View Full Version : U2 New single(Big pile of s*it)
bananarepublic
02/03/2009, 11:48 AM
The original plan the band had with the album, was to make it a concept album. The middle 3 (Crazy, Boots, SUC) replaced 3 more ambient tracks.They are meant to create a break between the more dense first and last 4 tracks.
Overall a great album - their third masterpiece. ;)
Good spot about the "break" mid album. This stood out for me over the weekend in an obvious way. All 3 songs are good, actually very good in their own right but for me anyway they would be ranked 9,10 and 11 on the album.
It gets better and better on each listen and although its early days to be calling it a masterpiece its probably a safe bet in a few years time that it will be classified up there with the other 2.
Last thing is that a lot of these songs will most likely be incredible live especially Fez, Magnificent, Moment of Surrender ...ah feck it...all of them actually.
02/03/2009, 1:58 PM
Yeah I think the middle bit of the album is the weakest part of the album.
Moment of Surrender and White as Snow and Breathe are the standout tracks for me at the moment.
No Line on the Horizon, Magnificent Fez are pretty good too.
02/03/2009, 3:40 PM
The title track has shades of Kings of Leon about it I reckon.. the album's definitely a grower.
Dublin12
02/03/2009, 3:53 PM
Think its a rubbish album myself. Theres nothing to grow into, you listen to it twice and its done and dusted, you can stick it on the shelf and forget about it. It's the same as the last one and the one before that, seems a bit outdated now, theres nothing to challenge you, they should try something new but I suppose they have tried that with Zooropa and Pop and that didn't work. Very overrated, a great cd is one that will stand the test of time and people will soon forget about this once the hype has died down. Can't believe it's taken them 4 years to come up with this rubbish.
The Fly
02/03/2009, 4:20 PM
Think its a rubbish album myself. Theres nothing to grow into, you listen to it twice and its done and dusted, you can stick it on the shelf and forget about it. It's the same as the last one and the one before that, seems a bit outdated now, theres nothing to challenge you, they should try something new but I suppose they have tried that with Zooropa and Pop and that didn't work. Very overrated, a great cd is one that will stand the test of time and people will soon forget about this once the hype has died down. Can't believe it's taken them 4 years to come up with this rubbish.
:confused: Different strokes for different folks - I suppose
Anyway..............I ordered the Ltd edition box set from Amazon (UK) about a month ago at £42. I had ordered it under their price tracker promise. It arrived this morning - and in the end it cost me £19. :D
02/03/2009, 4:24 PM
Anyway..............I ordered the Ltd edition box set from Amazon (UK) about a month ago at £40. I had ordered it under their price tracker promise. It arrived this morning - and in the end it cost me £19. :D
what came with it TF?
The Fly
02/03/2009, 4:51 PM
what came with it TF?
Rovers -
The Ltd edition box set is quite large, roughly about the size of a laptop.
In it you get, the album - obviously, a 64 page hardback book, a poster and the film/movie 'Linear.'
I have the standard album CD as well because I thought the album in the box set would most likely be in a flimsy cardboard sleeve. It isn't. It comes in a removable plastic sheath, which has the (equal sign/=) on it. Within, it contains another poster and the CD booklet. The CD booklet is far superior to the one in the standard CD case.
All in all, at £19 from Amazon, it is exceptional quality. It would say to anyone who has not yet bought the album, to buy the Ltd edition box set instead of the standard CD. You get much more for your money!
The Fly
02/03/2009, 5:08 PM
Although, in edition to my above post, the price listed on Amazon now is still at the price I ordered it at - £42. In the receipt I got with the box set this morning, it shows the cost as £19.42 inclusive of VAT and shipping.
With Amazon's price tracker promise, whatever price you order an item at, you will be charged the lowest price that said item is ever listed on Amazon. Similiarly, if the price of an item increases after your moment of purchase, you will still be charged at the price the item was at the time you ordered - because it was lower.
At least, this is my understanding of how it works.
I can only surmise that the NLOTH boxset fell to £19, in the intervening period between my ordering of it and it's arrival this morning, (this was about 4/5 weeks).
Hope that helps.
The Optimist
02/03/2009, 6:11 PM
I got the deluxe edition on amazon aswell for £21.
I'm still waiting on it so hopefully i'll have it tomorrow.
03/03/2009, 8:26 PM
I like the new album, but this (http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=11worst) guy didn't like the previous one, at all. Hilarious stuff:D
Edit: Kind of NSFW, albeit text only.
The Fly
03/03/2009, 9:33 PM
^ One of the many who let a dislike for Bono influence their opinions on U2's music.
Anyway..........on the subject of that album - HTDAAB, while the criticism is over the top, his dislike of the album is something I share to a certain extent. If I had my way and could erase any album from U2's back catalogue, it would be HTDAAB. It is the album that has done U2 most harm.
Thank Christ that NLOTH is a marked improvement and more comparable to their earlier masterpiece works of the Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby! :)
Breathe is growing on me big time.
Have to say this album sounds better and better every time I listen to it.
Unknown Caller still remains my favourite.
The Optimist
03/03/2009, 10:21 PM
I personally think that HTDAAB is a good solid album.
As with a lot of U2 albums when you ignore the singles you will find some great album tracks.
Miracle Drug,Love And Peace Or Else,Crumbs From Your Table and Yahweh are for me the stand out tracks from that album.
04/03/2009, 10:26 AM
I personally think that HTDAAB is a good solid album.
As with a lot of U2 albums when you ignore the singles you will find some great album tracks.
Miracle Drug,Love And Peace Or Else,Crumbs From Your Table and Yahweh are for me the stand out tracks from that album.
Agreed , I'm by no means a big U2 fan but for some of the best tracks on All that you can't leave behind are "In a Little While" and "When you look at the World"
04/03/2009, 6:43 PM
I like the new album, but this (http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=11worst) guy didn't like the previous one, at all. Hilarious stuff:D
Edit: Kind of NSFW, albeit text only.
i remember that popped up when HTDAAB came out, the guy who wrote it is a a huge U2 fan, it was meant to be tongue in cheek.
06/03/2009, 1:07 AM
Interesting interview and gives an insight into lots of the lyrics on this album. Anybody who hates U2 and Bono will hate him even more after this I think.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JVYbrF93bw&feature=related
eamo1
12/03/2009, 11:59 PM
Not a good album in my opinion,very messy in parts.(que 100 of you replying that im talking crap etc etc blah blah)
13/03/2009, 8:24 AM
Not a good album in my opinion,very messy in parts.(que 100 of you replying that im talking crap etc etc blah blah)
You're just bitter Eamo. :D Probably treasonous and treacherous as well. I mean ...are you even really Irish? I mean REALLY Irish? ;)
13/03/2009, 9:28 AM
[QUOTE=eamo1;1121845]Not a good album in my opinion,very messy in parts.(que 100 of you replying that im talking crap etc etc blah blah)[/QUOTE
You have some valid points there I think the middle of the album is average to be honest with Boots and Stand Up Comedy.
13/03/2009, 9:33 AM
I agree, I'll Go Crazy is a poor effort too. The rest of the album is impressive though, the middle 3 let it down.
13/03/2009, 9:37 AM
Only heard a couple of songs from it , Breathe is very good I have to say
20/03/2009, 7:40 AM
anyone get tickets for Croker? qued online and on phone since 7.50....
nothin!! :(
edit.... Desus...i actually got one!:eek:
20/03/2009, 7:54 AM
Got 2 in the upper hogan, had to go through the online queue twice, starting at 15 minutes or more both times!
First time I specified pitch tickets, second time I went with best available
€72 for 2 tickets isn't bad, my brother paid more than that for one Springsteen ticket
20/03/2009, 7:56 AM
€72 for 2 tickets isn't bad, my brother paid more than that for one Springsteen ticket
just paid €195 for 2...oh well, really dont care as long as i got one :D
The Optimist
20/03/2009, 8:10 AM
I got standing for friday and seating for saturday night.
I got them through the presales earlier in the week.Also got tickets for the wembley gig in august and hope to get tickets for the opening gig in barcelona in june.
bananarepublic
20/03/2009, 9:04 AM
Been ringing and online since 8am. Not a friggin dickie bird. I'm off to ticketmaster HQ with a box of matches and petrol can. Haven't missed U2 in Ireland since '87.
II got them through the presales earlier in the week.
Me too, standing for the Friday. Not bothering with any other nights or venues this time.
Queued up for 15 hours outside the Ticketmaster in cork and this is what happened to me and a few other people...
I was queuing since 5 O Clock and I was second in the line. Few more people joined up until 2 o clock in the morning. There was 15 of us in the line until abou 7:30 when a queue started to form steadily. There was great banter for the "original 15" of us so twas good craic and we were all getting standing tickets.
Heres where the plot thickens...
The kiosk people were late so they had to rush print tickets.
Ticketscan where running the queuing for it. We were let in at 7:55 and we were told we'd have to take the tickets we were given. I told him we had queued overnight for 14 hours and we should be entitled to ask for tickets we would like, I got no reply just a scowl. Got to the ticket kiosk and asked for two pitch standing and I was told they dont have any tickets for it even though we were told that they print some out early to make sure they have them. I asked what was available and he said stand tickets. The guy behind the counter then tried to sell me the dearest tickets, whilst others were getting cheaper ones, which I refused to buy to which he muttered something under his breath.
After queuing up for the bones of half a day a group of us felt like we were being treated horribly so we said we'd try Pro Musica (which were selling them) on the off chance. There was no queue and we got the tickets we wanted from them.
We were lied to basically so we went back to find pitch tickets were being sold. Incompetence, arrogance and idiocy being shown by the staff who were having a go at most people in the queue including myself when asked why weren't standing available on either night.
Anyway got two tickets for the pitch Friday night and I cant wait!!
I originally wanted to go Saturday to see Kaiser Chiefs as well but after that farce by ticket******* I'm just delighted to be heading up Friday.
I think I forgot to mention that Ticket******* started selling standing tickets after we got ours in Pro Musica after telling us there wasn't any left at all.
bananarepublic
20/03/2009, 2:48 PM
At least you got some tix but thats some friggin scam by the sellers trying to rip you off like that.
I actually got through on the phone around 8.25 and it was automated and went through the whole process and selecting 2 GA tickets for friday. Then BAM..told no tickets availiable go through whole process again only to get cut off and couldn't get through again.
A friend of mine got a GA ticket for friday at 9.10am online. Then another friend in Central Europe of all places emails me to say he is online and buying his tix at 9.20am.
All this time I was on the phone and online and the TM browser just got to end of its cycle each time and said no tix availiable..please try again.
I know TM are a shower of you know whats but I'd like to know how I can be told no standing tix availiable at 8.25am and then someone else gets one 40 minutes later.
Should have done the pre-sale.
At least you got some tix but thats some friggin scam by the sellers trying to rip you off like that.
I actually got through on the phone around 8.25 and it was automated and went through the whole process and selecting 2 GA tickets for friday. Then BAM..told no tickets availiable go through whole process again only to get cut off and couldn't get through again.
A friend of mine got a GA ticket for friday at 9.10am online. Then another friend in Central Europe of all places emails me to say he is online and buying his tix at 9.20am.
All this time I was on the phone and online and the TM browser just got to end of its cycle each time and said no tix availiable..please try again.
I know TM are a shower of you know whats but I'd like to know how I can be told no standing tix availiable at 8.25am and then someone else gets one 40 minutes later.
Should have done the pre-sale.
Ticketmaster are an awful shower and you'd think they'd be a lot more organised to deal with the demand for the phone and online customers. I feel sorry for those who genuinely want to be there but couldn't get tickets as they've been snapped up by touts, all due to Ticketmaster's shambolic system.
Where I got my tickets they didnt charge handling fees so it was 8 euro cheaper than Ticketmaster, so I'm delighted that the extra money didn't go to them.
To be honest I'm just happy to have gotten my tickets.
Make sure you queue early for tickets when U2 announce the Monday gig
20/03/2009, 11:57 PM
I see ticketmaster are now offering tickets though their "we're not touting at all/Bid" section
highlight100
21/03/2009, 12:56 AM
Singed up for the U2 fan club on wed night for 37 euro and then as a member bought 4 pitch tickets in the presale,all on wed night!
A bargin considering the prices on ebay now
http://tickets.shop.ebay.ie/items/Tickets__u2_W0QQ_catrefZ1QQ_sacatZ1306QQ_trksidZp3 913Q2ec0Q2em24
Plus i also get a free CD !
Neish
21/03/2009, 10:29 AM
This is class
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u6Eeb0YrKY
The Fly
23/03/2009, 9:34 PM
Been ringing and online since 8am. Not a friggin dickie bird. I'm off to ticketmaster HQ with a box of matches and petrol can. Haven't missed U2 in Ireland since '87.
Did you go to ZOO TV at the RDS? If so, was it as good as everyone says it was? I would have given anything to have been at one of the ZOO TV shows.
Anyway........I got 4 standing for the Friday night and 3 seated, (upper Cusack stand), for the Saturday night show. I believe that there is probably going to be a third concert, so those who missed out on tickets will have another chance to get some.
The Optimist
24/03/2009, 7:48 AM
Did you go to ZOO TV at the RDS? If so, was it as good as everyone says it was? I would have given anything to have been at one of the ZOO TV shows.
The ZOO TV shows were much better i thought than the POPMART shows that followed in 98.
I was at the ZOO TV gigs in cork and dublin that year.
I've been going to U2 gigs since the Joshua Tree tour in 87.
I've been to 13 shows so far and i've barcelona,wembley and the two dublin shows lined up for this year.
bananarepublic
24/03/2009, 2:40 PM
The ZOO TV shows were much better i thought than the POPMART shows that followed in 98.
I was at the ZOO TV gigs in cork and dublin that year.
I've been going to U2 gigs since the Joshua Tree tour in 87.
I've been to 13 shows so far and i've barcelona,wembley and the two dublin shows lined up for this year.
The ZOO TV shows were incredible because nobody had done anything on that scale before plus the Achtung Baby album was pretty much amazing which only added to the whole spectacle.
I know Depeche Mode at the time were a bit miffed as they claimed the whole TV on stage thing although they were more like watching portables as opposed to the Giant widescreen plasmas U2 had. :)
Was probably too young to appreciate Croke Park in '87. I agree with the previous poster about POPMART in Lansdowne. Good but not great.
Slane Castle was pretty much brilliant for the most part.
Croker in '05 was another. Friday show was ok but Will never forget An Cat Dubh on the Monday night and the wonderful weather and great show.
I'm confident I'll get a ticket from somewhere this time around despite TM's best attempts to thwart me and thousands like me.
bananarepublic
25/03/2009, 1:28 PM
Well its official. 3rd date on sale April 1st 8am. I've gone against everything I believe in and signed up for the pre-sale. The CD softens the blow a bit but at least now I should be sorted with tickets.
Could be worse I suppose. Could be buying a Vantage Club seat. Now there's value for money :eek:
25/03/2009, 1:45 PM
IT makes perfect sense for 4 people to split it and join the fan club and will cost 13 euro each for it and you get your tickets no problem. I split it with my 3 brothers.
bananarepublic
25/03/2009, 2:30 PM
IT makes perfect sense for 4 people to split it and join the fan club and will cost 13 euro each for it and you get your tickets no problem. I split it with my 3 brothers.
Yeah thats a good idea alright if you have friends unlike loners like me :)
bananarepublic
25/03/2009, 2:32 PM
This is class
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4u6Eeb0YrKY
Gotta love Bill Bailey.
The man tells it as it is, U2 most over ratted band of all time
bananarepublic
27/03/2009, 8:06 AM
The man tells it as it is, U2 most over ratted band of all time
..in your opinion.
240,000 irish in a weekend in July will argue that point as will millions accross the globe this summer. No other band on the planet has that pulling power so maybe the music is not too bad in fairness.
..in your opinion.
240,000 irish in a weekend in July will argue that point as will millions accross the globe this summer. No other band on the planet has that pulling power so maybe the music is not too bad in fairness.
Yes its my opnion but most people who have any proper insight into music I talked to have agreed. I'll tell you why I think they are overrated
They have a few decent song granted(mainly in the 80's and early 90's) but for me to consider a band great they have to have done one if not both of two things
1. Brought something new and kick started a surge in new bands (The smiths, The Stone Roses, The Sex pistols the Clash,)
2. Have some exceptionally talented musicians/singers (i.e. Jimmy page, Keith moon, Peter Hook /Tom Waits, Jeff Buckley,Mick Patton)
IMO U2 and its members fall far short in both these departments their music was nothing new and none of it members are exceptionally talented. Bono is just ok as a vocalist edge is a good guitarist but it mainly tricks as demonstrated in the Bill Bailey clip above and the other two are average at best
bananarepublic
27/03/2009, 10:45 AM
Edge may not be Jimi Hendrix but he has his own distinctive sound. How he achieves it doesnt matter but a U2 riff is a U2 riff. A lot of bands will kill have to have their own readily identifiable sound. Look at all those mundane "new indie" bands over the last 5 years for example. I'd find it hard to distinguish one from the other.
The Stone Roses,Sex Pistols etc were great for a short period and without doubt ignited the whole indie / punk thing but they never followed it up. Not saying that makes them less great because they were but Its one thing being at the top of your game for a short period but to sustain it over decades is quite something else.
That can be a bad thing too (e.g. better to burn out than fade away) but IMO I think with No Line, Achtung Baby and Joshua Tree U2 have released epic albums spanning 3 decades and to me at least that makes them a great band.
27/03/2009, 12:01 PM
Yes its my opnion but most people who have any proper insight into music I talked to have agreed.
:eek: Insight into muisc..PA HA HA!!
Edge has said himself he was pretty embarrased as been called one of the greatest guitarists of all time, he also said he 'doesnt see himself as a guitarist but a composer'.
1. Brought something new and kick started a surge in new bands (The smiths, The Stone Roses, The Sex pistols the Clash,)
They would've kick started a surge of Irish bands in the 80's I would've thought?
They've certainly had a massive influence over the way bands approach playing stadiums, when you see some of the rip off's since ZooTV and Popmart.
I'd put them as a great band, but the bands you mention would be a level above that. They haven't really had a truely dud album which is more than can be said for most bands with only a third of length of career as them!
..in your opinion.
I'd agree with Neish, but as you say it's a personal opinion. Mass appeal/popularity they certainly have, but does this equate to quality ? I was into them for a while in the mid to late 80's (but I'm much better now thanks ;) I think even stuff from then which I liked sounds dated now. They are extremely limited as songwriters IMO.
:Edge has said himself he was pretty embarrased as been called one of the greatest guitarists of all time, he also said he 'doesnt see himself as a guitarist but a composer'.
That what they all say
28/03/2009, 10:31 PM
That what they all say
Do they??
Do they all actually say they don't see themselves as guitarists??