View Full Version : U2 New single(Big pile of s*it)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

The Fly
30/01/2009, 11:38 PM
Just fly will do.

Rovers1 - I got a link to it from the 'U2 Interference' website. The link was to Megaupload, but it's no longer working. *I believe this was because of copyright issues. In the video, at least the one I have, you can see the - gettyimages - sign in the background. It probably has to be removed first.

Anyway, there are supposed to be 2 videos for the song. The one I have, which everyone on the U2 Interference forum is going ape**** about, and another one which is the same performance from the band but with a popart/cartoon backdrop to it.

They would be mad not release the former, it's the best video they have ever made! Believe me - nobody will hate the song after seeing the video. The best part is the "let my in the sound" part of the song in the video, when Bono is smashing the glass. Great!
I have it on my computer but I don't how to provide a link to it, so you can see it. All that is virgin territory for me.

P.S. Bono has his top off in part of it near the end. :eek:

*edit - after looking at U2 interference it seems the reason was because of a woman's breast showing in the video. SEXY BOOBS!

31/01/2009, 9:59 AM
Now if we are talking about major d*cks he must go down as one of the worst offenders in Irish music history. Where is he now I ask. A bitter twisted sad git is Fearghal McKee. Whipping Boy were a decent band but I saw them about 2 years ago in the Olympia after a long lay off and they were rubbish. One of the worst gigs I have ever been at.

I've seen Whipping Boy have very good and very bad nights. Last time they played Limerick on their re-union tour the venue was crammed with event junkie dicks there to hear one or two songs. Beyond that the crowd largely ignored whipping boy and were downright abusive to supports. I suspect this was the same tour you saw them on.

HA! He is a bit off alright, met him in Whelans one night and he kept trying to come on to one of my friends' girlfriends! He wouldnt give up even when she asked him not to. He's defo not all there either, poor fella! ...wow. Bloke gets drunk and cracks on to girls ...and in a nightclub too!! Jaysis he's an awful demon that one. :rolleyes:

Watch the video doing the rounds. It will premier on ITV tonight, it will also be on the Irish independent's website later on this afternoon as well. Watch it! - then see if it's still a "big pile of s*it." Oh ye of little faith! Fly, you're evidently a U2 fan and I respect that. But here in your own words you're relegating the song to the role of soundtrack for the video. Maybe that's just the way rock'n'roll has gone since the rise of MTV -but it is nonetheless sad in every sense of the word.

Let's not forget that they're songwriters ...great ones supposedly -not movie makers or video directors. Even if the video is the best thing since sliced pan -I think it unlikely their actual creative input, expressed as a percentage, would make it out of single figures.

The song will still be gank,no matter what the video is like.. ...is the correct answer.

But you Eamo know better than these weak people who succomb to hype. If only we could be as strong as you.
He has a very valid point Neil and it's fair to make it. If Get On Your Boots (horrific grammar btw) was released by an even moderately famous band it'd quite likely die on it's hole. But because of their sheer popularity and the inertia of the media -especially those who draw up playlists - it'll be rammed down throats until consensus is arrived at that it's great sure.

The same can be said, I think, of much of their output in the last two decades which says to me they're still to an extent riding a quite remarkable wave created primarily by The Joshua Tree. It is no co-incidence, to my mind, that the best thing they've released since then was originally a b-side of one of the singles from the Joshua Tree.

31/01/2009, 11:49 AM
I've seen Whipping Boy have very good and very bad nights. Last time they played Limerick on their re-union tour the venue was crammed with event junkie dicks there to hear one or two songs. Beyond that the crowd largely ignored whipping boy and were downright abusive to supports. I suspect this was the same tour you saw them on.

...wow. Bloke gets drunk and cracks on to girls ...and in a nightclub too!! Jaysis he's an awful demon that one. :rolleyes:

Fly, you're evidently a U2 fan and I respect that. But here in your own words you're relegating the song to the role of soundtrack for the video. Maybe that's just the way rock'n'roll has gone since the rise of MTV -but it is nonetheless sad in every sense of the word.

Let's not forget that they're songwriters ...great ones supposedly -not movie makers or video directors. Even if the video is the best thing since sliced pan -I think it unlikely their actual creative input, expressed as a percentage, would make it out of single figures.

...is the correct answer.

He has a very valid point Neil and it's fair to make it. If Get On Your Boots (horrific grammar btw) was released by an even moderately famous band it'd quite likely die on it's hole. But because of their sheer popularity and the inertia of the media -especially those who draw up playlists - it'll be rammed down throats until consensus is arrived at that it's great sure.

The same can be said, I think, of much of their output in the last two decades which says to me they're still to an extent riding a quite remarkable wave created primarily by The Joshua Tree. It is no co-incidence, to my mind, that the best thing they've released since then was originally a b-side of one of the singles from the Joshua Tree.

Rubbish why do you have the ability to assess their music and dislike it but anyone who has likes it are just given into the media hype. It is fair enough to not like the music which is grand as music is about taste but no you and eamo go further than that and say that anybody that does like it are not equipped with the full critical capabilties that you are possessed with and are in effect drones of the media. What gave you the super powers to sit back and critique modern culture while most or all of the U2 fans become drones to it.

Finally I agree that the video will have not bearing on how good the song is. The video is basically a TV ad for songs anyway. If someone likes the song fair enough but the video will not convince somebody who hates the song to like it.

31/01/2009, 4:35 PM
Christ Ritchie you are one bitter person!

Just saw the video on youtube. It is brilliant! Really does not look like a U2 video at all!!

31/01/2009, 5:05 PM
Do you have a link.

31/01/2009, 5:29 PM
Do you have a link.

looked through my browser history, went to the page and alas Universal took it down, copyright etc. It reminds me of MGMT's Time To Pretend.

01/02/2009, 9:19 PM
Rubbish why do you have the ability to assess their music and dislike it but anyone who has likes it are just given into the media hype. It is fair enough to not like the music which is grand as music is about taste but no you and eamo go further than that and say that anybody that does like it are not equipped with the full critical capabilties that you are possessed with and are in effect drones of the media.

You'll have to show me where I rated my critique skills above anyone elses. A re-read of my previous post shows I've qualified pretty much every opinion as being mine alone. I'm sure there are many people, and not just U2 fans, out there that might like it.
My point I believe was that their rather ordinary, unremarkable new single will be given a very easy ride not on it's stand alone merit but on the basis of who released it.

I didn't use the term 'drone' but it's not a bad description. We're going beyond U2 and the subject at hand now but ...yeah -I think there is a fairly huge constituency within the record buying public who buy, like and listen to pretty much what they're told to buy, like and listen to. The majors couldn't have become the majors without them.

What gave you the super powers to sit back and critique modern culture while most or all of the U2 fans become drones to it. um ...I found this crystal in the snow and...

Christ Ritchie you are one bitter person!

Just saw the video on youtube. It is brilliant! Really does not look like a U2 video at all!! wtf? :o

Please keep up. The thread is about a song -not a video.

looked through my browser history, went to the page and alas Universal took it down, copyright etc. It reminds me of MGMT's Time To Pretend. ...now that's a decent song.

Wolfie
02/02/2009, 12:57 PM
The beauty of music is that you can argue and treatise the topic ad nauseum - which can sometimes be worthwhile and interesting in itself - but you will always arrive back to one simple fact:

You either like it.......... or you don't.

02/02/2009, 2:20 PM
Indeed Wolfie. I think it was Frank Zappa who said that for the most part -talking about music is like dancing about architecture.

Just on the subject of U2 if I may give some credit where I feel it's due. I've never been a fan as such though I acknowledge they occasionally have a fine tune. But (the credit's coming now I promise) they are men in their late 40's who've been doing this since their teens and who are going out on tour to promote their brand new album.

There are bands out there I really like ...The Who for example and of particular relevance The Rolling Stones who, since they were younger men than U2 are now, have been going out on what were essentially lucrative greatest hits tours. Yeah an album would be released but, especially with the Stones, there was always the feeling the album came out to promote the tour rather than the other way round.

02/02/2009, 2:51 PM
You'll have to show me where I rated my critique skills above anyone elses. A re-read of my previous post shows I've qualified pretty much every opinion as being mine alone. I'm sure there are many people, and not just U2 fans, out there that might like it.
My point I believe was that their rather ordinary, unremarkable new single will be given a very easy ride not on it's stand alone merit but on the basis of who released it.

I didn't use the term 'drone' but it's not a bad description. We're going beyond U2 and the subject at hand now but ...yeah -I think there is a fairly huge constituency within the record buying public who buy, like and listen to pretty much what they're told to buy, like and listen to. The majors couldn't have become the majors without them.

You have done it again. Not only do you not agree with peoples taste which is fine, that is totally acceptable and normal and what life is about and Frank Zappa is right. What I was pointing out with eamo's comment first and then you came into it is, you seem to think that your opinion is an independent opinion that is not constructed by the mass media or the majors however those that like U2 or other such bands do not have these critical abilities. What gives you the ability to not listen to the majors while other poor sods out there buy what they are told to buy.

02/02/2009, 4:08 PM
... you seem to think that your opinion is an independent opinion that is not constructed by the mass media or the majors .... Think Nothing ...I know it for a fact. :cool: It's not rocket science -I don't read the mags, don't watch the music channels, don't listen to music radio. I make magnanimous exceptions in all those but by and large that's the size of it. I do have a "default setting" of contrarian I suppose so I don't expect to like much pop music and am therefore not often pleasantly surprised. But how bad.

.... however those that like U2 or other such bands do not have these critical abilities. What gives you the ability to not listen to the majors while other poor sods out there buy what they are told to buy. ...nnnnnow your putting words in my mouth. U2 have many, many fans. By and large it's safe to say most of them will be pre-disposed to liking new U2 product as ...well they're U2 fans. Many will like the record, enough to make it a big hit. Others within that rump of U2 fans may even buy it for other reasons instead or as well ...sentimental, loyalty, completeness. They're not invalid reasons ...I'm sure I've done so myself with a couple of my own personal favourites.

But without reference to U2 fans at all I stand by my belief that there is a huge rump within the target market of the record buying public who consistently buy what they're told to buy. It's an established if imperfect science that involves an amount of product positioning bought with an inordinate amount of cash. X pretty much guarantees a top 30 placing, X+Y guarantees top 20, XX+YY guarantees top 10. These days only X-Factor guarantees No. 1 -and that's only for a week at Christmas. There is of course an error margin in all this as well ...which is why record companies will tell you they can only afford to pay bands 10% of their own money.
But more often than not ...if a bunch of the right suits sitting around a conference table decide their going to make you a famous pop-starlet -it's on.

What gives you the ability to not listen to the majors while other poor sods out there buy what they are told to buy. I refer the honourable member to my previous answer.

02/02/2009, 4:10 PM
yawn....

The Fly
06/02/2009, 5:55 PM
The video is now on the Irish Independent's website. Watch it!

06/02/2009, 6:07 PM
Not bad, but its still a video. Production of the song is great but melody is not great.

09/02/2009, 8:46 AM
Not bad, but its still a video. Production of the song is great but melody is not great.

Y'see ...we might be at least in the same hymnbook if not quite on the same page after all. :D

Though I saw 20 seconds of the video and didn't think it was much cop at all in truth. A big moon motif that reminded me of Enyas Orinoco Flow and also of Echo & The Bunnymen. 30 years on and still pilfering ideas from the Bunnymen. Tut Tut. ;)

The Optimist
09/02/2009, 9:43 AM
Check out Get On Your Boots live at the 2009 grammys
here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YmDi_AsRbks

Brilliant!

10/02/2009, 6:37 PM
The song is growing on me and i'm in severe danger of liking it.

10/02/2009, 9:51 PM
Good God it's rubbish. And as someone mentioned earlier, the verse is the most blatant rip off of "Pump It Up" by Elvis Costello. (A far,far superior song btw) I hope he gets his lawyers on the case.

10/02/2009, 9:53 PM
The song is growing on me and i'm in severe danger of liking it.
Same here. I'm U2 fan but I actually want to hate the song...

12/02/2009, 7:21 PM
title track No Line On The Horizon:

http://www.zshare.net/audio/555044351bfaf19f

The Optimist
13/02/2009, 8:54 AM
I'm nearly certain that this is a different version than the album track.
This is the version that you will find on the b-side to GOYB.
it reminds me of "Lady With The Spinning Head" whic is the b-side of "One"

13/02/2009, 12:26 PM
I'm nearly certain that this is a different version than the album track.
This is the version that you will find on the b-side to GOYB.
it reminds me of "Lady With The Spinning Head" whic is the b-side of "One"

oh right, its the version that was played on 2XM, yesterday morining, they said it was an exclusive off NLOTH:confused:

Agree with you does sound like 'Lady With TSH'. Reminds me of the tracks they left out of Atomic Bomb, Levetate and Flower Child. They all seem to sound the same unfortunately, great tracks though!:)

Billsthoughts
16/02/2009, 9:00 PM
Good God it's rubbish. And as someone mentioned earlier, the verse is the most blatant rip off of "Pump It Up" by Elvis Costello. (A far,far superior song btw) I hope he gets his lawyers on the case.

isnt that just a rip off of subteranean homesick blues?

17/02/2009, 4:22 PM
isnt that just a rip off of subteranean homesick blues?

Subteranean Homesick Blues and Pump It Up use different time signatures. Frankly there's a stronger line of connection to Mambo No.5

Pump It Up and U2s new single however ...myih ...it's about as close to the wind as Bono usually sails -which is pretty close.

...and besides -it rips off We Didn't Start the Fire :p

Wangball
18/02/2009, 3:30 PM
Its really just an awful song, sounds like something that was written for Sesame Street to encourage kids to dress properly beforeheading out in snow

The Fly
19/02/2009, 2:32 AM
To anyone interested the album leaked about nearly 24 hours ago.
I have it.
It's their third masterpiece, definately their most complete album since Achtung Baby.
I highly recommend you buy it! :D

The Optimist
19/02/2009, 7:12 AM
I got a copy yesterday and without been biased(cos i'm a fan)its a great album.There's some really big songs on it.Stand out tracks for me would be "I'll Go Crazy..","Unknown Caller","Stand Up Comedy" and "Moment Of Surrender"

21/02/2009, 3:42 PM
Opening Song, No Line on the Horizon has a very Kings of Leon feel to it in my opinion.

I also get a big Daniel Lanois influence on this record too more so than any other album I suppose that is obvious as he shares writing credits with the rest of the band and Eno. Some songs sound like Lanois's album and bits of Million Dollar Hotel etc, esp Cedars of Lebanon.

Finally the single is not representative of the album at all and I don't think any song sounds like Boots at all.

21/02/2009, 5:40 PM
where have ye heard this stuff lads?

23/02/2009, 1:29 PM
There is a gentle and subtle Arabic influence on the album also.

24/02/2009, 11:18 AM
I got an official copy of the album and am impressed. The single really put me off but i am really really suprised by it...

24/02/2009, 6:26 PM
Amazing!!!:cool:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WpR2GJa13s

The Optimist
24/02/2009, 7:19 PM
Amazing!!!:cool:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6WpR2GJa13s

This is even better live than it is on the album.
Expect more live stuff on friday the band will be doing 4 songs on Jo Whiley's live lounge friday morning.And then appearing on the Jonathon Ross show friday night.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/musicevents/u2/

24/02/2009, 10:05 PM
Saw a guy on a seat outside HMV on Grafton St today. He and another gent have started to que for the new album........

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/eyauaumhcwkf/

The funny thing is i walked by them listening to it on my ipod:D

The Fly
25/02/2009, 4:13 PM
Max -

How do you think it stands up to 'The Joshua Tree' and 'Achtung Baby.'

Also, what do you make of the Crazy, Boots, Stand UC, middle part of the the album. Do you think it works or not?

25/02/2009, 5:56 PM
some horrific lyrics in there...

'Force quit and move to trash' in Unknown Caller...

Some strange line about seeing his face in an ATM somehwere..

and the strange line 'cross the road like a little old lady' in there too.

But the album is a bit better than I expected... Magnificent and the title track are excellent.

25/02/2009, 6:06 PM
Its good but Achtung is better for me as it was a ground breaking sound at the time.

It don't like the current single at all and its not really a good impression of what is the come with the rest of the album.

Stand up comedy is a great tune but my fav is white as snow, Eno sound really comes through there.

Eno did a great job with latest Coldplay album and has done just as good here with the mix of the classic U2 sound with some lovely electronic touches. I can hear some early James sounds in there.

juan
27/02/2009, 4:33 PM
Got the album today. I'm very impressed by it.

Unknown Caller, No Line, I'll Go Crazy and Stand Up Comedy are all great tunes.

Get On Your Boots is a quality tune IMO.

White Snow is good and you can defo hear Eno's sound as said above.

27/02/2009, 4:52 PM
Its quite different to All That You Cant Bomb anyway, and in a good way. Magnificent is the stand out song for me. Did anyone buy the 'Magazine' version and try and watch Linear? Keeps telling me ive put in the wrong barcode when you have to enter the barcode on the website. Im Slightly ragin i spent €7 extra just for a poster and a film i cant watch :(

27/02/2009, 6:17 PM
Did anyone buy the 'Magazine' version and try and watch Linear? Keeps telling me ive put in the wrong barcode when you have to enter the barcode on the website. Im Slightly ragin i spent €7 extra just for a poster and a film i cant watch :(

:D Christ Rovers1 you are one bitter person.

I do hope that U2 or the clown from their "street team":rolleyes: who's responsible for stencil spray-painting ads for their current opus on the footpaths of Limericks O'Connell st. faces the same persecution from Limerick Corpos litter warden that gets doled out to Limerick bands advertising their events and releases.

The Fly
28/02/2009, 2:35 AM
I must have listened to this nearly 40 times since last week. I got the physical copy (CD), this morning (Friday).

To me, it is easily their most complete album since Achtung Baby - maybe ever. Is it their best? - one can only make such a judgement after a great deal of time.

I would say it's probably their most musically accomplished, dense and textured album.

The original plan the band had with the album, was to make it a concept album. The middle 3 (Crazy, Boots, SUC) replaced 3 more ambient tracks.They are meant to create a break between the more dense first and last 4 tracks. To me, Boots and SUC work but Crazy seems out of place, despite it being a good song, it is too poppy and just doesn't seem to fit with rest of the album. Boots and SUC are fun and playful and imo fit with the album. I always liked Boots - it's a grower and is perfectly placed on the album.

I would have liked to have heard the album in it's original form but anyway....................

My only other criticism, and it would be minor, is that the song Breathe doesn't live up to it's impressive and interesting intro. I like the song but feel it doesn't fulfill it's potential. The album is full of great intros BTW.

Overall a great album - their third masterpiece. ;)

The Optimist
28/02/2009, 9:39 AM
I've been listening to the album solid for nearly 2 weeks now.
Without a doubt this is up there as one of the best albums the band has released.
They seemed to play safe with the last two albums,but have experimented a bit on this one.The addition of some arab percusion and various loops mix very well with the album.Most notably on Unknown Caller.The Brian Eno/Danny Lanois influence really stands out.
I really do think that this album will stand the test of time and even the "Non-Believers" might acknowlodge this fine piece of work.
Looking forward to the tour.

28/02/2009, 11:04 AM
What's with the love-in with the BBC? They've been appearing on Jonathan Ross, did a free gig on top of their studios in Oxford Street and U2=BBC idents/trailers too...

28/02/2009, 6:40 PM
:D Christ Rovers1 you are one bitter person.

And dont you forget it ;)

Been listening to the album 4 or 5 times on loop. If I Dont Go Crazy....is a grower as is Fez. Very Eno towards the end of the album.

01/03/2009, 12:32 AM
And dont you forget it ;)

Been listening to the album 4 or 5 times on loop. If I Dont Go Crazy....is a grower as is Fez. Very Eno towards the end of the album.

quoting a somewhat better lyricist:

"I know Ono
She knows Bono
and he knows Enos'
phone goes thus
Brian's not home
he's at the north pole
where I'd really like to leave your weird noise."

Must admit 'Breathe' gave the impression of taking a few chances ....that's based on one listen on Johnathan Ross last night. The sound was poor mind. No bass end whatsoever.

juan
01/03/2009, 1:00 AM
I would have liked to have heard the album in it's original form but anyway....................
Overall a great album - their third masterpiece. ;)

Every Breaking Wave was supposed to have been a quality song but that made way for one of the three middle songs because it was too long.

Unknown Caller is my favourite track on the album, although No Line is growing on me.

I have to agree, this is a masterpiece. It completes the holy trinity; The Joshua Tree, Achtung Baby and now No Line On The Horizon :cool:

The Fly
01/03/2009, 4:33 AM
Every Breaking Wave was supposed to have been a quality song but that made way for one of the three middle songs because it was too long.

Unknown Caller is my favourite track on the album, although No Line is growing on me.

I have to agree, this is a masterpiece. It completes the holy trinity; The Joshua Tree, Achtung Baby and now No Line On The Horizon :cool:

That song is supposed to be quality - you're right, it will probably appear on the companion album to be released at the end of the year/beginning of next year. Basically during the tour.

I don't know if it was definately going to be on the NLOTH though. The song that was going to be on it was Winter. It's a good tune. I have it downloaded on my PC. It does appear on the film/movie 'Linear' which accompanies the album on the Ltd Edition box set. This film has all the songs including Winter but excluding '........Crazy Tonight.' So it probably made way for Crazy. A mistake, in my opinion. :(

juan
01/03/2009, 11:02 AM
That song is supposed to be quality - you're right, it will probably appear on the companion album to be released at the end of the year/beginning of next year. Basically during the tour.

I don't know if it was definately going to be on the NLOTH though. The song that was going to be on it was Winter. It's a good tune. I have it downloaded on my PC. It does appear on the film/movie 'Linear' which accompanies the album on the Ltd Edition box set. This film has all the songs including Winter but excluding '........Crazy Tonight.' So it probably made way for Crazy. A mistake, in my opinion. :(
I heard that alright along with the other songs that were cut.

The film was completed before U2 settled on the songs that make the album now so the only song that survived the reshuffle was "Winter"

I didn't get the Ltd edition box set so unfortunately I cant compare the songs.

Roll on the tour

01/03/2009, 2:41 PM
still cant believe they dont include Mercy in an album, i konw Bono said its too long, but its too good not to be heard!
They are supposed to be including a 360 degree stage for the tour :D

01/03/2009, 3:52 PM
If that's true then it'll only add to the Croke Park rumours