View Full Version : Cook Returns

prodsc
11/02/2009, 9:52 PM
http://www.sligorovers.com/images/stories/manager/pcook_Welcome%20from%20Chairman.jpgSligo Rovers are pleased to announce that Paul Cook has agreed to return to the Bit O'Red for the coming season. The club will hold a press conference tomorrow with further information.
(Thursday)
:):)

http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/692/1/

dong
11/02/2009, 9:56 PM
Just read this on the website. What's the craic? I hope this isn't a **** take!
Unbelievabley good news!!!:)

11/02/2009, 10:00 PM
Heard this earlier.

Great to have Cook back.

MMVIII
11/02/2009, 10:07 PM
Delighted he's back. Absolutely delighted.

brianw82
11/02/2009, 10:15 PM
What time is the conference? Might pop down and wish him well!

11/02/2009, 11:23 PM
Flip-flopper! ;)

showgies
11/02/2009, 11:26 PM
Not too sure which fiasco is more embarrassing.........this one or the Rob McDonald one

celticV3
12/02/2009, 12:26 AM
this one or the Rob McDonald one

HaHa you even have to ask, this doesn't even rank close to the Rob McDonald "thing"

With all the uncertainties surrounding the situation it is annoying, but F**k it, We have Cook back now and thats all that really matters.

lowroadrover
12/02/2009, 7:03 AM
Great news, now lets forget all this messing and get down to football

12/02/2009, 7:12 AM

That should be the Leagues motto for the last few seasons :D

showgies
12/02/2009, 8:37 AM
[QUOTE=celticV3;1103280]HaHa you even have to ask, this doesn't even rank close to the Rob McDonald "thing" QUOTE]

Fair point....but I'm sure it will be matched sometime :o:D

srfc1928
12/02/2009, 9:08 AM
Exactly

Delighted to hear Paul is back.
Hopefully the press conference is all positive,
we've had enough negative lately, its time to kick on

Rovers Maniac
12/02/2009, 9:27 AM
What time is it at?

Boo_Boy
12/02/2009, 10:15 AM
Had a weird dream last night about this thread. Cook returned, he signed Stephen Manson, Ray Lewis and Mark Whalberg...hmm.

Hopefully we sign football players with the raised money.

WoodquayBoy
12/02/2009, 11:08 AM
Not too sure which fiasco is more embarrassing.........this one or the Rob McDonald one
Has to be this. Not trying to be a WUM, but this makes a mockery of your club, being held to ransom by (an admittedly very good) manager who threw his rattle out of the pram because of the budget he was handed, forcing the club to go cap-in-hand to the locals.
As I said, he is a very good manager, and given the quality he has there, added to the implosion sat other clubs, I think a top-3 place is not out of reach in '09 for ye, but seriously, this reflects poorly on SRFC

12/02/2009, 11:32 AM
Woodquay, there's as much chance of Rovers finishing in the top three as there is of our Minister for Finance reading in bed. This will all end in tears.

Only1Rovers
12/02/2009, 11:51 AM
Woodquay, there's as much chance of Rovers finishing in the top three as there is of our Minister for Finance reading in bed. This will all end in tears.

Lenihan read's loads of Celine Ahern at night.....:confused:

12/02/2009, 12:18 PM
Delighted!! Absoulutely ****ing delighted.Although i do personally think he never left in the first place, and cant help but feel there was somewhat of a scam (for want of a better word) to this. I heard stories at the start of the week that he'd be back by Thursday but wasnt going to get my hopes up, but this is fantastic! Obviously other supporters will say were a mess, bla bla bla. But really we shouldnt give a flying ****, we've got the best manager in the league back! :D:D:D

Guts&Glory
12/02/2009, 12:21 PM

Nothing like positive thinking !!

Why or how do you reckon it will end in tears ?

red_away
12/02/2009, 12:34 PM
I have to say that i am glad cook is back but if i am honest it has taken a lot of the shine off the man and his behaviour!

dong
12/02/2009, 12:54 PM
Has to be this. Not trying to be a WUM, but this makes a mockery of your club, being held to ransom by (an admittedly very good) manager who threw his rattle out of the pram because of the budget he was handed, forcing the club to go cap-in-hand to the locals.
As I said, he is a very good manager, and given the quality he has there, added to the implosion sat other clubs, I think a top-3 place is not out of reach in '09 for ye, but seriously, this reflects poorly on SRFC
Kenna wasn't long ejecting outta GUFC when he got a sniff elsewhere. I can understand your frustration. I think I speak for the majority of Rovers fans when I say we're glad to have Paul Cook leading us for the season ahead, no matter what the circumstances.

WoodquayBoy
12/02/2009, 12:56 PM
Absolutely dong2008, IMO Kenna behaved in a disgraceful manner. However I think Cook did as well, and the 'difference' is ye hve taken him back. Yes, I know Kenna didn't come back, but I would like to think he would be told where to go if he tried.

Rovers Maniac
12/02/2009, 1:02 PM
Absolutely dong2008, IMO Kenna behaved in a disgraceful manner. However I think Cook did as well, and the 'difference' is ye hve taken him back. Yes, I know Kenna didn't come back, but I would like to think he would be told where to go if he tried.

Kenna was whoring himself around every club that had a vacancy in Ireland and England and then you took him back after it all only for him to walk out ! To my mind Cook always said he would come back if he got two extra players which does not look like it will happen. H eis back its good for the club but i have to agree with red away's post on the matter.

red bellied
12/02/2009, 1:08 PM
Press conference tonight at 8.15, Cook took training this morning.

celticV3
12/02/2009, 1:21 PM
Will the club have to renegotiate a new contract ?

12/02/2009, 1:23 PM
I assume Cook wasn't paid during his absence too?

thesilverfox
12/02/2009, 1:42 PM
Must say im delighted to see the man back as i feel he is the best man for the job, but he has gone down in my opinions as a person for his childish behaviour in regards to the budget. Many managers would be very happy to manage Sligo Rovers with the lower budget (we only need to look at the Alan Matthews situation in Drogheda).

I also agree with Rovers1's earlier post that the fans have been scammed again but the fools on the board. It was simply emotional blackmail by the board saying if we dont raise the €60k that Cook wouldnt come back. I honestly believe that we have got nowhere near the €60k yet the red carpet is being rolled out tonight for Cook's return. It would also be interesting to see how much the board member's have put towards this fundraising effort as they claim to have the best wishes of the club at heart, or have they left it all to the fans again as they did during the summer.

I am happy to see Paul back, as I think we could have a memorable season ahead. Just a pity the clubs name and image had to be dragged through the dirt to do it.

WoodquayBoy
12/02/2009, 2:32 PM
Kenna was whoring himself around every club that had a vacancy in Ireland and England and then you took him back after it all only for him to walk out ! To my mind Cook always said he would come back if he got two extra players which does not look like it will happen. H eis back its good for the club but i have to agree with red away's post on the matter.
And as I said, he behaved terribly. He was entitled to have a sniff around as he was not under contract, but I do agree he dragged it out too much. Anyway, Cook is back and ye will only be the better for it

12/02/2009, 3:15 PM
Must say im delighted to see the man back as i feel he is the best man for the job, but he has gone down in my opinions as a person for his childish behaviour in regards to the budget. Many managers would be very happy to manage Sligo Rovers with the lower budget (we only need to look at the Alan Matthews situation in Drogheda).

I also agree with Rovers1's earlier post that the fans have been scammed again but the fools on the board. It was simply emotional blackmail by the board saying if we dont raise the €60k that Cook wouldnt come back. I honestly believe that we have got nowhere near the €60k yet the red carpet is being rolled out tonight for Cook's return. It would also be interesting to see how much the board member's have put towards this fundraising effort as they claim to have the best wishes of the club at heart, or have they left it all to the fans again as they did during the summer.

I am happy to see Paul back, as I think we could have a memorable season ahead. Just a pity the clubs name and image had to be dragged through the dirt to do it.

Perhaps they thought it was better that Cook returned rather than employing someone else because we all know what a good manager he is? And because as you said he is the best man for the job.

What a scam....Emotional blackmail, nobody was forced to give money. A lot didn't. The fans were behind the fundraising at the end of the day.

It would have been a lot easier to let Cook go, release a few players that earn big money, bring it an average manager and average players.

Ok, so it doesn't make us look the most professional club in the world, but we're in a better position that we were this time two weeks ago.

All you ever reas on this forum is people moaning.

Inside Man
12/02/2009, 3:53 PM
I assume Cook wasn't paid during his absence too?
Very interesting!
Personally I always thought we blew Cook out of all proportions. Good manager= yes, gets best out of his players, but, there are more talented managers out there in Ireland who would have fit the job.
For me, he must have to prove himself all over to me. Lost alot of respect for him.
Cheeky fecker went off for a couple of weeks seen nobody was racing after him so he decides to go back to the muppets who will pay his wage for another year.
As avvenalaf said, this will all end badly with us looking for the boards head. However its way to early to be saying this and we'll all bask in this for a while but the main problems remain rotted in our club and until they are gone we will win nothing.

forza rovers
12/02/2009, 4:05 PM
that's brilliant that he is back!

does anybody know where the press conference is taking place

dong
12/02/2009, 4:09 PM
But what are these "problems" that are so rooted and so different to any other League of Ireland club?
It's not like any of the other clubs have some Martin Edwards type svengali figure running the show for them.
Can we not just get on with it now? We did enough whingeing and finger pointing when he left ( and I include myself in that! )

thesilverfox
12/02/2009, 4:26 PM
that's brilliant that he is back!

does anybody know where the press conference is taking place

its at 8.15 in the clarion.

Guts&Glory
12/02/2009, 5:19 PM
Just to clarify a few points Rafa Benitez Style :

celticV3 Yes the Club will have to draw up a new contract for Cook as the last one in effect became reduntant when he resigned.

sligoman - No, Cook was not paid during his absence as he had resigned his position.

the silverfox - Alan Matthews is running a Part Time Drogheda side, we are trying to hold a squad of 12-14 pros with some part time players. You are not comparing like with like. Also I am not aware of any other position being offered to Matthews after all he was looking for a job to keep in employment.

Inside Man- You say that there are More talented managers in Ireland for the Rovers job - name them please!!

Inside man re "nobody was racing after him" comment - Cook turned down three offers from other clubs two in Ireland and one from England. All for better Money than at Rovers - that's loyalty for ye lads.

As Rory H commented the board could have given up on Paul got in an average manager and go back to an all part time squad. Jump forward a few months we are struggling in the League, bottom in Setanta Cup and humiliated in Europe, crowds down considerably....then the same lads would then be complaining why didn't the board fight to keep Paul and the Full Time set up.

As the saying goes damned if you do damned if you dont.

12/02/2009, 6:14 PM
I also agree with Rovers1's earlier post that the fans have been scammed again but the fools on the board.

I didnt say we were scammed as such but i know what you mean. And if the board attempted to 'scam' us then really it looks like it worked, we got Cooky back!:)

Shiba
12/02/2009, 6:15 PM
I have to say that i am glad cook is back but if i am honest it has taken a lot of the shine off the man and his behaviour!

I delighted Paul is back.I know that it looks like Cook went off in a sulk for not getting his way.But I don't think that thats what it was like at all.We all like Cookie for his honesty in defeat and in success be if we played well or not! He always called a " A spade A spade" ,was always honest in his opinion. To me he was the same old Cookie. He had his team in place to "compete" and with the budget needed to have a playing squad of 16 could not be reach an option of selling Boco was given to him which he said as manager he himself could not in all honesty could not do that. So he resigned to allow the next man the option to make this decision. I think "Paul Cook" was just been " Paul Cook" been straigth and Honest and Hard Hitting.

Avvelaf if it all ends in tears aleast we tried and wont have lost anything really as Im sure the same hardwork by the few would have had to be put in to have given the next man a side that could compete.

Shiba
12/02/2009, 6:24 PM
Very interesting!
Personally I always thought we blew Cook out of all proportions. Good manager= yes, gets best out of his players, but, there are more talented managers out there in Ireland who would have fit the job.

WHO?

And would they have been willing to work of the same budget that "Cook" was meant too!

Ya! I wondered if this was a scam to get people to raise money but on the morning he resigned met him in " The Southern" talking to Boco explaining the situation.If it was a Hoax it was a very well worked out one but I don't think it was.

The only I didn't like was the MC getting involved in the fund raisers as I think it was this move that has made people think that the whole thing was a sham!

Well Red
12/02/2009, 6:59 PM
Hold on a second Cook was spot on, the only way he could get some extra money to face the programme that Rovers have ahead was to put some pressure on the MC. This is exactly what we wanted him to do, its called tactics and at the end of the day we want him to have a reasonable squad to face a very important season. The MC have a job to do also and I think the ending has being a good result. Only sour taste is the pittance we got from Everton for Seamus especially as we see more of how much they have paid elsewhere for new signings. At Croke Park last night we watched a right full who is playing Championship football at he was so bad, so dont rule out the chance of seeing our boy in the right full position within a couple of years.

sligofan4ever
12/02/2009, 7:03 PM
Great to see he's back. Hopefully its very positive at press conference. Hopefully Owen Morrison and Stephen Parkhouse will finally be confirmed by the club at it.

12/02/2009, 7:12 PM
A little maths can be very useful sometimes. This year's agreed budget includes 60k for Seamie. Our great leader said he needed another 60k to bring in two more players. Ok?. Lets just suppose that this money was raised. Next year, OGL says he wants to hold onto this squad. Then the additional amount to be raised, at start of nest season, is 120k.
There is little doubt but that the 60k required now won't be raised. I'd say 20k max. So, on what grounds has he returned? What have the MC agreed with him that the supporters haven't been told about and won't be told about until there is a panic mid season with regard to finance.
I see a bad moon risin'.

Fivesilver
12/02/2009, 7:22 PM
Jaysus, I think I preferred the regular succession of wry one-liners. :rolleyes:

12/02/2009, 7:25 PM
wonder will the club announce tonight how much was actually raised in the last 2 weeks or so?

12/02/2009, 7:46 PM
wonder will the club announce tonight how much was actually raised in the last 2 weeks or so?

No, but you'll be told what was 'pledged'.

dong
12/02/2009, 8:51 PM
Any word on what went on?

12/02/2009, 9:18 PM
theres a small piece on the website about it, more to follow.....

12/02/2009, 9:23 PM
Morrison and Parkhouse officially unveiled.

dong
12/02/2009, 9:29 PM
Thanks sligoman, thats good news anyways.

mint sauce
12/02/2009, 10:07 PM
delighted, absolutly over the moon delighted, any update on the press conference apart from whats on the website tonight

http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/693/91/

sligo23
12/02/2009, 10:12 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ye8mB6VsUHw

sligo1
12/02/2009, 10:36 PM
"Money stemming from the sale of Seamus Coleman to Everton has allowed Cook to "hopefully add one or two players" to his squad. The money was originally budgeted for tax purposes but a restructuring of finance and the club's budget has altered circumstances at The Showgrounds."

So what has happened to the tax bill Seamie's money was going to pay?

According to Mary McGowan,any money going towards new players had to be "NEW" money and could not be money that was already accounted for in the existing budget!!! I give up

If Seamie's money is going towards 2 players,what is happening the money raised by the various fundraisers?

If the money was there all along,could this restructuring not have been done without all this messing with Cooke?

Is this us sorted for the year or are we due another call to arms in the next few months?