View Full Version : We're in Europe

Counting Crow
27/11/2003, 8:48 PM
Final score from Richmond Park:

Pat's 1-2 Longford
(O'Keeffe 17) (Byrne 64)
(Kirby 90)

How sweet it is.

Technically Longford could pass us out if we loose v Drogs and they win their last game ( who are they playing? ) but as we all know it matters for nowt now as they have the FAI Cup under their belt and have qualified already.

Should take the pressure off us on Sunday so I expect we should win anyway now.

Well done Pat Dolan and the lads.

I'll bet that small fella who manages Pat's ( what's his name again ) is crying like a baby ..... again.

Longford.........my favourite other team now..........he - he - he!

Sweet for Dolan to finish above SPA, we're in Europe ( they're not ) and everyone knows his name but nobody knows the small guy from Pats:D

27/11/2003, 9:01 PM
Originally posted by Counting Crow
I'll bet that small fella who manages Pat's ( what's his name again ) is crying like a baby ..... again.

And it couldn't happen to a nicer fella!
I wonder are they wanting Dolan back yet? Eugene is nothing without him!

I'm delighted that Dolan and City have finished higher than Pats after all their talk throughout the season. I wonder is their pathetic little happy family going through yet another crisis!

Counting Crow
27/11/2003, 9:06 PM
Bet their fighting like cats and dogs tonight ........just like after the Cup Final.:D

27/11/2003, 9:37 PM
The town are playing UCD .... who they have to beat to keep Derry safe ... well for the play offs anyway.

All eyes on Waterford and UCD games ...... C'mon City (the other one)

27/11/2003, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by A face
The town are playing UCD .... who they have to beat to keep Derry safe ... well for the play offs anyway.

All eyes on Waterford and UCD games ...... C'mon City (the other one)

c'mon longford. one more result from ye

DolansWaistcoat
28/11/2003, 7:57 AM
Come on,ye can put the last nail in the smelly student's coffin.:p

28/11/2003, 8:05 AM
Originally posted by Counting Crow

i'd say Eoin was probably in mcdowells again last night, tears flowing from his face, wondering what he did to deserve such a pathetic bunch of players and fans.. well eoin.. they're probably saying the same thing about you...
what did we do to deserve this useless NOBODY of a manager...

ye missing Dolan now SPA boys :)

ian
28/11/2003, 8:53 AM
Well lads we are there and on the way to Europe Yes but lets get back to sunday and get the three points that are their for us.

So lads look out for that Plane that is going to where ever we are off to in july.:cool: :cool: :cool: :cool:

ccfcgirl
28/11/2003, 9:10 AM
when will the draw be made for whom where playing dose anyone know

28/11/2003, 9:16 AM
nice one
euro fever starting to grip the rebel army already

*wheres the suntan lotion gone?*
:cool:

28/11/2003, 9:33 AM
And we're obsessed with your manager?

Like I've said all along, We've improved 100% on last year. For aman in his first managerial job, whatshisname has donebrilliant. Our small squad proved our downfall but hey you can't win everything

And on the question of do we want Dolan Back, the answer is a definite, polite, NO

28/11/2003, 9:58 AM
I wonder is that tea lady in charge of Pats feeling the pressure. Shoddy Roddy was there breeding down his neck last night, are Pats about to replace John Doe with Roddy.
see here (http://www.soccercentral.ie/viewstory.asp?mainheading=Eircom&id=11512&viewstory=yes)

Well done to Pat, with such a sort space of time he guided us to Europe. Super manager.

28/11/2003, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by Dodge

Like I've said all along, We've improved 100% on last year. For aman in his first managerial job, whatshisname has donebrilliant. Our small squad proved our downfall but hey you can't win everything

And on the question of do we want Dolan Back, the answer is a definite, polite, NO

how have ye improved 100% on last season
ye qualified for europe last season,u didnt this season
so wahts if its his first season in charge

dolanio has completed part 1 of the 3 year plan:D

28/11/2003, 11:23 AM
U MIGHT WANT TO EDIT THAT

28/11/2003, 11:31 AM
Originally posted by thecorner
how have ye improved 100% on last season
ye qualified for europe last season,u didnt this season
so wahts if its his first season in charge

dolanio has completed part 1 of the 3 year plan:D
Last season we finished 7th, 3 points off the play off.

At the moment we're 13 points clear of that position. Added to that the League Cup win, the FAi Cup final and the fact that we have only 4 players from last season I reckon that s not a bad performance for a new manager.

28/11/2003, 12:12 PM
So we finished above SPA..so what?
There is nothing to be too happy about, sure we have only finished higher than a bunch of injured or unavailable children, no big deal surely. Why are people even bothered with this "club"?
City have much bigger fish to fry........;)
The only teams City need to concentrate on are $hels and Bohs, and maybe Longford.
Leave the lesser lights to their petty little squabbles, their incestuous back-slapping and their self-delusional conceits.
Lets keep our eyes on the real task here people, don't be side-tracked by trivialities!

28/11/2003, 12:16 PM
Mr friggin Know it all strikes again :rolleyes:

28/11/2003, 12:55 PM
Congrats to Fat Pat for matching Gunther Murphy's first season achievements.... Great to see Cork finally turn the corner from their last manager's dismal record....

28/11/2003, 12:59 PM
Originally posted by wws

Does that imply that you know nothing.

No far off the mark anyhoo !!

28/11/2003, 2:13 PM

Originally posted by wws
U MIGHT WANT TO EDIT THAT

Last season we finished 7th, 3 points off the play off.

At the moment we're 13 points clear of that position. Added to that the League Cup win, the FAi Cup final and the fact that we have only 4 players from last season I reckon that s not a bad performance for a new manager.

WE'RE GOING TO EUROPE, YOU'RE NOT

Leave Bosco cry into his pint in McDowells the sad little fúck :D

28/11/2003, 2:28 PM
obssesed with the bigger club :o

28/11/2003, 2:29 PM
Originally posted by wws
Nope, not in the slightest. Just thoroughly overjoyed to have finished ahead of that horrible little man

28/11/2003, 2:35 PM
Originally posted by Macy
Congrats to Fat Pat for matching Gunther Murphy's first season achievements.... Great to see Cork finally turn the corner from their last manager's dismal record....

Thanks for your usual unwanted contribution Macy. Nice to see you sticking up for your Junkie buddies!:rolleyes:

28/11/2003, 2:42 PM
gunther achieved more
fact
get over it
and get him back now!!

28/11/2003, 3:07 PM
Originally posted by Colm
Thanks for your usual unwanted contribution Macy. Nice to see you sticking up for your Junkie buddies!:rolleyes:
Where's the sticking up for them in that? More an observation of your double standards - Dolan has achieved exactly the same as Gunther did.... Infact, if you'd had Gunther's home record of last season, with some improvement in your away form you really would've challenged this year....

Not sticking up for anyone, just think you lot are hypocrites...

28/11/2003, 3:09 PM
our away form is better this season Macy, and, like Dolan, we're not looking short-term like Murphy did. The club as a whole is in much better shape than it was a year ago, Europe is just the cherry on top.

p.s. Call it hypocrisy if you will, but we just wanna be loved, and Gunther wasn't into that :)

28/11/2003, 3:11 PM
.. Infact, if you'd had Gunther's home record of last season, with some improvement in your away form you really would've challenged this year....

what an idiotic comment macy
what the hell do you put some of the improvement in away form down too..
no more gunther..
pathetic macy :D

28/11/2003, 3:14 PM
Originally posted by wws
gunther achieved more
fact
get over it
and get him back now!!
I see where you're leading with this wws. You reckon if you can persuade us to take Murphy back, we won't notice ye lot begging outside Dolan's door. :p

28/11/2003, 3:19 PM
Originally posted by Éanna
You reckon if you can persuade us to take Murphy back, we won't notice ye lot begging outside Dolan's door. :p

Excellent: def quote of the day :)

28/11/2003, 3:23 PM
Originally posted by James
no more gunther..
All credit to your director of football though....

28/11/2003, 3:27 PM
All credit to your director of football though....
no surrender til he's gone :)

BTW, Macy, if you look at what most of us were saying last year, it was that the guy is a great talent spotter but not a great tactician and that the role he's in now would be ideal. It was certainly just about the only credit I ever gave him :)

28/11/2003, 4:30 PM
Originally posted by wws
Remember now, wws, you and "Mr. frigging Know all" are supposed to be on the same side!
The infighting in SPA has started already....:D

28/11/2003, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by wws

was beginning to wander what u were doing on the cork city forum

i guess u answered my thought:D

Dr.Nightdub
29/11/2003, 6:22 PM
Interesting sense of perspective on view here. Cork fans delighted that they finished ahead of us, ignoring the fact that Shels and Bohs were light years ahead of the whole rest of the League. If finishing ahead of Pats is the height of your ambition, fair enough.

This thread started off by talking about Pats, so don't expect Pats fans not to respond. So here goes.

In our second-last game last year (coincidentally against youse) we ensured we avoided the play-offs. That was where Dolan had led us to. And after spending half of last season going "Dolan Out" you reckon we want him back? I don't think so pal!

As for this season, last April we figured it would be a transition year and so we'd be satisfied if we simply did better than last year. Fortunately, Eamonn Collins showed us that our expectations were too low.

He had to start by trimming the size of the squad to get the wage bill under control as our overdraft had got to silly proportions (a nice legacy of your precious Mr.Dolan). Apart from wages, we also have to devote time and money to improving our ground (not something Cork City have to trouble themselves with as they don't actually own one). And when the trained chimps in the OPW finally stop sucking their pencils, we'll be able to get the builders in.

So anyway, Eamonn put together a full-time squad of 24 players, all bar four of whom were aged 25 or younger. We began playing football again. Or at least it looked like what we thought football might be like - we couldn't really remember after enduring the route one / set piece combination that was the extent of Dolan's tactical repertoire.

In doing so, we won the League Cup and we got to the Cup Final by beating Bohs in what was probably the best match of the entire season, in a ground full to capacity and in front of a massive and admiring TV audience. Yes, we lost the final, but Charlie's enforced retirement five days beforehand was a tragedy that reverberated throughout our club in a way that you simply cannot fathom. In our second-last game this season we were challenging for European qualification.

Above all, there's a unity of purpose at Pats now that was sadly missing under Dolan. Creating that, and restoring the joy of supporting Pats is probably Eamonn's single biggest achievement.

So that's a transition season? Great. I know what it's a transition from. I can't bloody wait to see what it's a transition to.

Enjoy Europe. We'll be there soon.

29/11/2003, 7:54 PM
Apart from wages, we also have to devote time and money to improving our ground (not something Cork City have to trouble themselves with as they don't actually own one)

Those in glass houses now there good Doctor. From what I hear Pats dont actually own Richmond either. Also City have to fork out for improvments to the Cross.

So anyway, Eamonn put together a full-time squad of 24 players, all bar four of whom were aged 25 or younger. We began playing football again. Or at least it looked like what we thought football might be like - we couldn't really remember after enduring the route one / set piece combination that was the extent of Dolan's tactical repertoire.

Oh yea its Dolan's fault that they still cant pass for shíte and why ye just hoof it to Bird at every oppertunity. I suppose he asked Collins to play like that as a favour?:rolleyes:

Above all, there's a unity of purpose at Pats now that was sadly missing under Dolan. Creating that, and restoring the joy of supporting Pats is probably Eamonn's single biggest achievement.

Well if bitching at each other and every sub snubing him on the day of yer biggest game of the year is unity there there'll be great unity up in Stormount this year

30/11/2003, 11:41 AM
If finishing ahead of Pats is the height of your ambition, fair enough. Its not, its just very pleasing.

He had to start by trimming the size of the squad to get the wage bill under control as our overdraft had got to silly proportions (a nice legacy of your precious Mr.Dolan). Apart from wages, we also have to devote time and money to improving our ground (not something Cork City have to trouble themselves with as they don't actually own one). And when the trained chimps in the OPW finally stop sucking their pencils, we'll be able to get the builders in. Har har har. We've spent a fortune on ground developments despite the fact that we don't own the ground. The only visible improvements in Syringecore in the lasy 5 years have been the concreteing of the Camac, so what other "improvements" are you tlaking about. If anything, its got worse. As for the overdraft, your chariman must be pretty damn stupid to have let it happen, ours wouldn't.

We began playing football again. Or at least it looked like what we thought football might be like - we couldn't really remember after enduring the route one / set piece combination that was the extent of Dolan's tactical repertoire.
I've heard this so many times, and its rubbish- unless Eamon Collins makes a decision that every time I am personally at a game he's going to play long-ball kick and rush crap. I've seen Pats 7 or 8 times this season and they have not been any better than they were before.

That joy and unity only disappeared when things weren't going so well. When ye were in witha shout of the league it was all rosy in the garden- fickle. And the bitching returned the minute ye lost the cup final.

So that's a transition season? Great. I know what it's a transition from. I can't bloody wait to see what it's a transition to.

Sounds just like what we've been saying

Enjoy Europe. We'll be there soon.
Fine. We'll let ye enjoy the inter toto while we're off winning things