39
Cobh Ramblers 33 6 8 19 27 55 -28 26 0.82 1.67 2.48
UCD 33 4 9 20 19 46 -27 21 0.58 1.39 1.97

Notes

* Deducted 10 points for being involved in examinership process as per section 3.12 of the Licensing Manual.

DO THE MATH, BABY, DO THE MATH.

Inside Man
15/03/2009, 9:02 PM
Oh i know mathimatically they wouldn't have. I knew that typing it. Trust you to keep me on my toes Sligoman:rolleyes:. But what i am saying when a team gets docked points it takes the wind out of them and it seems they have nothing to play for. What i am saying is, imo, if Drogs didn't get docked their points last year they would have finished ahead of us. Exuse me for not highlighting the in my opinion part in the earlier post.

Rovers Maniac
15/03/2009, 9:04 PM
I did say who finished Full time. Galway did not finish full time and Drogs... well they simply imploded and their players weren't even getting payed and not putting in the effort at the end. They would have finished ahead of us if they didn't get that points deduction.
Just worth a mention that in 2yrs Cook has only won one cup game. What I am trying to say is some of the lads on here blow him way out of proportion.

**Indeed edited. Sorry about that i think avvenalaf was playing tricks.

No Galway finished full time and so did Drogs, no point bending the truth to suit your story lads.

15/03/2009, 9:05 PM
Weren't Harps full time too? Or near enough anyway. Fairly sure they finished the season on a higher budget than us?

Rovers Maniac
15/03/2009, 9:12 PM
Weren't Harps full time too? Or near enough anyway. Fairly sure they finished the season on a higher budget than us?

Yes they were, ooops Inside man and aavenalaf's story is starting to fall to peices :D

15/03/2009, 10:29 PM
playing 180mins for Rovers and probably triple that for Finn Harps I know he is a bad player, or even worse..

Love it.

With instinct like that, you could be the next Alex Ferguson.

Or just another know-it-all fan, with a crap opinion and just moans about eveything.

srfc1928
15/03/2009, 10:44 PM

Seems to me you’d rather see your prediction of failure come to fruition over the team being successful.
I don’t understand that mentality nor would I want to.

15/03/2009, 11:03 PM
Seems to me you’d rather see your prediction of failure come to fruition over the team being successful.
I don’t understand that mentality nor would I want to.

Look, I've seen more crises in the Showgrounds than Elton John has seen hairpieces and if you have as much love for the club as I then fair play but I am signaling that, in my opinion, their is a major crisis ahead and it springs from the following.........
1. The budget should not have been interfered with once set and agreed with FAI. If it goes wrong FAI have no ownership.
2. When the manager walked, he should have been left walking. History shows it's foolish to go back.
3. This squad is not good enough - too many guys who just can't hack it with Bohs, Pats, Derry and yes, even Cork, when they introduce themselves to each other.
4. Above all times in it's existence this is one time when the club should ensure that it runs to budget as there is no point in going to the public anytime in the next three years asking them for something that they just won't have.

And finally, I hope to God I'm wrong.

15/03/2009, 11:19 PM
Look, I've seen more crises in the Showgrounds than Elton John has seen hairpieces and if you have as much love for the club as I then fair play but I am signaling that, in my opinion, their is a major crisis ahead and it springs from the following.........
1. The budget should not have been interfered with once set and agreed with FAI. If it goes wrong FAI have no ownership.
2. When the manager walked, he should have been left walking. History shows it's foolish to go back.
3. This squad is not good enough - too many guys who just can't hack it with Bohs, Pats, Derry and yes, even Cork, when they introduce themselves to each other.
4. Above all times in it's existence this is one time when the club should ensure that it runs to budget as there is no point in going to the public anytime in the next three years asking them for something that they just won't have.

And finally, I hope to God I'm wrong.

1.Is the budget not FAI approved?
Oh wait, it is.

2.History shows it's bad to go back?
Stephen Kenny is having a nice time of it in Derry ain't he?

3. I thought we handled Cork fairly well last week.
Mr Holmes had a great match bar his mistake and overall it was a great team performance.

4. We are within Budget. Hence why our squad is so small! ;)

Regards,
Chris

15/03/2009, 11:21 PM
I don't think I heard youse apart from a small whisper when youse scored.

we couldnt hear ye up the other end either ;)

15/03/2009, 11:32 PM
And Stephen has won since he came back - exactly what??

Rovers fan
16/03/2009, 12:59 AM
So you have to win something to be successful:rolleyes:? Oh and btw Derry won the league cup. Obviously to prove your point your going to say that cup is a pile of crap, but I can tell you if we won it nobody would be complaining.

The bashing of cook is amazing imo. And for feck sake will ye give holmes a bloody chance. It's also no surprise that our defense was poor the last night, we were missing 3 of our starting back 4. Nobody in the league could cope with that, look at pats against galway when they were missing harris and afew others, they conceded 3!

Personally I think cook made 2 mistakes the last night(wow sack him now:rolleyes:). 1)Boco should have started right back with parky up front
2) I thought richie was playing well and shouldn't have been taken off(and at that maybe he was unfit/injured)

Pessimists like inside man don't realise they are doing more harm than good by posting crap. To fear ya would be as quick to talk about how morrison looks to be a promising signing and did well than to say holmes is "muck".

Also I don't care what ye say but we finished 4th last year absolutely fair and square. Cork and drogs had 10 points deducted for the simple reason that they couldn't afford to pay the players they had signed. How can they not be punished for this? Otherwise we could sign ever good player in the league and win it easily!! Stupid logic. Take for example faz. We would have still had him if drogs didn't buy him(without fully paying for him and then were unable to pay his wages). That alone could nearly have made a 10 point difference between us and them.

Dissapointing performance tbf but KEEP THE FAITH!

dong
16/03/2009, 12:37 PM
I'm all for keeping the faith but there is a major issue with this group of players in that they didn't look fit in the match against Shamrock Rovers and played with little or no spirit. I don't think anybody who was there could be blamed for being a bit embarrassed by the pathetic display.
Brush and Peers are a few pounds overweight, although they weren't our worst performers by a long shot. Boco couldn't run either and the performance of Cash was well below par. Not even a***d to chase down their full back an a number of occassions when he was literally only ten yards away.
Now, all this would be okay had we somehow won, but we didn't because they were hungrier and fitter than us. Yes fitter than our full time, well paid squad. Roll onto Saturday night in a certain nightspot in Sligo. There thay are, no shame at all after what had taken place 24 hours previously. This is also okay except for three or four of them are looking what I would term s**t faced. Feeling up young ones, arguing with each other and picking fights with strangers. And, wait for it, they have training in the morning with a certain Gerry Carr. Couldn't care less these lads. Believe me.
Far from sitting tight, refocusing and getting on the training ground in good shape to work hard there must have been more than a few of them with splitting heads and dodgy stomachs praying for this particular training session to be over.
This is not good enough.

16/03/2009, 12:44 PM
Oh, the Lord save us, Dong but you are a brave man. Pull down the manhole over your head as there will surely be bombs falling on you. If you are a student of this board you should know by now that telling the truth as you see it is not an option and any attempt to **** on the parade led by St. Paul will be met by derision.
Bless you, you are a true traitor to the cause.

dublinred
16/03/2009, 1:06 PM
I'm all for keeping the faith but there is a major issue with this group of players in that they didn't look fit in the match against Shamrock Rovers and played with little or no spirit. I don't think anybody who was there could be blamed for being a bit embarrassed by the pathetic display.
Brush and Peers are a few pounds overweight, although they weren't our worst performers by a long shot. Boco couldn't run either and the performance of Cash was well below par. Not even a***d to chase down their full back an a number of occassions when he was literally only ten yards away.
Now, all this would be okay had we somehow won, but we didn't because they were hungrier and fitter than us. Yes fitter than our full time, well paid squad. Roll onto Saturday night in a certain nightspot in Sligo. There thay are, no shame at all after what had taken place 24 hours previously. This is also okay except for three or four of them are looking what I would term s**t faced. Feeling up young ones, arguing with each other and picking fights with strangers. And, wait for it, they have training in the morning with a certain Gerry Carr. Couldn't care less these lads. Believe me.
Far from sitting tight, refocusing and getting on the training ground in good shape to work hard there must have been more than a few of them with splitting heads and dodgy stomachs praying for this particular training session to be over.
This is not good enough.

Agree on the fitness thing we were second to every ball on Friday night , Cook hinted it also in the weekender last week , the messing at the beginning of the season can't have helped he needs to bring them for a few runs up the sanddunes in Strandhill till they get fit an alcohal ban wouldn't be a bad thing either or drinks only allowed if they win would be a good performance incentive .

Rovers Maniac
16/03/2009, 1:07 PM
This is not good enough.

To be fair Dong not saying you're lieing about the going out bit, but i have seen these lads out numerous times and i never seen them getting hassle let alone picking fights and would be amazed if they started now As for the highlighted bit don't think there is too much wrong with that imo, the last time i seen them it seemed to be the other way around. I think the lads are great ambassadors for the club around Sligo. None of them have ever got into any bother even around the town.

Look they played poorly it has not happened too many times under Cook. We were missing a lot of players as and Cook tried something that did not work. Lets see what happenes against Pats on Saturday night. The infighting and people wanting to see the club fall flat on its face so they can turn around and say "I was right" is pathetic.

Avvenalaf keep clutching at those straws my friend :)

16/03/2009, 1:39 PM
Were'nt we in the same position this time last year? 2 games gone, 1 point? The usual begrudgers on this stupid forum going ape sh!!t because Boco had'nt scored a hat trick yet?! Butler had a shaky start,and was critisised here.... he ended up one of our most valuable players!
Cook siad a few weeks ago to judge the team after 9 games, he would'nt have said that if he knew the team would gel after 2 games! Almeida wont be back for another 3/4 games from what im told, and when he returns it will be like a new signing, so Keane, Peers, Ventre and Holmes is our strongest back four, like it or not, and in football the back four and the keeper take the longest to get used to each other.
Theres no point in having a go at any of the back 4 because they are the strongest option we have!

sligofan4ever
16/03/2009, 3:13 PM
Were'nt we in the same position this time last year? 2 games gone, 1 point? The usual begrudgers on this stupid forum going ape sh!!t because Boco had'nt scored a hat trick yet?! Butler had a shaky start,and was critisised here.... he ended up one of our most valuable players!
Cook siad a few weeks ago to judge the team after 9 games, he would'nt have said that if he knew the team would gel after 2 games! Almeida wont be back for another 3/4 games from what im told, and when he returns it will be like a new signing, so Keane, Peers, Ventre and Holmes is our strongest back four, like it or not, and in football the back four and the keeper take the longest to get used to each other.
Theres no point in having a go at any of the back 4 because they are the strongest option we have!

And we have 1 more goal after 2 games this season rather than 1 last season :D.

Your totally right about the defense. We have 3 different players in our defense compared to last season, Ventre is only filling in at centre-back so lets not get on his back so early in the season. As is Holmes, you cant judge a player after 1 good game and 1 bad game, and wheter fans like it or not, he aint movin out of left back position until atleast July so ye'll have to get used to it. As for Noctor I think he has potential but that wasn't the right game to start him in, we need to give him the same backing we gave Coleman when he started out here because he didn't just instantly become our best player. The most promising of our defenders (excluding Peers of course) has to be Alan Keane, I know he only played one game but I was really impressed with him, solid,rarely out of position and wasn't afraid to get forward, if he keeps this up he should well be the perfect replacement for Coleman.

16/03/2009, 3:37 PM
OK, I will make no further comment until after nine league games. Hope everyone is still at the club at that time.

redobit
16/03/2009, 3:43 PM
OK, I will make no further comment until after nine league games. Hope everyone is still at the club at that time.

Except for this comment avv. :)

Inside Man
16/03/2009, 7:20 PM
This is not good enough.
Agree with this the fitness level of the players was a disgrace.

But okay I am going to take Avvenalaf's lead and leave it for a few more games simply because its clear alot of you young bucks on here love being in kookooland and paint this whole picture of everything is rosey in the garden when its not, and when someone comes along and tries to paint the unwelcome truth you all get very uneasy...... I take my leave on this topic, for now anyway.

lowroadrover
16/03/2009, 7:47 PM
This is all down to poor pre season with all the messing and uncertainty.The players look unfit and the small squad size means no cover.

celticV3
17/03/2009, 2:06 AM
People are more than entitled to their opinion. In saying that let me say this, have some perspective on the season FFS! Next negative comment leads to molestation and castration as a half time show against pats. We're two games in and have had a rougher pre-season than the whole of last seasons ups and downs. FICKLE KEYBOARD WARRIORS TAKE A BREAK ;)

17/03/2009, 1:33 PM
do you ever sleep before 3AM CV3?? :P

celticV3
17/03/2009, 2:29 PM
do you ever sleep before 3AM CV3?? :P

I don't sleep full stop!;)

17/03/2009, 3:29 PM
I can't believe the fickle moaning nature of so many Rovers fans on this forum and in general. You'd swear we'll be fighting relegation the way some go on.

Same **** every year. This time last year, we had people booing the team off in UCD...

17/03/2009, 3:56 PM
This time last year, we had people booing the team off in UCD...That was warranted;) Most of the stuff in this thread is not though.

17/03/2009, 5:29 PM
No it wasn't. But that is neither here nor there:)

brianw82
17/03/2009, 8:20 PM
Roll onto Saturday night in a certain nightspot in Sligo. There thay are, no shame at all after what had taken place 24 hours previously. This is also okay except for three or four of them are looking what I would term s**t faced. Feeling up young ones, arguing with each other and picking fights with strangers. And, wait for it, they have training in the morning with a certain Gerry Carr. Couldn't care less these lads. Believe me.
This is not good enough.

They're a bunch of twentysomething fellas. Have you never gone out on the town the night before work? Maybe they were all feeling like crap after the defeat, and they arranged to go out to lift spirits?

I'm not necessarily agreeing with it, and maybe some law needs to be laid down by the management if it affects fitness, but when you have the likes of Terry and Cole from Chelsea out on a night before training, Sligo Rovers players are hardly going to be in bed by 7pm every night.

dong
17/03/2009, 8:46 PM
Of course I have Brian. And in a lot worse shape too!
But in the context of what happened in Tallaght just the night before I stand by what I said.
I hope that their spirits are duly lifted and that they can improve for the St.Pats game.