View Full Version : Drogs' Court Case

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6

adamd164
30/01/2009, 9:18 AM
FAI are gonna smudge the ground issue by pledging development work according to today's papers.

30/01/2009, 9:23 AM
I am delighted Drogheda survived, but I feel it would not be right for both them and Cork to be in the premier. And I honestly would feel the same regardless of any potential impact on FHFC.

WindmillWarrior
30/01/2009, 9:41 AM
I am delighted Drogheda survived, but I feel it would not be right for both them and Cork to be in the premier. And I honestly would feel the same regardless of any potential impact on FHFC.

But we got our punishment already. Thats just the way it is, like it or lump it. Personally I dont like it either but thats the f*ckin stupid country we live in. As adamd164 said above you the only thing that stands in our way of a premier licence now is UP. And it looks like the work will be done to upgrade the kip!

30/01/2009, 9:44 AM
Does not seem a wide decision to pursue a Premier division licence on 250k annual budget.
One of the reports in the paper said their wage budget for next year will be E300k. The Droda Indent (as quoted on the Drogs forum) said their budget was down from E500k. I assume that was as a result of the judge's comments last week, in which case, the only alternative was to go out of business.

There's hard times ahead for Drogs though. With that budget, they'll be down the bottom half of the Premier, probably fighting relegation, and if so, you'd imagine crowds will drop from what wasn't a very high figure to begin with. Can see Drogheda going back to being a yo-yo club, to be honest.

Didnt Leeds do it when they where officially relegated and then got deducted 15 points the following season for doing it then!
They did, but you're missing the point (as well some punctuation other than an exclamation mark). Leeds went into administration when relegated knowing the ten point penalty was irrelevant. Other clubs did this too. Only in this instance does the penalty now carry over. I don't remember the final table, but Drogs' penalty possibly cost them Europe, and probably at least one place in the table, resulting in loss of prize money.

Interesting quote in today's Indo though -

The FAI cannot be seen to impede any club's licensing requirements, and as such, the Association is expected to upgrade, or at the very least assist in upgrading United Park to the Premier Division criteria, having already sent officials to the Boyneside stadium in the off-season to discuss possible arrangements if the club were to survive.
Wonder how Cobh feel about that?

WindmillWarrior
30/01/2009, 9:48 AM
I am surprised they survived the examinership process but will be astounded if they get a premier license.

Can someone please tell me ...

Have any new investors come on board?
Are the same guys still running the show?
Has any money been put to help going forward as opposed to clear the debts?
Have all directors loans been wiped?
What is the new business model?

bhs

New investors? Dont think so!
Same guys? F*ckin looks like it. In the background at least
Money? Yeah theres money there to run the club
Directors loans wiped? Yeah
Business model? Part time, scaled down, hopefully realistic.

Bring on the relegation battle. I love a good relegation battle!

30/01/2009, 9:51 AM
a very good interview with hoey.. all his emotion came out of him..
Would've been better if he'd had the cop on not to lead them into the feckin mess in the first place.

Bald Student
30/01/2009, 9:52 AM
Would it come across as bitter to point out that Doolo had done a Doolo and jumped ship to avoid a relegation battle?

30/01/2009, 9:53 AM
It was bitter from the moment you mentioned the word "Doolo".

He's never been relegated, you know.

Buile Shuibhne
30/01/2009, 9:58 AM
Interesting quote in today's Indo though -

- The FAI cannot be seen to impede any club's licensing requirements, and as such, the Association is expected to upgrade, or at the very least assist in upgrading United Park to the Premier Division criteria, having already sent officials to the Boyneside stadium in the off-season to discuss possible arrangements if the club were to survive. -

What the FAI said re Cobh:

The FAI's board came to the decision that it could not provide financial assistance to any club involved in the League of Ireland as it could assist them in obtaining a license.

Can't impede - Can't assist

WindmillWarrior
30/01/2009, 10:02 AM
There's hard times ahead for Drogs though. With that budget, they'll be down the bottom half of the Premier, probably fighting relegation, and if so, you'd imagine crowds will drop from what wasn't a very high figure to begin with. Can see Drogheda going back to being a yo-yo club, to be honest.

Me too. And i have absolutely no problem with that! Just happy to be alive!
There was very little difference with our crowds from being near the bottom of the table to being near the top so I dont think thats a very big issue for us.

The FAI don't own Cobhs ground.

30/01/2009, 10:21 AM
Lovely interview with Vincent

http://www.tv3.ie/sport.php?request=&tv3_preview=&video=5068

So happy:D:D:D

Fair play to the guy. He had some wise words there even if people will slag him for showing emotion.

It will make the league look foolish and corrupt if drog end up in the prem division,it slaps the face of those clubs who run their tax affairs properly with the revenue hammering some clubs for tax deadlines for tax clearance certs yet the revenue let first cork and now drog away with tiny % of large sums of what was owed by these clubs ,the FAI have to look at this and make strong and proper decisions .IM sure some clubs today will say F**k the tax man lets all do what drog and cork did .

I think the Revenue didn't object in court yesterday and Cork City sorted them out as well so there is no issue with either clubs tax affairs. If the Revenue are saying its ok then whats your problem with it.

Agreed the FAI have to look at it though.

If they pass all the existing criteria then why shouldn't either be in there?

30/01/2009, 10:49 AM
If they pass all the existing criteria then why shouldn't either be in there?

Just because, thats why. I rest my case.

30/01/2009, 10:54 AM
Just because, thats why. I rest my case.

:p .... i hear ya fella !! ;)

30/01/2009, 11:24 AM
The FAI don't own Cobhs ground.
That's irrelevant.

For once, Fintan has it spot on. They won't give Cobh money to help meet licencing, but they'll spend money to help Drogheda meet licencing? Doesn't add up.

WindmillWarrior
30/01/2009, 11:27 AM
Technically the FAI own UP. And they want to upgrade it.
They dont own St Colmans Park.
Adds up to me!

30/01/2009, 11:29 AM

If you wouldnt mind popping over to where I was arguing this point(possibly earlier in this thread) and pointing that out to your fellow Drogs fans Id appreciate it :D

Bald Student
30/01/2009, 11:33 AM
Adds up to me!
Probably why they didn't buy St. Colman's last week.

ndrog
30/01/2009, 11:50 AM
If you wouldnt mind popping over to where I was arguing this point(possibly earlier in this thread) and pointing that out to your fellow Drogs fans Id appreciate it :D

ssshh micls .dont tell anyone about this , its a conspiracy for the fai to help drogs on the sly .They own the ground when it suits us and they dont when it dosent :D

30/01/2009, 12:11 PM
But they've no need to upgrade it.

oriel
30/01/2009, 12:35 PM
There was very little difference with our crowds from being near the bottom of the table to being near the top so I dont think thats a very big issue for us.

Yeah that is a fair point, drogs always got solid enough crowds for fighting relegation.

Although I'm split in my view if they should have been relegated, but also happy that we`ll prob have the first Prem Lge derby in 21 years this season if they do manage to get a prem licence.

Whatever happens its been some recovery, full credit to Vincent Hoey, a very decent man by all accounts.

Drogman.
30/01/2009, 12:37 PM

Well it could be argued that they need to upgrade it due to the amount of internationals that are played there.

Anyway, the ball is in the FAI's court now, so I wonder what they'll end up doing.

30/01/2009, 12:43 PM
But it's not like the FAI are forced to play those games in Drogheda, whereas Drogheda kind of are.

And underage internationals don't come under licencing. Belfield Park and Whitehall have hosted underage games no bother.

WindmillWarrior
30/01/2009, 12:44 PM

Ah dont worry, we'll think of a reason! Health and safety or something like that will do the job!

SeanDrog
30/01/2009, 12:45 PM
[QUOTE=oriel;1095385]also happy that we`ll prob have the first Prem Lge derby in 21 years this season if they do manage to get a prem licence.

[QUOTE]

has it been that long :eek: bloodly hell

WindmillWarrior
30/01/2009, 12:48 PM
also happy that we`ll prob have the first Prem Lge derby in 21 years this season if they do manage to get a prem licence.

has it been that long :eek: bloodly hell

No it hasnt! There was top flight derbies in the mid to late 90s.

SeanDrog
30/01/2009, 12:50 PM
Ah dont worry, we'll think of a reason! Health and safety or something like that will do the job!

I suppose it could be argued that we have been renting this since the early 80's from the FAI to play national league soccer and it was the FAI who brought in licencing with the ground spec requirments - so they should be the ones to upgrade their ground to the required standard.

Million ways to argue for and against it. End of the day its their ground and has been for a long time - nearly 30 years.

Drogman.
30/01/2009, 1:44 PM
But it's not like the FAI are forced to play those games in Drogheda, whereas Drogheda kind of are.

And underage internationals don't come under licencing. Belfield Park and Whitehall have hosted underage games no bother.

True but I'm just trying to make up a good sounding excuse :D

Anyway at the end of the day, I think all clubs who have debts now should be kicked out of the league ;)

ndrog
30/01/2009, 1:46 PM

The fai are helping dundalk financialy to upgrade the plastic pitch are they not ? they dont NEED to do that ?

30/01/2009, 1:49 PM
The fai are helping dundalk financialy to upgrade the plastic pitch are they not ? they dont NEED to do that ?

No they're not. We're paying for some of it with the company that installed it paying the majority of the cost.

ndrog
30/01/2009, 1:52 PM
No they're not. We're paying for some of it with the company that installed it paying the majority of the cost.

I was misinformed so .

wexfordned
30/01/2009, 3:02 PM
Adds up to me!

UPGRADE!!

The only way to upgrade United Park is to knock it down and rebuild it.
With the FAI unlikely to receive any sports grant from the government this year & every cent spent needed to be carefully accounted for it would be a disgrace for them to spend any money on a club who ran themselves into the ground with ridiculous spending & then refuse to hold said club directors accountable

30/01/2009, 4:02 PM

The FAI help Dundalk?!? I think your still pished from last night...;)

White Horse
30/01/2009, 4:31 PM

The only help Dundalk got from the FAI was to lengthen their stay in the first division.

By the way I was stunned to read this quote from Vincent Hoey:

"We were not here [examinership] due to faults of our own, certain things happened outside our control...."

This man is deluded and should not be in charge of a football club.

30/01/2009, 5:49 PM

Arent they giving derry a few bob for their new ground too? Again, dont NEED to it!!

A the warrior said, a good aul relegation battle to look forward to :) (hopefully!!)

30/01/2009, 7:40 PM
while im glad the drogs have survived im annoyed that clubs who didnt overspend or go mad on wages are being dealt differantly then clubs like drogs. Yesterday Limerick came within two hours of going out of existance due to a tax bill half the size of what the drogs have to eventually pay up. Clubs like limerick and many others have no finance at this time of the year due to no gates and now with the economic climate no or reduced advertising or sponsorship revenue. so limerick for sticking to the rules pay 100% of their tax bill while drogs pay only 2/3% of theirs.

shameful

Town Legend
30/01/2009, 7:46 PM
Its always been the same. The FAI don't seem to care about the lesser clubs or clubs outrside of the Pale for that matter.

30/01/2009, 7:49 PM
while im glad the drogs have survived im annoyed that clubs who didnt overspend or go mad on wages are being dealt differantly then clubs like drogs.

Why single us out? Ye can throw at least cork and rovers in there too!! And more im sure!!

Celdrog
30/01/2009, 7:59 PM
Yes the FAI own United Park, lock stock and barrel. ;)
Like the MFA they have to upgrade a premier division ground. Fair play to them - they might make it as good as Turners Cross

When we move ground in a few years we get to keep the money from the sale as well. God bless John Dleaney.

Guitd
30/01/2009, 9:01 PM
I think the Revenue didn't object in court yesterday and Cork City sorted them out as well so there is no issue with either clubs tax affairs. If the Revenue are saying its ok then whats your problem with it.

reason is its unfair here's an example
Club A owes revenue 60k the demand it now!!!! clubs pays up ,cant sign decent players because the need liceance----
Club Drogheda Utd/cork owe revenue 120k cant pay sur, we will give ye 4% about 5k, revenue says ok so thanks heres your cert lads:confused:

Whats Fair with this? thats what im saying A face

30/01/2009, 9:12 PM
I'd have to question the Revenue's attitude towards the Drogheda and Shamrock Rovers cases. At least with Cork they objected to the proposed arrangement. It's all well and good to say that that's all the clubs could afford to pay, but why should they get a clean slate from there on in, why not pay over five years or however long it takes to clear it at an achievable rate?. So what if that affects their on field performance. There's lots of other clubs suffering on the field from past mistakes. We've managed to pay over 700k to the Revenue in the last four years or so I believe. They're being rewarded in effect for having no assets.

Celdrog
30/01/2009, 9:46 PM
I'd have to question the Revenue's attitude towards the Drogheda and Shamrock Rovers cases. At least with Cork they objected to the proposed arrangement. It's all well and good to say that that's all the clubs could afford to pay, but why should they get a clean slate from there on in, why not pay over five years or however long it takes to clear it at an achievable rate?. So what if that affects their on field performance. There's lots of other clubs suffering on the field from past mistakes. We've managed to pay over 700k to the Revenue in the last four years or so I believe. They're being rewarded in effect for having no assets.Fully agree - I'm amazed they didn't even object.

oriel
31/01/2009, 10:24 AM
No it hasnt! There was top flight derbies in the mid to late 90s.

Yeah i got my info wrong, def top flight derbys in the early 90`s ok, but its still around 15 years i would say since the last one

31/01/2009, 10:50 AM
Club A owes revenue 60k the demand it now!!!! clubs pays up ,cant sign decent players because the need liceance----
Club Drogheda Utd/cork owe revenue 120k cant pay sur, we will give ye 4% about 5k, revenue says ok so thanks heres your cert lads:confused:

Guitd, Its not fair. I agree with you ..... but its the Revenue that managed their own side of the bargain in all those cases. If they are good with it then thats that. And again, i know its not fair.

31/01/2009, 7:31 PM

sorry i was spouting the same stuff, i agreee fully with you its ****e and when i hear the spin of these clubs who get off with little or no punishment, going on about "its onwards and upwards", new manager to be appointed, signing players all over the place.....

Leo the lion is available for parties....€150 for a full hour. all proceeeds to Limerick Football Club. Mid west only. pm me contact details

SMorgan
31/01/2009, 9:03 PM
The only help Dundalk got from the FAI was to lengthen their stay in the first division.

By the way I was stunned to read this quote from Vincent Hoey:

"We were not here [examinership] due to faults of our own, certain things happened outside our control...."

This man is deluded and should not be in charge of a football club.

I agree that Hoey seems to be so out of touch and its unbelievable and a concern that he's still claiming that Drogheda were not at fault for what happened. According to him it was Meath County Council's fault and if they had rezoned the land, then it would have been the NRA's fault. Its a bit like somebody claiming to have been unlucky to have been knocked down by a bus, TWICE.

brianw82
31/01/2009, 10:13 PM

This is really a shocking statement to make. Put simply, this man should not be left in charge of Drogheda United.

ndrog
01/02/2009, 11:19 AM
fcuk sake lads its done and dusted .Get over it and move on .For the record i agree that the statement was chringeworthy but tbh did you expect hime to say " yeah sorry folks we fcuked up and were sorry , can we move on know " :eek:

Town Legend
01/02/2009, 1:31 PM
NO :p

01/02/2009, 1:42 PM
fcuk sake lads its done and dusted .Get over it and move on .For the record i agree that the statement was chringeworthy but tbh did you expect hime to say " yeah sorry folks we fcuked up and were sorry , can we move on know " :eek:

bit rich considering we had to listen to the "save the drogs" band for about 10 weeks on this site. wont be shutting up till Drogs are in their rightful place...first or A division this season.

01/02/2009, 4:47 PM
Yes the FAI own United Park, lock stock and barrel. ;)
Like the MFA they have to upgrade a premier division ground. Fair play to them - they might make it as good as Turners Cross

Im sure you are well aware that the MFA put none/very little of their own money into the cross. All done by sports grants or by City(seats tarmaccing etc was paid by us).

If thats the road the FAI are going down, grants and Drogs money then fair enough.

And lets be clear, the FAi are under no obligation to upgrade United Park. It's your problem if you want to play in the premier, not theirs. They are not obliged to help you play in a higher division, ffs they were helping ye out by buying it.