View Full Version : Shams away - Match thread
12/03/2009, 1:41 PM
Enough about tickets, how do you think we'll do tomorrow night?
We're a better team than them. The only thing that will help them is that the players will be fired up because of it being the first game in Tallaght. Still think we'll win. 2-1 to us, Raf and Morrison.
I'd like to see Boco move to right back to replace the suspended Keane. Leave Raf up front with Parkhouse.
12/03/2009, 1:50 PM
I think we have a great chance of winning , the occasion could go the other way for the Shams players and they mightn't perform , I think we'll get at least a draw
Mayo Red
12/03/2009, 2:33 PM
I think we should be well able to come away with a win, but with the occasion and all, I'll go for a 1-1 draw, Morrison to score!
Agree with Sligoman one hundred per cent. They sickened us last year with undeserved victories which were aided by the referees in my opinion, particularly in the cup at Tolka.
I hope to God we hammer them but I'd say a victory by a one goal margin is the likeliest.
12/03/2009, 2:45 PM
i've been told noctor is starting tomorrow
Inside Man
12/03/2009, 3:52 PM
Annoyed now that i didn't get a ticket. Would have loved to bring the young fella along with me for the occasion. Won't be the same watching it on the box but sure it means I'll get all of Cheltenham anyway and can stay in the bookies all day;).
I'm predicting a 0-0. Might have a few bob on it aswell sure.
12/03/2009, 6:49 PM
Shamrock arent half the team everyone says we are, man for man we are a much better team. Dont see us losing, would be great to beat them!
12/03/2009, 6:57 PM
They sickened us last year with undeserved victories which were aided by the referees in my opinion, particularly in the cup at Tolka.
The result last November sickened me, as did the homer ref who ruled the ball hadn't crossed the line to get us a point last May.
Part and parcel of being a football fan.
Rovers Maniac
12/03/2009, 7:05 PM
The result last November sickened me.
Part and parcel of being a football fan.
Ya thats true i agree with you, you lads won 1 game v us last year you should never have won and the same probably can be said about the last match we played, when we won.
By the way the ball never crossed the line last May i was right behind the goal but it was close.
MickNolan
12/03/2009, 7:48 PM
I don't have a clue how this will end up! Its going to be tight thats all that can be said imo!
Fivesilver
12/03/2009, 8:12 PM
It's not going to be easy. They'll be well up for it - I keep getting scary memories of a magnificent Rovers performance the night we turned on the floodlights (Johnny Kenny dribbling half the length of the field for one of the goals).
Would be lovely to get something out of it, though. Masses of hype going on, with us getting barely a mention. Seems we're supposed to be part of the backdrop for the glorious return of the Hoops - expected to turn up, do the decent thing and roll over. It'd be nice to mess up the party.
As a certain Mr Ferguson might say: I hope the ref is up to it, and doesn't get carried away by the occasion. The script obviously demands that the homecoming heroes get full points, and I'm not convinced we can expect 100% impartiality.
12/03/2009, 8:26 PM
Seems we're supposed to be part of the backdrop for the glorious return of the Hoops - expected to turn up, do the decent thing and roll over.
As a certain Mr Ferguson might say: I hope the ref is up to it, and doesn't get carried away by the occasion. The script obviously demands that the homecoming heroes get full points, and I'm not convinced we can expect 100% impartiality.
Paranoia... :D:rolleyes::eek:
The ref is Alan Kelly, the worst referee on Planet Earth.
12/03/2009, 8:44 PM
Starting eleven is same as last week apart from Noctor taking Keane's place with Doherty being replaced by Cash apparently. Doherty out for a few weeks, groin injury.
12/03/2009, 8:50 PM
the same with two changes
Rovers Maniac
12/03/2009, 8:52 PM
It's not going to be easy. They'll be well up for it - I keep getting scary memories of a magnificent Rovers performance the night we turned on the floodlights (Johnny Kenny dribbling half the length of the field for one of the goals).
Would be lovely to get something out of it, though. Masses of hype going on, with us getting barely a mention. Seems we're supposed to be part of the backdrop for the glorious return of the Hoops - expected to turn up, do the decent thing and roll over. It'd be nice to mess up the party.
Spot on, the script is written for a Shams win and i believe we could be playing more than 11 out there at times. Kelly to grab the headlines with a dodgy peno decision for them, shades of 78 and was it Carpenter?
srfc1928
12/03/2009, 11:18 PM
Spot on, the script is written for a Shams win and i believe we could be playing more than 11 out there at times. Kelly to grab the headlines with a dodgy peno decision for them, shades of 78 and was it Carpenter?
Yeah it was John Carpenter.
Ray Treacy scored the penalty for the only goal of the game.
I wasnt at the game but my father talked about it for years afterwards.
He was'nt very happy about it
ForzaHoop
13/03/2009, 8:13 AM
Alright lads,
So how many Sligeach fans are coming to the game?
FORZAHOOPS:D
I'd say around 150 going to the game, thats the amount of tickets we were supposedly allocated.
Rovers Maniac
13/03/2009, 8:32 AM
Alright lads,
So how many Sligeach fans are coming to the game?
FORZAHOOPS:D
If you had given us more we would have taken them. ;)
ForzaHoop
13/03/2009, 8:50 AM
To be honest it's a shame the 2nd stand wasn't built in time as a massive amount of HOOPS supporters missed out on tickets, some long time supporters too.
Sure it will be up and ready by June/July 2009.
Fivesilver
13/03/2009, 11:24 AM
a massive amount of HOOPS supporters missed out on tickets, some long time supporters too.
I don't know how allocation was decided on the Shams side, but if some long-time supporters missed out, an awful lot of fly-by-nights must have got tickets. A lot of the time over the last 22 years (no more than for ourselves, to be fair), regular attendances were only a few hundred - if that was the same hard core, surely there should have been enough tickets.
There seem to be a lot of long-time fans coming out of the woodwork now. I have to hand it to the Hoops - they have a cachet among the media no-one else has. I know of at least one hack whose claims to have "grown up on the terraces at Glenmalure" are complete toss.
Good to see you getting the stadium finally, though, and best of luck in it - from next week. ;)
Rovers Maniac
13/03/2009, 11:42 AM
jesus i am pumped for this, can't wait heading off shortly to get some refreshements !!!!
13/03/2009, 12:15 PM
jesus i am pumped for this, can't wait heading off shortly to get some refreshements !!!!
Hes a MANIAC!!
Rovers fan
13/03/2009, 12:23 PM
No. he's most definitely a loo la.
dublinred
13/03/2009, 1:39 PM
Is Raf playing tonight , William Hill have him @16/1 for first goal and 6/1 to score anytime seems very generous if he is starting.
13/03/2009, 2:08 PM
I'd be surprised if Raf was on the bench
That 6/1 isn't bad at all , he's 10/3 on PP
13/03/2009, 5:02 PM
look forward to seein ye boys on the telly.. hope the ian wexler crew and rovers maniac do ye proud...:D
13/03/2009, 8:40 PM
I feel like crying watching this now.
We are ****.
red bellied
13/03/2009, 9:24 PM
I know Ventre is limited but he is definetely not a limited centre half, you got to feel for Peers trying to do four jobs and score goals.
13/03/2009, 9:27 PM
Ah, well, there's always the cup.
13/03/2009, 9:41 PM
you got to feel for Peers trying to do four jobs and score goals.
Agreed Brother.
sligored
13/03/2009, 9:41 PM
poor stuff - i hate to say it but we showed no heart. shams deserved a victory.
bring on the pats and a backlash.
13/03/2009, 10:05 PM
Glad someone was pumped up for it. Pity he didn't give you a game.
I'm just in home from that.Shocked at how bad we were.Noctor,poor lad,was out of his depth.
Great support for us though. Colourful and noisy.
MickNolan
13/03/2009, 11:43 PM
Great support for us though. Colourful and noisy.
I don't think I heard youse apart from a small whisper when youse scored.
Boo_Boy
13/03/2009, 11:52 PM
I don't think I heard youse apart from a small whisper when youse scored.
Clean your ears out, i was watching the TV broadcast and i could hear them....surely you could in the ground?
happydays97
14/03/2009, 1:04 AM
Noctor,poor lad,was out of his depth.
That's rather harsh on the lad to be honest
He done ok for his first start.
There were alot worse on show for Sligo tonight. Shaun Holmes was shocking and Danny Ventre was poor
Boo_Boy
14/03/2009, 3:01 AM
One plus was that Owen Morrison played superbly, he caused Shams problems the entire 2nd half & set up our goal.
showgies
14/03/2009, 8:58 AM
A big pitch was made look bigger by our back four playing so deep. This seems to be a trait of Cook's teams, sitting deep allowing the opposition to run at you. After looking pretty solid last week, I have to say that it was one of the worst back four displays in a long time.
I was a little surprised at the Ryan subsitution, I thought he looked the most comfortable on the ball and attempted to play the ball on the ground, which considering the conditions was the best option.
Morrison in the second half looked like he could be a real danger, although there was times when either he or Holmes delayed the cross.
Overall a game to forget.
MickNolan
14/03/2009, 9:35 AM
Clean your ears out, i was watching the TV broadcast and i could hear them....surely you could in the ground?
Well maybe it was because i was in the "Ultras" end of the ground... Have to admit was a fantastic night all round for our crowed but i was expecting sligo to be alot better than that.
Rovers Maniac
14/03/2009, 9:43 AM
Well maybe it was because i was in the "Ultras" end of the ground... Have to admit was a fantastic night all round for our crowed but i was expecting sligo to be alot better than that.
You're not the only one we were very poor, i think if Shams had scored 3 or 4 i would not have felt hard done by. To be fair under Cook we have seen very few poor perforamces but this was one. I thought Torpey did ok when he came on other than that i thought we were poor. Noctor i felt for he should never have been thrown in at the deep end like that. O'Grady or Ryan never turned up either and they seem to run straight through us. Lets hope the lads can pick themselves up for Pats next week.
Believer
14/03/2009, 9:49 AM
Watch out for Eoin Torphy,has great potential. Good to see the manager having faith in locally developed talent.
roversman
14/03/2009, 10:47 AM
Watch out for Eoin Torphy,has great potential. Good to see the manager having faith in locally developed talent.
Where is Eoin from Who did he play with before us
roversman
14/03/2009, 10:50 AM
That's rather harsh on the lad to be honest
He done ok for his first start.
There were alot worse on show for Sligo tonight. Shaun Holmes was shocking and Danny Ventre was poor
Cant blame noctor hes only learning. Danny had a bad game he played too deep
Holmes i thought last week was poor at defending and again tonight proved i am right
All in all a bad night all around but we got to forget about this and get back next week
Believer
14/03/2009, 11:13 AM
Torphy is originally from Dublin but his family are resident in Louisburg County Mayo for some years, he was developed through the now defunct Mayo Youth Academy.
14/03/2009, 11:16 AM
Don't worry lads. Pats will get the back lash next week:)
hoop4life
14/03/2009, 11:50 AM
Torphy is originally from Dublin but his family are resident in Louisburg County Mayo for some years, he was developed through the now defunct Mayo Youth Academy.
he was developed through the castlebar celtic academy since he was 9 or 10. thats where ye signed him from. he left us last year when we were not allowed in the u20 league. very tidy young footballer. done well last night when he came on. wish him all the best
14/03/2009, 12:09 PM
Absolutely terrible performance, no effort from most of the players(reminds me of UCD away towards the start of last season) until after we scored. Playing Noctor was Cook's worst decision since starting McCormack in the Brandywell. You can't just throw Noctor in to a game like that. He even messed up the simple thing of stopping the ball when Brush gave it to him three fecking times. Don't want to just single him out as most of the players were bad but I just think Cook made a poor decision there. I really don't understand taking Ryan off either, Torpey did well but Ryan was playing well so unless he took a knock that substitution was odd. Parkhouse needs to learn how to jump, he has height but he doesn't know how to use it, Raf has more chance of winning a header than him because he's willing to jump.
I really hope Cook gave them a talking to after that because playing like that is unacceptable. We are a better team than shams but we let them win with that muck performance last night.
roversforever
14/03/2009, 12:49 PM
Absolutely terrible performance, no effort from most of the players(reminds me of UCD away towards the start of last season) until after we scored. Playing Noctor was Cook's worst decision since starting McCormack in the Brandywell. You can't just throw Noctor in to a game like that. He even messed up the simple thing of stopping the ball when Brush gave it to him three fecking times. Don't want to just single him out as most of the players were bad but I just think Cook made a poor decision there. I really don't understand taking Ryan off either, Torpey did well but Ryan was playing well so unless he took a knock that substitution was odd. Parkhouse needs to learn how to jump, he has height but he doesn't know how to use it, Raf has more chance of winning a header than him because he's willing to jump.
I really hope Cook gave them a talking to after that because playing like that is unacceptable. We are a better team than shams but we let them win with that muck performance last night.
Would agree with everything sligoman said there. I think the whole back four need to do a lot of work this week,danny was very poor and holmes is just not good enough if we want to be a top half team. The sooner we get butler back the better. To be fair to noctor he was thrown in at the deep end and i thought he started quite well but maybe got a bit rattled after making one or two mistakes. Give him time though,hopefully the experience will stand him in good stead. We showed shams way too much respect. And we never got the ball in the box,i think thats something that will improve when doherty returns though.As sligoman said unacceptable performance,lets hope its not repeated!
hoop4life
14/03/2009, 1:14 PM
morrison looked lively in second half. other than that, not too many positives. ye looked all over the place at the back. ventre was very poor. didn't agree with cook in persisting with cretaro and boco up front for so long. they don't have the height or physical strength to hold the ball up and every time the ball went up the pitch, it came straight back at yer defence. they were under pressure all the time. not saying parkhouse is great but he can hold up the ball better than the other two.
not a great start from ye