View Full Version : Cork City Financial Discussion
What game?
Kid, you would really want to get your facts right...
The FAI definitely sponsored a Cork City home match last season. Possibly against Shamrock Rovers, not sure though
corkboy360
22/02/2009, 8:18 PM
The FAI definitely sponsored a Cork City home match last season. Possibly against Shamrock Rovers, not sure though
Key word.
22/02/2009, 8:19 PM
Key word.Eh no, the key word is
Yes, but Im sure you'd agree that our turnover would also be bigger than most other clubs.
Yes but every clubs turnover is going to be down and if Cork have a bad start they could be in serious trouble as your owner doesnt seem to have funds to sustain your expenditure .
Key word.
Give it a rest corkboy. You're wrong
Yes but every clubs turnover is going to be down and if Cork have a bad start they could be in serious trouble as your owner doesnt seem to have funds to sustain your expenditure .
It is budgeted that our turnover will be down, significantly. Coughlan spoke about this at the fans forum. It was 1.5 million last year.
It'l still be higher than most if not all other clubs though and therefore we can pay higher wages than other clubs.
So unless you know our expenditure and know that that is higher than our new budgeted turnover then you're just guessing.
Celdrog
22/02/2009, 9:08 PM
So unless you know our expenditure and know that that is higher than our new budgeted turnover then you're just guessing.As are you.
Do you not find it a bit odd that 2 teams go into examinership and 1 comes out of it with 3 or 4 times the budget of the other, but certainly not 3 or 4 times the attendance, sponsorship, never mind Alan Matthew's compo claim hanging over Coughlan?
political_rebel
22/02/2009, 9:21 PM
This is great crack to be honest :D...
Never knew so many people from Longford and Drugheda were so up to date with the financial workings of CCFC...It is quite amusing really to read some of the info from 'reliable sources' within the club...
Believe me when I tell you that those 'reliable sources' know nothing about the day to day running of the club...Everyone down here knows who they are, there are 2 so called 'reliable sources' and none of them are even involved in the club...
How can anyone from Drogheda or Dundalk seriously ask where CCFC are getting money to sign new players and keep a straight face :D...
The facts are as follows and people can try and twist them inside out and upside down but the facts remain the facts...
1. No Player under contract when the club came out examinership is owed money...
2. The license being provisional had nothing to do with financial issues...
3. No cheque issued by the club has ever bounced...
4. Since the new owner took over all players, staff and employess of the club have been paid on time to date...
Now I will let ye all get back to your rumours...:D
As are you.
Yet Ive never claimed otherwise. Im simply looking at our squad last year and that wage bill, comparing it to the squad this year taking into accounts wage cuts etc and saying that it doesnt seem crazy that the wages would be cut down to around the 20k Coughlan spoke about at the start as being sustainable
Do you not find it a bit odd that 2 teams go into examinership and 1 comes out of it with 3 or 4 times the budget of the other
Not at all. I would be very shocked if our turnover this year wasnt 3/4 times yours.
If you take out your directors imput what was your turnover last season? Remembering you had no real main sponsor, crowds or around 1500(?) etc.
If you can find this out then we can compare them.
You came out of examinership with no one involved willing to put money in to keep the club professional.
Coughlan has put a lot of money in so far to pay off wages and keep the club afloat until the season starts and money starts coming it. We have been upgrading Bishopstown(our training pitches also).
He is not prepared to do this in the long term though and has budgeted as such.
sponsorship
Really? Id imagine our sponsorship will be significantly higher than yours next season. It certainly was more than 3/4 times yours last season.
Can I ask what your weekly budget is btw? Just to get an idea of what the 3/4 times your talking about is?
On the Mathews compo, I honestly have no idea what will happen there. If its to be paid itl be coming out of Coughlans pockets.
Dont get me wrong, I dont trust him, I dont think Id trust anyone with my club again. Until the fans own the club I wont be happy or comfortable.
I simply dont think 14 full time players, most on wage reductions as well as some part timers and kids is a ridiculous amount for a team with one of the if not the biggest turnovers in the country.
political_rebel
22/02/2009, 9:25 PM
As are you.
Do you not find it a bit odd that 2 teams go into examinership and 1 comes out of it with 3 or 4 times the budget of the other, but certainly not 3 or 4 times the attendance, sponsorship, never mind Alan Matthew's compo claim hanging over Coughlan?
Not strange at all...
Drogs and City are 2 different cases...
In our case the club has a new owner who had to lodge 500,000 into a bank account to satisfy the examiner that he had the finances to take over the club...
In your case you left the same people who almost bankrupt (wait they did bankrupt ye) the club and left it on the brink of folding forever in place and those people did not have to lodge half a million into a bank account to prove they could continue the business as a viable entity...All ye had to do was get the FAI to bail ye out...
22/02/2009, 9:29 PM
I freely admit to knowing nothing about what's going on in Cork at the moment to be honest. In fact in the previous posts I didn't even say I fully believed what I'd heard which was solely on that one issue. So if I could go back to the post where I said I was leaving the thread with my hands up in the air that would do me thanks. I genuinely don't care as much as you might be thinking so if you or the other Cork people would like to continue the arguing with Drogheda people or whoever else that'll do me just dandy.
Celdrog
22/02/2009, 9:32 PM
As big Ian, that well known Drog once said "I'd need photographic evidence to believe you"
political_rebel
22/02/2009, 9:33 PM
As big Ian, that well known Drog once said "I'd need photographic evidence to believe you"
And like Big Ian...your not gettin it :D...
Celdrog
22/02/2009, 9:36 PM
Spoken like a true shinner.....
corkboy360
22/02/2009, 10:34 PM
Give it a rest corkboy. You're wrong
Ok mic
This is great crack to be honest :D...
Never knew so many people from Longford and Drugheda were so up to date with the financial workings of CCFC...It is quite amusing really to read some of the info from 'reliable sources' within the club...
Believe me when I tell you that those 'reliable sources' know nothing about the day to day running of the club...Everyone down here knows who they are, there are 2 so called 'reliable sources' and none of them are even involved in the club...
How can anyone from Drogheda or Dundalk seriously ask where CCFC are getting money to sign new players and keep a straight face :D...
The facts are as follows and people can try and twist them inside out and upside down but the facts remain the facts...
1. No Player under contract when the club came out examinership is owed money...
2. The license being provisional had nothing to do with financial issues...
3. No cheque issued by the club has ever bounced...
4. Since the new owner took over all players, staff and employess of the club have been paid on time to date...
Now I will let ye all get back to your rumours...
Gareth Fatbelly?
Alan Matthews?
Darragh Ryan?
:p
political_rebel
22/02/2009, 11:01 PM
Ok mic
Gareth Fatbelly?
Alan Matthews?
Darragh Ryan?
:p
Farrelly was not under contract when the club exited examinership...
Mathews is not a player...(he has paid anyway)
Ryan...Paid in full...
corkboy360
22/02/2009, 11:12 PM
Since the new owner took over all players, staff and employess of the club have been paid on time to date...
Mathews is not a player...(he has paid anyway)
Paid out full on his whole contract.
El-Pietro
22/02/2009, 11:47 PM
Paid out full on his whole contract.
thats a legal issue not a licensing one
if the courts decide he is owed money then he will be paid
as of now, we dont actually owe him anything or have come to an agreement to pay back what is owed
backpay and compensation are two clearly different issues
why cant you see that?
re: fai sponsoring a game, they definitely did, i could check the match programmes but they are upstairs, it wasnt shamrock rovers though, we played them at home in may i think, the fai sponosored a game after we went into examinership
Lawrie Dudfields name came up on Sunday Sport yesterday as well.
23/02/2009, 9:26 AM
Where are you getting your information from? Or is it just speculation and rumour like everyone else on here???????
Come on tell us what makes you so informed?
Can you do likewise? Where are you getting your information from? You are posting your opinion here as if it is fact, can you tell us how you have the ability to do this?
Didn't the FAI clearly state that Cork's licence was provisional on some financial grounds?
Rovers Maniac
23/02/2009, 9:43 AM
Can you do likewise? Where are you getting your information from? You are posting your opinion here as if it is fact, can you tell us how you have the ability to do this?
To be fair to the other poster A face he asked you first !
23/02/2009, 10:46 AM
To be fair to the other poster A face he asked you first !
I can only say its on very good authority, where as SeaBlue i haven't a clue where he is getting his info and he is very wide of the mark. So on that ground i asked the same of him, which is only fair as SeaBlue will agree.
23/02/2009, 10:53 AM
Didn't the FAI clearly state that Cork's licence was provisional on some financial grounds?
The word "provisional" isn't used, but it's implied. (http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=4026)
Rovers Maniac
23/02/2009, 11:08 AM
I can only say its on very good authority, where as SeaBlue i haven't a clue where he is getting his info and he is very wide of the mark. So on that ground i asked the same of him, which is only fair as SeaBlue will agree.
The bottomline is you can't prove it A face !
23/02/2009, 2:03 PM
The bottomline is you can't prove it A face !
I cant, no, but i was not asked.
corkboy360
23/02/2009, 3:18 PM
thats a legal issue not a licensing one
Where in my post does it mention the word "licensing".:confused:
Presume a face changed the thread title?
El-Pietro
23/02/2009, 3:53 PM
Where in my post does it mention the word "licensing".:confused:
it doesnt matter
he isnt owed any money at this moment in time
he wont be owed money unless and until the courts say he is owed money
23/02/2009, 3:55 PM
Presume a face changed the thread title?
Nope, didn't go near it
corkboy360
23/02/2009, 3:56 PM
it doesnt matter
he isnt owed any money at this moment in time
he wont be owed money unless and until the courts say he is owed money
Of course they will.
Keep living in the fantasy world "where everything is grand";)
Cork City FC will not have a leg too stand on in court.
El-Pietro
23/02/2009, 4:01 PM
Of course they will.
Keep living in the fantasy world "where everything is grand";)
Cork City FC will not have a leg too stand on in court.
where did i say everythign is grand
you are an idiot
i said that right now
legally
we dont owe matthews a penny
when he takes us to court the judge will decide what we owe him
until then we dont owe him anything
you should try reading the posts you are replying to
Nope, didn't go near it
Well done, proud of ye
23/02/2009, 4:43 PM
El-Pietro and CorkBoy360, you are just grating off each other now. You both think you're right. We'll wait and see wht happens. Chill out now, maybe take a break from this thread.
corkboy360
23/02/2009, 8:40 PM
Moderation: Some text removed
Now I shall take a break from this thread as A face has told me too.
Scrufil
23/02/2009, 8:53 PM
The owing of money to people can be viewed in a different way. In the case of Cork City I'm not sure what this means but I do know for another club it can mean to schedule a payment scheme to a player who is owed money. Once the agreement is in place and is seen to be acceptable by the FAI then the condition of payment can be that the first installment be lodged, paid and then recorded by the FAI and all parties in question by a certain date. This should satisfy the licence. All players can, under the rules, be owed money but once an agreement is in place between player and club then the player can move freely along and the club falls within the licence terms.
Celdrog
28/02/2009, 7:40 AM
Cork fans rumouring on their own forum that wages were not paid this week. Can't accuse anyone else on these latest rumours.
Surely not true?
Buile Shuibhne
28/02/2009, 7:46 AM
.....However, further difficulty could lie ahead for the Leesiders after it emerged that the existing squad did not receive their month's wages as scheduled on Wednesday, and were last night looking for answers from the club who cited clerical issues for the delay.
While it is understood that the money is on the way, PFAI secretary Stephen McGuinness and FAI Compliance Officer Padraig Smith are set to travel to Cork next week to discuss concerns over some outstanding matters with City owner Tom Coughlan.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/cork-wages-delay-casts-shadow-over-fai-launch-of-new-season-1656902.html
Smurf1
28/02/2009, 8:51 AM
Uh oh!
It's a conspiracy i tells ya!!:rolleyes:
28/02/2009, 9:10 AM
Uh oh!
Nope just a dodgy owner in place thats all.
There was me thinking everyone knew those rubber cheque books were just kids toys. Someone should tell Coughlan soon before he makes a fool out of himself.
Uh oh!
Do ye not know Alan Matthews started that rumour on langerweb and also writes under the alias of Daniel McDonnell in the Independent?
28/02/2009, 10:55 AM
Very worrying for Cork. This week was the week they had to sort out their "financial" provisions under licensing, and co-incidentally the players weren't paid.
It really does seem like Cork are going week to week with money. I'm sure home games coming up will help but a bad run of form and a dip in gates could really, really hurt them
Bald Student
28/02/2009, 11:13 AM
Should Finn Harps be getting ready for a shock promotion?
28/02/2009, 11:31 AM
Should Finn Harps be getting ready for a shock promotion?
Followed by a swift relegation again?
Bald Student
28/02/2009, 11:34 AM
Followed by a swift relegation again?
I think there could be a niche position in this league for clubs that stay promoted through others going bust.
Rovers Maniac
28/02/2009, 11:46 AM
Which player was it? What hospital was it? Where are you based and where was the player?
You have to give a source for this one man, or it gets deleted (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=735487&postcount=16).
I think this post is a spoof, prove me wrong.
I heard a rumor from a cork City as well A face, like i state it is a rumor but he is well connected in Cork.
28/02/2009, 12:03 PM
I heard a rumor from a cork City as well A face, like i state it is a rumor but he is well connected in Cork.
From another site
This month a new pay system was installed...wages are now paid by electronic transfer and not cheques...maybe thats where the clerical error came from?...
How did cheques bounce when they weren't even used this month? I smell a rat, so i still stand by that the rumour needs proved by Billynomates
Rovers Maniac
28/02/2009, 12:08 PM
From another site
How did cheques bounce when they weren't even used this month? I smell a rat, so i still stand by that the rumour needs proved by Billynomates
I heard it from a big Cork fan in Dublin, i know your mod on here and i don't want to get into a argument with you as you are clearly very defensive about the whole thing. So i think we should accept your thinking until we see the other paper of "record" in Ireland (The Times) coming out with a story.
01/03/2009, 12:48 PM
The Star on Sunday is carrying a story about Cork failing to pay the players. It mentions the electronic system but says they still weren't paid.
MickNolan
01/03/2009, 1:18 PM
The Star on Sunday is carrying a story about Cork failing to pay the players. It mentions the electronic system but says they still weren't paid.
Looking at it myself!
Buile Shuibhne
01/03/2009, 1:26 PM
I get get paid by electronic transfer as do a lot of people.
The money goes into my account at 12.01 am on the designated date.
Once or twice their might be an administrative or clerical glitch - but once the company and bank are notified it's usually resolved later that day or the next day at the latest.
According to reports the Cork players were due to be paid last Wednesday and reports on Friday said they still hadn't been paid by then.
There are no 'clerical issues' at fault here by this stage.