View Full Version : Irish Cricket 2009
TheBoss
30/04/2009, 11:43 PM
Been a while since we saw his name on the team list. :D
TheBoss
01/05/2009, 1:22 PM
He got in the squad, some disappointment for the Ireland selectors:
Paul Collingwood (capt), James Anderson, Ravi Bopara, Stuart Broad, Andrew Flintoff, James Foster, Robert Key, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Eoin Morgan, Graham Napier, Kevin Pietersen, Owais Shah, Ryan Sidebottom, Graeme Swann, Luke Wright
In any event, its not good enough to win the tournament.
quick question and apologies if this has been asked and answered already, but can Eoin Morgan (or even Ed Joyce) represent Ireland again if he plays for England?
TheBoss
02/05/2009, 4:48 PM
I think a player that plays with a Full Member, can not play for another nation, yet the rule does not apply to non-members.
02/05/2009, 6:02 PM
He could play for Ireland again if he went four years without appearing for England. Ed Joyce would be eligible to represent Ireland again in 2011 if he isn't picked for England again in the interim.
Great win for Ireland today!
http://content.cricinfo.com/countycricket2009/engine/match/382899.html
shefellover93
20/05/2009, 8:02 PM
At least we won a game anyway!!
20/05/2009, 9:33 PM
Wwsa watching updates on SKY Sports News. Saw we were 152 all out, then W were 26-6. Must have been some bowling performance.
TheBoss
20/05/2009, 11:11 PM
They have had 2 really good performances before that game despite losing them. They look in good shape for the Twenty20 World Cup, they have a decent chance to beat Bangladesh, but they have to perform against them.
Gather round
20/05/2009, 11:20 PM
I was there with foot.ie regular Ardee Bhoy. Excellent and totally unexpected win by Ireland.
27/05/2009, 2:40 PM
Ireland made 152-5 in today's World Twenty20 warm-up against New Zealand. Bray (48) and Stirling (29) got Ireland off to a good start with 70 inside the first nine overs. New Zealand should chase that total easily enough, especially given Ireland's weakened bowling attack.
BobtheDrog
02/06/2009, 10:46 PM
a little something to (possibly) amuse everyone
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZimSVYWmVac&feature=related
TheBoss
03/06/2009, 12:17 AM
The Poor Pigeon :(
ICC World Twenty20 Group B
England 162-5 (20 overs) v Netherlands 163-6 (20 overs)
Amazing last ball. Netherlands needed 2 to win & England missing a throw at the wicket & the durch scrambled a double!
:eek::eek::eek:
05/06/2009, 8:45 PM
Great result for the Associates. England looking at elimination now! I doubt Ireland are going to achieve much, after a series of defeats (one to the PCA Masters golden oldies XI) in warm-ups. Just not accustomed to the format.
Mind you, the weather isn't looking too promising either.
Only half saw the last 6-7 overs tonight but when it started to rain they continued. I guess if it was earlier in the game they would have stopped it? At that stage after losing only 3 wickets the dutch were flying along. Their scoring dropped when they lose a couple of wickets leading to the tight finish.
If England lose next game they are out.
05/06/2009, 10:00 PM
Netherlands were ahead on D/L pretty much throughout the innings.
zODrolR8TVc
Last ball at 6.45 on that clip.
aberharp
05/06/2009, 11:44 PM
don't know much about cricket but i do know thats a big upset. fair play to them
TheBoss
06/06/2009, 1:02 AM
I was cheering them on :D
I want associate members to do well, those teams can make cricket more of a world wide sport for audiences, showing them that there is decent cricket in other countries than the Test Nations.
Great win, they totally deserved it, I think the England players thought it would be an easy win, just post a total of about 150 and they wont get that total.
06/06/2009, 7:02 AM
I know in 20-20 cricket any team can win on the day but still jesus what a result
Anyone have an opinion on Banglkadesh, a dark horse? Or will it be just between Inida and South Africa
06/06/2009, 11:10 AM
Morgan didn't cover himself in glory.
Rovers fan
07/06/2009, 1:56 AM
Anyone have an opinion on Banglkadesh, a dark horse?
They didn't look great against India....
Great win for the west indies against australlia. Chris Gayle was on fire!
08/06/2009, 1:07 PM
Good start for Ireland against Bangladesh, Bangladesh 50-3 after 7.1 overs. Updates on BBC website: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/8089479.stmhttp://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/cricket/8089479.stm
08/06/2009, 1:19 PM
You can watch live here (http://live.spvod.com/live/20096/spvod12374_2.htm).
Bangladesh 66-5 after 10.3 overs.
http://www.cricinfo.com/wt202009/engine/current/match/355997.html
Cricinfo give ball by ball comments
Banladesh 66/5 after 10.4 overs
Bangladesh 137/8 at end of 20 overs.
Very much within reach for Ireland.
08/06/2009, 2:10 PM
Costly last over for Ireland, hopefully won't come back to haunt them.
Steady singles and the odd boundary would be enough, don't need to go in swinging wildly.
Boo_Boy
08/06/2009, 2:18 PM
http://gobabby.net/60.htm
EDIT: And right after i post it, it goes down..
08/06/2009, 3:05 PM
It looks like it could go to the wire. Need to pick up a few boundaries in the next few overs.
Ireland win. Huge knock by Kevin O'Brien
Ireland win! :D
Super achievement again.
08/06/2009, 3:32 PM
Fair play, I was almost hoping for one of the Irish lads to get out so that Kevin O'Brien could come in and he didn't dissapoint. Another great result for Irish cricket, it's a pity it's almost impossible to be accepted as a full test nation, considering they're now so comprehensively the best associate nation.
Noelys Guitar
08/06/2009, 3:37 PM
What a great win.
aberharp
08/06/2009, 3:44 PM
Fair play to them.
How long before England "recruit" the O'Brien brothers? Taking nothing away from todays performance but how far could they go with had Joyce & Morgan. Not sure if Joyce a T20 player but certainly for ODI.
Will this have any impact on Irelands attempts to gain full Test Cricket status? It surely cannot hurt.
Ireland now play New Zealand, Australia/West Indies & then England at the Oval. :)
08/06/2009, 3:54 PM
Gotta play India first, the group's not over. ;)
Niall O'Brien is a possible England target as he already fulfills the residency criteria and they're always on the lookout for wicket-keepers who can bat.
TheBoss
08/06/2009, 9:51 PM
Fantastic bowling and fielding performance, the batting was a bit nervy but the O'Briens should quality throughout their innings.
I misread the fixtures - its New Zealand, Sri Lanka & Pakistan/Netherlands.
Any one know why Kevin O'Brien so far down the order? Wilson & Mooney ahead of him do not inspire confidence.
Youths4Ever
08/06/2009, 10:19 PM
great result today just waiting to see some highlights on tv now could not see game today
08/06/2009, 10:43 PM
Any one know why Kevin O'Brien so far down the order? Wilson & Mooney ahead of him do not inspire confidence.
He's a bowler. Has to be given as much rest as neccessary
TheBoss
08/06/2009, 10:46 PM
He's a bowler. Has to be given as much rest as neccessary
He was not bowling today, I think the feeling is that Wilson and Mooney are there to protect the score by ticking it over for a some overs till one of them goes, and than K O'Brien and Johnston can go for it.
He was not bowling today...
That is what caught me out so. My bandwagonism shown up :o
So what are Irelands chances? Is there any logic to thinking better Pakistan progress so Ireland will continue as underdogs?
TheBoss
08/06/2009, 10:56 PM
Netherlands scored 160 runs v England, that is an impressive total for them, so saying that Ireland are favorites would be wrong, it would be a 50/50 game, I think.
ArdeeBhoy
08/06/2009, 11:20 PM
Looking for any spares for remaining games, If you know of any.....Especially for Wednesday, please!
Thanks if you can help?
08/06/2009, 11:32 PM
Mooney's a good hitter in T20, about all he's good for these days. Kevin O'Brien's place in the order is the big question mark of Irish cricket, especially as it becomes increasingly apparent that he can't bowl at international level. Whereas Trent Johnston can still bowl but can't bat worth a curse anymore.
09/06/2009, 6:53 AM
I enjoy cricket, but I'd not been following the Twenty20 World Cup (didn't realise it was on yet:o), until I heard folk making fun of Australia on the radio, on the basis of "even Ireland can get to the super 8s". That would be the second major tournament Super 8s in a row, would it not.
Anyway, I'd like to congratulate all of those of you on here who have repeatedly put in the hours watching it and keeping this thread going when all but a few of you were participating, and hope you enjoy the reflected glory now that fools of every beard colour are coming on board.