View Full Version : Monkey Night Soccer (End of season MNS)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

galwayhoop
25/11/2008, 9:48 AM
liked the way they weren't afraid to talk about the bad points (financial problems / examinership etc) and weren't afraid to say quite possibly the worst season for the league, i know they couldn't ignore it but they definitely weren't afraid of it.

not like bbc/sky tosh of best season - every season.

such an improvement from TV3's effort that it's hard to think that was all we had just one short year ago. kudos RTE on a job well done.

Duggie
25/11/2008, 10:00 AM
tv3 - jeez on at about 3.30am in the morn. such a time it used to be on. ya'd be knackered waiting for it. trevor welch ah here dnt get me started, cant even read.

bigmac
25/11/2008, 10:07 AM
Don't hold your breath for next year's timeslot though

RTÉ'S FLAGSHIP League of Ireland highlights programme, Monday Night Soccer (MNS) faces budget cuts and the possibility of being shifted out of its prime-time slot for next season although RTÉ's Group Head of Sport, Glen Killane, insists that the broadcaster remains "absolutely committed" to the programme and says that any changes will be discussed with the FAI over the coming weeks.

Viewing figures for the programme are widely acknowledged to be disappointing with the 60,000 or so achieved on occasions earlier in the season slipping to an average of just 43,000 or three per cent of the available audience during its time slot in recent weeks.

Matters may not have been helped by the off-field problems encountered by many league clubs this year or by the fact that the title race was effectively over so early but the audience share figure is only a little a quarter of what the station, RTÉ2, averages and Killane admits that its place in the schedules will have to be looked at.

"It isn't great," he says, "although I'd have to say that we always saw this very much as something to grow over time, not an overnight thing. Still, we would have been hoping for around five or six per cent and we'll have to sit down and have a look at it.

"In some way, though, it's actually a difficult slot that it's in because it's up against the soaps and the like and particularly in one television households, there's only going to be one winner there. An off-peak slot might actually help it but we'll have to think about it and talk it all over with the FAI.

"The main thing is we remain totally committed to the show and there'll be nothing knee jerk about our reaction to how it's done so far. It's not a money spinner for us but public service broadcasting and we want to grow the audience, that's part of the deal."

Carrying the programme is indeed part of the broadcaster's wider contract with the FAI for the coverage of football, including senior international games, which runs until 2013 and there appears to be no question that it could be cut before then.

On the question for the budget for next year, Killane says that the review is merely part of the general process currently under way at the station of identifying ways of cutting costs.

"Things are tight," he says, "and we have to look at how best to use the resources available but we're really happy with the quality of the show and we're certainly anxious that we don't do anything to compromise that."

The figures achieved by MNS are put into perspective by the numbers that tune in for English and European club football. Live Champions League coverage on the channel has been averaging some 269,000 so far this season and the World Cup qualifier between Ireland and Cyprus last month attracted an average figure of 517,000.

Televised League of Ireland and FAI Cup games have, inevitably, proven somewhat less popular with RTÉ's games producing mixed figures - from 44,000 for the Finn Harps-Sligo Rovers game up to the 103,000 for the FAI Cup final at the weekend.

RTÉ Radio's Friday night League of Ireland coverage is also under review, meanwhile, and seems likely to be axed for next season. "Nothing has been decided yet," insists Killane, "but long wave doesn't tend to deliver big audiences and again, we're looking at how to make best use of the available resources."

He said that if the programme is cut then some of the money would be diverted to alternative coverage of the league, either in the form of more updates into existing programmes on Friday nights or additional content during weekend sports shows.

25/11/2008, 10:10 AM
If they axe Friday Sportsnight I'm going round to RTÉ with a petrol tanker

25/11/2008, 10:14 AM
BTW I'd like to see MNS moved to 10pm. For plenty of weeks this year it clashed with live football. Also don't think the comparison with live CL games is fair. A far better indicator would be RTE's premiership highlights

25/11/2008, 10:35 AM
If they axe Friday Sportsnight I'm going round to RTÉ with a petrol tanker

I'll bring the matches.
Can't believe they'd consider axing that show.

The point has been made previously that when MNS moved to the late night timeslot for the Olympics it lost practically no viewers. I can't see it being on at 8pm next season, 10pm-11pm would be a fine timeslot for it, up against Questions and Answers and not clashing with any Monday night football be that in Ireland or the UK.

25/11/2008, 11:51 AM
Really enjoyed the show last night. I was watching it with a mate who only has a slight interest and our girlfriends and I think even they enjoyed it, .

That's it right there. That's the litmus test- it has to appeal to us, who talk about the league on foot.ie all day but also be entertaining and appealing to casual viewers. Even people who have no intention of going to a match that week, as long as it's being registered. Who knows, the might mention it at work and someone else might have seen it, or look out for one of the players they know next time there's a match on.

liked the way they weren't afraid to talk about the bad points (financial problems / examinership etc) and weren't afraid to say quite possibly the worst season for the league, i know they couldn't ignore it but they definitely weren't afraid of it.

+ 1.

Duggie
25/11/2008, 11:53 AM
as someone else said the monkey skit had me in stitches. brilliant come back to whoever sent in the stupid email.

25/11/2008, 12:07 PM
I agree Champions League is a unfair comparison. Premiership figure last week was 179k but I feel that is the higher end for RTE.

Figures for Live matches & MNS have been really poor this year no matter what excuses (last week at the same 8pm slot 500k people watched Eastenders on RTE 1) we make.

I feel we will be lucky if MNS is on before the Late Night RTE 2 News. 10pm would be a good slot but I feel RTE may not consider that off peak.

KevB76
25/11/2008, 12:29 PM
Great show, I hope its like that every week next year :D :D :D

KevB76
25/11/2008, 12:32 PM
I have a feeling the time slot might slip back a little next year, maybe to about 10, don't think that would be bad as long as it's no later than 10.

To be honest I think 10pm would be perfect. I often missed it due to working late, or would be trying to get dinner ready or whatever, all thats done by 10 so you can just relax and enjoy it.

25/11/2008, 12:39 PM
My understanding of the last contract signed between the FAI and RTE included a provision that a weekly highlights show was to be shown in a primetime slot. RTE offered a significant amount (I quoted in another thread a figure in the millions, can't remember exactly) NOT to have to show it, but the FAI stood their ground (and for that they deserve immense credit).

RTE is not a commercial broadcaster (whether it thinks it is or not is frankly immaterial), it collects a license fee ergo it has a public interest duty.

I'm not normally one of the "lets start a petition" crowd but the threat of MNS being axed or moved to a graveyard slot (which will inevitably result in a reduced budget and a regression toward a TV3-esque Wayne's Word production standard) COMBINED with Friday Sportsnight being axed is making my blood boil.

I defer to someone with more knowledge of the most appropriate recipient of a letter is (Minister of Sport?) but I really feel that we all need to get writing before the die is cast on this.

25/11/2008, 12:45 PM
The solution is clear and inspired by the title of the thread.

Every LOI game should have a monkey knife fight at half time.

Sure, some monkeys would die, but millions would be entertained.

25/11/2008, 1:09 PM
Is all this stuff still on the RTE website? I must check all that later!

sonofstan
25/11/2008, 1:25 PM
Last night was very funny - does anyone apart from me remember the Sunday Sports Show that RTE did back in the 70s? used to send up everything in a way that vastly amused my teenage self - not sure how funny it would seem now; still, as most of us know, half the fun of football is talking sh!te about it and taking the p!ss and a show that reflects that is worth having. Also can't imagine RTE's po-faced GAA/ Rugger shows having the self awareness to laugh at themselves like that.

25/11/2008, 1:27 PM
RTE is not a commercial broadcaster (whether it thinks it is or not is frankly immaterial), it collects a license fee ergo it has a public interest duty.

Such is the structure of RTE it is more or less impossible to determine what is commercial or public service.

DonO'Bate
25/11/2008, 2:57 PM
I have watched MNS mainly on line this season as it clashes with 5 a side soccer, so a move to 10pm would suit me better. Does anyone know the figures for the amount of people who watch it on line. I thought I heard the presenter say that the show receives thousands of e-mails, which other home produced show would get such feedback. Can't understand why they want to axe the Friday night radio show as I presume the production costs are relatively small in comparison to a TV show.

I was baffled by the selection of Joe Gamble and a washed up old pro like Glen Crowe on the MNS team of the season ahead of exciting young players like Jay O'Shea and Raf Cretaro.

inchicore_saint
25/11/2008, 3:09 PM
10pm would be perfect for me because I do computers on a Monday night so I have to tape it.I have to say I have been pleasantly surprised at how good MNS has been.

sonofstan
25/11/2008, 3:12 PM
I was baffled by the selection of Joe Gamble and a washed up old pro like Glen Crowe

Baffled by Gamble which did seem like reputation ahead of achievement this season, but Glen has been a revelation this year; no longer (just) a poacher, now a brilliant link-up man and one of the best passers of the ball we have; however, I grant this might not be apparent if you saw us two or three times this year, which makes me think Gamble too might have had a better season than his performances in the three games against us would suggest.

Its near impossible to really tell with players on other teams, unless they're clearly at or near their peak - Fahey this year, G O'C three years ago - and turning it on all the time; for example, I can't imagine fans of other clubs coming away from playing us and thinking 'that Stephen O'Donnell, what a player', but if you watch someone like that over a season, sheer dogged effectiveness and reliability begins to impress more and more. I would be willing to bet most Bohs fans would be happier to lose Brennan - who does seem to impress outsiders - than anyone of McGuinness, Burns or O'Donnell; not that he's a bad player, but he can be a passenger a lot of the time and we can play well without him; whereas the absence of McG for the Cup Final was seriously worrying most of us (not that Oman let anyone down as it happened)

CMcC
25/11/2008, 3:20 PM
I was baffled by the selection of Joe Gamble and a washed up old pro like Glen Crowe on the MNS team of the season ahead of exciting young players like Jay O'Shea and Raf Cretaro.

Anyone with half a football brain would not be baffled by Glen Crowe's inclusion.

misterk
25/11/2008, 3:28 PM
Crowe has been absolutely superb since about the 6th game of the season. Liam Burns should have been in that team. I'm sure I recall Gartland himself saying he was having a terrible time around their early European run, very surprised he was in it.

Duggie
25/11/2008, 3:47 PM
not everyone has to agree with crowe's inclusion. i wouldnt. as i said before farren and quigley would have got my vote.

forza rovers
25/11/2008, 4:33 PM
great show!cant wait for next year.

25/11/2008, 4:35 PM
Not sure about Crowe as he has low goal total for such dominant team & isn't he supposed to be the striker?

I presume Dave Mooney excluded as only played half the season. Even with our poor season would have easily got 25 goals if he played full fit season.

Gamble hasn't stood out for us this season (would not be in the running for POTS) but I suppose he got in team due to lack of obvious alternatives - bit like the way Heary got in some seasons.

25/11/2008, 4:53 PM
Just watched the show via the website - a good way to end the season

Have to say the montage at the end was superb - really good way to showcase the League

25/11/2008, 4:58 PM
Anyone with half a football brain would not be baffled by Glen Crowe's inclusion.Agree.

Not sure about Crowe as he has low goal total for such dominant team & isn't he supposed to be the striker?
Would be a relevant argument if Bohs hadn't walked the League.

Beckett played a very similar role for us, particularly late in his career. Didn't get many goals himself but had an unbelievable ability to hold the ball up, coupled with a great footballing brain which resulted in a bucketload of assists for others.

Its not written anywhere that a striker has to score a lot of goals to be successful if the rest of the team are scoring.

25/11/2008, 5:09 PM
I presume Noel Mooney excluded as only played half the season.More likely that he was excluded because he retired several years ago.

25/11/2008, 6:06 PM
10pm would be perfect for me because I do computers on a Monday night .

you sick b@stard! :D

25/11/2008, 6:09 PM
I do computers on a Monday night.

Thats how viruses get passed on.

25/11/2008, 6:13 PM
exciting young players like Jay O'Shea and Raf Cretaro.Raff is 27;)

25/11/2008, 6:26 PM
Basically I want to download the last edition of MNS and then convert it to be able to go onto the iPhone.

If anyone knows of software and/or a procedure to do this - I'd be most grateful thanks

sonofstan
25/11/2008, 6:29 PM
Basically I want to download the last edition of MNS and then convert it to be able to go onto the iPhone.

If anyone knows of software and/or a procedure to do this - I'd be most grateful thanks

I do computers on a Monday night

Inchicore Saint is clearly your man - just don't try to get him on a monday night, OK?

sligo23
25/11/2008, 7:19 PM
Anyone with half a football brain would not be baffled by Glen Crowe's inclusion.
yes but those of us with full brains are stunned:eek:

brianw82
25/11/2008, 7:36 PM
Only getting to comment on this now. I thought it was a great show. Had a non-stop grin on my face for the last half hour. Behind the scenes of 60 was great, Gartland should be given a job by RTE! Loved the montage at the end, especially the bits with Sadlier & T O'D (3 times!) and the 'I signed him' bits by Roddy. Super stuff altogether. I'm a bit sad though, 3 months with no LoI. Guess I'll have to resort to Dream Team re-runs, although they're not as dramatic!

brianw82
25/11/2008, 7:38 PM
yes but those of us with full brains are stunned:eek:

If you'd seen Crowe play a few times this year, as I have, you'd see a very intelligent striker. All aspects of his forward play are superb, except his goals ratio this season. Unfortunately, too many people are judging him on this alone.

25/11/2008, 7:41 PM
Crowe looks slightly overweight and has no pace, the same could be said of Jan Molby for most of his carrer at Liverpool. I think this has been Crowes best season in the last 3 years.

25/11/2008, 8:16 PM
In the behind the scenes of sixty bit whose the player claiming he was bitten by a shark???:D

25/11/2008, 8:19 PM
In the behind the scenes of sixty bit whose the player claiming he was bitten by a shark???:D

That be Mad Murdock McCracken Arrgghhhhhh me hearty.

25/11/2008, 8:19 PM
Such is the structure of RTE it is more or less impossible to determine what is commercial or public service.

Let me help you out there. When it's Gerry Ryan, Marian Finucane or (especially) Pat Kennys salary being discussed, then it's commercial business, and nothing to do with you, me, or any other licence payer. When it's time to bitch and moan to the Government that RTE are being shafted by the FAI and big bad moneybags broadcasters in relation to rights to Ireland matches then RTE is a totally selfess public service broadcaster providing an essential service to our "Sports Mad Public".

See, easy really. :)

WoodquayBoy
25/11/2008, 8:32 PM
And also, who was the bloke she met at the bus stop at the end?

25/11/2008, 9:19 PM
Ah great end of season show. Gartland was brilliant as usual. Nice dig at RTE's budget in the Sixty thing too. Shame I didnt catch it every week but well done to all involved.

25/11/2008, 9:27 PM
The Speed King of Sligo was bloody hilarious too!

25/11/2008, 9:30 PM
just finished watching the show - brilliant!! :D:D

sligo lads stole the show!! :D

25/11/2008, 10:29 PM
Keith Foy is actually my hero.

I couldn't stop laughing.

cheifo
25/11/2008, 10:44 PM
Brillant last show.Great fun.Montage at the end was my favourite bit.Music was well chosen.*Somebody mentioned to me that there was a report in the Irish Times saying it might be axed next year.Hope its not true or we will have to start a campaign like when they brought back Wispa.

*God dammit I really have to learn to read back through the threads before posting.

26/11/2008, 7:27 AM
been giving this some thought overnight - if anyone Sky+ ed the show and can transfer to a Dvd - could they PM me please?

sonofstan
26/11/2008, 8:27 AM
And also, who was the bloke she met at the bus stop at the end?

Stephen Rice wasn't it?

26/11/2008, 9:04 AM
been giving this some thought overnight - if anyone Sky+ ed the show and can transfer to a Dvd - could they PM me please?

It should be available on the RTE website

Edit: Actually it is ... Im watching it now

26/11/2008, 9:25 AM
Ash - the problem is trying to get the footage down and into a format which can be used on other devices - a DVD would allow this as it would be a standard video file - not some manky ivr file

26/11/2008, 9:27 AM
Ash - the problem is trying to get the footage down and into a format which can be used on other devices - a DVD would allow this as it would be a standard video file - not some manky ivr file

ah sorry, just thought you wanted to watch it.

BTW : Am I the only one who thinks yer wan Jacqui Hurley is minging?