View Full Version : Pats / Galway
Kenna new pats manager
Ian Foster (kennas assistant) new galway manager
Derek O Brien back to galway from pats (as compensation ??)
gufc4life
14/01/2009, 2:19 PM
dont think so he wanted to come back afaik
The Lilywhites
14/01/2009, 2:22 PM
Kenna confirmed?
EDIT: I see it is...
foxx92
14/01/2009, 2:22 PM
Kenna new pats manager
Has this been confirmed yet
14/01/2009, 2:24 PM
Interesting. Poor form from Kenna to go back on his word.
Has this been confirmed yet
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2796
14/01/2009, 2:28 PM
Should mean Galway are weaker in the relegation battle. :)
dont think so he wanted to come back afaik
Works out for every one. He was very disappointing for us and on a decent wage. Absolutely no loss (and guarenteed to score the winnerin his first game back)
Happy enough with Kenna (giving the likelihood of Matthews, Doolin and the rest of the merry go round)
garyderry
14/01/2009, 2:35 PM
Should mean Galway are weaker in the relegation battle. :)
with a near full-time setup and the money being splashed by conors
you guys wouldnt want to be be thinking of relegation
14/01/2009, 2:39 PM
with a near full-time setup and the money being splashed by conors
you guys wouldnt want to be be thinking of relegation
I'm confident enough that we'll be able to finish ahead of Bray, Galway and Drogheda/Harps. However, the first aim is to finish 7th and avoid the playoffs. Anything on top of that is a bonus. :)
JC_GUFC
14/01/2009, 2:57 PM
I'm not surprised that Kenna left and it's a pity the way things happened as it takes away a lot of the good he did last year but I have to say I'm surprised at who he's gone to.
Not meaning to have a go but Pat's are clearly going backwards from where they were. They're going back to part-time and getting rid of about half their squad.
The other jobs Kenna looked at in Ireland were Dundalk and Rovers, possibly the only 2 Premier Division clubs looking to move forward next season.
Obviously Pat's are going to finish above United next season and they've European football but Jeff might very well regret the move.
Or maybe all isn't as bad in Inchicore as some would have you believe ;)
We'll see what squad he cobbles together.
BrayUnknowns
14/01/2009, 3:01 PM
I'm confident enough that we'll be able to finish ahead of Bray, Galway and Drogheda/Harps. However, the first aim is to finish 7th and avoid the playoffs. Anything on top of that is a bonus. :)
It makes me laugh everytime a club gets promoted back into the Premier that their fans think they will do quite well. There is such a huge gulf between what you have been used to for the past number of years and what your about to play in.
MyTown
14/01/2009, 3:14 PM
It makes me laugh everytime a club gets promoted back into the Premier that their fans think they will do quite well. There is such a huge gulf between what you have been used to for the past number of years and what your about to play in.
That said & Unpopular as Connor appears to be, he has a proven track record. I'm tipping Dundalk for honours.
As for Jeff going to Pat's.......all the best & thanks for what he brought to us. He had a few trump cards to play near the end of the season that helped us survive.
My loyalty is always with the manager - Best of luck Ian Foster.
Jeff has lost all credibility with Galway and can see him upsticks on Pats before the season starts :rolleyes:
Claret Murph
14/01/2009, 3:16 PM
Good luck to Fozzy is spot on .
Maroon 7
14/01/2009, 3:18 PM
Jeff has lost all credibility with Galway and can see him upsticks on Pats before the season starts :rolleyes:
Well I don't know if he'll be gone that quick but he's obviously looking for a job in England and will probably continue applying for jobs over there even while in situ at Pat's.
Funny how you think Kenna is a cert to go back to England while not mentioning the fact that his English assistant is at least as likely to go home to England
monutdfc
14/01/2009, 3:29 PM
AFAIK (Dundalk fans, correct me if I'm wrong) they'll have only two players from their 1st division squad next season (2 players who were under contract and so weren't released. I wouldn't expect Connor to give either much of a look-in, maybe Mulvenna). So while the fans might see a huge gulf the players won't, since none of them were around last season
gufc4life
14/01/2009, 3:30 PM
the difference is dodge jeff is looking for a managers job in england ...and applys for any job that come up in england. ian is not and is quite happy to stay with us at united..!
LOL, man thats the height of naivity.
WoodquayBoy
14/01/2009, 3:37 PM
Funny how you think Kenna is a cert to go back to England while not mentioning the fact that his English assistant is at least as likely to go home to England
It seems his assistant from last season at least has a bit of decency, dignity and morals about him in so far as he honoured an agreement he made with United by turning up for work as agreed this week. Kenna is the one with a fire under his backside to go back to England, a move tp the Pale is just the first step
Maroon 7
14/01/2009, 3:39 PM
Well I'm sure if Foster does well he would eventually like to go home but right now he has next to no chance of getting any manager's job in England as he's completely unproven. He doesn't even have much experience as an assistant let alone a manager.
Kenna wasn't long in Galway when he made it clear he was looking preferably for a job in England so I don't think that has changed in the interim. I fancy come the end of next season if not before someone in the lower leagues in England will eventually take a punt on him and he'll be gone quick smart.
...and you can be guaranteed he'll try and bring Foster over as his assistant.
Lads, I understand what your saying but its not like this is news. Kenna has been applying for jobs in ireland all winter (Dundalk, Rovers, Cork). If he gets a job in England he'll go. Nothing different from the vast majority of managers and players here
WoodquayBoy
14/01/2009, 3:47 PM
He had been applying for jobs, either didn;t get them or turned them down. He then agreed to stay on at United - which is the point United fans are makling, not the fact he left, but the fact he left after committing to the club for 2009
and the main thing (for me anyway) is that he wont get a job in england unless he's doing well for pats
LOL, man thats the height of naivity.
Not really Dodge kenna has no principles he didnt even bother ringing United or Ian yesterday to say he was walking out the backdoor again. I think we have got the best man while ye have an arrogant sod who lies through his teeth.
pixiehead
14/01/2009, 4:01 PM
This tread is going to turn into pure squabble. We are both satified with are managers end of story!!! :)
blackholesun
14/01/2009, 4:03 PM
Good move by GUFC. Kenna gone off the wagebill, hopefully some combo in for losing Kenna and Foster moves up to fill the gap.
bhs
14/01/2009, 4:18 PM
we came up and finished in top half comfortably
CuanaD
14/01/2009, 4:27 PM
I kinda see this as a good move for both teams - Pats are getting what seems to be a decent manager.
Galway are keeping a man who knows how they avoided relegation last year, while their managerial costs will be down
SalvadorSanchez
14/01/2009, 4:47 PM
Kenna handled this very badly.... and the fact that the goons running our club allowed it to come to this is shocking... who's responsible for this farce? very few contracted players (no proven goalscorer on the horizon either, JK & VF to be fair are workers rather than out and out finishers) relatively unproven manager.....
Still, I thought we had a great squad at the start of last season and we were dire for ages so you never know I suppose.....
No idea what Foster brings, hopefully he'll tighten up our set pieces (defending and attacking!) and start using the bench, 2 things Kenna didn't seem to be able to deal with.
It's a shame what's happened.. we've lost Derek Glynn because Kenna didn't rate hime and then Kenna bolts out the door the same week Longford sign Glynn.
Black and White
14/01/2009, 5:19 PM
AFAIK (Dundalk fans, correct me if I'm wrong) they'll have only two players from their 1st division squad next season (2 players who were under contract and so weren't released. I wouldn't expect Connor to give either much of a look-in, maybe Mulvenna). So while the fans might see a huge gulf the players won't, since none of them were around last season
4 actually, Bennion looks to be number 1 keeper although Connor wants a decent keeper in to challenge as he doesnt want one player to have a cemented place...he wants every player to work for their place. Then theres Simon Kelly, Shane Grimes and Tiarnan Mulvenna, Beno and Mulvenna the only realistic ones to get a run in the team!
Bunny Kelly
14/01/2009, 5:20 PM
Jeff Kenna is looking for a career as a manager & knew he needed to get out of Galway to continue his promising start, the only reason he said he'd stay with Galway as there were no better options to improve himself.
Galway fans have to be realistic about this, he did a great job while there & don't begrudge him a chance to progress as a manager, it will be easier to get a job in England by doing well at Pat's as opposed to Galway
that said & unpopular as connor appears to be, he has a proven track record. I'm tipping dundalk for honours.
what?
SalvadorSanchez
14/01/2009, 5:29 PM
Jeff Kenna is looking for a career as a manager & knew he needed to get out of Galway to continue his promising start, the only reason he said he'd stay with Galway as there were no better options to improve himself.
Galway fans have to be realistic about this, he did a great job while there & don't begrudge him a chance to progress as a manager, it will be easier to get a job in England by doing well at Pat's as opposed to Galway
True 'dat.
JK Just handled himself appallingly, just don't expect us to thank him for the style of his exit.
I think he'll get found out at Pats though....the man seems to think that we're still using 1950s rules though, no idea about using subs, it's like he doesn't know they're there.
Hibs4Ever
14/01/2009, 5:36 PM
I think he'll get found out at Pats though....the man seems to think that we're still using 1950s rules though, no idea about using subs, it's like he doesn't know they're there.
Pathetic.
The guy saved your club last year for the wilderness of division one (and possibly more) despite what he had to work against, plus a cup semi final. He deserve's some respect from you ungrateful shower :rolleyes:
Black and White
14/01/2009, 5:43 PM
Is Ian Foster registered as a player again this year or is he he just manager?
Maroon 7
14/01/2009, 5:44 PM
Pathetic.
The guy saved your club last year for the wilderness of division one (and possibly more) despite what he had to work against, plus a cup semi final. He deserve's some respect from you ungrateful shower :rolleyes:
I think the fans are grateful for what Jeff did during his stay at the club but he's left on not very good terms that are of his own creation to be honest.
I expect this may well be repeated at Pat's sooner or later unfortunately but hopefully it doesn't get as messy when a League 1 or League 2 club decide to take a chance on him.
14/01/2009, 5:54 PM
what?
What he said
Did you really say honours? :eek: Did you mean to say hours? donors? goners?
14/01/2009, 6:00 PM
Very poor form from Kenna, was bad enough delaying things for so long not making a decision on his future but worse that he moves now when he recently confirmed he would be staying.
Galway are certain of relegation now imo, 1 or 2 players under contract with pre-season starting soon isn't ideal.
See Jeff couldnt be bothered to come over to sign his 1yr contract today;)
Maroon 7
14/01/2009, 6:16 PM
Very poor form from Kenna, was bad enough delaying things for so long not making a decision on his future but worse that he moves now when he recently confirmed he would be staying.
Not only that but he sold Derek Glynn to Longford a couple of days ago as he didn't rate the lad and then goes himself a few days later. Glynn would probably have stayed if he knew Kenna was leaving and we could have done with him next season too.
Just a big mess all round.
Glynn left on his own accord.
GUFC supporters are delighted to be still in the premier division this season but it wasnt all down to Kenna, Foster had a huge roll to play in it also and I believe we have come out with the better man in this case.
Best of luck to kenna now, hope our first game of the season now is home against pats ;)
Maroon 7
14/01/2009, 6:31 PM
Glynn left on his own accord.
True but seeing as he wasn't getting his game under Kenna that probably had something to do with it.
But who knows he may not have been a regular under Foster for all we know.
14/01/2009, 6:32 PM
How do you know Foster rates Glynn any higher than Kenna or gets on any better with him?. He didn't come here for the money anyway.
gilberto_eire
14/01/2009, 7:38 PM
Galway are certain of relegation now imo, 1 or 2 players under contract with pre-season starting soon isn't ideal.
Certain for relegation?. A manager alone doesn't determine your fate, its the squad he puts together, we have'nt even done that yet so your judgement is a bit premature IMO
Of the players we have on the books, we have two very tricky wingers in O'Shea and O'Brien, wouldn't take much to improve on last seasons strike force and defence.
It will depend on how much Foster has to spend and how wisely he spends it, not on having the name ''Jeff Kenna'' on the managers office door
14/01/2009, 8:27 PM
Certain for relegation?. A manager alone doesn't determine your fate, its the squad he puts together, we have'nt even done that yet so your judgement is a bit premature IMO
Of the players we have on the books, we have two very tricky wingers in O'Shea and O'Brien, wouldn't take much to improve on last seasons strike force and defence.
It will depend on how much Foster has to spend and how wisely he spends it, not on having the name ''Jeff Kenna'' on the managers office doorI personally didn't think Kenna did that good of a job anyway, as you'll see from previous posts, but what I'm saying it's not the best preperation for ye and could really drag ye down from the start.
Also, O'Shea is likely to be gone so not sure he can't be counted as a Galway player for the 2009 season. I'll stay silent on Derek O'Brien;)
Well I'm sure if Foster does well he would eventually like to go home but right now he has next to no chance of getting any manager's job in England as he's completely unproven. He doesn't even have much experience as an assistant let alone a manager.
Same goes for Kenna I'd have thought. He may very well be looking to go back to England (As someone else pointed out most players and managers in the League would go given the chance) Doesn't mean he'll get a job there. His only chance is if he makes a big splash at Pats. In which case, happy days in Inchicore :).
To be honest I'm not too sure about the apponitment, but it could have been worse I suppose, Matthews, Pete Mahon for example..
Same goes for Kenna I'd have thought. He may very well be looking to go back to England (As someone else pointed out most players and managers in the League would go given the chance) Doesn't mean he'll get a job there. His only chance is if he makes a big splash at Pats. In which case, happy days in Inchicore :).
To be honest I'm not too sure about the apponitment, but it could have been worse I suppose, Matthews, Pete Mahon for example..
Matthews has actually won trophies as an el manager and would have been a far better appointment than Jeff.