View Full Version : Pats / Galway

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Maroon 7
14/01/2009, 9:19 PM
Same goes for Kenna I'd have thought.

Well Kenna does at least have a name over in England. Part of Blackburn's title winning squad and a former Irish international. I'm not sure how much stock any English clubs will place on how he does over here unless he was a total disaster altogether which he hasn't been.

I'll put it like this I don't think his only chance of a job in England is doing well at Pat's (or Galway).

maroon ultra
14/01/2009, 9:27 PM
No United supporter would have blamed Jeff if he left at the end of last season. However, he stuck around at United while applying for every job going in Ireland and Britain. He didnt get anywhere with that, mainly because of his huge wage demands, so he returned to United and committed himself to the 2009 season. He spoke to the local media about loyalty to United as they had given him his first job in management and spoke about how he was looking forward to the 2009 season in Galway. He then went home to Birmingham for the xmas and was to return this week. Instead he just didnt turn up. Next thing we know he has the Pats job. Pats fans can call us pathetic and ungrateful all they want but this is digraceful behaviour and every football fan would be disgusted if this happened at their club. Galway v Pats in Terryland will be very interesting.

sligored
14/01/2009, 10:18 PM
i believe that pats are on a downward spiral and dont think kenna will help matters. commited players, good fans and a good financial footing got galway out of the mire last year. i think galway will finish above pats next year , thats imo. it will be a good year for connacht teams.

15/01/2009, 8:54 AM
It seems from the Irish Times (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0115/1231973728133.html) article on this that Pats didn't seem to know that Kenna was contracted to Galway United.

The switch appears to have caused some difficulties behind the scenes between the clubs with the Dubliners initially believing Kenna was a free agent until it was pointed out he had confirmed his intention to return to United and had been back on the pay roll in recent weeks. In the end, it seems, St Patrick’s agreed a compensation package for the former Blackburn Rovers defender with Derek O’Brien returning to his former club along with, it is believed, a significant amount of money.

redobit
15/01/2009, 9:00 AM
and the main thing (for me anyway) is that he wont get a job in england unless he's doing well for pats

In that case I hope he likes pressure? An improvment on the last couple of seasons means he has to take them to a league title.

What would Pats fans consider as Kenna 'doing well for pats' when it comes to next sesaon?

GuisaSaigon
15/01/2009, 9:30 AM
It seems from the Irish Times (http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0115/1231973728133.html) article on this that Pats didn't seem to know that Kenna was contracted to Galway United.

A contract had been offered and accepted by Kenna and he was accepting pay as per this new contract. Monday afternoon Kenna called Nick Leeson asked for permission to speak to Pats and was told that he did not have permission. Leeson contacted St Pats and informed them that they did not have permission to speak to him. It then became obvious that Pat's had already illegally approached Kenna.
Leeson said they could have got into a legal dispute with Pats but decided not to go down that path.
He said you would have to read between the lines to see how the O'Brien deal went through and if compensation was paid.
Pat's did want Kenna and Foster but Foster decided that it would wrong to go back on his commitment to Galway United and refused to speak to Pat's.

15/01/2009, 9:38 AM
Leeson said they could have got into a legal dispute with Pats but decided not to go down that path.

Well, the last thing Leeson would want would be more time in court :)

GuisaSaigon
15/01/2009, 9:45 AM
Well, the last thing Leeson would want would be more time in court :)

I think he wanted to focus on the positives and not drag the situation out. He is hoping that moving on it quickly will limit the damage to our season ticket push.

15/01/2009, 9:49 AM
I think he wanted to focus on the positives and not drag the situation out. He is hoping that moving on it quickly will limit the damage to our season ticket push.

It was hilarious to hear Jeff on Newstalk last night saying the split was Amicable . Hes certainly not read any of the Galway Fans reactions on our Forum. Pats have got the manager they deserve.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/eircom-league/galway-furious-as-saints-swoop-for-kenna-1602208.html

15/01/2009, 9:57 AM

I know. I just couldn't resist the opportunity for a cheap shot.

Only in the League of Ireland would a club appoint a man as CEO that had crushed the hopes and dreams of thousands of people and brought a proud institution to ruin through financial irresponsibly (although in some ways these qualifications are perfect).

And only in the LOI would he prove to be one of the better ones!

15/01/2009, 10:06 AM
The reaction from Galway fans is absolutely pathetic. A complete overreaction.

Kenna agreed to go back and changed his mind and went for what he felt was a better deal. Its happened to every single club here on an almost yearly basis. You really need to get over this.

As for Leeson's comments, from what I'm hearing there's a little bit of face saving going on there as people in pats say that negotiations went well with Galway and there was never a hint of animosity. One person I spoke to said that there was an understanding between Leeson and Kenna that Kenna could move if he got a better offer before the end of January. Foster was offered a deal at Pats but on less money than he's getting at Galway.

Standard LOI bull**** from both sides I'd imagine

GuisaSaigon
15/01/2009, 10:08 AM
The only pathetic thing about this is behaviour of Kenna and Sadlier.

15/01/2009, 10:17 AM
Jeez - it's like a pub in Galway in here - all that bitter

Echo what Dodge said - a slight overreaction from some on display

15/01/2009, 10:18 AM

Kenna agreed to go back and changed his mind and went for what he felt was a better deal. Its happened to every single club here on an almost yearly basis. You really need to get over this.

As for Leeson's comments, from what I'm hearing there's a little bit of face saving going on there as people in pats say that negotiations went well with Galway and there was never a hint of animosity. One person I spoke to said that there was an understanding between Leeson and Kenna that Kenna could move if he got a better offer before the end of January. Foster was offered a deal at Pats but on less money than he's getting at Galway.

Possibly the most inaccurate and nonsensical post ever on this forum.

15/01/2009, 10:21 AM
Really? and you've heard from both sides? You take Leeson at his word? As I said complete overreaction to a standard LOI move

Yeah I'd be annoyed if it was the other way but some fo the stuff posted here is ridiculous

WoodquayBoy
15/01/2009, 10:24 AM
I wouldn't believe Leeson if he said Galway United played their home games in Terryland, but if you fail to see why United fans are aggrieved at Kenna's behaviour, that is a problem with your perspective, not ours

15/01/2009, 10:30 AM
Really? and you've heard from both sides? You take Leeson at his word? As I said complete overreaction to a standard LOI move

Yeah I'd be annoyed if it was the other way but some fo the stuff posted here is ridiculous

There was nothing standard about it Dodge.Pats approach was illegal.People stating that it was "only a verbal agreement" clearly don't realise that a Contract has various stages to it,of which many can be deemed to make it binding.
Jeff was bound under "Intention to create a Contract",he was also receiving a wage thus making him an employee of UTD.

If Fozzie had left with Jeff we would have been very much up the creek without a paddle.I cannot understand your trivialization of the move for the life of me.

15/01/2009, 10:32 AM
I wouldn't believe Leeson if he said Galway United played their home games in Terryland, but if you fail to see why United fans are aggrieved at Kenna's behaviour, that is a problem with your perspective, not ours

I've already said I can understand the frustration and annoyance but some of the stuff here is over the top. And the stuff being posted on the Pats forum is far worse.

15/01/2009, 10:34 AM
There was nothing standard about it Dodge.Pats approach was illegal.
90% of moves here are illegal. You think clubs contact clubs first when they want to sign a player? Get real...

If Fozzie had left with Jeff we would have been very much up the creek without a paddle.I cannot understand your trivialization of the move for the life of me.
Its trivial because it happens all the time. Loads of deals/agreements are made and people go back on them. its annoying but life goes on. Galway would've got a manager in without too much fuss as there are plenty of people who'd love that job.

15/01/2009, 10:35 AM

Well im afraid you should check your Pats source. Animosity is a gentle word compared to the reaction from our board on Tuesday at 4pm when Ian Foater rang to say that he was the only one on the bus from Shannon.Why would Galway start paying Jeff from the 19th of December when his new deal was agreed if he could just walk out the door.

Pats have got the manager they deserve as far as im concerned youse are perfectly matched.

GuisaSaigon
15/01/2009, 10:38 AM
I've already said I can understand the frustration and annoyance but some of the stuff here is over the top. And the stuff being posted on the Pats forum is far worse.
Yeah like
Its fairly ****ing obvious what happened, and my patience is wearing think with all you think ****ing mulchies who just don't get it.
I wonder who posted that tripe?
Kenna and Sadlier have shown how little class they have. They are welcome to each other.

15/01/2009, 10:45 AM
Yep, I'm less diplomatic on that site. But the point remains, I'm sick of your bleating. Get over it

maroon ultra
15/01/2009, 11:00 AM
If it was the other way around it would be interesting to see how Pats fans and Dodge would react. Not much different I would imagine. Of course its an overeaction, its called being passionate about our club. I would be more worried if no one gave a toss, but obviously up in inchicore ye dont understand this. It wont be long before he does the same to ye, the man has no integrity.

15/01/2009, 11:03 AM
Yep, I'm less diplomatic on that site. But the point remains, I'm sick of your bleating. Get over it

Get over yourself in fairness

15/01/2009, 11:04 AM
Get over it

no YOU get over it....you!:)

15/01/2009, 11:11 AM
If it was the other way around it would be interesting to see how Pats fans and Dodge would react. Not much different I would imagine. Of course its an overeaction, its called being passionate about our club. I would be more worried if no one gave a toss, but obviously up in inchicore ye dont understand this. It wont be long before he does the same to ye, the man has no integrity.

In fairness its happened to us before with boht managers and players. As I posted ona different thread recently we're far more cynical than most fans. We know that badge kissers are arseholes and nobody has any loyalty to anybody but themselves.

brianw82
15/01/2009, 11:13 AM

Get off your high effing horse, Dodge.

Kenna showed his true colours by going back on his word to Galway, and their supporters have every right to be annoyed. You can say 'standard LOI behaviour' all you want - that doesn't make what he's done any less wrong. You wouldn't see Paul Cook leaving SRFC in this fashion, no siree.

At least Foster seems to have some integrity in him, and I wish him well next year. While I don't think many neutrals will be sad for Kenna if he crashes and burns at Pats.

15/01/2009, 11:18 AM
Cook interviewed for the Shamrock Rovers job. He'd leave Sligo in a heartbeat if he got a better offer. Foster would leave galway tomorrow if he got a btter deal. Thats how football works

Seriously, get real folks.

Rovers Maniac
15/01/2009, 11:24 AM
Cook interviewed for the Shamrock Rovers job. He'd leave Sligo in a heartbeat if he got a better offer. Foster would leave galway tomorrow if he got a btter deal. Thats how football works

I can't help but think this is all because of the betting scandal your players we involved in ! Good honest integrity seems to have gone out the window in Inchicore.

Bunny Kelly
15/01/2009, 11:24 AM
I'm with Dodge on this one, are people really that naive to believe any player/manager feels for a club the way a supporter does? It's the way football works, there is nothing new about it so just get over it

brianw82
15/01/2009, 11:25 AM

I said he wouldn't leave "in this fashion"

If he did get a better job nobody would begrudge him, but he'd at least let the chairman know and go through the proper channels.

15/01/2009, 11:29 AM
I can't help but think this is all because of the betting scandal your players we involved in !
:D I like your moxy

Rovers Maniac
15/01/2009, 11:35 AM
Should be 'were'. I can't help but think i made that mistake thinking about the betting scandal you lot were involved in. God is against you jebus told me.

passerrby
15/01/2009, 11:37 AM
lads ffs move on jeff gave great service to galway and is only trying to better his career as would anybody else the way in which he moved was not ideal but when opportunity knocks you must take as it make not happen again.

15/01/2009, 11:38 AM
Keep digging Dodge. Just because some people still believe in Integrity and Honesty doesnt mean you have to slate them.

No Galway Fan would have a problem with Jeff leaving at the end of last season but he strung the club along lied through his teeth and then after accepting a new contract and going back on the payroll he pulled a stunt like he did on Monday what other way would you expect them to react.

15/01/2009, 12:01 PM
Keep digging Dodge. Just because some people still believe in Integrity and Honesty doesnt mean you have to slate them.

its admirable, but it won't help them survive the LOI world

Scrufil
15/01/2009, 1:00 PM
St. Pats have shown no faith in Jeff Kenna either - they only offered him a 1 year contract whereas the new Galway boss Foster has got a 2 year deal. I think quietly in the background Sligo Rovers are waiting in the wings to upstage both and finish above both Galway and St. Pats.

15/01/2009, 1:08 PM
deal. I think quietly in the background Sligo Rovers are waiting in the wings to upstage both and finish above both Galway and St. Pats.

sure we always finish ahead of Galway ;)

charliesboots
15/01/2009, 1:11 PM
St. Pats have shown no faith in Jeff Kenna either - they only offered him a 1 year contract whereas the new Galway boss Foster has got a 2 year deal. I think quietly in the background Sligo Rovers are waiting in the wings to upstage both and finish above both Galway and St. Pats.

Pats took a decision before Christmas to only offer one year contracts to players and staff. Nobody in the country knows where they're going to be financially in 12 months

wexfordned
15/01/2009, 1:14 PM
I see Norwich sacked their manager Glenn Roeder yesterday. Will Jeff Kenna be applying for the job?

Has shown at Galway he has the ability to manage a club in a relegation battle with little or no money for transfers

CuanaD
15/01/2009, 1:39 PM
A contract had been offered and accepted by Kenna and he was accepting pay as per this new contract. Monday afternoon Kenna called Nick Leeson asked for permission to speak to Pats and was told that he did not have permission. Leeson contacted St Pats and informed them that they did not have permission to speak to him. It then became obvious that Pat's had already illegally approached Kenna.
Reminiscent of the Bohs property fiasco (if Bohs = Kenna and Pats & Galway = the developers) contract offered but not signed, but payments were made & accepted

Maroon 7
15/01/2009, 2:37 PM

What do Sligo Rovers have to do with anything? You could pick out any random team and say the same.

Saint_Charlie
15/01/2009, 3:59 PM
We've signed Paul Peschisolido as Asst. Manager today too.

Louth4sam
15/01/2009, 4:14 PM
That could be a nice link up with Birmingham, he's married to the MD isn't he?

15/01/2009, 4:22 PM
He is but has played for several clubs since his time there.

15/01/2009, 4:35 PM
That could be a nice link up with Birmingham, he's married to the MD isn't he?

Karen Brady - first drooled over on the first season ever of Fantasy Football with Baddiel, Skinner and Statto.

Louth4sam
15/01/2009, 4:45 PM
haha yeah i remember that. Roddy Doyle was on in that series too wasn't he. That was a quality series, if you could do something similar with Irish personalities and the league of ireland that would fairly get us some exposure.

Tir Oilean
15/01/2009, 6:32 PM
Funny how you think Kenna is a cert to go back to England while not mentioning the fact that his English assistant is at least as likely to go home to England

Quite simply his English assistant showed integrity by not going back on his word

15/01/2009, 6:41 PM
Quite simply his English assistant showed integrity by not going back on his word

One would expect that the facts that GU offered more than Pats and that his ambition was to get into management anyway had nothing to do with his decision. ;)

Tir Oilean
15/01/2009, 6:42 PM
[QUOTE=sligoman;1086611]I personally didn't think Kenna did that good of a job anyway, as you'll see from previous posts, but what I'm saying it's not the best preperation for ye and could really drag ye down from the start.

QUOTE]

Sligoman were used to being dragged down from the start; The Taxi Driver, I'll say no more