View Full Version : Keane back to Spurs!
DeLorean
02/02/2009, 4:40 PM
It will be interesting to hear Keane's version of events. Imagine Torres gets injured (which is highly likely) and Liverpool could be starting with Kuyt and Vorinin upfront. (vorinin back after loan spell).
All going well....
Lookin forward to Keane's interview alright.
DeLorean
02/02/2009, 4:52 PM
(vorinin back after loan spell).
Thought that was a season long loan?
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N161135080901-1630.htm
Greenbod
02/02/2009, 4:55 PM
dont think a league medal would mean much to him after the way he was treated
Agree. Ideally I would love to see him score a hat-trick that sees Spurs win 3-2 and deny Liverpool the title!
Greenbod
02/02/2009, 4:57 PM
yeah if liverpool win the league he would be get one and he would be allowed to play as he would be a spurs player and nobody other than Harry Redknapp could stop him from playing.
That's what I thought. Just a very unusual situation in that he could find himself needing to lose to win the title!
DeLorean
02/02/2009, 4:59 PM
Agree. Ideally I would love to see him score a hat-trick that sees Spurs win 3-2 and deny Liverpool the title!
I don't think my heart could take da Pool being in contention come May. At the end of the United Treble winning season I had a bet (£100/€127) with my buddy that da Pool wouldn't win the Lge in the next ten yrs!! that was 98/99 so this is the last yr of the bet. Long time to wait for a hundred quid.
02/02/2009, 5:07 PM
It has gone down in that time too. Did you take inflation into account. Bad deal for you as 100 pound or 127 euro after 2 years if Liverpool would have won the league would be worth more than when you collect the bet.
Noelys Guitar
02/02/2009, 5:08 PM
Thought that was a season long loan?
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N161135080901-1630.htm
http://www.soccerglobe.net/2009/01/08/andriy-voronin-set-to-make-liverpool-comeback/
I'm certain I heard on Sky last week that he was coming back early.
DeLorean
02/02/2009, 5:16 PM
I'm certain I heard on Sky last week that he was coming back early.
Hopefully:D
dr_peepee
02/02/2009, 5:17 PM
Bit of an over reaction there. He wants to play football. Benitez is the manager and is likely to be the manager for a good while and he has no interest in even having Keane in the squad. The club accept a bid which means they do not want him either. So what is he meant to do stay at a club which does not want him and do not even include him in the squad or go back to a club where he knows he will be wanted and more importantly he will get his game. Its a good move for Ireland in my view.
Not in the slightest is it an over reaction. Yeah, benitez fvcked him over. But Keane met him half way with some of his performances. I'm disapointed as a fan of Robbie Keane they didn't get to see anything like the best of him at Anfeild. He's flopped at a big club. There was a post on the thread here that said sarcastically "maybe he's just not up to it". D'ye know what? The postor got stick but he's right. Keane wasn't up to being at a big club. Mentally as much as anything else, he's not up for it.
It's a measure of the man that he didn't stick it out til Summer. All this talk about Benitez being manager and not wanting him there is relevant and clearly a factor in him getting out. More often than not i'd agree with most of you. However Keane was in an unusually strong position to push back given the lack of squad depth at Anfield. As much as Benitez may say he didn't sign him or want him at the club, he wasn't in a position to ignore him for the rest of the season given the lack of depth in the squad.
Micheal Owen left Madrid with his credibility in tact. David Beckham got treated even worse by Cappello at Madrid.
I'm sick... Gutted... I take no pleasure being proven right cos I said when the move was mooted that he should stay at Spurs cos he found his level. I read today on something else that it's a damning indictment for any sportsman to be labeled as unlucky. That's just it. He's leaving now while the media is rife with political pawn stories, somewhat masking the fact he underperformed badly by his own standard. He took the easy way out How anyone can commend him is beyond me. What transpired I think is baggage he'll carry with him for the rest of his career.
Razors left peg
02/02/2009, 5:18 PM
Last day of season, 91st minute penalty in front of Kop to stop Liverpool winning league... Robbie scores and runs over to Rafa...:D:D:D
Liverpool are 5 points behind united (assuming united beat fulham at home in their game in hand), that means that pool need to beat united at OT and get 3 more points than united in the other 13 games.
Not a chance of that!!
Unless Pool win the CL, then i think there is a good chance Benitez will go during the summer. I genuinely believe that given the chance that Keane couldve been a success at pool. However, he was never given the opportunity and a supposedly title challenging side sells one of its top three available strikers with no replacement.
Im sure pool's title challenge will be well over by the last game of the season but I hope Keanes get some element of revenge in that game.
DeLorean
02/02/2009, 5:19 PM
It has gone down in that time too. Did you take inflation into account. Bad deal for you as 100 pound or 127 euro after 2 years if Liverpool would have won the league would be worth more than when you collect the bet.
Tis about more than money at this stage!! I only made the bet for gloating purposes I'd say at the time anyway. Liverpool were only after winning one more league game than they lost that season if I remember right and United swept all before them. I'd say he'll be offering double or quits on another 10 yrs by the looks of it!!:rolleyes:
He took the easy way out How anyone can commend him is beyond me. What transpired I think is baggage he'll carry with him for the rest of his carear.
Agree that he will carry the "failure at a big club" tag for the rest of his career, hes not realistically going to get another shot at a big four club unless spurs become a big 4 club.
Taking the easy way out though....im not so sure, it will be interesting to hear what he has to say......for all we know Benitez told him that he would not feature in the first team for the rest of the season, i cant see how staying wouldve then done him any good.
ideally i would love to see keane score goals in the green jersey of ireland.....
Maroon 7
02/02/2009, 5:34 PM
Last day of season, 91st minute penalty in front of Kop to stop Liverpool winning league... Robbie scores and runs over to Rafa...:D:D:D
If it's in front of the Kop he'll probably swing and take an airshot.
Razors left peg
02/02/2009, 5:40 PM
If it's in front of the Kop he'll probably swing and take an airshot.
After he had the balls to take one in last minute of world cup game against Spain Id back him to take a penalty anywhere
colster
02/02/2009, 5:41 PM
I reckon there's more to this than meets the eye. Could it be that his missus couldn't settle in Liverpool?
co. down green
02/02/2009, 5:56 PM
"It was a difficult decision to make to leave Tottenham in the summer," the 28-year-old told the club website.
"It proved not to be the right move for me. I know some Spurs fans will feel I let them down... but I can assure them I'll be giving my all."
He added: "This club has terrific fans and I want to repay them for all their support. We've got to get on and fight our way up that league table
http://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/articles/robbiereturns020209.html
02/02/2009, 6:00 PM
I doubt his missus had anything to do with that miss up at Bolton!
I'm not sure if Dr Peepee is right to think Robbie took the easy way out. When both clubs are keen to do business the player often has no choice but to accept the inevitable. I think Robbie could have been a success in due course and I struggle to think of an example where a player was discarded so quickly after settling slowly.
Bizarre situation all round.
The Legend
02/02/2009, 6:26 PM
well thats the end of that experiment of Keane playing for a top team, if spurs go down, maybe he'll get to move on again... to wigan or something...
i'm ****ed off with all 3 parties... (liverpool, keane and spurs) ... bringing back Defoe and Keane? Hurrah, bring back Mido too ffs.... does Chris Waddle still play?
02/02/2009, 6:53 PM
I'd expect his agent managed to get a release clause should Spurs be relegated in between his mental somersaults of joy at such a windfall. Good business for Spurs, £5m for a few months of a loan.
Couldn't care less which team he plays for, as long as he plays and turns up fit for us.
[QUOTE=jbyrne;1097231 but apparently the truth is longer than that[/QUOTE]
usually is
02/02/2009, 7:03 PM
Keane did the right thing. Why should he put his career on hold for a manager who has a fetish for playing two holding midfielders in every match they play? He had no chance of a decent run in the side whilst Benitez was in charge. He'll be back to his best for Georgia and Bulgaria so I'm very happy he's left.
I tell you what you'd have to laugh if Torres goes and gets injured and they are forced to rely on Kuyt and N'gog for the rest of the season.......stranger things have happened.
Noelys Guitar
02/02/2009, 8:05 PM
Fascinating article here about what is going on at Liverpool. Incredible quote from Gillett bottom of page 3. http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/liverpool-news/local-news/2009/02/02/george-gillett-why-are-liverpool-fc-fans-so-angry-with-me-100252-22834471/3/
Unbelievable in that he told this to a guy walking in off the street. Keane got out just in time.
co. down green
02/02/2009, 8:16 PM
Couldn't care less which team he plays for, as long as he plays and turns up fit for us.
Agreed and at least at Spurs he's likely to play regularly.
I personally hope Liverpool win damn all after the way Benitez treated Keane.
Torn-Ado
02/02/2009, 8:39 PM
Why does everyone presume he's likely to be a starter for Spurs. Defoe is in better form and could easily take his place when he comes back from injury.
Razors left peg
02/02/2009, 8:44 PM
Why does everyone presume he's likely to be a starter for Spurs. Defoe is in better form and could easily take his place when he comes back from injury.
Looks like Defoe is going to be out for a long time, some reports saying for rest of season. Either way Robbie is a better player than Defoe anyway. Defoe is a good finisher but very lazy in my opinion
02/02/2009, 8:46 PM
Eh, you answered your own question there kid. Well done.
dr_peepee
02/02/2009, 9:17 PM
Elroy and Stuttgart88... There was a fork in the road. If heading back to Spurs wasn't the easy way what was??? Do you not agree that Spurs=Comfort zone for Robbie Keane?
I've no doubt he would have ended up there or there abouts eventually, but so soon?? I know he was never gonna be a legend, but I'm telling ye Peter Crouch is gonna be recieved better at Anfeild than Keane ever will now.. Rightly so, too based on what was seen in Red... That's what galling for me.
Regardless of how he got there and whether Benitez liked it or not Keane would have got games between now and May. Benitez doesn't know if he wants a sh!t or a haircut from one minute to the next.... He'd have got in. His career wouldn't have been on hold. A whole four months??? We're talking Hours even minutes toward the end of the window and what depth have Liverpool got? His Ireland place is secure? No major tournament in the Summer?
Alonso was treated just as bad just as publicly by Benitez. And compare contrast all ye want, but if he'd wanted after what was said/printed/admited had he made all the right noises, Alonso could have left Liverpool for a fraction of the price he's valued at to spite Rafa. But he didn't. I firmly believe Alonso plays, and plays well, for Liverool in spite of Benitez not for him.
It was all to fight for there for Robbie, but he took the first option out. He's gone down in my estimation and with respect to most of yiz, nothing I read thus far, or I believe anything I read going forward is going to change that... Robbie Keane'll get the same cheer as Kevin Doyle or any other Irish player in Croker from me. Not a decibel more or less.
stojkovic
02/02/2009, 9:34 PM
Yeah I think if Liverpool win th league it will be a travesty for football that overly defensive football can be the order of the day.
United have scored ONE more goal than Liverpool this season, ONE.
United have the best defensive record in the league.
But dont let the facts cloud your views.
02/02/2009, 9:38 PM
Keane watching Gerrard lift the Premiership trophy.. Ya, it'll be tough for him alright!! ;)
Aye, but will Keane be able to receive his Premiership winners medal in his Spurs shirt?
02/02/2009, 9:40 PM
This is an interesting one. As far as I know.....(I may be wrong), Keane would be entitled to a medal were Liverpool to win the league. Would he be allowed play in the last game for Spurs? I mean he could score an o.g to secure himself a winners medal (theoretically).
Going by the results of his previous attempts to score for Liverpool I don't think there is much chance of that happening ;)
02/02/2009, 9:46 PM
Of course this could be part of a big masterplan by Benitez, to buy the striker of the team Liverpool will face on the last day of the season, then sell him back.
Would Keane also recieve some sort of financial bous if Liverpool win?
02/02/2009, 9:50 PM
United have scored ONE more goal than Liverpool this season, ONE.
United have the best defensive record in the league.
But dont let the facts cloud your views.
Nothing wrong with having a good defensive record. Utds attitude to games is more attacking than Benitez. In addition Utd have played most of the top four if not all the top four away from home. They have also played many of the other top teams away from home. If you check at the end of the season Utd will have more goals than Liverpool, they have also played one less game than Liverpool. They will win the league with more points more goals and less goals conceded than Liverpool. They will do this buy attacking teams and having a good defensive record. Liverpool fail to beat poor teams at home and some times away because they are not encouraged to take risks. Those are the facts.
seanfhear
02/02/2009, 10:04 PM
Nothing wrong with having a good defensive record. Utds attitude to games is more attacking than Benitez. In addition Utd have played most of the top four if not all the top four away from home. They have also played many of the other top teams away from home. If you check at the end of the season Utd will have more goals than Liverpool, they have also played one less game than Liverpool. They will win the league with more points more goals and less goals conceded than Liverpool. They will do this buy attacking teams and having a good defensive record. Liverpool fail to beat poor teams at home and some times away because they are not encouraged to take risks. Those are the facts.
You just saved me a load of typing.
02/02/2009, 10:07 PM
All I hope is that he didn't sell his house in London!
Maroon 7
02/02/2009, 10:11 PM
Nothing wrong with having a good defensive record. Utds attitude to games is more attacking than Benitez. In addition Utd have played most of the top four if not all the top four away from home. They have also played many of the other top teams away from home.
So have Liverpool in fairness apart from playing United themselves. They've already been to Chelsea, Arsenal, Villa, Everton, etc.
02/02/2009, 10:13 PM
All I hope is that he didn't sell his house in London!
Why not the market has shot down since then so for his sake he would have been better off selling it and renting for a while in London and not buying for until late next year.
Torn-Ado
02/02/2009, 10:18 PM
Looks like Defoe is going to be out for a long time, some reports saying for rest of season. Either way Robbie is a better player than Defoe anyway. Defoe is a good finisher but very lazy in my opinion
Just after seeing there that he is out until April. Didn't think it was that serious an injury.
EastTerracer
02/02/2009, 10:24 PM
Elroy and Stuttgart88... There was a fork in the road. If heading back to Spurs wasn't the easy way what was??? Do you not agree that Spurs=Comfort zone for Robbie Keane?
Genuinely I don't think this is Robbie's choice. I think he would have preferred to stay at Liverpool and fight for his place but he could only do that if he was going to be given a chance. All his sources in the press were suggesting last week that he wanted to stay.
Robbie didn't ask for the transfer - Liverpool told him we've agreed a fee with Tottenham and Rafa has no doubt told him he didn't want him. As far as I can see he was forced out.
There is no doubt he had some shocking games for Liverpool but in the last six weeks (the Everton Cup game apart) I think he was getting it together and had started to get a few goals. That's what makes it so strange that he wasn't getting a look in.
If he had played for Liverpool under a different manager I think he would have had every chance of succeeding at Liverpool.
02/02/2009, 10:29 PM
I've no doubt he would have ended up there or there abouts eventually, but so soon?? I know he was never gonna be a legend, but I'm telling ye Peter Crouch is gonna be recieved better at Anfeild than Keane ever will now.. Rightly so, too based on what was seen in Red... That's what galling for me.
Regardless of how he got there and whether Benitez liked it or not Keane would have got games between now and May. Benitez doesn't know if he wants a sh!t or a haircut from one minute to the next.... He'd have got in. His career wouldn't have been on hold. A whole four months??? We're talking Hours even minutes toward the end of the window and what depth have Liverpool got? His Ireland place is secure? No major tournament in the Summer?
Alonso was treated just as bad just as publicly by Benitez. And compare contrast all ye want, but if he'd wanted after what was said/printed/admited had he made all the right noises, Alonso could have left Liverpool for a fraction of the price he's valued at to spite Rafa. But he didn't. I firmly believe Alonso plays, and plays well, for Liverool in spite of Benitez not for him.
It was all to fight for there for Robbie, but he took the first option out. He's gone down in my estimation and with respect to most of yiz, nothing I read thus far, or I believe anything I read going forward is going to change that... Robbie Keane'll get the same cheer as Kevin Doyle or any other Irish player in Croker from me. Not a decibel more or less.
Good post in fairness. As much as I'd have loved Maloney back at Celtic, I was disappointed he wanted to leave Villa as I didn't want him seen as a failure there. I think that's similar but for some reason I don't care about Keane being seen a failure at Liverpool.
03/02/2009, 12:11 AM
Doesn't this make Keane the most expensive player in combined transfers in the history of the game?
I doubt it? Whats his current total?
Anelka is on about 86million. Think he replaced Seba Veron when he moved to Chelsea.(on the money stakes, not literally)
03/02/2009, 12:30 AM
I doubt it? Whats his current total?
Anelka is on about 86million. Think he replaced Seba Veron when he moved to Chelsea.(on the money stakes, not literally)
Wolves-Coventry-Inter-Leeds-Spurs-Liverpool-Spurs
6+13+12+7+19+12 = STG£71M*
One more transfer and he might do it.
*Figures from his wikipedia article.
old git
03/02/2009, 8:55 AM
Keane heading back to WHL with his tail between his legs. Robbie has discovered to his cost that the grass isn't always greener. Looking forward to finding out on his views on old rat face Benitez.
yeah should be very intresting to see what keane says about benitez.. on the other side what will spurs fans think of robbie judas keane returning less than six months after joining his boyhood dream club an oppurtunity he could not turn down :D:D
old git
03/02/2009, 9:28 AM
Last game of the season for Spurs is Liverpool away! Imagine if Liverpool are within 3 points of United (or the more likely scenario of fighting for a champions league place). Keane could come back to haunt them.
i'm sure liverpool put clause in deal that keane cannot play in this match ... ::confused: if not it could be a disaster for benitiz
DeLorean
03/02/2009, 9:28 AM
yeah should be very intresting to see what keane says about benitez.. on the other side what will spurs fans think of robbie judas keane returning less than six months after joining his boyhood dream club an oppurtunity he could not turn down :D:D
They interviewed quite a few of them on Sky Sports News last night and they were thrilled to have him back. The way they see it he's a legend at the club and they have him back for less than they sold him. A couple said they were a bit disappointed with him leaving but are still glad he's back. Anyway when Spurs played Pool in the PL earlier in the season Keane got a rousing reception from the Spurs fans. It started in a few boos but was completely drowned out by the rest of the crowd who actually stood up in applause.
lionelhutz
03/02/2009, 10:09 AM
i'm sure liverpool put clause in deal that keane cannot play in this match ... ::confused: if not it could be a disaster for benitiz
I don't think you're allowed put a clause like that in a permanent move. I've seen it many a time in loan moves but not permanent ones. Would that be right?
limerickblue
03/02/2009, 10:25 AM
The Spurs fans will be delighted to have one of there legends back at the club,he did score more 80 goals.
Nobody can blame a player for jumping at the oppurtunity to play for there boyhood club, I would jump at the chance to play for my boyhood team Doncaster rovers.
I also think that this transfer can not come at a better time for Ireland as at least Keane will get some shooting practise on the field now:p , before our little game in Italy, The only good thing about him being at Liverpool is at least he had liitle chane of getting injured.
Den Perry
03/02/2009, 10:40 AM
The only good thing about him being at Liverpool is at least he had liitle chane of getting injured.[/QUOTE].....
but he did have to live there...
DeLorean
03/02/2009, 11:11 AM
I don't think you're allowed put a clause like that in a permanent move. I've seen it many a time in loan moves but not permanent ones. Would that be right?
Yes, and the loan deals are more clear cut now as well, u can't play against the team that owns u, simple as that.
03/02/2009, 11:14 AM
Despite Keane scoring over 100 goals for Spurs there is still a minority of the supporters who regard him as “The Green Judas”. However I think he will be well received by most of the supporters.