View Full Version : Irish Cricket 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7

Aberdonian Stu
09/06/2009, 7:04 AM
The commentary was gas. Your man (I think it was Ian Bishop) went "Warm up the Guinness" when Ireland were within a couple of runs of the win.

09/06/2009, 9:22 AM
I misread the fixtures - its New Zealand, Sri Lanka & Pakistan/Netherlands.

Any one know why Kevin O'Brien so far down the order? Wilson & Mooney ahead of him do not inspire confidence.

wow well done ireland, great stuff

was wrong about Bangladesh - but then Cricekt isnt my strong point!:p

What ye think - ireland could def give NZ a good game and beat the Netherlands? Sri Lanka look great though, man they are great at throwing the ball

09/06/2009, 10:21 AM
In a way it's a pity the India game is completely meaningless (group placings in the Super 8s were pre-determined by ranking, not position, and no points are carried forward) as it may break the momentum. Niall O'Brien should be allowed to rest his injured ankle, with Gary Wilson taking over behind the stumps Paul Stirling should get a run, too.

09/06/2009, 10:21 AM
Mooney's a good hitter in T20, about all he's good for these days. Kevin O'Brien's place in the order is the big question mark of Irish cricket, especially as it becomes increasingly apparent that he can't bowl at international level. Whereas Trent Johnston can still bowl but can't bat worth a curse anymore.

Mooney looked ok but Wilson basically fluked his way to 10 runs or he is just lucky?

09/06/2009, 10:24 AM
I don't rate Wilson in this format, but he is the other specialist wicket-keeper in the side so one would imagine he'd deputise. Although Jeremy Bray is an occasional keeper, not that he's doing any better with the bat.

09/06/2009, 11:21 AM
my desk looks out directly on to the wicket here at Trent Bridge. Saved me 40 quid! Roll on India.

09/06/2009, 11:36 AM
How long before England "recruit" the O'Brien brothers? Taking nothing away from todays performance but how far could they go with had Joyce & Morgan. Not sure if Joyce a T20 player but certainly for ODI.

i can understand why Irish players would want to declare for england for the test status etc that we dont have but surely when Ireland are in the same competition as england these lads should play for their original country or at least be allowed to?

09/06/2009, 2:49 PM
i can understand why Irish players would want to declare for england for the test status etc that we dont have but surely when Ireland are in the same competition as england these lads should play for their original country or at least be allowed to?

Will Morgan play for England again? Don't understand why he gave up playing for Ireland for T20 as few enough games played in that format.

Irish Times said that points gained from India game tomorrow carry forward. Surely that is not correct or I misread.

09/06/2009, 2:56 PM
In the one day world cup points from the group stage carried over to the Super 8. There's been a lot of confusion about what's going to happen in the 20/20 but it's been clarified that points do not carry over.

I presume Morgan saw it as a chance to impress the English selectors and push for a place on their one day and test squads.

09/06/2009, 5:57 PM
my desk looks out directly on to the wicket here at Trent Bridge. Saved me 40 quid! Roll on India.

Assume you work here (http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1387/953047346_8e68f7ba08.jpg%3Fv%3D0&imgrefurl=http://www.flickr.com/photos/sns/953047346/&usg=__5kWy2Q8r6IZzI0KhBR6rkQYoASE=&h=375&w=500&sz=151&hl=en&start=93&um=1&tbnid=46-YjPVg5GhrOM:&tbnh=98&tbnw=130&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dtrent%2Bbridge%26ndsp%3D20%26hl%3Den% 26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-GB:official%26sa%3DN%26start%3D80%26um%3D1) (local council offices???).

Was at Trent Bridge yesterday on way home from Sofia. Not a cricket fan but a great day out. We were sitting right opposite that building in the New Stand and we were remarking that there was little work going on when you could see all the faces at the window.

One thing that pi**ed me off yesterday was that we are the only country in the 20/20 that does not have our national flag flying, and do not have the national anthem played. Like the rugby we had Ireland's Call (I really hate that song) but no anthem. After the game started they put up some flag which someone told me was the flag of the Irish Cricket Union.

09/06/2009, 8:31 PM
Assume you work here (http://images.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1387/953047346_8e68f7ba08.jpg%3Fv%3D0&imgrefurl=http://www.flickr.com/photos/sns/953047346/&usg=__5kWy2Q8r6IZzI0KhBR6rkQYoASE=&h=375&w=500&sz=151&hl=en&start=93&um=1&tbnid=46-YjPVg5GhrOM:&tbnh=98&tbnw=130&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dtrent%2Bbridge%26ndsp%3D20%26hl%3Den% 26client%3Dfirefox-a%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-GB:official%26sa%3DN%26start%3D80%26um%3D1) (local council offices???).

Was at Trent Bridge yesterday on way home from Sofia. Not a cricket fan but a great day out. We were sitting right opposite that building in the New Stand and we were remarking that there was little work going on when you could see all the faces at the window.

One thing that pi**ed me off yesterday was that we are the only country in the 20/20 that does not have our national flag flying, and do not have the national anthem played. Like the rugby we had Ireland's Call (I really hate that song) but no anthem. After the game started they put up some flag which someone told me was the flag of the Irish Cricket Union.

That's the beauty! The interior is even worse but we have had new windows put in which explains why everybody can see in now. The previous set of windows had so much dirt and mud that it was impossible for anybody to see in!

I'm not a big fan of cricket but will always watch the Irish games & a bit of the Ashes. I missed the last Ashes test at Trent Bridge because I was on holiday but I can imagine our building shutting down on the Thurdsay, Friday and Monday of that particular Test.

Gather round
09/06/2009, 9:16 PM
One thing that pi**ed me off yesterday was that we are the only country in the 20/20 that does not have our national flag flying, and do not have the national anthem played. Like the rugby we had Ireland's Call (I really hate that song) but no anthem. After the game started they put up some flag which someone told me was the flag of the Irish Cricket Union

The team represents more than one country (and isn't alone in that- so does the West Indies team).

ArdeeBhoy
10/06/2009, 2:05 AM
So what would be wrong using The Four Provinces flag & 'A Nation Once Again', then??

10/06/2009, 8:04 AM
So what would be wrong using The Four Provinces flag & 'A Nation Once Again', then??

Agreed, a much more sensible and representative option.

endabob1
10/06/2009, 8:11 AM
The team represents more than one country (and isn't alone in that- so does the West Indies team).

And England, who are actually England & Wales.

Personally I'd be happy enough with Irelands Call & the Cricket Union flag or the 4 provinces flag, the team is Irish & that's good enough for me

Gather round
10/06/2009, 8:24 AM
Personally I'd be happy enough with Irelands Call & the Cricket Union flag or the 4 provinces flag, the team is Irish & that's good enough for me

Indeed. If Ardee Bhoy and Super Hoops don't like it, they can always lobby for a breakaway, silimar to the FAI in the 1920s.

It'd be two nations once again.

10/06/2009, 8:52 AM
And England, who are actually England & Wales.

England isn't the best example there is it? Seeing as they use the English flag...

10/06/2009, 5:39 PM
Terrible start. Ireland 17-3 after 4 overs. The match is reduced to 18 overs a side. It's a joke that Ireland are the first game tomorrow anyway so the sooner it's over the better.

10/06/2009, 6:38 PM
Only seen it from about the 9th inning onwards.

Has Bray played himself out of the team?
Really unprofessional run out by West.
White out in a solid stint & looked comfortable with a few boundaries just before caught out. Could he start tomorrow?

Last few overs good to put a respectable look to it.

112-8 18 over finished.

10/06/2009, 7:00 PM
Only seen it from about the 9th inning onwards.

Really? Are you sure you want to use the phrase 9th inning when talking about 20-20 cricket? Christ test cricket only has 2 innings!:D

Ireland need an early wicket...as for tomorrow, expect the team that beat Bangladesh to be put out. White and Wilson will more than likely drop out with Johnston and Niall O'Brien returning.

10/06/2009, 7:07 PM
Good recovery towards the end of the innings but presumably that's the way T20 goes. India should reach that comfortably enough.

Youths4Ever
10/06/2009, 7:59 PM
not to bad a result in the end for Ireland India 113-2 (15.3 overs) bt Ireland 112-8 (18 overs) by eight wickets against India could have been a lot worse.

Time to move on tomorrow now and New Zealand

10/06/2009, 8:02 PM
Really? Are you sure you want to use the phrase 9th inning when talking about 20-20 cricket? Christ test cricket only has 2 innings!:D.

I was going to say half way through the innings but changed mid sentence :o

10/06/2009, 9:06 PM

A bit like those who say the same in the rugby, why don't you join a cricket club and suggest it to the union rep?

I think you'll find the ICU members are happy enough with what they have at the minute.

And after all, it's their sport.

10/06/2009, 10:14 PM
I don't know if they are allowed to or not if so that would be stupid. Players would be switching allegience the whole time.

TheBoss
11/06/2009, 12:00 AM
It was a solid game by the Irish today, I feel that they did not give it everything as they may have concentrated on the New Zealand game the next day. They put up a useful enough total but did not ever test the Indian bowlers. India were always going to be hard to bowl against, they cruised to the win, they could have punished the bowling a bit heavier if they really needed to.

11/06/2009, 9:19 AM
Ireland 5/2 to win today? What ye guys think?
I just backed South Africa to beat England

11/06/2009, 9:22 AM
There's a chance, because NZ are missing a few top players. Vettori, the top Twenty20 bowler in the world against whom Ireland are particularly clueless, may miss out.

11/06/2009, 10:33 AM
Christ test cricket only has 2 innings!:Dtest cricket usually has 4 innings, 2 by each side, time allowing.

11/06/2009, 10:39 AM
test cricket usually has 4 innings, 2 by each side, time allowing.

Well spotted. I feel better now. :D

11/06/2009, 1:12 PM
10 overs gone this afternoon and New Zealand are 94-2.

11/06/2009, 1:21 PM
watching updates here (http://www.cricinfo.com/wt202009/engine/current/match/356003.html)
124/2 off 13 overs

endabob1
11/06/2009, 1:36 PM
NZ are Cruising to a huge 200+ score

11/06/2009, 1:43 PM
watching updates here (http://www.cricinfo.com/wt202009/engine/current/match/356003.html)
124/2 off 13 overs

Live stream of the game here (http://hqsportz.net/chan1.html).

11/06/2009, 1:57 PM
NZ 198-5 after 20 overs.

TheBoss
11/06/2009, 2:02 PM
I think after the start they gor 32 after 2 overs, that affected the Irish lads for the whole innings. They will be disappointed with the performance but it is not always the case for Irish Cricket to play India one day and NZ the next day.

11/06/2009, 2:50 PM
a promising partnership between Botha and Wilson sees both of them go in the space of 4 balls.
now 60/4 off 9 overs

Real ale Madrid
11/06/2009, 3:14 PM
anyone know why Boyd Rankin didn't play?

11/06/2009, 3:25 PM
115 all out after 16.4 overs. NZ win by 83 runs.

11/06/2009, 3:30 PM
anyone know why Boyd Rankin didn't play?

On the stream I was watching the commentators said: he was 'rested', which is Irish for 'dropped'.

TheBoss
11/06/2009, 3:56 PM
Expected defeat really, the lads did try but the quality compared to NZ was there to be seen, they have excelled themselves again by getting this far and they will learn from these experiences.

12/06/2009, 10:56 AM
Bowling in the first 5 overs was terrible & meant game pretty much over already. Connell in for Rankin was not exactly a success.

Disappointing to see another out for lazy running between the wickets. Would expect extra effort to make up for skill deficit.

endabob1
12/06/2009, 11:34 AM
Watching the Proteas in the field should be the lesson for every other side, they ae awesome in the field they must have saved 20+ runs against England

12/06/2009, 11:41 AM
There's no way William "The Snail" Porterfield should be captain of the side, he probably shouldn't even be in the team for this tournament.

TheBoss
12/06/2009, 1:30 PM
Who you think should have it then ?, McCallan and N O'Brien are the other choices for me.

12/06/2009, 1:38 PM
McCallan had an unhappy spell as captain and carried the can for the ICC Trophy disaster in 2001. Although, to be honest, that's ancient history at this stage and he's currently the vice captain, he's the best option IMO. Captain should always be an Irish-based player. Don't see why Trent Johnston couldn't resume the role now he's back in the team, either.

Gather round
12/06/2009, 5:52 PM
Captain should always be an Irish-based player

Why necessarily? Porterfield and the other English county players aren't always available for Ireland, but against that they're playing at a higher level elsewhere.

12/06/2009, 10:43 PM
That's highly debatable, mostly they're playing against second-rate hackers on the county circuit and picking up bad habits. We need to be providing players with an incentive to stay at home. He should have been dropped as captain after his shameful no-show in Scotland.

Gather round
14/06/2009, 8:12 AM
That's highly debatable, mostly they're playing against second-rate hackers on the county circuit and picking up bad habits. We need to be providing players with an incentive to stay at home. He should have been dropped as captain after his shameful no-show in Scotland.

Apart from this tournament, most of Ireland's matches are either

a) qualifiers against other 'Division 2' countries or

b) round robin games against counties where we tend to finish last- presumably making us third-rate hackers?

I'm not defending Porterfield particularly, but I don't agree tying the captaincy to playing in Ireland is best. Pick the squad of best players, then the captain from within that group.

14/06/2009, 2:02 PM
SRI LANKA INNINGS: 144-9

There's a chance of a massive upset here.......... but it'll still be very difficult.