View Full Version : Albums Your Looking Forward To In 2009
Umberside
24/08/2009, 4:43 PM
Tongue N Cheek from Dizzee Rascal out September 21.
25/08/2009, 11:04 AM
Yeah - another album of the same stuff would have reduced them to self-parody.
They've done the "clever clever" put downs to death now and the broader influences can be heard on the new record.
Got the album couple of days ago
Really like the track Cornerstone , it reminds me of Pulp
Wolfie
25/08/2009, 1:09 PM
Got the album couple of days ago
Really like the track Cornerstone , it reminds me of Pulp
Good call - very much so.
Pulp are an influence they've recently cited too.
26/08/2009, 10:10 PM
Recently heard Basement Jaxx have a new album soon, can't wait for it.
27/08/2009, 11:47 AM
Just bought new albums from Kasabian and Arctic Monkeys. I love the QOTSA and was expecting a much much darker third album from the lads from Sheffield - particularly after all the moans it has received from the press but it isn't that dark. Yeah they have cut out most of the witty banter but it's not heavy metal. I think it will be a grower.
I'm liking the Kasabian album but it seems I have heard most of it already. Bloody adverts eh?!
After a cruel teaser at the start of the year, still eagerly looking forward to Mylo's new one.
Funny feeling I'll be doing that in 2010 too though. :(
Also, though I didn't realise that I was, it turns out that I'm now also looking forward to these:
Tongue N Cheek from Dizzee Rascal out September 21.
Recently heard Basement Jaxx have a new album soon, can't wait for it.
kingdom hoop
28/08/2009, 11:11 PM
After a cruel teaser at the start of the year, still eagerly looking forward to Mylo's new one.
Funny feeling I'll be doing that in 2010 too though. :(
Any news on this, one way or the other, Mr Been? I remember this time last year that release was imminent. With all this expectation it can only be disappointing.
Unless it's absolutely brilliant. :)
No, haven't read anything either way, though there are a couple more new tunes up on his myspace page when I checked it just now, whether that means anything or not I don't know.
I agree, at this stage it'd better be feckin' good!
Iorfa2MaccaJim
31/08/2009, 11:46 PM
I recently downloaded " Humbug ", the new Arctic Monkeys album. I haven't listened to it yet though. I'll give it a listen on my next away trip to Wexford on Friday. I also bought the latest Kanyaye Wrst CD, I'm liking that. I didn't enjoy No Lune On The Horizon from U2, it was too long IMO. I got tired of the new Kasabian album.
But to end on a good note, best album of 2009................Perfect Symetry from Keane.
31/08/2009, 11:51 PM
Went to Blur in Hyde Park in July and just got the "Live album" of the gig I was at. Double CD, entire set. Brilliant.
Wolfie
01/09/2009, 12:12 PM
Went to Blur in Hyde Park in July and just got the "Live album" of the gig I was at. Double CD, entire set. Brilliant.
Story BohsPartisan.
Will have to get a hold of that album.
Not seen you on Foot.ie for a long time. Where did hell did you get to?
Wolfie
02/09/2009, 12:59 PM
Story BohsPartisan.
Will have to get a hold of that album.
Not seen you on Foot.ie for a long time. Where did hell did you get to?
Well, wherever he was. He's gone back there..............:D
03/09/2009, 5:56 PM
Well, wherever he was. He's gone back there..............:D
Alright Wolfie. Not been on here much - posting anyway, read it the odd time.
Iorfa2MaccaJim
13/09/2009, 5:57 PM
Btw, In my last post I forgot to mention, that I am looking forward to the release of the debut album for Dublin band " Codes ", which is out later this month afaik. The album is called " Trees Dream In Algebra "
Iorfa2MaccaJim
17/09/2009, 10:11 PM
Just to let ye all know that the debut album from new Irish band Codes, " Trees Dream In Algebra " is out tomorrow (Fri 18th Sep)
StretchRyan
24/09/2009, 2:19 PM
The New Alice in Chains album is very good and seen them in Berlin in August and were great live.
Also New Pearl Jam is the best since verses in my opinion.
24/09/2009, 2:19 PM
The New Alice in Chains album is very good and seen them in Berlin in August and were great live.
Also New Pearl Jam is the best since verses in my opinion.
Agree, Backspacer is class. Must get my hands on Alice in Chains new one.
24/09/2009, 7:27 PM
I have listened to Muses new album twice and I am not impressed to say the least... Its too up and down an album..:(
25/09/2009, 12:07 PM
I just got the Basement Jaxx album today, can't wait to give a play later on.
stann
25/09/2009, 12:19 PM
One to add to the Albums You're Looking Forward To In 2010 thread when it gets going, alongside Mylo's 2nd effort, will definitely be the new Pixies album mentioned in the paper today!
jamie m
25/09/2009, 1:37 PM
Rammstein- Liebe ist fur alle da,
There is talk of an Irish show on their upcoming tour but nothing confirmed as yet:(
monzo
25/09/2009, 11:30 PM
One to add to the Albums You're Looking Forward To In 2010 thread when it gets going, alongside Mylo's 2nd effort, will definitely be the new Pixies album mentioned in the paper today!
What paper was that? Seriously doubt there'll be a new Pixies album tbh. BF has just finished a new album of his own, and although he farts out quality tunes whenever he wants to, I reckon he'll be too busy touring that album, touring the Der Golem soundtrack that has yet to be released, touring with Pixies and Grand Duchy. Think he has five kids to look after too!
brianw82
25/09/2009, 11:37 PM
New Paradise Lost album out on Monday.
Listening to Revocation's new one online, sounds great too. Will have to pick both of them up!
26/09/2009, 6:20 AM
New Paradise Lost album out on Monday.
Listening to Revocation's new one online, sounds great too. Will have to pick both of them up!
The Sun (I know...) rated it their best since Draconian Times. Worth a listen.
What paper was that? Seriously doubt there'll be a new Pixies album tbh. BF has just finished a new album of his own, and although he farts out quality tunes whenever he wants to, I reckon he'll be too busy touring that album, touring the Der Golem soundtrack that has yet to be released, touring with Pixies and Grand Duchy. Think he has five kids to look after too!
Well it was the Star, mentioned in passing in an article about their dates here, but a swift scooch around t'interweb shows it was based on a sound source, an NME interview which is here (http://www.nme.com/news/pixies/45571).
monzo
26/09/2009, 12:13 PM
Ah that one - that's just BF putting out the idea to mess with the media. I think that Kim Deal's the biggest obstacle in preventing a new Pixies album, she's said before that a new album at this time would be out of place. Still though, we can always hope!
26/09/2009, 12:40 PM
As a massive Pixies fan, I'd prefer them not to release a new album. They should just leave the old stuff as it is and just continue to release stuff separately as FB/BF or The Breeders..
On the Pearl Jam album, I got it yesterday and only managed one listen so far. It reminds me a lot of No Code or Yield, especially with the influence of BO'B. Even after one listen I'd say that it's maybe the best since Yield.
P.S. Who has the Alice in Chains frontman been since Layne Staley died?
29/09/2009, 4:17 PM
I'm really enjoyinh the new Jaxx album. It's a lot bouncier then previous efforts and it feels a bit more fun.
29/09/2009, 5:42 PM
As a massive Pixies fan, I'd prefer them not to release a new album. They should just leave the old stuff as it is and just continue to release stuff separately as FB/BF or The Breeders..
On the Pearl Jam album, I got it yesterday and only managed one listen so far. It reminds me a lot of No Code or Yield, especially with the influence of BO'B. Even after one listen I'd say that it's maybe the best since Yield.
P.S. Who has the Alice in Chains frontman been since Layne Staley died?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/William_DuVall
William DuVall, Alice in Chains new frontman. Thought it'd be a terrible move, but it seems to have worked out.
brianw82
29/09/2009, 9:09 PM
The Sun (I know...) rated it their best since Draconian Times. Worth a listen.
Their last 3 albums have all had that tag, to be fair.
Very good on my (admittedly, cursory) listens so far. Noticeably heavier than 'In Requiem', esp Holmes's vocals.
SaucyJack
30/09/2009, 1:22 PM
Built to Spill-"There is no Enemy", due out Oct 6, should be good.
ken foree
30/09/2009, 6:56 PM
Built to Spill-"There is no Enemy", due out Oct 6, should be good.
ha, sweet, saw them years ago here in boston. they certifiably rocked