View Full Version : LOI Preview Guides
Iorfa2MaccaJim
20/02/2009, 1:30 AM
Hi lads.
I have been out of the counrty for the last week, so I was just wondering, have I missed the release of the P.F.A.I. Guide, or The Stars' Official Guide?
If I haven't missed them, does anyone know when they will be out, now that the fixtures are out ?
maroon ultra
20/02/2009, 1:45 AM
I would hazard a guess that they will be out early in the week that the season starts.
brianw82
20/02/2009, 2:44 AM
Do those 2 aforementioned publications contain official squad lists?
20/02/2009, 9:54 AM
Do those 2 aforementioned publications contain official squad lists?
PFAI does, not sure of the other one.
20/02/2009, 10:18 AM
PFAI definitely doesn't include official squad lists as its usually sent to prit way before squads are finalised
21/02/2009, 7:49 AM
PFAI definitely doesn't include official squad lists as its usually sent to prit way before squads are finalised
Ah. I assumed because it was an official one of an organisation... nevermind.
Johnnie C
25/02/2009, 12:52 PM
Anyone know if The Star are doing a preview mag of upcoming season like the last few years and if yes what day it will be out ?
Battery Rover
25/02/2009, 12:59 PM
Anyone know if The Star are doing a preview mag of upcoming season like the last few years and if yes what day it will be out ?
Yes they are doing one as I have had The Star call me looking for info but I forgot to ask when it was coming out
Its usually a couple of days before the league starts
25/02/2009, 1:24 PM
to the best of my memory the star is always the last to have a preview for the season..
Mayo Red
25/02/2009, 6:21 PM
The PFAI/Mirror one is usually within a day or so of the mag in The Star aswell isn't it? Although it's generally not as good as the one from The Star in fairness!
kingdomkerry
25/02/2009, 9:36 PM
The Star is one of the main sponsors of the league this season too so I assume they'll have a good one.
25/02/2009, 9:36 PM
The PFAI/Mirror one is usually within a day or so of the mag in The Star aswell isn't it? Although it's generally not as good as the one from The Star in fairness!
Agreed but still definitely worth picking up as well.
soccerc
27/02/2009, 10:30 PM
Star mag looks the biz, out next week
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3539/3314311398_e684259af0.jpg
gufc2000
27/02/2009, 10:34 PM
Star mag looks the biz, out next week
http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3539/3314311398_e684259af0.jpg
What day do you know?
mediahack
28/02/2009, 10:17 AM
What day do you know?
Think it is out on Monday!
28/02/2009, 7:39 PM
Think it is out on Monday!
i assume it will be at the end of the week as there was nothing in todays star on this..
02/03/2009, 9:50 AM
Is this out today so yeah?
02/03/2009, 9:55 AM
No it doesn't seem to be in todays star.
oldyouth
02/03/2009, 11:05 AM
I got the paper today but no joy and no mention of it coming
gufcfan
02/03/2009, 12:04 PM
Just looking at the photo... Looks like it's a little more substantial than your usual newspaper freebie.
Battery Rover
02/03/2009, 12:26 PM
Got a copy of it at the league launch Friday and it was excellent so much so that a girl sitting beside me on the train on the way home asked if she could read it as it was so impressive. It is much more than your usual newspaper freebie.
02/03/2009, 12:50 PM
Got a copy of it at the league launch Friday and it was excellent so much so that a girl sitting beside me on the train on the way home asked if she could read it as it was so impressive. It is much more than your usual newspaper freebie.
Stuff LOI nerds dream about. Girls hitting on you as you look at LOI stats…
Battery Rover
02/03/2009, 1:06 PM
Stuff LOI nerds dream about. Girls hitting on you as you look at LOI stats…
Yep and even invited herself and family to the first game of the season at home
Scrufil
02/03/2009, 1:11 PM
But the real question I want to ask is: Did you get name checked in the book? :D:ball::D
gufc2000
02/03/2009, 3:51 PM
So when is it out???
Mento
02/03/2009, 10:35 PM
In the shops on Friday
03/03/2009, 9:45 AM
they should use that for an advert!
TheBoss
03/03/2009, 1:51 PM
Anyone know when the previews from The Mirror(PFAI Mag) and The Sun(Kick Off) will be issued ?
03/03/2009, 2:39 PM
Anyone know when the previews from The Mirror(PFAI Mag) and The Sun(Kick Off) will be issued ?
Yeah, normally loads of adverts about them but not alot this year for some reason. If anyone knows it would be great.
03/03/2009, 3:05 PM
If someone would be good enough to send me through copies of all the guides - It'd be much appreciated.
PM for a postal address if you can help - I'll whack some cash back in return to cover postage / purchasing costs of course
Buller
05/03/2009, 7:56 AM
I was just wondering if any of the preview magazines have been released yet? Its now a day before the league starts and I've seen none! Have I missed them?
Mayo Red
05/03/2009, 8:04 AM
Nope, have seen nothing so far either, not even an ad for them. The Mirror might be leaving theirs until tomorrow maybe, seeing as their EL Focus used to always be in the paper on Fridays!
There's a 16-pager in the Dundalk Democrat ... essential reading ;)
hi from montenegro
just one season preview so far...
http://www.setanta.com/uk/Articles/Football/2009/03/01/LOI-2009-Season-Preview/gnid-42409/
05/03/2009, 11:06 AM
There's a 16-pager in the Dundalk Democrat ... essential reading ;)
Aye great read, fair play to them.:cool:
05/03/2009, 12:25 PM
The one in the Mirror is out on Saturday. Just seen an ad on TV for it. There's also a pocket size fixture list with it too.
brianw82
05/03/2009, 1:41 PM
Call me a grumpy git, but these things need to be out earlier. Someone picking up the Star on Friday morning most likely has his Friday evening already planned. If it came out on Monday or Tuesday, he might arrange to go to a game.
It's a preview of the whole season, not tonight's entertainment guide, you grumpy git.
...it was excellent so much so that a girl sitting beside me on the train on the way home asked if she could read it as it was so impressive.
Was the train to the Twilight Zone? Either that or she was so keen to talk to you she was willing to read LOI mag.
el punter
05/03/2009, 9:39 PM
Mirror one comes out on erm... Saturday according to RTE1 advert.
gufc2000
05/03/2009, 9:41 PM
Great advert, fair play comes across well
Sunny Jim
06/03/2009, 7:15 AM
Got the Star mag today. It's very impressive as usual. Would have liked a bit more on the First Division clubs though.
Black and White
06/03/2009, 7:39 AM
Mirror one comes out on erm... Saturday according to RTE1 advert.
Yup heard that on the radio yesterday!
06/03/2009, 8:51 AM
Got the Mirror one today. OK but nothing special, might have a look at the Star one later.
06/03/2009, 9:44 AM
Star one is quite good :)
They have Boco's identity wrong in his caption photo though
06/03/2009, 11:30 AM
And the picture is of Richie Ryan and not O'Grady.
But maybe i'm just being niggly...
06/03/2009, 12:03 PM
Got the Star mag today. It's very impressive as usual. Would have liked a bit more on the First Division clubs though.
I'm sure Anto Russel will be delighted he's described as being the 18 year old captain. They'd want to add at least another decade. :D
Sunny Jim
06/03/2009, 12:22 PM
Anto might be delighted about being described as a teenager but he won't be happy with that picture. Not the most flattering I've ever seen.
harpstilidie
06/03/2009, 3:42 PM
Got the Star one today- Good read but wrong crest for Harps (same every season) and they have Minno as our key player but he hasn't signed this season.
Apart from that its pretty good.