View Full Version : TV3 "Lawless Ireland" on LOI hooliganism tonight 9:00

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4

09/03/2009, 8:32 PM
shocking stuff

irishultra
09/03/2009, 8:35 PM
real good reporting by tv3 through the series. really indepth cultural analysis and really makes you sit back and think.... :p

09/03/2009, 8:37 PM
"flower pot yokes!"

irishultra
09/03/2009, 8:37 PM
who the **** is doing the voice over?

maroon ultra
09/03/2009, 8:38 PM
I wonder do the hooligan hampers include flower pot yokes?

stickyjoe
09/03/2009, 8:40 PM
This is some pile of rubbish, but seriously the Rovers fans on the DART gave me a right laugh:D:D

irishultra
09/03/2009, 8:41 PM
hahahahhaha. the replys to the poll. hahahahahhahahahahahahahhahaha. sorry LMAO. that was hilarious. real hard hitting stuff.

and lol right wing groups in the LOI, most wouldnt even think that much to be right wing.

09/03/2009, 8:43 PM
Tv3 must spend more time on Bebo then the average Irish teenager...:rolleyes:

09/03/2009, 8:43 PM
and lol right wing groups in the LOI, most wouldnt even think that much to be right wing.
In fairness he said nothing about right wing groups in Ireland, just mentioned UK and Europe in that regard. Who's yer man anyway?

Using bebo to show that there's hooliganism.:D They'll have some sort of actual footage after the break so we'll get to see if they actually have anything decent.

irishultra
09/03/2009, 8:53 PM
shut up baldy

Tir Oilean
09/03/2009, 8:55 PM
Theres alot of scumbags at those Dublin derbies in fairness lads.

First
09/03/2009, 8:55 PM
Senstionalist rubbish , lazy and ignorant broadcasting.

09/03/2009, 8:56 PM
I dunno lads, I'll not be heading into Dublin on my own in future, some of those big crime bosses from bebo might be organising to beat me up in a riot.

Wonder would one of those hooligan hampers be a nice mothers day gift?

Really, really bad reporting, the entire footage is from you-tube and bebo.

Also, does anyone else see these "supporters" in any colours?

09/03/2009, 8:57 PM
"One hooligan is using an umbrella to hit a rival supporter."
:D :D :D

09/03/2009, 8:58 PM
Easily the worst thing I've ever watched on TV3...thank feck Dexter is on next so they can make up for it.

irishultra
09/03/2009, 9:00 PM
i like the way they portrayed loi as a relatively big deal though

First
09/03/2009, 9:00 PM
At least your gauranteed violence in it, Dexter that is

Mad Moose
09/03/2009, 9:01 PM
Well I'm thinking I'm enjoying the updates more here than I would the actual programme. In fairness to TV3 they don't waiver in their consistency. Granted its consistently s*ite but its still consistent.

I remember living in Cabra and there wasn't a week when the bin wasn't blown up (particularly the ones with smily faces :D) or burned out and it wasn't League of Ireland fans.

09/03/2009, 9:03 PM
Just a quick one lads

Will TV3 be sending out the "Instant retina repair kit" for having to watch that, or do you have to send in a voucher?

My two housemates(two GAAH heads) were in stitches laughing at the state of it.

09/03/2009, 9:07 PM
Well I'm thinking I'm enjoying the updates more here than I would the actual programme.
Me too!

I remember living in Cabra and there wasn't a week when the bin wasn't blown up (particularly the ones with smily faces :D) or burned out and it wasn't League of Ireland fans.
I was just thinking that, from the description, there was more violence in the thread on here about the supporters' bus being attacked by Pats fans last week than there was on that programme.

longfordjames
09/03/2009, 9:09 PM
What clubs were mentioned?

eamo1
09/03/2009, 9:14 PM
Is their grounds to sue the program makers for the remark by that sociologist guy that "all LOI clubs have a hooligan problem":mad:.
Also i turned it on right after Scrubs and i had to laugh that they were showing that fight on youtube outside that pub that i had suggested would be on it earlier today:D.
A seriously bad show.

corkharps
09/03/2009, 9:16 PM
hahahahhaha. the replys to the poll. hahahahahhahahahahahahahhahaha. sorry LMAO. that was hilarious. real hard hitting stuff.

The PD's making a come back?????Car cash TV,it was worse than "up for the match" before all Ireland Finals...

09/03/2009, 9:21 PM
Is their grounds to sue the program makers for the remark by that sociologist guy that "all LOI clubs have a hooligan problem":mad:.
Seriously? I doubt they would. I guess UCD could make a pretty good case for defamation. There are probably a bunch of other clubs who could too. There's a danger it'd just highlight the issue for people. I don't think the average punter in the street thinks much of the LoI's hooligan problem. Or of TV3.

09/03/2009, 9:22 PM
What clubs were mentioned?

Everyone. "Section O" featured on one of the Bebo pages shown.....

09/03/2009, 9:24 PM
Clubs can't sue on the basis of defamation of their fans (who don't "belong" to the club in any recognisable legal sense.) They'd have to allege that there were formal links between hooligans and given clubs to run any risk of litigation.

09/03/2009, 9:29 PM
Everyone. "Section O" featured on one of the Bebo pages shown.....
Seriously? Section O are about as dangerous as The Baby-sitter's Club. Some kid talk tough on their bebo page?

Clubs can't sue on the basis of defamation of their fans (who don't "belong" to the club in any recognisable legal sense.) They'd have to allege that there were formal links between hooligans and given clubs to run any risk of litigation.
They're businesses whose good name (and therefore income) is harmed by the allegation that they have a hooligan problem. I would that that where that's false, it's probably possible to win compensation for the allegation.

09/03/2009, 9:34 PM
Seriously? Section O are about as dangerous as The Baby-sitter's Club. Some kid talk tough on their bebo page?

Aye,

They started showing pages as "Hoolie pages" which basically just listed supporters clubs for various clubs. Ie Brandywell Pride were listed as one of the Derry ones.......

09/03/2009, 9:35 PM
How do you prove its falsehood? Tesco couldn't sue me if I said a number of their customers were smackheads, alcoholics and paedophiles (which is almost certainly true), it's no different for a footballl club.

09/03/2009, 9:49 PM
I was watching it there and saw the secion o reference. About time we had a bit of Biggin Up, we were getting tired of our endless attacks on rival fans getting no mention. No respect FCUK DA POLICE AND THEIR MA'S...Ohwait.... the sheer notion they inclide section o in the bull**** of that show. I actually think it is great. Few of my mates were watching it here we all fell about the place laughing and they are non LOI heads.

09/03/2009, 9:51 PM

**** you ya bleedin balagalaga. We are well dangerous. We are gona rush yere firm and make ye all eat week out of date barnbrack... you guys aint seen nuthin yet. :mad:

09/03/2009, 9:52 PM
How do you prove its falsehood? Tesco couldn't sue me if I said a number of their customers were smackheads, alcoholics and paedophiles (which is almost certainly true), it's no different for a footballl club.
It's not quite the same. If TV3 were to report that there are paedophiles preying on children in Tesco, drug addicts shooting up in the aisles and alcoholics starting trouble in their shops, I suspect they'd very quickly get sued into oblivion.

You may not have to prove it's false; it depends on how the law works. For instance, I understand that in libel cases the accused has to justify what he published. I'm not a lawyer, so I don't know exactly where the law lies in this situation.

09/03/2009, 9:54 PM
**** you ya bleedin balagalaga. We are well dangerous. We are gona rush yere firm and make ye all eat week out of date barnbrack... you guys aint seen nuthin yet. :mad:
You guys up for another kick-about on the pitch at half time and a few pints in PV's afterwards?

09/03/2009, 9:59 PM
You guys up for another kick-about on the pitch at half time and a few pints in PV's afterwards?

Oh way to go and make it ultra low violence John! And to answer your question than it could be a runner been a long time since the half time games.

09/03/2009, 10:02 PM

Lads this is a respectible hooligan forum, if you're going to be organising stuff like that could you keep it to the PMs please in case TV3 gets wind?

09/03/2009, 10:06 PM
Sorry :(

09/03/2009, 10:06 PM
Lads this is a respectible hooligan forum, if you're going to be organising stuff like that could you keep it to the PMs please in case TV3 gets wind?
Well, we could have a fight at PV's. It's a long way back to Dublin though, so we'll probably head off a bit early.

Finlay Harp
09/03/2009, 10:27 PM
I would say Saturday night in Finn Park will be lively. What sort of firm do Longford have these days? Naveney Street will be like a battleground:rolleyes:

Trainee
09/03/2009, 10:44 PM
TV3 has to the worst channel ever

Eircom League weekly was woeful, but that crap that was tonight was 10 times worse.

SolitudeRed
10/03/2009, 12:26 AM
Can't believe TV3 made a show about hooliganism in the LoI I mean come on! I've been to a few matches down here and the worst I've seen is a few rowdy kids! I'd hate to see how TV3 would portray the Irish League in such a documentary!

Boo_Boy
10/03/2009, 12:50 AM
I just got a chance to watch it there. Easily the funniest thing i have watched in ages!

Bebo, i say BEBO.....feckin B....E....B....O, i have no idea who would EVER make a show on hooliganism in the LoI when all the shyte comes from feckin BEBO. The end is absolutly hilarious..''If you have been affected by any of the issues in this programme, log onto tv3.ie/lawlessireland for more information''. I gotta ring them up and complain about fierce pains in my side and trouble breathing.

Then I have to ring up Con and the boy's over at MNS and tell them this one!

Salmon Coloured
10/03/2009, 7:39 AM
For a start you can begin to fear Section O. There must have been 6 of us there in the rain on last Saturday night. Although Ronnie B you have in the past actually tweaked the nose of a Pats troublemaker there.
You bring the Barnbrack & ill bring some sour milk to pour on the area their standing on.

stann
10/03/2009, 7:53 AM
I see 'Waterford Youths' shown on their list too, kind of stood out as it's a name I never heard tell of before.
A quick google of links with bebo, and all that comes up is the underage football team! Love of Jesus! :D

(Just as a by-the-by, can't any of these no-marks spell? What the f**k is going on in our schools these days??!! :mad:)

SeanDrog
10/03/2009, 8:01 AM
I dont think anyone would deny that there are elements in the league that we would rather didnt exist but unfortuantely this programme protrayed a world that simply doesn't exist. They opened the peiece with riots from Italy and various Championships then lead into ireland with BEBO pages. They had the fight at Hill16 but the next thing I saw before switching off was the Rovers lads on the dart (or Luas?) singing - yes singing (will someone please think of the children), admittingly it was about killing Bohs (or words to that effect) but so what , its football rivarly not knindregarden, they can sing abusive songs about their rivals, doesnt make them hooligans.

Overall a very very abd piece of research, embarrassing for TV3. I switched off when their last add break kicked. Dreadful cheap ass program.

seand
10/03/2009, 8:06 AM
What an utterly pathetic show. Grainy cctv footage of kids play fighting and 'shocking' coverage of kids nicking a wheelie bin. And the majority of the eircom league stuff was taken from bebo. Did nobody in TV3 look at this and think 'this is really, really ****e we can't possibly broadcast this'? Even the traveller boxing match in the first programme in the series was very disappointing... one lad conceded after being floored just the once... I've seen better fights in the eircom League ! ;-) Oh no, I've just written a section for next week's Lawless Ireland!

10/03/2009, 8:22 AM
I only saw a bit of it, and all I saw was riots in Italy, and then a pigs head, and shock horror, trotters on the pitch in Dalyer, and then some jazz bloke talking as if he was an expert - Nice.

I doubt anyone would've taken it seriously, I'd be more concerned about some of the pathetic phone in's like newstalk and liveline taking up the ball and running with it.

redobit
10/03/2009, 8:23 AM
What a crap production. The scenes reminded me more of a schoolyard - kids just running around the place in any old direction. A pathetic attempt to add a few viewing figures by TV3. And they way they made it out that because its on the internet it must be true, come on, loads of kids can make a website these days.

And I have to say from what I have heard from a few older lads, back in the 80s trouble was a lot more widespread then.

Dalymountrower
10/03/2009, 8:39 AM
I`ve tried to post a few reasoned comments about journalistic standards in their comment box on the TV twee programme site, each time it has mysteriously crashed leaving only cringeworthy praise in the comments section. As the comments are ,in the most part, inarticulate drivel, I would suspect that top journalist Mr O Donavon and his crack research team are authors of said comments that made it through the web sites ecurity

10/03/2009, 9:10 AM
For a start you can begin to fear Section O. There must have been 6 of us there in the rain on last Saturday night.

And it took ye a while to head over and brave the elements - Section O, Lost without chairman Marty :-)

10/03/2009, 9:38 AM
I`ve tried to post a few reasoned comments about journalistic standards in their comment box on the TV twee programme site, each time it has mysteriously crashed leaving only cringeworthy praise in the comments section.
I posted a comment for the craic, and got a message thanking me for my input and saying that a member of their team would upload the message in due course. Orwell would be proud. Imagine having that job. What sort of retard must it take to work in such blatant propoganda?