View Full Version : Monkey Night Soccer (End of season MNS)
irishultra
24/11/2008, 7:35 PM
LMAO at the 60 segment...best bit of comedy on rte for ages.
LOL meant MNS
LMAO at the 60 segment...best bit of comedy on rte for ages.
Quality.
'In loving memory of Kilkenny FC' :D
Brilliant
Have to say tonights show has been excellent, esp the 60 segment.
24/11/2008, 7:43 PM
:) :) :)
LOL meant MNS
I won't be editing that ;)
Monday Soccer Night?
Hopefully they replace 60 with something else next season. I am sure they can rip off something from Soccer AM.
irishultra
24/11/2008, 7:50 PM
is the guy cretaro italian? i knew of him before but just wondering.
keith foy??? hahha so fat.
LMAO...HAHAHAHHAHAHA
Hopefully they replace 60 with something else next season. I am sure they can rip off something from Soccer AM.
I spoke too sound. Speed King...
Keith Foy is some culchie :eek:
sligofan4ever
24/11/2008, 7:51 PM
is the guy cretaro italian? i knew of him before but just wondering.
keith foy??? hahha so fat.
LMAO...HAHAHAHHAHAHA
His father's Italian.
WoodquayBoy
24/11/2008, 8:00 PM
Cracking show, plenty of laughs, what to do between now and March??
irishultra
24/11/2008, 8:02 PM
i cried at the end.
24/11/2008, 8:04 PM
It was a pretty good show tonight.
I especially loved the collection of Roddy's "I had him/signed him/gave him his debut at..." :D
Great show and great end to the season. Made the league look very vibrant and the programme was very funny. I liked how they dealt with the Sixty feature. The montage at the end was something you'd never have seen on Eircom League Weekly but its just the kind of glossy, well put together and colourful feature that makes people curious to check out the league. Already looking forward to next season!
I must say I really enjoyed that I thought it was absolutely hilarious.
Christ that Jacqui Hurley really is a lovely bit of stuff. So nice to see below her head for once!:rolleyes:
foxx92
24/11/2008, 8:08 PM
Great show tonite. If they used the end bit as an ad before march it would give the LOI a much much better image!
Good show but if you think about it should the best show be the one with little enough football in it?
Why was Fran Gavin in "Dublin" & not the "Studio"? Could they not find space in the smallest studio in RTE? :confused:
24/11/2008, 8:08 PM
Miss Sligo was a highlight too I must say!. Gartland was funny as usual.
pixiehead
24/11/2008, 8:14 PM
Great show tonite. If they used the end bit as an ad before march it would give the LOI a much much better image!
YA. Agree that would make a great advert on TV for the league.
Tonights show was top notch. Seriously funny :D
The sligo Lads had me in bits. The monkey thing was a great come back!!!
The whole show was a great cure for the hangovers off the pitch which are constantly on air to the public
24/11/2008, 8:20 PM
i cried at the end.
So did I! My kids thought it was hilarious that I was so upset. Tonight was the real end of season. Thank you MNS for a great recap of the season.
Great show and great end to the season. Made the league look very vibrant and the programme was very funny. I liked how they dealt with the Sixty feature. The montage at the end was something you'd never have seen on Eircom League Weekly but its just the kind of glossy, well put together and colourful feature that makes people curious to check out the league. Already looking forward to next season!
Said that to my boys. Great footage.
As for the Sligo race. Oh My God. I nearly puked laughing. Foyzer ya nut job!!
24/11/2008, 8:29 PM
Very good show, was very entertaining and good to see they could have a laugh at themselves too with the 60seconds part. Thought the naming of the team of the season was good too.... "Sean signed him, and he signed him and he signed him.....o i signed him actually" ha ha, very good stuff :D
Next season can't come any faster :(
hedderman
24/11/2008, 8:35 PM
Excellent end of season show. MNS has been excellent throughout the season.
Not only is it much better than Eircom league weekly, I think it compares very favourably in some ways with RTE's Premiership highlights and coverage of Ireland matches. Although Billo, Giles and Dunphy always like to congratulate themselves on how they aren't afraid to tell the truth, MNS is much more vibrant, dynamic and irreverent.
Paddyfield
24/11/2008, 8:41 PM
Christ that Jacqui Hurley really is a lovely bit of stuff. So nice to see below her head for once!:rolleyes:
She could do with getting some new clothes. She's been wearing that suit for the whole season.
24/11/2008, 8:46 PM
She could do with getting some new clothes. She's been wearing that suit for the whole season.
Here Gok Wan what would you recommend for her so?
Magicme was that you in Paddy Cullens before the game yesterday?
24/11/2008, 8:54 PM
:D :D
DonO'Bate
24/11/2008, 9:01 PM
Easy, a Magic Mons top, shorts and socks!!
24/11/2008, 9:12 PM
Magicme was that you in Paddy Cullens before the game yesterday?
Is that the pub? I didnt look at the name on the door as was dying to using the toilet! Was wearing a Mons jacket if that helps!
Easy, a Magic Mons top, shorts and socks!!
That a boy! Great choice! :D
Is that the pub? I didnt look at the name on the door as was dying to using the toilet! Was wearing a Mons jacket if that helps!
The one that was jammed:D Yeah I think it was you, upstairs someone wearing a blue Mons jacket walked by and I thought it may have been you
blackholesun
24/11/2008, 9:15 PM
Great stuff tonight. Id love to be a fly on the wall at the wrap up pis$ up that must be taking place as we speak.
Have to say Jackie Hurley looks even better from the front rather than the side :cool:;):)
The Monkeys sketch was gas!
bhs
The one that was jammed:D Yeah I think it was you, upstairs someone wearing a blue Mons jacket walked by and I thought it may have been you
Yup that was me!
dcfc_1928
I particularly liked the "Robbed by Buttimer" banner taped to the front of the DCFC monkey :D
pixiehead
24/11/2008, 9:28 PM
That a boy! Great choice! :D
.................:D
L37Ultra
24/11/2008, 9:30 PM
Fantastic show tonight. Typical Irish humour :) Bit at the end made me think, what am I going to do until March? :(
24/11/2008, 9:35 PM
I know what you mean Ultra. Was hard to take that the season is over. Last MNS was final nail in its coffin. :mad:
24/11/2008, 9:38 PM
Foyzer for Ireland!
24/11/2008, 9:39 PM
I dont think he saw it himself coz I text him calling him a mad barstool and he asked why I was saying that!
While I look forward to next season, Im absolutely delighted this season is over........
Think most City fans are the same. Time for a fresh start come March
L37Ultra
24/11/2008, 9:45 PM
I know what you mean Ultra. Was hard to take that the season is over. Last MNS was final nail in its coffin. :mad:
Ya no matter how hard it has been for some fans, once its over you just wish it was next season. It will be the new season before we know it and knowing this League there will be lots happening off the pitch between now and then :D
24/11/2008, 10:21 PM
New season will be here before youse know it. Next thing you know ye'll be stickin' up the Chrimbo tree, and as yer takin' it down, we'll be talkin' about which players went across the water in the January Transfer window. Then the domestic transfer rumour mill will be really taking off. By the end of January talk of friendlies will have started...ah it'll be here before ye know it.
24/11/2008, 10:23 PM
Yeah your right dancinpants. Just feels like a long winter ahead.
Not only is it much better than Eircom league weekly, I think it compares very favourably in some ways with RTE's Premiership highlights and coverage of Ireland matches. Although Billo, Giles and Dunphy always like to congratulate themselves on how they aren't afraid to tell the truth, MNS is much more vibrant, dynamic and irreverent.
I must say I got bored with MNS mid season (priorities adjusted with Examinership) but MNS works best when it doesn't take itself too seriously.
RTE's Premiership highlights and coverage of Ireland matches hasn't changed in 10 years & they take themselves far too seriously. Only the occasional addition of Apres Match lighten the mood.
RTE should get Apres Match to do an MNS sketch. Could even do a Premiership/MNS hybrid.
hedderman
24/11/2008, 10:51 PM
I must say I got bored with MNS mid season (priorities adjusted with Examinership) but MNS works best when it doesn't take itself too seriously.
RTE's Premiership highlights and coverage of Ireland matches hasn't changed in 10 years & they take themselves far too seriously. Only the occasional addition of Apres Match lighten the mood.
RTE should get Apres Match to do an MNS sketch. Could even do a Premiership/MNS hybrid.
I'd love to see an Apres match sketch on MNS. If they can send up Dunphy, they'd bound to be able to take the p*** out of Roddy. On their live at the Olympia video, they do a sketch on Trevor Welch, someone else and Noel King. Possibly sending up Eircom League Weekly?
cestlavie
24/11/2008, 10:54 PM
Well done RTE, you deserve credit for getting something right, It took you all a while but well done. Roddy Collins is a disgrace for what he said about Heary yesterday. Any player who see's a tackle coming will ride the tackle and take the freekick if possible. He is a pure muppet at times, I would love to practice "martial arts" on him but I dont know If that would be a good enough excuse in court. lol
24/11/2008, 11:01 PM
i love Keith Foy!
The piece with O Donoghue and Sadlier was genius!
Duggie
25/11/2008, 8:05 AM
the show was brilliant last night, very well put together and so funny. gartland should get a regular spot on it, very funny. and as for jacqui....tasty or what ?! great finish to a good show. looking forward to it coming back already.
Duggie
25/11/2008, 8:11 AM
by the way the team of the year was a bit dubious. how did crowe get in the team in front of mark farren?? no sligo rovers players, jay o'shea. what do you guys think. dont think crowe was great all season.
by the way the team of the year was a bit dubious. how did crowe get in the team in front of mark farren?? no sligo rovers players, jay o'shea. what do you guys think. dont think crowe was great all season.Can't understand the hype about Crowe, thought he's been terrible, not even the best striker at Bohs, Farren had a great finish but I hate the way Dave Mooney has been forgotten when he hit 20 goals in half a season.
Hats off to the MNS team, great show last night, thoroughly entertaining.
I love the way they are not afraid to laugh at themselves.
25/11/2008, 8:20 AM
Crowe has been brilliant this season. He makes Bohs play. He's not the lethal finisher of old but Fenlon has turned him from a washed up lardarse into a sharp and intelligent user of the ball.
Agree with this. Very clever player
Duggie
25/11/2008, 8:27 AM
ya i think we all agree crowe is a good player but didnt deserve to be in ahead of farren IMO. not this season anyway.
25/11/2008, 8:50 AM
Really enjoyed the show last night. I was watching it with a mate who only has a slight interest and our girlfriends and I think even they enjoyed it, it was definitely the kind of show to make people take notice, highlighted the skills, goals and general air of fun that makes the league interesting. The Sligo lads were brilliant as was the 60 section, great that they could take criticism on board and have a laugh about it. Hopefully next year will be even better as they learn what's popular and take on board feedback from fans. I have a feeling the time slot might slip back a little next year, maybe to about 10, don't think that would be bad as long as it's no later than 10.