View Full Version : Squad for Georgia named

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

19/01/2009, 12:40 PM
Another dull squad from Trap. Yes, he's a great manager, yes we are 2nd in the table & sitting pretty. I wouldn't take that away from him for a second. But forgive me if I don't get giddy with excitement at seeing that midfield in action.

Fair enough but thats just the situation we are in at the moment, we dont have many top players. Therefore, all the more of an achievement if Trap gets us to qualify.
I dont particularly like Trap's apparent stubbornness or system but we knew what we were getting when we signed an old school Italian manager and if playing like this means we qualify then happy days!! It wasnt like we played silky football under Jack! So far I cant really see how we can criticise Trap and long may that continue.

I expect Gibson to start in the Georgia game again, I think Andrews probably deserves the nod. We should beat Georgia but its no guarantee, we played very well in the first half in the last game against them but in the 15 mins up till Whelan's fortunate goal they were starting to cause us alot of problems.

Duggie
19/01/2009, 12:45 PM
at least whelan is back in the stoke team again. one positive. reckon gibson will prob stay in there. got a bit of game time at utd recently. maybe he will grow into it.

Mcgeady46
19/01/2009, 12:56 PM
at least whelan is back in the stoke team again. one positive. reckon gibson will prob stay in there. got a bit of game time at utd recently. maybe he will grow into it.
Maybe your right, we will grow into the roll.
I actually like that approach by a manager blood a young player with talent (which Gibson has) and keep him there make a player out of him, although I would prefer if he were partnered by a more experienced midfielder!

Duggie
19/01/2009, 1:00 PM
well im happy enough with whelan, formed a good partnership with reid. trouble is we have no one to replace steven reid. well trap dosent think so anyway.

DeLorean
19/01/2009, 1:03 PM

Would I be correct in saying that once Diao is fit again Whelan will be back to square one at Stoke? They have had their worst run of the season with Whelan playing. Lets face it- the maximum amount of games Gibson is going to play for the rest of the season is 2, and that's assuming United reach the Carling Cup Final.

Duggie
19/01/2009, 1:07 PM
Would I be correct in saying that once Diao is fit again Whelan will be back to square one at Stoke? They have had their worst run of the season with Whelan playing. Lets face it- the maximum amount of games Gibson is going to play for the rest of the season is 2, and that's assuming United reach the Carling Cup Final.

im trying to stay positive, course we would like a better midfield but it aint goin to change under trap is it. i have no problem with whelan, hes a decent player.

back of the net
19/01/2009, 1:07 PM
there are problems with the squad yes but they are all minor imho when compared to the constant selection of Liam fecking Miller :mad: Absolutely baffles me how this guy manages to pull the wool over the eyes of Trap and the management team...can't pass, doesn't run, can't tackle, has nothing to contribute to the team AT ALL!!

there are so many players that could do a better job than this bloody loser...
Reid
Garvan
McCann
Hoolahan
Rowlands
even Darren Potter ffs!

I'm sure there are more but I can't think straight with the rage...

I need to lie down...

i feel ur pain mate

miller should not be allowed play football never mind be in an international team

Noelys Guitar
19/01/2009, 1:09 PM
Andrews is going to be the key player. Is Trap going to play him instead of Gibson? I believe he should. He is now a regular starter for Blackburn and seems to be improving fast enough to get a regular starting place for us. He ghosts into the oppositon's box and has an excellent first touch. Not a great finisher yet but for me offers more of a threat than Gibson.

DeLorean
19/01/2009, 1:14 PM
im trying to stay positive, course we would like a better midfield but it aint goin to change under trap is it. i have no problem with whelan, hes a decent player.

It's all well and good staying positive and my reservations about the squad selection isn't going to stop me going to the games and hoping for the best. However, it is only human nature to cut the sh!t of a decision if you feel is a nonsensical one, that's what the forums here for.

Duggie
19/01/2009, 1:17 PM
It's all well and good staying positive and my reservations about the squad selection isn't going to stop me going to the games and hoping for the best. However, it is only human nature to cut the sh!t of a decision if you feel is a nonsensical one, that's what the forums here for.

true but still wont change trap decisions. agree with ya though.

seanfhear
19/01/2009, 1:34 PM
Has Ireland ever had so many good/medium(I just dont want to say medicore) players to choose from but unfortunately they have not yet stepped up that level that makes them an automatic choice. I don't ever remember us having so many players in the top two divisions in England before.Admittedly a lot of them are playing in the championship.If two or three could just reach that next step it would be great.I think it just goes to show how difficult it is to get a move to a premier league club these days. Imho 15/20 years ago players like K.Doyle,St Ledger,K Foley would definitely be playing in the top league

FarBeag
19/01/2009, 1:44 PM
This is the first squad were Darron Gibson's inclusion is justified in my opinion as he has been very good for Man Utd over the Xmas period.

There are a number of things that baffle me about that squad:

No Andy Reid!
No Sean St Ledger!
The selection of Caleb Folan!
The selection of Alex Bruce.......again!
The selection of at least 6 players if not more who warm the bench every week in both the Premiership and the Championship!:mad:

Fully agree but would also like to add McShane and Miller to that list. St Ledger is twice the player McShane and Bruce are and to have Liam Miller instead of A Reid is a joke.

19/01/2009, 1:46 PM
Lads I want Andy Reid in the squad but its clear that he does not see him as a central midfielder and I am coming to think its not Miller who is keeping him out of the squad but Robbie Keane.

Duggie
19/01/2009, 1:49 PM
Lads I want Andy Reid in the squad but its clear that he does not see him as a central midfielder and I am coming to think its not Miller who is keeping him out of the squad but Robbie Keane.

wha, dont get this post. the only reason reid isnt in the squad is trap dosent like him / want him there.

19/01/2009, 1:55 PM
No I think it cause he does not think he can play central midfield. He thinks he can play just off the striker but does not think we have the players to play that system. I do not think that Trap is as petty to leave him out just because what happened in Germany.

DeLorean
19/01/2009, 2:03 PM
No I think it cause he does not think he can play central midfield. He thinks he can play just off the striker but does not think we have the players to play that system. I do not think that Trap is as petty to leave him out just because what happened in Germany.

I think it's very possible (likely) he's being that petty. The system explains why Reid isn't in the team but doesn't explain why he's not in the squad. Keane was missing for the friendly against Poland so it would have been an ideal time to try Reid in the role u are suggesting but he was once again completely omitted- for the inclusion of Hull's 5th choice striker!!!

Duggie
19/01/2009, 2:05 PM

nah no way, reckon he just dosent fancy him as a player plain and simple and germany didnt help.

back of the net
19/01/2009, 2:07 PM

imo trap sees reid as someone who can play in behind the main attacker and imo for reid to play there he would have to drop keane

but reid still should be in squad ...even as backup..surely

i think reid is class but im guessing trap feels that if he plays reid in that position , then reid wont offer the same tracking back and defensive cover as keane does.

id hope that our management team can move on from the germany incident

19/01/2009, 2:12 PM

Spot on Neil. I've said the same elsewhere. To be fair to Trap, he's said the same about Andy Keogh too, that his best position is off the striker, and he's rewarded trap to a certain degree.

HammerNThongs
19/01/2009, 2:46 PM
Why do people constantly single out Liam for criticism on this site? He's a competent midfielder, he hasn't done anything great for us but he's never been a liability either. If you're going to single him out why not do the same for Bruce, Long, Keogh, Delaney, Gibson, Whelan or Folan. What have any of them ever done for us either? Do we have any better options than not calling up stopgap players? No, not really.

Miller won't be taking to the field and is there for cover, give him a break.

ALL those players have been bitched about at one time or another.

Duggie
19/01/2009, 2:47 PM
Why do people constantly single out Liam for criticism on this site? He's a competent midfielder, he hasn't done anything great for us but he's never been a liability either. If you're going to single him out why not do the same for Bruce, Long, Keogh, Delaney, Gibson, Whelan or Folan. What have any of them ever done for us either? Do we have any better options than not calling up stopgap players? No, not really.

ya i agree 110 per cent, exactly hes there for cover basically. i cant understand why people constantly have a go at him.

Claret Murph
19/01/2009, 2:49 PM

It's simple Ciaran , the reason why people single out Miller is because I and others feel that he is the worst Irish player ever to put on the Irish shirt :mad::mad::mad:

FarBeag
19/01/2009, 2:54 PM

ya i agree 110 per cent, exactly hes there for cover basically. i cant understand why people constantly have a go at him.

You agree with Ciaran!?:D:D.

Anyway, Miller is not good enough for international football not even Ireland.

Duggie
19/01/2009, 2:58 PM
i have no particular love for him but its not as if hes a make or break player. hes not that bad, dont see why hes always dumped on here.

DeLorean
19/01/2009, 3:06 PM
It might be a bit harsh for him being singled out the way he is but he has had a stupid amount of chances to kick start his career both at intl and club level and the bottom line is he's not even nearly good enough.

He's no worse than Whelan though imo but then again I do have it in for that guy!!

19/01/2009, 3:09 PM
I reckon Keith Andrews might get the nod to play alongside Glenn Whelan vs Georgia and you no what I wouldn't have a problem with it as for the first time in ages we'll have a central midfield partnership made up of players who are now starting every week in the Premiership.

My line-up would be:
--------------Given

Finnan ---Dunne --O'Shea Kilbane

McGeady Andrews Whelan -Duff

-----------Keane Doyle

Solid in my opinion. As they are all regular starters for their clubs and all except Doyle play at the highest level in their respective leagues.

the doc
19/01/2009, 4:26 PM
im of the thinking that even though trap went to the preston game he wasn't going to include anyone on show, but has them in mind for again.

However if st ledger was really that good he is of the age where he should be getting a move to the premiership. No one has come in for him and that says a lot. Trap knows what a player needs id say at this stage in his life, he mustn't have seen anything from any player outside the squad(bar andy reid) who he thinks is going to make a more significant contribution.

At the end of the day(as i say :D), i think gibsons inclusion is merited, ferguson and trap have given him time and im not better judge than them. It seems trap giving him a chance also worked with ferguson giving him a chance. I'm just a little upset not to see andy reid there.

Wrong! It's common knowledge here at Preston that Premiership clubs are checking out St Ledger, so much so that the club have put a 4m price tag on him and given him a new 4 year contract.

Trapp has took the easy option, he listens too much to Givens who always pushes for McShane and Bruce!

McShane although very limited has at least played at Premership level,so you could understand his inclusion.

But as for Bruce! he is no way good enough, his own father was going to sell him at Birmingham and bring in St Ledger who he rated as a much better player.

Trapp should be looking at bringing St Ledger into the set up with a view to playing him alongside Dunne, now that would be a very good CB partnership.

FarBeag
19/01/2009, 4:37 PM
[the doc]Wrong! It's common knowledge here at Preston that Premiership clubs are checking out St Ledger, so much so that the club have put a 4m price tag on him and given him a new 4 year contract.

Trapp should be looking at bringing St Ledger into the set up with a view to playing him alongside Dunne, now that would be a very good CB partnership.[/QUOTE]

Exactly. He should at least be given the chance to prove himself and yes i believe he would pass with flying colours.

19/01/2009, 4:42 PM
Wrong! It's common knowledge here at Preston that Premiership clubs are checking out St Ledger, so much so that the club have put a 4m price tag on him and given him a new 4 year contract.

Trapp has took the easy option, he listens too much to Givens who always pushes for McShane and Bruce!

McShane although very limited has at least played at Premership level,so you could understand his inclusion.

But as for Bruce! he is no way good enough, his own father was going to sell him at Birmingham and bring in St Ledger who he rated as a much better player.

Trapp should be looking at bringing St Ledger into the set up with a view to playing him alongside Dunne, now that would be a very good CB partnership.
seriously, what is your hard on for Ledger?
in 107 posts, you've posted about him 70 times!!

the doc
19/01/2009, 4:48 PM

Preston fan!

DeLorean
19/01/2009, 4:48 PM

That's some time consuming research!! I've only seen the lad play against Liverpool in the cup and the 2nd half of the Burnley match Sat morning. If somebody that see's him week in week out is that optimistic about him it can only be a good thing.

Razors left peg
19/01/2009, 5:07 PM
Ive come to accept that the system Trap is using isnt going to change so I can kinda accepted the reasoning for not having Andy Reid included as a center midfielder, I dont like it but I can accept the reasoning. But lets not forget that Andy Keogh started on the wing against Poland and was abismal, so nobody will ever convince me that his continued inclusion in the squad is justified when Andy Reid is left out. Reidy is 10 times the player Keogh is on either wing. Even if its only to be a squad player Andy Reid has to be in the squad and I think its disgraceful to treat the lad they way Trap has.

carloz
19/01/2009, 5:35 PM
If you're going to single him out why not do the same for Bruce, Long, Keogh, Delaney, Gibson, Whelan or Folan. What have any of them ever done for us either?
How many competitive games have Gibson, Delaney and Bruce played in. Between the three its hardly even 5 id imagine. Whealan was man of the match in his very first two competitive games for his country, so he has done quite a lot for us. As well as that scored the winning goal in Germany against Georgia. Lay off the lad for a change. Every second post on here you seem to have it in for the guy.

Cymro
19/01/2009, 5:52 PM
It's nonsense to criticise him like that, Liam Miller is average personified, I don't think I've ever seen him put in a performance I'd rate less then 5/10, while I've seen some players like McShane and Whelan on occasion entirely outclassed and a shambles on the pitch.

In the Wales-Ireland game in Cardiff in the last set of qualifiers I believe Miller started but was brought off at half-time. He certainly didn't have a very impressive game at any rate.

OK so it's only one game I've seen him in but if that's a 5/10 performance then I'd like to see a 2/10 one.

edit: OK so having checked up it was actually 60 minutes (http://euro2008.uefa.com/tournament/qualifying/matches/match=83658/index.html) he played that day, but he was still the first non-injury induced sub of the match.

the doc
19/01/2009, 7:16 PM
From PNE Online:

"I think it's Ireland's look out that they can't see the potential within Ledge. He is good in the Championship but his reading of the game will be even more crucial in Internationals."

"From a club point of view - if he's lined up for a transfer which many feel is going to happen at some stage - a regular international will command a greater fee. It could be worth an additional million pounds. Maybe more"

"Not sure what game Trappatoni was watching on Saturday - but St Ledger was outstanding. Something we consistently have come to expect. I look forward to seeing the Irish backline (without St. Ledger) in the shortlist for world player of the year next time it's announced. Because they must be good."

"Dear oh dear... Trap out.
He was a monster against Burnley as well!"

"Personally I am delighted. The less games they play, the less chance of injuries or fatigue from travelling etcThe last thing this 'paper thin' PNE squad needs at this stage of the season is for an irreplaceable player like St Ledger to go and get injured in a game that is of no benefit whatsoever to PNE........"

Hibernian
19/01/2009, 8:44 PM
One question.

What the hell does Liam Miller have that Andy Reid does not???

Anybody?

19/01/2009, 9:06 PM
One question.

Anybody?

The ability to keep himself to himself.......

Redkenrover
19/01/2009, 9:16 PM
Anybody know is the k.o. time for the Bulgaria match on 28th March a 3pm or an evening one. Cheers

19/01/2009, 9:38 PM
Can anyone explain a bit more what was said about Ireland?

Ireland doesn't want to play. End of.
What more do you want to know? Why they didn't plan to kidnap him and tie him to a post for the duration of the match :rolleyes:

frog-gufc
19/01/2009, 10:01 PM
providing everyone stays fit
1-given
2- finnan
3- kilbane
4- dunne
5- o shea
6- duff
7- mcgeady
8-andrews
9- whelan
10- doyle
11-keane

id love to see carsley selected though badly need him imo

19/01/2009, 10:57 PM
Trapp...listens too much to Givens nail on head & not just in relation to St Ledger who is a cut above McShane and probably Bruce. I really believe Givens has a malign influence on Irish football.

ArdeeBhoy
19/01/2009, 11:28 PM
Whatever they've said(& can't undermine the manager), again disappointing to see our 2 most creative players, Ireland & A.Reid ignored!

Respect Trap, but his bloody-mindedness over these two & even approaching Kevin Nolan again re.a central midfield which is seriously lacking in any kind of footballing ability is embarrassing!

Even If we get to SA, we'll do nothing with his current mindset.
:-(

kingdomkerry
19/01/2009, 11:49 PM
Whatever they've said(& can't undermine the manager), again disappointing to see our 2 most creative players, Ireland & A.Reid ignored!

Respect Trap, but his bloody-mindedness over these two & even approaching Kevin Nolan again re.a central midfield which is seriously lacking in any kind of footballing ability is embarrassing!

What are you on about? Kevin Nolan is not Irish and does'nt want to play for Ireland. fair enough. Stephen Manchester is Irish and does'nt want to play for Ireland. IMO opinion that makes him the lowest of the low and if he did his cruciate at training tomorrow I personally would be delighted!

As for other squad selections. I trust Trap

Fergie's Son
20/01/2009, 3:50 AM
Some odd selections alright. That said, can we drop the Reid as a saviour debate? He's not exactly setting things alight at a low-level Prem team and I think he's had a falling out with Brady/Trapp.

Let's move on from Ireland. I hope we don't ever discuss him again.

ArdeeBhoy
20/01/2009, 6:12 AM
Well, they're All Eligible!
We Have to make more of our resources & with the best will in the world, the likes of Sean St.Ledger aren't currently the answer!!

Unless Trap(& them) all stop being so bloody-minded, we'll be sitting at home scratching our backsides next summer!
You read it here first!

Sligo Hornet
20/01/2009, 6:31 AM
One question.

Anybody?

....LESS

Anybody know is the k.o. time for the Bulgaria match on 28th March a 3pm or an evening one. Cheers

7.45 pm.....as far as I know

20/01/2009, 6:55 AM

so why not call up Andy Reid instead? A guy who can play in more than one position?

St Ledger should be ahead of Bruce. I don't know why Bruce is in the squad.

I'm content with Long and Keogh's inclusion. They have never let us down and offer something different. Long's pace always causes problems when he comes on as a late sub.

Delaney was solid when he made a start in the green jersey and is adequate cover for Kilbane.

Whelan did well in our two qualifier games in September (picking up a MOM along the way + scoring) and is now the Trap's number 1 central midfield player. He's hardly going to drop him is he?

Gibson - I think the criticism has been OTT bearing in mind he's a young lad. The guy has potential and I have no problem with his inclusion.

Folan - offers something different. Pace, strength and obviously impressed the Trap in the training camps.

Andy Reid is a central midfield player and is more deserving of a place than Miller. Miller has hardly tasted first team football this season so it's not club form that is keeping him ahead in the pecking order.

the doc
20/01/2009, 8:15 AM
Well, they're All Eligible!
We Have to make more of our resources & with the best will in the world, the likes of Sean St.Ledger aren't currently the answer!!

Unless Trap(& them) all stop being so bloody-minded, we'll be sitting at home scratching our backsides next summer!
You read it here first!

So the likes of McShane and Bruce are? Have you been to The Givens school of Football, because you sound like him!

At International level you have to pick your best players, Trapp is NOT doing this!

He will eventually get found out by not doing this, I dread the day when the likes of Dunne gets injured or suspended and Trapp plays McShane and Bruce as a CB pairing!!!!!!!!

Dr. Ogba
20/01/2009, 8:25 AM

i take it this is a wind up and if it is bravo, i tip my cap to you...

if not, what i would suggest that if you really want to get your point across re Nolan you should open a new topic about it...it'll be appreciated by all...

ArdeeBhoy
20/01/2009, 8:39 AM
Desperate times call for desperate measures!
It'd be good to qualify, but we need a Central midfield.