View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009
Pages :
[
14]
I think Leveller has a point. Westport are right not to jump blind into the A league.
Castlebar Celtic are in a far stronger position as a club, they have their own ground and a very well established & sucessful underage set-up.
Whither or not the A league proves to be a sucess or a total flop, it is a natural move for Celtic to make.
At a very basic level the culture and attitude within a club like Celtic, where development, growth and the future are obvious priorities, can only be good for young players coming through.
There is no doubt the E.L. has been ran rather questionably in terms of clubs financial dealings in the last couple of years, and many clubs are now suffering as a result of this negligence. (The E.L. is the not the only industry suffering of late as a result of questionable financial management.) This, however, is not reason enough to put a cap on ambition and scorn all attempts a club makes to step up a level.
The A league may prove a great big nonsense, and if it does I will be the first to hold my hands up and say "Thats a shame, I thought it was a decent idea."
If Celtic end up back in the S.L. in a couple of years, I for one will be dissapointed because it means their project has not worked out, and we won't have a Mayo team in the E.L. On the other hand, with all the talk of the poor standards in the S.L. of late, should Celtic return to the S.L., they will bring experience and some new ides to the party, this can only be a good thing.
I can see where Leveller is coming from, in relation to spending a huge chunk of the clubs finances funding travel expenses in an as yet untested league, but I think its a risk worth taking. The worst that will happen is they will end up where they started, a top S.L. Club.
Each to their own, what is the big deal if Westport don't enter the A league? Maybe in a couple of years they will, or maybe it will be a Conn senior league then.
The point is, this A league is not about a current crop of players, it is about the holistic development of a club from top to bottom - U-8's to the senior team.
In the mean time, Fahy Rovers hope to be on their new pitch in Fahy next season, with two underage teams and absolutely no aspirations for the Eircom League. Yet.
Cannon Balls
28/08/2009, 11:38 AM
Ye play ballina on sunday and S&F played them off the park in the semi final until the ref made a balls of that game with red cards and some brutal decisions.
Just because nobody from Ballina Town really posts on here it doesn't mean they dont come on to read and have a good laugh at some of the stuff!
FahyForever
28/08/2009, 12:41 PM
Just because nobody from Ballina Town really posts on here it doesn't mean they dont come on to read and have a good laugh at some of the stuff!
There's always going to be people who are totally partisan posting here... some fans or players can't see beyond their own club, which should be obvious from a quick glimpse at this thread. I would say, in general, everyone respects Ballina as a Super League team..
FahyForever
28/08/2009, 12:51 PM
Another point well made by leveller regarding the A Championship is the burden put on the fans... Westport have great support, who follow them to every match, not just home games. This is pretty much unprecedented in Mayo Football. Regardless of weather, opposition or gaaaa, they want see their team play. When their team is playing in Derry at 2.30 or the likes, this incurs a lot of cost, or travelling or both.
So in that regard Westport are keeping faithful to their fans.
I totally see the point of Rava and the other Celtic boys' argument regarding ambition, but Norm is right in saying the club is not at a place to consider the move just yet. One thing I think everyone can agree on is that it would be very interesting to see how they would do at that level, because they do seem to a bit bored of the league this year, despite their wealth of talent.
Leveller
28/08/2009, 1:19 PM
Another point well made by leveller regarding the A Championship is the burden put on the fans... Westport have great support, who follow them to every match, not just home games. This is pretty much unprecedented in Mayo Football. Regardless of weather, opposition or gaaaa, they want see their team play. When their team is playing in Derry at 2.30 or the likes, this incurs a lot of cost, or travelling or both.
I totally see the point of Rava and the other Celtic boys' argument regarding ambition, but Norm is right in saying the club is not at a place to consider the move just yet. One thing I think everyone can agree on is that it would be very interesting to see how they would do at that level, because they do seem to a bit bored of the league this year, despite their wealth of talent.
Thanks for that Fahy Forever, both your responses were top class and well balanced on both sides. Thanks.:)
I totally see the point of Rava and the other Celtic boys' argument regarding ambition, but Norm is right in saying the club is not at a place to consider the move just yet. One thing I think everyone can agree on is that it would be very interesting to see how they would do at that level, because they do seem to a bit bored of the league this year, despite their wealth of talent.Thats a total contradiction.
On the costs of entering the A Championship. The only cost is 1)Entry fee to the league 2)Travelling to the 8 away games (3 within 1 hour) 3)Match Officials. By getting the current sponsors and new sponsors to give a bit of money, get home game sponsored and with gate receipts, I don't think the A Championship is a step too far for Castlebar Celtic in their current situation.
Bestie
28/08/2009, 11:23 PM
There's always going to be people who are totally partisan posting here... some fans or players can't see beyond their own club, which should be obvious from a quick glimpse at this thread. I would say, in general, everyone respects Ballina as a Super League team..
No doubt about it. Ballina are a good side who play very nice football but looking at the Mayo website it looks like they are missing half a team for Sunday. I am afraid that it looks like Westport again but as you say, you have to respect Ballina.
FahyForever
29/08/2009, 9:26 AM
Thats a total contradiction.
On the costs of entering the A Championship. The only cost is 1)Entry fee to the league 2)Travelling to the 8 away games (3 within 1 hour) 3)Match Officials. By getting the current sponsors and new sponsors to give a bit of money, get home game sponsored and with gate receipts, I don't think the A Championship is a step too far for Castlebar Celtic in their current situation.
It's not a total contradiction, My point is that within the Mayo League Westport have a great following, surpassing any other club. If they were to go into the A Championship it would mean people missing work and incurring a fair bit of expense. I think you understood that too but decided to be obstinate. How many supporters do Castlebar get at an average away fixture? (Please do not take`this as anti Castlebar Celtic, it's not.)
Can anybody from Fahy tell me why they had to call there game against snugboro off tomorrow
MayoToffee
29/08/2009, 5:18 PM
pitch flooded
Must have had some bad weather that side of the town today,were there no alternatives?
Cloggs
30/08/2009, 7:40 AM
Must have had some bad weather that side of the town today,were there no alternatives?
we tried to get to get the game changed to snugboro but they wouldn't play it there.
Thunderblaster
30/08/2009, 9:29 AM
Elvery’s Mayo Super League
Sunday 30th August 2009 – Ballina – Kick Off 2.30pm
Will Sunday’s Top of the Table Clash decide League Title?
Next Sunday’s top of the table Super League clash between Ballina Town and Westport Utd (Kick Off 2.30) at Belleek could very well decide the outcome to the 2009 Elvery’s Super League title – that is not however how the two managers see it. With only 3 points separating the sides and Ballina Town with a game in hand, both managers see the battle going the full course of the campaign irrespective of the outcome of Sunday’s clash.
Ballina Town manager Brendan Kenny acknowledges that should Westport come out on top that this would give them a huge advantage in the “run in” for the title, but he has every confidence in his side to seriously challenge for the title this season – he says “We fully accept that Westport will be favourites to win this game. They are a quality side with the best players in the county. They have won competitions because they have simply been the best side around for some years now. They have quality players with the like of Cameron, O’Malley, Lawless and many more that would adorn any side in the country. We know the task that is ahead of us, but we will be prepared and give it our best shot.”
Kenny admits however that it will be more difficult on Sunday without the services of Michael Knight, Malachy McCarron, and Mark Beattie through suspension, and with injury concerns over Philly Devers and Tom O’Connor it may leave his site somewhat depleted. Kenny can however feel satisfied that ace marksman, Mick Duffy, is regaining full fitness and has found his goal scoring touch once again. Kenny adds “We will also be without the service of Peter Duffy and Sean Kelly who are both out of the country presently, but we have a big squad this year and will have able replacements to fill the gaps. We expect these kinds of things to happen, and need to be prepared for any eventuality if we are to be serious challengers. I expect all the new lads coming in to do a job for me, and if they all play to their full ability, I am satisfied that we can achieve a good result. There will be little in it, but our games so far this season suggest that we will have goals in the game, and I feel that the fans that turn up will be guaranteed goals.”
Ballina have often been described as the “perennial underachievers” who have promised a lot, and then failed to deliver on that promise. This season however has seen Ballina Town win their first domestic competition since 2001 with their recent win in the Westaro Cup final. Brendan Kenny believes that the tide has turned for the club – “We have had a difficult period for the club over the past few years. The club was very much involved in developing their facilities, fundraising, and promoting the game at underage level. This may have taken away from the football side of things at senior level as a lot of the same people were playing and involved in other club activities. We also had the tragic loss of Pete Murray during the year. A club the size of Ballina Town should always be up with the Castlebar Celtic’s and Westport Utd’s in terms of achievement because of its population base, and we hope to rectify that this season.”
Westport Utd’s team manager Padraig Burns also sees Sunday’s game as a serious challenge for his squad. Westport Utd were somewhat shocked just a few short weeks ago with surprising league losses to Ballyheane and Snugboro. These losses allowed Ballina Town and Iorras Aontaithe close the gap and exert some pressure on the champions.
Whatever the outcome of Sunday’s game Padraig Burns maintains that every point needs fighting for in the remaining matches – he says “No League campaign is won with 6 matches and 18 points left to play for. We want to win this league as much as ever, and the players want to win the League with every effort going in to win the remaining games. The hunger is still there with the players.”
Westport may not have been pulling on all cylinders during the course of this League campaign due possibly to the loss of influential players through injury. Westport have been without the services of Danny Scahill, and David Horkan because of injury and the likes of Dessie O’Malley, Gerry McLoughlin, Colm Navin and David Hoban have also been out in recent times due to suspension and non-availability. Sunday’s encounter may very well be a headache for manager Burns with Horkan and Scahill returning to the playing fields last weekend – “This will be the first time in a long while that I will probably have a full squad to choose from, and it poses a selection headache. It is a nice situation to be in rather than what we had to endure in recent times, but most clubs have similar difficulties.” Burns is satisfied that his team can perform better, and have recovered well from the Ballyheane and Snugboro setbacks with good performance and he looks forward to the encounter knowing that the League is far from over.
Looking at both sides on paper one might feel inclined to favour Westport on sheer quality and experience with the likes of Joe Lawless, Martin Geraghty, David Cameron, Dessie O’Malley, Danny Scahill and David Horkan at the helm but so too have Ballina with Eugene Gorman, Tom O’Connor, Derek Tansey, along with the youthful Ross Kenny and Brendan Lavelle showing terrific form this season. Ballina can also rely on their influential goalkeeper Emmett Peyton in any crisis. Ballina have already beaten Westport in the cup competition but Utd turned the tables on their opponents some 48 hours later in a 3 – 2 League victory at the Sports Park. One thing we all can be assured of is a great football game with two managers who strictly adopt the passing game, and look forward to a feast of football with a goal or two to keep us all happy knowing that no game is won or lost on paper.
Score
30/08/2009, 11:14 AM
we tried to get to get the game changed to snugboro but they wouldn't play it there.
Spoke with a guy involved with snugboro and he told me that the they were giving there pitch,but they got notification at 11am yesterday morning saying game off
FahyForever
30/08/2009, 4:53 PM
I left the Ballina Westport match with ten minutes to go. The score then was Ballina 3 Westport 0. Ballina went one nil up early in the first half from a goal in which the striker was about three yards offside. I was directly in line with the striker and so it seemed was the linesman, but the flag stayed down and the goal counted. Terrible decision, but nothing we're not all well used to by now. The lineman must have known this himself as on the half hour mark he flagged for off when this time the striker was well on and one on one. The trend continued in the 35th minute as Mick Duffy was denied a penalty I thought was definite. Either way, he should have scored. Dessie O Malley had two great chances just before half time, one a volley from a chested down ball from a corner which went over and another effort which hit the post. As half time came, it seemed Westport would claw back the deficit.
Ballina were solid at the back and seemed the more up for it of the sides, with Martin Geraty the only one to really distinguish himself for Westport. Two goals in a short period of time put Ballina in the driving seat for the match, and, unless something sensational happened in the last ten minutes, for the title as well.
Leveller
30/08/2009, 7:01 PM
I left the Ballina Westport match with ten minutes to go. The score then was Ballina 3 Westport 0. Ballina went one nil up early in the first half from a goal in which the striker was about three yards offside. I was directly in line with the striker and so it seemed was the linesman, but the flag stayed down and the goal counted. Terrible decision, but nothing we're not all well used to by now. The lineman must have known this himself as on the half hour mark he flagged for off when this time the striker was well on and one on one. The trend continued in the 35th minute as Mick Duffy was denied a penalty I thought was definite. Either way, he should have scored. Dessie O Malley had two great chances just before half time, one a volley from a chested down ball from a corner which went over and another effort which hit the post. As half time came, it seemed Westport would claw back the deficit.
Ballina were solid at the back and seemed the more up for it of the sides, with Martin Geraty the only one to really distinguish himself for Westport. Two goals in a short period of time put Ballina in the driving seat for the match, and, unless something sensational happened in the last ten minutes, for the title as well.
I agree with you on the first goal, it was a mile offside, a few of theirs should have been booked in the first half, overall it was a fair result.
I am not surprised at the result, last week Westport beat a weak S&F and everybody was going on about the great football we played, it is easy to play good football against a weaker team.
The title race is not over, it is Ballinas to lose, I can see them dropping points, but the way we are going so are we.
No. 7
31/08/2009, 11:34 AM
Spoke with a guy involved with snugboro and he told me that the they were giving there pitch,but they got notification at 11am yesterday morning saying game off
Game called off at 11am the day before the match... Fahy contacted Snugboro during the week trying to get the game switched... I heard the same that Snugboro would give the pitch but they were notified Saturday that the game was off.... All sounds very suspicious....
FahyForever
31/08/2009, 1:57 PM
Game called off at 11am the day before the match... Fahy contacted Snugboro during the week trying to get the game switched... I heard the same that Snugboro would give the pitch but they were notified Saturday that the game was off.... All sounds very suspicious....
Suspicious in what sense? I can assure you that we wanted that game to be played that this week in case you're inferring we didn't.
Can I ask then why was the game called off on a saturday as opposed to sunday morning?And if Snugboro were willing to give there pitch why was that not availed of.Im not having a go here but it is a little weird for a game to be called off the day before as oppesed to the day of the game
gunner1
31/08/2009, 5:16 PM
Can I ask then why was the game called off on a saturday as opposed to sunday morning?And if Snugboro were willing to give there pitch why was that not availed of.Im not having a go here but it is a little weird for a game to be called off the day before as oppesed to the day of the game
the game was called off on sat because the pitch was unplayable and could not be marked, please put this to rest as it was not fahys fault.
yellowmonkey
31/08/2009, 5:37 PM
Typical Fahy! First they nick Notts Countys Crest.. Now this :D:p
pinero
31/08/2009, 5:55 PM
this was sent out to all clubs after workshop in october
if two non b teams fininish in top two of premier both will be promoted with bottom two in super league relegated.
if one b team finishes first or second in premier only one team will be promoted and one relegated,
if two b teams finish in top two in premier there will be no promotion but mayo league can decide to relegate two teams to make super league 8 teams for 2010 season.
achillrover
31/08/2009, 7:13 PM
if two non b teams fininish in top two of premier both will be promoted with bottom two in super league relegated.
if one b team finishes first or second in premier only one team will be promoted and one relegated,
if two b teams finish in top two in premier there will be no promotion but mayo league can decide to relegate two teams to make super league 8 teams for 2010 season.
seems like good news for S+F :D
the game was called off on sat because the pitch was unplayable and could not be marked, please put this to rest as it was not fahys fault.
Just going by the other quotes here,Why ask the opposing team for thier pitch then.If a pitch is unplayable thats fair enough.
Anyway enough about that...Is it Ballina league now?
This was only a circular to put the idea out there. As far as I am aware the clubs were never informed that the above was been adopted as a rule. Well done to the league they have have managed to totally **** up two divisions with 5 games left to play. What interest will any of the chasing pack in the premier or lower half of the super league have for the rest of the season if the above has been adopted. Surely someone has contacted the league about this?
GoodFootball
01/09/2009, 9:20 AM
Just going by the other quotes here,Why ask the opposing team for thier pitch then.If a pitch is unplayable thats fair enough.
Anyway enough about that...Is it Ballina league now?
We asked to play it in Snugboro because we had the desire to fulfill the fixture...
I am still gonna go with Westport for the league, if they can beat us this Sunday :D
Ballina will drop points and maybe Erris can play their way into the shake up too...
The Don
01/09/2009, 12:14 PM
Surely someone has contacted the league about this?
We have and youre only promoted if you finish in top 2 positions.
And what about relegation. Is the superleague going to a 8 team league.
I think we are on the verge of becoming a glorified pub league.
The Don
01/09/2009, 2:25 PM
Dont know. Dont know.
Just a little bit of a over reaction dont you think.
murphs jewels
01/09/2009, 2:44 PM
If that happens it will effect all other divisions. Will there be 12 teams in the premier???.
theboy
01/09/2009, 3:44 PM
Here are the 2 tables as they stand now:
League table for Elverys Sports Super League
Team P W L D + - +/- Pts
Ballina Town 11 9 2 0 29 10 19 27
Westport United 12 9 3 0 33 17 16 27
Iorras Aontaithe 11 7 3 1 24 13 11 22
Manulla 12 5 5 2 24 28 -4 17
Snugboro United 10 5 4 1 23 17 6 16
Fahy Rovers 11 5 5 1 20 21 -1 16
Castlebar Celtic 12 3 5 4 19 29 -10 13
Ballyheane 11 3 5 3 13 17 -4 12
Straide & Foxford 12 2 7 3 14 27 -13 9
Kilmore 12 1 10 1 9 29 -20 4
League table for Welcome Inn Hotel Premier Division
Team P W L D + - +/- Pts
Swinford 14 10 2 2 39 20 19 32
Westport United B 13 9 2 2 38 18 20 29
Bangor Hibs 14 8 5 1 28 28 0 25
Iorras Aontaithe B 13 7 4 2 32 24 8 23
Partry Athletic 21
Crossmolina 17
Ballinrobe Town 13
Claremorris 12
Manulla B 10
Castlebar Celtic B 7
if it was to finish as is then 1 up and 1 down, but if something was to happen that westport b and erris b finish in the top 2 then no one goes up and will see what happens with the super league becoming an 8 team league, with S&F and Kilmore coming down.
but i'd say swinford & westport b will finish in the top 2.
If Swinford are promoted three teams would have to be relegated. So little thought was put into this its scarey.
pinero
01/09/2009, 8:42 PM
if swinford go up only one will be relegated,we think the idea about the problem with, if two b teams finish in top two of premier is that the league can decide that it might be better to relegate two from super league if bottom two have not done enough to jusitify place in super league.
swinfordfc
01/09/2009, 9:35 PM
As it stands - Swinford would replaced Kilmore and the super league will be a 10 team division next year - end of
slab11
01/09/2009, 10:06 PM
well we will see who finishes bottom! If we got any justice from refs we would have a better chance!:mad:
FahyForever
02/09/2009, 2:30 AM
if swinford go up only one will be relegated,we think the idea about the problem with, if two b teams finish in top two of premier is that the league can decide that it might be better to relegate two from super league if bottom two have not done enough to jusitify place in super league.
Your missing the point; he's saying if Swinford go up alone three PREMIER division teams will be relegated. And he's right; it's a total an utter **** up by the mayo League. Also, the idea that they can decide whether to relegate Super league teams on the basis of if they 'have done enough to justify their place in the league' is so arrogant it's beyond belief. There could be a huge stink over this, and deservedly so.
murphs jewels
02/09/2009, 8:35 AM
Your missing the point; he's saying if Swinford go up alone three PREMIER division teams will be relegated. And he's right; it's a total an utter **** up by the mayo League. Also, the idea that they can decide whether to relegate Super league teams on the basis of if they 'have done enough to justify their place in the league' is so arrogant it's beyond belief. There could be a huge stink over this, and deservedly so.
Dont think your right there FF. Swinford put forward the proposal as issued my the MAFL. If two B sides finish top of the premier then no promotion and no relegation from the SL, Unless the MAFL decide to make the SL an 8 team league and automatically relegate the bottom 2. This would be the worst senario as it would mean a reshuffle of all the divisions.
It has not been thought through very well as it would lead to 12 teams in the premier (relegation of more than 2 teams from the premier has never been mentioned).
If one of the top 2 in the Premier is not a b side ie. Swinford, then its 1 up and 1 down and continue on the next season.
The only mention of making the SL an 8 team division was if the top 2 in the premier were b sides and then the MAFL would make a decision on the best way forward.
But as I have said on numerous ocassions this will never be sorted out unless we get a seperate division for reserve sides as happens all across the world. It is a complete mess and no one really understands what is happening at this late stage of the season. This situation is always going to be a bone of contention and it will be the same question every year and a constant headache in relation to promotion and relegation of teams from the premier to the SL when the B teams are involved.
It should be a smoothe transition from one tier to another without all the red tape and BS and no get out of jail free cards for teams finishing 2nd bottom of our top division.
Its ok we have no problem understanding the concept of the idea. Its the idea itself that has not been thought through. How can teams be promoted or more importantly relegated when a league has finished. They might get more applications to the Connaught senior league then they thought:D
theboy
02/09/2009, 11:32 AM
on a change of topic, any news on the oscar traynor team this year? who's the manager and when is it starting?
FahyForever
02/09/2009, 12:14 PM
on a change of topic, any news on the oscar traynor team this year? who's the manager and when is it starting?
Judging by the level of foresight being applied by the mayo league so far, eleven guys will get text messages at 7 in the morning some Sunday saying 'You have been selected for the Oscar Traynor team. Please be in Donegal for 2 o clock today and await further instructions'...
I don't know. Usually it's September right? No idea who the manager is, hopefully it won't be someone currently connected with a Mayo League team so we can avoid the spectacle of overtly biased choices, as has happened in the past.
Judging by the level of foresight being applied by the mayo league so far, eleven guys will get text messages at 7 in the morning some Sunday saying 'You have been selected for the Oscar Traynor team. Please be in Donegal for 2 o clock today and await further instructions'...
I don't know. Usually it's September right? No idea who the manager is, hopefully it won't be someone currently connected with a Mayo League team so we can avoid the spectacle of overtly biased choices, as has happened in the past.
Just a remark or two on your last paragraph!!! 1.What do you mean manager not connected with another mayo league club.That surely has to be the only way they would know the players
2.When did the bias happen in the past and if you explain that tell us all the managers name?
slab11
02/09/2009, 7:25 PM
But as I have said on numerous ocassions this will never be sorted out unless we get a seperate division for reserve sides as happens all across the world. It is a complete mess and no one really understands what is happening at this late stage of the season. This situation is always going to be a bone of contention and it will be the same question every year and a constant headache in relation to promotion and relegation of teams from the premier to the SL when the B teams are involved.
Your right there should be a seperate division for B teams and it would solve a lot of the BS thats goin on in the mayo leagues!
pinero
02/09/2009, 9:41 PM
If Swinford go up only one can be relegated can not relegate two because that would leave super league uneven ,8 team super league is only an option if two b teams go up.
I hear Ballyheane have been deducted points and fined for game that was called off against Erris for swine flu. :confused: Anyone from Ballyheane got any details.
Kilmore Fan
03/09/2009, 4:15 PM
I hear Ballyheane have been deducted points and fined for game that was called off against Erris for swine flu. :confused: Anyone from Ballyheane got any details.
I heard a rumour that they might be deducted points but haven't heard confirmation? Again I heard the same reason - swine flu:rolleyes:
FahyForever
03/09/2009, 4:38 PM
Just a remark or two on your last paragraph!!! 1.What do you mean manager not connected with another mayo league club.That surely has to be the only way they would know the players
2.When did the bias happen in the past and if you explain that tell us all the managers name?
I meant I'd prefer if it was not a current manager of a Mayo league team. there are plenty of people who either know, or could get to know the majority of the players. See my post from a few years ago below to get my answer to your second question.
Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)
Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)
Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)
Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)
Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)
Declan Flynn (Snugboro)
Peter Burke (Ballyheane)
Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)
Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)
Tommy Walsh (Manulla)
Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)
James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)
Mark McGreal (Manulla)
Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)
David Roughneen (Snugboro)
Johan Collins (Snugboro)
Philip Devers (Ballina Town)
Malachy Byrne (Manulla)
Gordon Carter (Swinford)
Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)
Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)
Tom Molloy (Mulranny)
Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)
Derek Glynn (Claremorris)
Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)
Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)
Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)
I think that Mick Wallace has taken his first steps into managing the Oscar Traynor team by picking his inaugural squad and in doing so lost credibility already. I understand Swift's point about the need to explore the possibilities in the lower leagues, but when you consider the fact that this squad has only one more Castlebar Celtic player than it does Mulranny players, you realise it's neither coincidental nor sensible. There are only three players from the Premier Divison on the squad, so why he chooses two players from Mulranny, who finished fourth from bottom of the First Division, as the only representatives from that league, is a bit of an anomaly.
Until you remember that he played in goal for them a few seasons ago.
Charlie O Donnell is a skillful midfielder with a great touch but has been winding down this past few seasons. He left Glenhest to take his football nice and handy for Mulranny and it would really surprise me if he has any notion of playing football at such a competitive level again. Tom Molloy is an average striker in the first division and failed to get into the top FIFTEEN scorers when they played in the premier division last season.
Wallace's last club, Westport United, have five representatives in the squad, which is easier to justify. However, Seamus Higgins has played most of this season as a B team player and seems unlikely to break into their first team, let alone the county team. Last week against Castlebar Celtic he only made the bench, despite them being without Lovejoy (Who is a huge loss to the Oscar Traynor team) and Joe Lawless in defence. (Joe was playing in midfield). Instead the manager choose to play himself, wisely as it turned out as he scored twice. I dont think he's a bad player, just that there are other centre-halves of a higher calibre currently playing in the league. Erris United must be wondering how they managed to come second in the super league without a single player that's up to Mulranny standard.
Glad to see Derek Glynn getting a chance from the start of the season this year, hopefully his pace and finishing will see him making the most of his call up.
I meant I'd prefer if it was not a current manager of a Mayo league team. there are plenty of people who either know, or could get to know the majority of the players. See my post from a few years ago below to get my answer to your second question.
Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)
Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)
Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)
Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)
Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)
Declan Flynn (Snugboro)
Peter Burke (Ballyheane)
Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)
Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)
Tommy Walsh (Manulla)
Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)
James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)
Mark McGreal (Manulla)
Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)
David Roughneen (Snugboro)
Johan Collins (Snugboro)
Philip Devers (Ballina Town)
Malachy Byrne (Manulla)
Gordon Carter (Swinford)
Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)
Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)
Tom Molloy (Mulranny)
Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)
Derek Glynn (Claremorris)
Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)
Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)
Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)
Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)
I think that Mick Wallace has taken his first steps into managing the Oscar Traynor team by picking his inaugural squad and in doing so lost credibility already. I understand Swift's point about the need to explore the possibilities in the lower leagues, but when you consider the fact that this squad has only one more Castlebar Celtic player than it does Mulranny players, you realise it's neither coincidental nor sensible. There are only three players from the Premier Divison on the squad, so why he chooses two players from Mulranny, who finished fourth from bottom of the First Division, as the only representatives from that league, is a bit of an anomaly.
Until you remember that he played in goal for them a few seasons ago.
Charlie O Donnell is a skillful midfielder with a great touch but has been winding down this past few seasons. He left Glenhest to take his football nice and handy for Mulranny and it would really surprise me if he has any notion of playing football at such a competitive level again. Tom Molloy is an average striker in the first division and failed to get into the top FIFTEEN scorers when they played in the premier division last season.
Wallace's last club, Westport United, have five representatives in the squad, which is easier to justify. However, Seamus Higgins has played most of this season as a B team player and seems unlikely to break into their first team, let alone the county team. Last week against Castlebar Celtic he only made the bench, despite them being without Lovejoy (Who is a huge loss to the Oscar Traynor team) and Joe Lawless in defence. (Joe was playing in midfield). Instead the manager choose to play himself, wisely as it turned out as he scored twice. I dont think he's a bad player, just that there are other centre-halves of a higher calibre currently playing in the league. Erris United must be wondering how they managed to come second in the super league without a single player that's up to Mulranny standard.
Glad to see Derek Glynn getting a chance from the start of the season this year, hopefully his pace and finishing will see him making the most of his call up.
In Relation to the manager,its going to be hard to source anybody from outside the league,that is unless he is getting well looked after and also If Declan Kilkelly is not doing it this year.I just believe that it is better to have somebody that is currently involved in a club in the mayo league as they would/should know all the players.
The other point...Lets just say I will agree with you in relation to that manager
pinero
03/09/2009, 5:51 PM
rubbish! about ballyheane losing pts
slab11
03/09/2009, 10:05 PM
Well erris have been given the points for that game as far as i know.
About them losing points... I think its up to erris if they want to send in a complaint about it!
Anyone hear about Kilmore bein given any points no???:D
GoodFootball
04/09/2009, 8:08 AM
rubbish! about ballyheane losing pts
Not losing any points but they wont be getting any from Erris, that fixture has been given as a walkover...pressure will be on for Ballyheane now who will be mucking it out for survival!