View Full Version : TV3 "Lawless Ireland" on LOI hooliganism tonight 9:00
Partizan
10/03/2009, 9:44 AM
I see 'Waterford Youths' shown on their list too, kind of stood out as it's a name I never heard tell of before.
A quick google of links with bebo, and all that comes up is the underage football team! Love of Jesus! :D
(Just as a by-the-by, can't any of these no-marks spell? What the f**k is going on in our schools these days??!! :mad:)
Stan, you dissin' our spellin?
Da Waterford Youths are gonna pay u a visit... u and de C/\wkies :D
Torn-Ado
10/03/2009, 10:16 AM
The entire league is riddled with Islamic extremism. There's the mujahideen in Oriel, the star and crescent of Drogheda, we play summer football so the days will be Sunni, yet some followers believe this to be Shiite. Open your eyes, people!
They sing 'You Fatah bastärd, you ate all the pies' too.
The sad thing about the show is it in recent figures it was 12th most popular TV3 show with even more viewers than "Page 3 Teen" :eek:
Unfortunately I watcxhed some of the first half of the show & amazing that teens starting fires is news worthy.
You can tell how cheap the show was to make when they have on "expert" for the entire show. He appears to be an expert on everything. :rolleyes:
10/03/2009, 11:11 AM
Clubs can't sue on the basis of defamation of their fans (who don't "belong" to the club in any recognisable legal sense.) They'd have to allege that there were formal links between hooligans and given clubs to run any risk of litigation.
Clubs can't sue, but the league should complain about the standard of journalism.
Any ordinary, decent criminal, sorry, football supporter who was shown during the programme should at least be talking to a libel lawyer. If they are identifiable they have been publicly associated with anti-social behaviour: an observer watching the programme could conclude that he/she was also a hooligan, a hooligan sympathiser, or a disreputable scoundrel who tolerated hooliganism.
The onus is on TV3 to prove either that no such inference can be drawn, or that the person shown actually is a hooligan (more here) (http://www.digitalrights.ie/2006/01/06/libel-laws-in-ireland/). In this respect, I was a little disappointed not to have featured outside Dalymount or Tolka.
eamo1
10/03/2009, 11:55 AM
The fight at The Hill 16 pub was fairly scummy though.The rest of the program was embarassing crap that gave me a good laugh.
10/03/2009, 12:07 PM
The fight at The Hill 16 pub was fairly scummy though.Did you check the sell-by date?
Boh_So_Good
10/03/2009, 12:28 PM
I do not have a TV can someone put the holligan part on youtube?
Mad Moose
10/03/2009, 12:31 PM
believe they ended with 'If you have been affected by any of the issues raised in this programme'.
So TV3. So pathetic and shows the target audience they have in mind.It always strikes me as a TV Station geared at people who don't leave the house and TV3 are determined to keep them from leaving the house. Is Martin King still hanging about?. He was perfect for the that trash TV station. It just always seemed to breed the mos contemptious of presenters such as Martin King and Aidan Cooney I think.
So you ring up and declare you are affected by the issues in the programme. No doubt Lorraine Keane answers the phone and declares TV3 are proposing a fund be set up to help people affected by the issues. Calls cost €1.50 and €1.30 goes to TV3.
Who or what was the expert. Was he called a hooliganism expert and did he try to infiltrate Section O?.
That Hill 16 bit should already be on youtube as looks like thats what TV3 showed.
Watch on TV3 here (http://tv3.ie/videos.php?video=6510&locID=1.65.321) - LOI related in 2nd half of show.
Mad Moose
10/03/2009, 12:34 PM
That Hill 16 bit should already be on youtube as looks like thats what TV3 showed.
Watch on TV3 here (http://tv3.ie/videos.php?video=6510&locID=1.65.321) - LOI related in 2nd half of show.
Its linked here on the first couple of pages of this thread.
Would've thought most of the footage actually came from youtube in the first place.
Boh_So_Good
10/03/2009, 2:21 PM
I posted a comment for the craic, and got a message thanking me for my input and saying that a member of their team would upload the message in due course. Orwell would be proud. Imagine having that job. What sort of retard must it take to work in such blatant propoganda?
Welcome the psychology of the journalist. This is what they became journalists for.
10/03/2009, 2:24 PM
I watched the show for a laugh there, the slow-motion replay of the bloke chucking the traffic cone, complete with portentous voiceover, was one of the funniest things I've ever seen.
maroon ultra
10/03/2009, 2:40 PM
The programme felt like a satire on a Bravo/Sky one style show based on the same thing. If it had gone with this line the show would be a classic. Instead they were actually being serious.
Here is that link again for you B.S.G.This clip was the "highlight" of the show,says it all really.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mSy0lxfWWMo
Utter tripe, the lot of it. The only good thing for me is that no tax payers money, in the form of a license fee, was wasted on it. It was akin to Danny Dyer's hooligan programmes on Bravo in terms of cringeworthy embarrassment.
Next week they are going to be doing a whole hour on the disturbing rise in queue skipping in this country. Youtube is been hammered from IPs around CityWest as we speak with search requests for queue related videos. Some of the footage will be shocking, so brace yourselves. Dont watch it in the dark alone!
10/03/2009, 3:05 PM
I've been genuinely trying to think of a worse Tv show in recent memory, but am struggling.
Who the feck was that 'expert' ballax ?! Seriously - who is he ?
A laughable attempt at television. I particularly enjoyed the voiceover attempt to portray a traffic cone as akin to an exocet missile or a samurai sword.
A new low, even for TV3
10/03/2009, 3:06 PM
How hilarious.
I mean.
Ha. What nonsense. Their sources were bebo. That's just hilarious.:D
cheech
10/03/2009, 3:16 PM
The sad thing about the show is it in recent figures it was 12th most popular TV3 show with even more viewers than "Page 3 Teen" :eek:
Unfortunately I watcxhed some of the first half of the show & amazing that teens starting fires is news worthy.
You can tell how cheap the show was to make when they have on "expert" for the entire show. He appears to be an expert on everything. :rolleyes:
Seriously?
Youths4Ever
10/03/2009, 4:28 PM
the whole program was just full of grainy images and nothing of real substance. the two games then showed where between the same two teams and no mention of any issues at other games.
Bebo as a source is a joke real good journalism
crisps
10/03/2009, 4:30 PM
Most cringeworthy piece of s***e i've seen in my life.
10/03/2009, 6:52 PM
And it took ye a while to head over and brave the elements - Section O, Lost without chairman Marty :-)
yeah heard about that ash!! mind you massop 10 wasnt there either which is another possible reason why the lads were lost..:D
10/03/2009, 7:50 PM
Everyone. "Section O" featured on one of the Bebo pages shown.....
that piece on section o is the greatest load of bull.. the ringleaders last season that tried to cause trouble at the athlone town game in flansiro last season have bein banned at town home matches since then and havent being seen since. bet you it was them that posted it on that forum... they certainly caused the decline in section o and to be honest what ever goodwill towards section o by the club is now gone..:mad:
just watched the clip on the net just now and its not good to have section o mentioned in the same breath as bsc and shamrock rovers ultras..:o
Jinxy
10/03/2009, 10:03 PM
A whole series based on youtube clips, bebo pages, dogfight footage that didn't even happen in this country, pikeys fighting (shock horror) and grainy CCTV footage of kids doing donuts in cars.
A couple of transition year students could have done this handily enough.
It really needed Alan Partridge as narrator though.
I look forward to watching more quality programming from TV3 such as "Americas wildest obese sex-crazed pets" and "When buildings fall down".
What is the point of this channel?
Mr Maroon
10/03/2009, 10:14 PM
Goddam people dont realise ultras dont fight and cause havoc,well maybe they do in Italy but not here ffs
Wait, there are ultras in Ireland? :confused:
10/03/2009, 11:31 PM
Wait, there are ultras in Ireland? :confused:
In the same way that we are a nation of sports mad people - yes.
11/03/2009, 6:45 AM
In the same way that we are a nation of sports mad people - yes.
i actually found that quote the funniest of the night:)
Keen2win
11/03/2009, 8:58 AM
Everyone. "Section O" featured on one of the Bebo pages shown.....
Ye I saw that a while back and I left a comment telling them to take it down:cool:. I hadent looked back since as I'm not into that sort of thing:D but they mustn't have taken it down.
Oh well the programme was sh!t enough, don't think anyone will take much notice.
WoodquayBoy
11/03/2009, 9:19 AM
Watched it last night. Good Lord God but is this what we are reduced to, making shiiite like this? I mean, even take the soccer thing out nof it, how much were trhese muppets paid to log on to Youtube and download a load of images. It involved zero research, zero originality and was just a shocking piece of television
Joey Killester
11/03/2009, 10:31 AM
I think we (Na Fanaithe) were metioned aswell.
Goddam people dont realise ultras dont fight and cause havoc,well maybe they do in Italy but not here ffs
Na Fanaithe are ultras? :rolleyes:
Salmon Coloured
11/03/2009, 12:34 PM
And it took ye a while to head over and brave the elements - Section O, Lost without chairman Marty :-)
Thats cos for the first half the 6 of us were up in the Gantry getting coverage from the elements!!!
Bloody hell, when TV3 discover that there are big grey animals on the rampage at LOI games they'll have a flipping field day.
SkyOne will have an exclusive ... When Elements Attack :D
hunt4the
11/03/2009, 1:58 PM
Scary stuff that, I hadn't realised the LOI had descended to such levels of chaos in the terraces, really opened my eyes this program,
I mean my god the bohs skooligans vs the rovers mathletes, these lads meet up in dimly lit carparks after matches and have sudoku competitions and play scrabble
11/03/2009, 2:17 PM
these lads meet up in dimly lit carparks after matches and have sudoku competitions and play scrabble
I think you'll find that's the dangerous Belfield Bowsies. A nasty lot we are. We organise by mobile phone; none of this bebo lark, which is why TV3 didn't find us in their investigation.
We're - Still At Large...
11/03/2009, 2:43 PM
Incidentally, does anyone want to give this (http://www.bcc.ie/how_to_complaint/what_about_inaccuratedignity.html) a try? Complaint form on the BCC site, specific here to inaccurate information (you presumably have to be named for this - Section O, for example), but there's various options. Mayn't do anything, but sure no harm.
Inside Man
11/03/2009, 7:58 PM
Just plain Comedy
the-blue-harp
12/03/2009, 12:13 AM
there are some saddo's too. rovers and bohs young lads should get themselves a life maybe go get themselves a woman or something. watching too much football factories has all their thick wee heads deluded.
Finlay Harp
12/03/2009, 9:52 AM
What about when they discover your monkey fights Aidan? I can see a series being made on that one!
That's different. It's a legitimate sport (which is an important part of our collective cultural identity) and nobody gets hurt except the monkeys and some innocent bystanders.
12/03/2009, 1:06 PM
is there anywhere I can see the programme? Just for the laugh. What did they mention about Section O? Cant believe they took stupid Bebo pages seriously. :mad:
12/03/2009, 2:20 PM
Google TV3 Lawless Ireland; you can watch the whole thing online.
Section O were networked with some hoolie bebo site apparently. It was nothing more than a list of Supporters' Clubs, from the brief look I had anyway. It flashes up on screen for half a second or so.
12/03/2009, 2:47 PM
:mad: I think everyone's aware of Section O's radical militant tendencies, brushing it off as just half a second is glossing over it I reckon. Think of the children influenced by these people.
12/03/2009, 2:48 PM
If you do happen to come across any of these stupid Bebo pages you can report them and have them deleted very quickly. In the early stages of Wexford Youths I discovered a page supposedly trying to start up a Wexford Youths 'firm', I reported it for potentially inciting violence and it was deleted within a day or two. I know they're just sad little kids for the most part, but, when lazy journos are willing to jump on things like that it's best to have them removed where possible.
12/03/2009, 4:31 PM
http://www.tv3.ie/shows.php?request=lawlessireland
12/03/2009, 4:50 PM
In the early stages of Wexford Youths I discovered a page supposedly trying to start up a Wexford Youths 'firm'.
I laughed out loud when I read that. Can you imagine them all looking like hard men in their pink shirts? :D
thesilverfox
12/03/2009, 5:15 PM
theres a video on that page as well of the presenter on ireland am that morning promoting the show. my favourite part of the interview is the female presenter reaction to the umbrella incident:D
12/03/2009, 5:22 PM
Does anyone remember the Athlone "firm" that used to issue threats to all and sundry on JW's message board? :D
peterc1992
12/03/2009, 6:54 PM
Does anyone remember the Athlone "firm" that used to issue threats to all and sundry on JW's message board? :D
Aye i do ! And we're not gone yet:cool:
Pious37
12/03/2009, 7:46 PM
Like Danny Dyer Diehards!!!! They had L37 Ultras on the bebo page, the only bad thing they ever done was sing a bad word in a chant!!!! Very dangerous there lads isnt it. TV3 would wanna get there facts straight :eek: