View Full Version : Mayo Super League 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

hardcore
14/08/2009, 5:41 PM
Due to the sudden death of Jimmy Blakes Wife all games in the Mayo league are posponed this weekend.

Think we can take it that every club and supporter of soccer in Mayo sends their support to jimmy at this time:ball:

hardcore
14/08/2009, 5:52 PM
Agreed. If Kilmore finish bottom and Westport B in the top two in the premier it will be one down one up. If Fahy finish second bottom it will be two down and up. If Celtic finish second bottom it will be one down and up. Etc. I think the first option is probable, and will save the Mayo League's blushes. It is utterly wrong and imbebilic that it should be as yet unconfirmed at the halfway point in the season though.

totally agree. This seems daft, and they should have clarified all of this before a ball was kicked.:ball:

on another note- when did michael kilcourse take over the celtic super league team? Saw him named in a paper, but the last game i saw them play, they had paul large on the sideline (straide and foxford game i think)? And i thought he was the u-18 manager? and someone said he was the u-20 manager aswell? Fair play to him if he is! anyone shed any light about whos actually managing teams in Celtic?:ball:

14/08/2009, 6:12 PM
totally agree. This seems daft, and they should have clarified all of this before a ball was kicked.:ball:

on another note- when did michael kilcourse take over the celtic super league team? Saw him named in a paper, but the last game i saw them play, they had paul large on the sideline (straide and foxford game i think)? And i thought he was the u-18 manager? and someone said he was the u-20 manager aswell? Fair play to him if he is! anyone shed any light about whos actually managing teams in Celtic?:ball:Paul Large manages the U-18's from last season and the U-20's for the League of Ireland. I think he helps out with Mick Kilcourse as both the Super League team and U-20 have similar players. Mick Kilcourse has been managing the Super League team from the start of the season.

robben 11
17/08/2009, 6:16 PM
Can someone comment on the standards of refereeing in the super league..i think the standard had been raised over the years but the last couple of years..the same refs seem to be getting worse. new refs would be greatly appreciated as i believe the current refs have become very bias. after watching a few games this year...a refs influence on most games has over come teams performances which is so wrong. a teams performance is what should win games not some crazy decesions.

Don't get me wrong its a very difficult job n they get alot of stick but is that why they have become bias...? i would like to hear a few opinions on this matter because it has really stood out this year in too many games for many different teams.

i agree there are a few very biased.. ie pat foley he refed 2 games this year against ballina in the semi-final and snugboro at home last week and anyone who was there will tell you his refering was nothing short of shocking..!! mabye he got caught fishing in the river moy without a permit...or he was served a bad kebab in bens... i dunno but he dont like straide and foxford too much...... i think most of the other refs are doing a good job at the best of times i know its a tough job but mabye certain refs should be kept away from certain clubs...

Kilmore Fan
18/08/2009, 8:17 AM
i agree there are a few very biased.. ie pat foley he refed 2 games this year against ballina in the semi-final and snugboro at home last week and anyone who was there will tell you his refering was nothing short of shocking..!! mabye he got caught fishing in the river moy without a permit...or he was served a bad kebab in bens... i dunno but he dont like straide and foxford too much...... i think most of the other refs are doing a good job at the best of times i know its a tough job but mabye certain refs should be kept away from certain clubs...

yikes if ya did that we'd have no referees for our games:D

just kidding;)

Leveller
18/08/2009, 8:46 AM
Typical B team response. If these players were good enough then they would be in the A team. You dont see liverpool, Man Utd, Chelsea, Arsenal reserves in the championship trying to get into the premiership even though they are prob better than half the lower placed teams in the premiership. A nonsence reply that we have been listening to for too long and has the Mayo league in a mess. Its time it was sorted

The fact of the matter is Murph, is that Westport have a very good A Team, the purpose of the B and C Teams is to act as a feeder for the A Team, for that to be effective, it requires the B and C Teams playing at the highest level they possibly can against the best teams they possibly can, this is the case, bar them being allowed to be promoted to the Superleague.

Just putting all the B Teams together in a B team league would not work, look at the divisions that some of the B Teams play in, some of the teams are a couple of divisions below Westport for example, these teams would only get hammered in such a league, this would do the team getting hammered no good and it would do the Westport B or C Team no good for example, as the games would be too easy in some cases, and it would not be a competitive league, players thrive on competition and if there isnt any, they will not bother training as hard as they can and improve their game and would probably not bother playing in some cases due to lack of interest.

rava
18/08/2009, 9:07 AM
Just putting all the B Teams together in a B team league would not work, look at the divisions that some of the B Teams play in, some of the teams are a couple of divisions below Westport for example, these teams would only get hammered in such a league, this would do the team getting hammered no good and it would do the Westport B or C Team no good for example, as the games would be too easy in some cases.

Modest as usaul :D. If your B team is so good why are continually beefing it up with A team players.

Cloggs
18/08/2009, 10:02 AM
Modest as usaul :D. If your B team is so good why are continually beefing it up with A team players.

in all fairness i think that he does have a point there in what he is saying.it would do the other b teams no good at all with the likes of westport b or erris b hammering the s**t out of them on a weekly basis.it would take the good out of playing for a lot of the players and lead to teams being disbanded due to a lack of interest and getting hammered all the time.at the end of the day the b teams are there to act as a feeder to the a team at each club.there is however a blatant disregard shown by some clubs to the point of having a b team and get caught up in the whole trying to win the league they're in at all costs or trying to avoid relegation by pumping their second team full of first teamers.unfortunately this will continue to be the trend in my opinion

murphs jewels
18/08/2009, 10:30 AM
in all fairness i think that he does have a point there in what he is saying.it would do the other b teams no good at all with the likes of westport b or erris b hammering the s**t out of them on a weekly basis.it would take the good out of playing for a lot of the players and lead to teams being disbanded due to a lack of interest and getting hammered all the time.at the end of the day the b teams are there to act as a feeder to the a team at each club.there is however a blatant disregard shown by some clubs to the point of having a b team and get caught up in the whole trying to win the league they're in at all costs or trying to avoid relegation by pumping their second team full of first teamers.unfortunately this will continue to be the trend in my opinion

This is happening in the premier division so why should it be any different for other B teams . Look at some of the hammerings been dished out by Westport: Ballinrobe 2-5, Celtic 4-0, Inver in the cup 5-0, Swinford 4-1, Ballinrobe 5-3 and Celtic 5-0. This not a new story and im sure that westport and erris aside the standard of B teams there after is not that bad.
Look at the results across the board on a level playing field in the Mayo cup and lower division sides are holding their own. My point is that B sides in the premier division are causing major upset to the promotion and relegation of sides into the the divisions above and below and personally i feel that its about time we had a re-shuffle and have a seperate reserve division.
Player hunger is a motivional thing and the chance of playing at ahigher level should be enough. Anyway Westport B might not be as strong in a reserve league as im sure SL players wont want to be playing there.

GoodFootball
18/08/2009, 12:33 PM
sorry, am I missing something here? What Westport a players are playing b? Dessie, cam, geraty, lawless, mcloughlin, navin, horkan, hoban aren't anyway!

Vinny, kennedy, ray mcloughlin are all signed b players think...stop whinging Westport b have a good team get over it!

portside
18/08/2009, 1:43 PM
sorry, am I missing something here? What Westport a players are playing b? Dessie, cam, geraty, lawless, mcloughlin, navin, horkan, hoban aren't anyway!

Vinny, kennedy, ray mcloughlin are all signed b players think...stop whinging Westport b have a good team get over it!

Exactly right,it is the system in the league that is causing this not the clubs.If fellas want to step back and just play every week on the b team and help out the a team if needed are entitled to do so.

Leveller
18/08/2009, 3:51 PM

I agree with good football.

I dont know the status of the latter players.

I suppose they are not predominantly guaranteed first team players all the time, being signed B would allow them to get more football and maintain match fitness (and readiness to play for the A team if needed.

Playing B they could share their experience with the up and coming players and improve them and help them on the road to the A Team.

Macc74
19/08/2009, 9:12 AM

You cannot play A team players in the B team.

If you are referring to the four players that signed B instead of A, because they are getting on a bit and have family commitments etc.

Apart from Vinnie, we have played very little. The one match we all played, against Swinford, we lost.

The B team have won most of there matches without these players, and in most other matches only one or two played. Martin Mc Greal played about 2 matches and Brian kennedy played about 3 maybe four. One of whch was the cup game against Claremorris which we lost.

All, Bar Vinnie have now regraded as A Players. And Vinnie missed 4-5 weeks through injury and holidays.

FahyForever
19/08/2009, 1:48 PM
I see in the Mayo news that the only game not to get allocated linesmen this weekend is Kilmore V Fahy. Surprise surprise. Does anyone else find it offensive that the Mayo league blatantly and obviously shows disregard for some teams whilst bending over backwards for others? I've noticed that Kilmore have had the same treatment as us; one official, unless the opponents are Castlebar, Ballina or Westport. Considering they can't even decide the promotion/relegation criteria for this season, you'd think the mayo League would at least try to disguise their partisan nature?

GoodFootball
19/08/2009, 3:43 PM
I see in the Mayo news that the only game not to get allocated linesmen this weekend is Kilmore V Fahy. Surprise surprise. Does anyone else find it offensive that the Mayo league blatantly and obviously shows disregard for some teams whilst bending over backwards for others? I've noticed that Kilmore have had the same treatment as us; one official, unless the opponents are Castlebar, Ballina or Westport. Considering they can't even decide the promotion/relegation criteria for this season, you'd think the mayo League would at least try to disguise their partisan nature?

Thought the rules are 3 officials if:
2 teams in top half playing each other
1 of the teams is top of table

I wouldn't blame them not sending 3 officials all the way to Kilmore though :D

Be a tough one for us down there I think?!

purplemonkeydis
19/08/2009, 7:08 PM
why do you think fahy are always being victimised,as two of the smaller clubs in the super league maybe ye havnt earned 3 officals yet

GoodFootball
19/08/2009, 8:12 PM
why do you think fahy are always being victimised,as two of the smaller clubs in the super league maybe ye havnt earned 3 officals yet

What a comment! There is no response to such a stupid post.

Mate I believe your team are playing division 2 at the moment (conn rangers)! It will be a long time before ye see 3 officials, very poor attitude you have towards smaller teams achieving in the super league. Expected more but I'm sure your comments only represent your own opinion...and not your team.

murphs jewels
19/08/2009, 8:33 PM
What a comment! There is no response to such a stupid post.

Mate I believe your team are playing division 2 at the moment (conn rangers)! It will be a long time before ye see 3 officials, very poor attitude you have towards smaller teams achieving in the super league. Expected more but I'm sure your comments only represent your own opinion...and not your team.

Nor any other teams in the lower divisions. All SL games should have 3 officials and this point has been raised on numerous occasions. In fact last season it had been decided that only select games would run concurrently with the SL to free up officials

purplemonkeydis
20/08/2009, 12:23 PM
but at the end of the day who really cares if fahy are playing kilmore

Norm
20/08/2009, 1:01 PM
but at the end of the day who really cares if fahy are playing kilmore

The Fahy & Kilmore players I guess.

purplemonkeydis
20/08/2009, 3:14 PM
even they i magine have trouble motivating themselves for the fixture and probably consider themselves lucky to have 1 offical

No. 7
20/08/2009, 3:41 PM

Just play the game, look at it this way, if ye do get beaten, no linesmen means two less people for you to blame the defeat on....

Norm
20/08/2009, 3:48 PM
even they i magine have trouble motivating themselves for the fixture and probably consider themselves lucky to have 1 offical

There is 3 points on offer. Motivation will not be a problem.

rava
20/08/2009, 3:52 PM

If these two teams cant get motivated with so much at stake. What motivates ye to play.

pinero
20/08/2009, 9:56 PM
will ya get over this three official crack i am from iorras and i wish i never saw three officals coming to our games,all it does is cost us a fortune for each game and half the time the linesmen sent down are not up to it,ref would do better on his own,sure kilmore are not too bothered about three officals this weekend will save them a nice few bob,

21/08/2009, 2:00 PM
In his defence, he obviously is a child, so it's to be expected. What are people's views on this weekend's set of fixtures? I think it could be of tantamount importance to the relegation side of the division anyway. If we can beat Kilmore, and Westport can beat S
+F it would put 8 points between us and relegation. Were those results to be reversed, and it's a possibility, then I would fancy S+F to finish higher than Fahy. Leaving a dog-fight between us a Celtic, in my opinion.

On the business end, Westport will be hoping to beat S+F and will look to Snugboro to do them a favour against Ballina. That could be the tie of the round, but I think Ballina will have just enough. Manulla V Ballyheane is very hard to call, with both teams lacking consistency. Manulla have a small squad, but are dangerous on form.. I fancy a draw here.

I think Snugboro V Ballina Off due to bereavement

Of The other games Its a tough one to call in Foxford,S&F have shown some for lately with there win over the boro lads,Im goin to go for draw there.Celtic will find it hard in Erris,but with there battling qualaties I can see them gettin a draw.Manulla should win,ballyheane have been in freefall in the last few games,saying that It would not surprise me to see a bally heane win,definitely not a draw.Personally Fahy have too much for kilmore,they will outbattle them and come away with 3 points

rava
21/08/2009, 2:31 PM
I definitely wouldnt like to call the Manulla Ballyheane game as they hate the sight of each other so form is never a indicator as to the victor of this game.

FahyForever
22/08/2009, 10:06 AM
What is this bull**** with deleting posts which are aimed at stopping people insulting clubs or individuals? It's not even coming up as 'post deleted by moderator' any more, they just disappear. Getting sick of it.

purplemonkeydis
22/08/2009, 10:24 AM
im pretty sure that last message will disapear soon,but at least fahy have 3 officials at the weekend

22/08/2009, 3:13 PM
What is this bull**** with deleting posts which are aimed at stopping people insulting clubs or individuals? It's not even coming up as 'post deleted by moderator' any more, they just disappear. Getting sick of it.

The posts are binned (rubbish forum) if they contain quotes from "offending" posts,there is no facility to leave a trace of it whereas
if a post is deleted there is.

Hope this helps.

FahyForever
22/08/2009, 11:18 PM
Kilmore 0 Fahy 2.

Very scrappy game played in difficult conditions in Kilmore this evening. Big three points for Fahy, eight points clear of S+F now and should hopefully be safe barring a disaster. Richie Needham scored with a great finish towards the end of the first half, but only after Kilmore spurned a few good chances. I have good respect for Kilmore and their (sole?) representative on foot.ie, but I have to say they were quite volatile at times, persistently fouling, having two men sent off, and, I'm sorry to say, aiming punches on two occasions. The ref did neither team any favours when he eventually turned up, and Kilmore may feel hard done by with one of the sending offs. Hard to ref a match in those conditions I guess. Seems to me that Kilmore's main problem is lack of bite up front, they created a few great chances but don't seem to have a finisher. Only other result I heard was Westport beat S+F 5-1 or so. Anyone get the others?

FahyForever
23/08/2009, 11:44 AM
Iorras Aontaithe 4 v Castlebar Celtic 0
Kilmore 0 v Fahy Rovers 2
Manulla 2 v Ballyheane 1
Snugboro United P v Ballina Town P
Straide & Foxford 1 v Westport United 5

Kilmore Fan
24/08/2009, 3:13 PM
Kilmore 0 Fahy 2.

Very scrappy game played in difficult conditions in Kilmore this evening. Big three points for Fahy, eight points clear of S+F now and should hopefully be safe barring a disaster. Richie Needham scored with a great finish towards the end of the first half, but only after Kilmore spurned a few good chances. I have good respect for Kilmore and their (sole?) representative on foot.ie, but I have to say they were quite volatile at times, persistently fouling, having two men sent off, and, I'm sorry to say, aiming punches on two occasions. The ref did neither team any favours when he eventually turned up, and Kilmore may feel hard done by with one of the sending offs. Hard to ref a match in those conditions I guess. Seems to me that Kilmore's main problem is lack of bite up front, they created a few great chances but don't seem to have a finisher. Only other result I heard was Westport beat S+F 5-1 or so. Anyone get the others?

I wasn't at the game so can't really comment. From what I've heard it was a messy affair with lots of cards which means more lovely fines:( It's not hard to see that we're lacking up front. We've had some great games this season and suprised a few but our lack of finishing is why we are where we are. Was gutted to hear about the volatile situations. That's not the kind of team we are. There's been some great games when we've met in the past. Give us a shout when the season is over and we'll organise a friendly followed by a good session to show our mutual respect:)

Cloggs
24/08/2009, 5:32 PM
I wasn't at the game so can't really comment. From what I've heard it was a messy affair with lots of cards which means more lovely fines:( It's not hard to see that we're lacking up front. We've had some great games this season and suprised a few but our lack of finishing is why we are where we are. Was gutted to hear about the volatile situations. That's not the kind of team we are. There's been some great games when we've met in the past. Give us a shout when the season is over and we'll organise a friendly followed by a good session to show our mutual respect:)

i'd have to agree with those sentimrnts.wasn't at the game myself either but i'm very surprised to hear about the volatile situations also.its not like fahy and kilmore to have any dirty games with each other and as far as i can remember there was never any player sent off from either side in the numerous games that have been played between the sides down through the years.theres always been a healthy respest between both teams and sorry to hear that but i think that we should take yee up on yee're offer and go for a (good) few beers!:D

Leveller
25/08/2009, 9:58 AM
S/F 1 Westport 5, a good victory for Westport considering the weather conditions, mind you the game was close enough for a while.

I would not get too excited about the result though, many were on about the good football that we played but it is easy to play good football against a weaker team as S/F have lost players before the start of the season.

The standard in the SL is rubbish, and this has put Westport in the comfort zone there are not enough proper tough games in the league, all SL teams have been weakened by players going to Celtic to play in the A league, Westport are a team sleepwalking through the season. Its too easy. Standards are slipping.

The big test will be on sunday against Ballina

threefivetwo
25/08/2009, 12:00 PM
S/F 1 Westport 5, a good victory for Westport considering the weather conditions, mind you the game was close enough for a while.

I would not get too excited about the result though, many were on about the good football that we played but it is easy to play good football against a weaker team as S/F have lost players before the start of the season.

The standard in the SL is rubbish, and this has put Westport in the comfort zone there are not enough proper tough games in the league, all SL teams have been weakened by players going to Celtic to play in the A league, Westport are a team sleepwalking through the season. Its too easy. Standards are slipping.

what do you mean by all super league teams??? name me a player from every team so that has joined celtic to make the super league worse?? alan mc is the only one i can think of!! everyone else was either playin in the eircom league or an ex celtic player who just came back!!
i can't see how you think westport are sleepwalking the league, were you not at the game against snugboro???

FahyForever
25/08/2009, 3:27 PM

Yeah, there were lots of yellow cards too, so both clubs have to shell out. Agree with you in terms of games between us in the past, I think it was more frustration than anything on your part. The penalty was dubious and the resuting sending off harsh I thought. People are talking about the standard of football in the Super League but it's top class compared with the standard of refereeing! Best of luck for the rest of the season. :ball:

Kilmore Fan
25/08/2009, 4:33 PM
Yeah, there were lots of yellow cards too, so both clubs have to shell out. Agree with you in terms of games between us in the past, I think it was more frustration than anything on your part. The penalty was dubious and the resuting sending off harsh I thought. People are talking about the standard of football in the Super League but it's top class compared with the standard of refereeing! Best of luck for the rest of the season. :ball:

Everyone's afraid to speak out against the refs as there are so few and people don't want them disliking their clubs because of it but surely there should be some kind of inspections. Some are very fair but they're few on the ground and as someone previously said they are biased towards certain clubs. Some don't even try to hide that fact.

paddyirishman
26/08/2009, 12:09 AM

I agree that the level has dropped in the SL i mentioned this earlier in the blog. Westport are strolling it without a sweat. i saw the game against S&F n ye struggled for 50mins..or Should i say S&F matched westport..even though we lost players at the start of the season and also missing a few 1st team players that are injured and banned for this game it may have been a different story.
There was good football played at times but no decent chances and ye started shooting from way out and luckily for ye the keeper palmed the ball into the path of the striker for a tap in, the game completely changed after that. but up til then it was a good close game even with the brutal weather conditions.
Ye play ballina on sunday and S&F played them off the park in the semi final until the ref made a balls of that game with red cards and some brutal decisions. Ballina are a decent side but it just shows any team in the SL that has a bit of Quality can beat anyother team in the SL...even westport but probably because they r not playin at 100% as i agree they seem fed up with the SL... they need t move up like Celtic for a new challenge. and best of luck. We'd be glad t see the back of ye..ha well at least we'd have a better chance of gettin more points during the season.

Leveller
26/08/2009, 8:54 AM
I agree that the level has dropped in the SL i mentioned this earlier in the blog. Westport are strolling it without a sweat. i saw the game against S&F n ye struggled for 50mins..or Should i say S&F matched westport..even though we lost players at the start of the season and also missing a few 1st team players that are injured and banned for this game it may have been a different story.
There was good football played at times but no decent chances and ye started shooting from way out and luckily for ye the keeper palmed the ball into the path of the striker for a tap in, the game completely changed after that. but up til then it was a good close game even with the brutal weather conditions.
Ye play ballina on sunday and S&F played them off the park in the semi final until the ref made a balls of that game with red cards and some brutal decisions. Ballina are a decent side but it just shows any team in the SL that has a bit of Quality can beat anyother team in the SL...even westport but probably because they r not playin at 100% as i agree they seem fed up with the SL... they need t move up like Celtic for a new challenge. and best of luck. We'd be glad t see the back of ye..ha well at least we'd have a better chance of gettin more points during the season.

It is a good point Paddy, however I would treat the A league with caution for the moment.

With the times that we are in, and with the costs involved in fielding the teams (the costs of entry in the league transport costs etc) many of these former Junior clubs (i.e. the Tralee Dynamoes, Castlebar Celtic etc) will struggle under the financial pressures of being involved or get fed up with not being promoted in these leagues and pull out.

The whole A league in my opinion at the moment, is a fad for Junior clubs, which will wear off, and will eventually turn into a league of ireland reserve league as the smaller clubs pull out one by one.

threefivetwo
27/08/2009, 11:04 AM
ye are going back into this discussion again! treat it with caution?? why?? if mervue did that last year where would they be now?? every team with players good enough and ambition and a good underage setup should always try and play at the highest level they can for the players. otherwise you would only be losing all your players who are good enough to be playing at a higher level with better football and playing in better grounds. i don't know any player that wouldnt want to test themselves at the highest level they can if they're good enough!

rava
27/08/2009, 11:23 AM
It is a good point Paddy, however I would treat the A league with caution for the moment.

With the times that we are in, and with the costs involved in fielding the teams (the costs of entry in the league transport costs etc) many of these former Junior clubs (i.e. the Tralee Dynamoes, Castlebar Celtic etc) will struggle under the financial pressures of being involved or get fed up with not being promoted in these leagues and pull out.

The whole A league in my opinion at the moment, is a fad for Junior clubs, which will wear off, and will eventually turn into a league of ireland reserve league as the smaller clubs pull out one by one.

I am not trying to be smart here. Leveller what do Westport see as a higher level. Is it Connaught senior league if it reforms or eircom league. Where does Westport see itself as a club in 10 yrs say.

Spot Kick
27/08/2009, 12:54 PM
I am not trying to be smart here. Leveller what do Westport see as a higher level. Is it Connaught senior league if it reforms or eircom league. Where does Westport see itself as a club in 10 yrs say.
Not wishing to answer for Leveller but I would imagine that clubs should take one step at a time. Clubs should have proper underage structures in place to ensure the long term future of the club with some degree of success on the field. I would imagine that Westport have that in place. The entire process should be thought through, and planned out well. For that to happen it would mean that a proper Senior League structure was put in place, and not like what happened before. The lead must come from the top.

Leveller
27/08/2009, 2:39 PM
Not wishing to answer for Leveller but I would imagine that clubs should take one step at a time. Clubs should have proper underage structures in place to ensure the long term future of the club with some degree of success on the field. I would imagine that Westport have that in place. The entire process should be thought through, and planned out well. For that to happen it would mean that a proper Senior League structure was put in place, and not like what happened before. The lead must come from the top.

Thanks Spot Kick, that was a well thought answer, I would agree with everything you said.

I think Westport would be better off staying junior and, as spot kick said have proper underage structures in place to ensure the long term future of the club with some degree of success on the field.

I am not sure if being in the LOI is the be all and end all, look at the state the top clubs are in now and that is under the guidance of the governing body, all the top clubs are essentially part time now, the standard is higher, but not that much, most of the top teams are in financial difficulties and have lost their best players, we beat a LOI div 1 (well bottom of the table) side to win the Connachht Senior Cup, and we did this with an all local team.

I dont think there is much to gain by trying to get in the LOI (the LOI recruit alot of players from junior clubs) , it is not sustainable in the long term for a club or the players (who have day jobs and families) from a town of 5000 people to compete in such a league.

I think the people at Westport United are being realistic.

pavillion.road
27/08/2009, 2:52 PM
I am not sure if being in the LOI is the be all and end all, look at the state the top clubs are in now and that is under the guidance of the governing body, all the top clubs are essentially part time now, the standard is higher, but not that much, most of the top teams are in financial difficulties and have lost their best players, we beat a LOI div 1 (well bottom of the table) side to win the Connachht Senior Cup, and we did this with an all local team.

Which team is it that yee beat? Thought it was athenry!

rava
27/08/2009, 3:15 PM
we beat a LOI div 1 (well bottom of the table) side to win the Connachht Senior Cup, and we did this with an all local team.

How can you be taken serious with comments like the above. Connaught senior cup come on please.

GoodFootball
27/08/2009, 3:21 PM
How can you be taken serious with comments like the above. Connaught senior cup come on please.

Your team was in it too (Celtic) and they didn't win it so whats your point?

Mervue were the team they beat.

Levellers point is realistic on the financial side as there are alot more overheads involved with the A league rather than just junior football. Westport are not willing to risk this commitment.

Fair play to Celtic if they stay playing at this level, they must get the crowds going to the games to fund it all though...

rava
27/08/2009, 3:28 PM
Point is. A question was asked, but as usual it was fluffed over with the same old garbage "financial commitments" " A league is going nowhere" "the sky is falling down". If Westport are such a good team are they not cheating their players and supporters by not trying to find a higher level whatever that may be.

Leveller
28/08/2009, 8:57 AM
Point is. A question was asked, but as usual it was fluffed over with the same old garbage "financial commitments" " A league is going nowhere" "the sky is falling down". If Westport are such a good team are they not cheating their players and supporters by not trying to find a higher level whatever that may be.

As I said I think the club is being realistic about things, there are financial commitments involved and big ones too.

I dont think the sky is falling down opinion is a bad one considering the recessionary times we are in.

Again look at the top LOI clubs, look at the mess they are all in, and that was under the guidance of our governing body, and that was with all clubs meeting their "criteria" to enter the league.

I wonder if one of the "criteria" on entry was to publish the yearly accounts of the club, where the club is only allowed to spend a percentage of their turnover on players.

It is clear that the clubs were overspending on wages to players, how was this allowed to happen?

I think the people involved with Westport United Football Club would be cheating the players and the supporters entering such a league, spending a fortune travelling all over the place and on expenses, you will find any of your better players will be cherry picked by the LOI clubs anyway (you have already lost two - oops sorry they were originally from Westport) which will prevent your club or any of the other junior clubs involved making progress in this league.

Why should Westport jump straight in anyway? See how you get on first.

The league is a fad, many clubs will get fed up when the ring of saying - "we are a LOI club" wears off , when they dont progress in the league and the funds dry up (they will), and then you will see them pull out, once one goes, the others will follow.

If Westport are not interested what is the big deal?

rava
28/08/2009, 9:34 AM
Very reasonable answer. I would love to see however just how far this Westport team could push it if they were to face high level game week in week out. It just seems they have lost some of the enthusiasm of previous years.