View Full Version : Players coming in for 2009
Rovers Maniac
20/11/2008, 12:03 PM
Right lads how many players do we need? It will also be interesting who will be leaving.
What postions are we looking for?
Harps are relegated and Galway are cutting costs big time (budget 250k to 300k) we may get players from either of these always thought Lester and Russell were very decent.
20/11/2008, 12:09 PM
I reckon we'll have at least ten more games next year.....and we could have done with five more players this year so it should be interesting!
sligofan4ever
20/11/2008, 12:10 PM
Not only will it be interesting to see who goes but it will be interesting to see if we sign anyone from Drogheda. Is there any players wages we can afford who play for Drogheda ?
I wonder if any current/former Accrington players will be joining us :D.
Quote's from Rovers1 post:
Out:
Cash
Curran
Jennings
Judge
I'd actually like to see those two stay, Curran is young and altough his appearances have been limited, he's had his best season yet IMO. Cash can be good for getting and setting up goals, but I reckon he will be only a back-up if he does stay.
maybe 2/3 defenders(if Mauro stays)
According to an interview with Paul Cook Mauro,Boco and Cretaro are all signing new contracts, so hopefully this happens.
20/11/2008, 12:11 PM
IMO we need:
1 keeper (Jennings more than likely wont be kept on)
2 midfielders, although if we sign centre forwards, then Raf will probably go back to right wing
2 strikers.
Out:
Cash
Curran
Jennings
Judge
With the Setanta Cup (hopefully) and hopefully a decnt run in Europe we could have up to 55 games next year. We'll certainly need a squad of 18+ at least.
Rovers Maniac
20/11/2008, 12:15 PM
IMO we need:
1 keeper (Jennings more than likely wont be kept on)
2 midfielders, although if we sign centre forwards, then Raf will probably go back to right wing
2 strikers.
Out:
Cash
Curran
Jennings
Judge
With the Setanta Cup (hopefully) and hopefully a decnt run in Europe we could have up to 55 games next year. We'll certainly need a squad of 18+ at least.
We should hold on to Cash and Curran for certain, Judge was really poor this year and to be honest i can't see him being kept. I can't see us bringing in as many as 10 (Thats the comment of a Loo la ;):p)
Hopefully we can hold on to Mauro and hopefully on to Raf. We need to have 4 or 5 extra players compared to the end of season squad.
20/11/2008, 12:30 PM
I hope we do sign a few strikers , Raff done fantastic job up front in the last few weeks of the season but he's not really a striker , we need a real goal poacher type striker , preferably one with a bit of height
Only1Rovers
20/11/2008, 12:31 PM
I heard a rumour that there may be interest in Raf from Scotland.
There's also the Alan Cawley rumour.
What about Ciaran Foley....could do a job for us...he'll always give 100%
Rovers Maniac
20/11/2008, 12:34 PM
There's also the Alan Cawley rumour.
What about Ciaran Foley....could do a job for us...he'll always give 100%
Ciran Foley NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO :D
I heard a rumor myself Raf was off from a very good source :(
20/11/2008, 12:44 PM
I heard a rumor myself Raf was off from a very good source :(
Heard something about that too a couple of weeks ago, Hibs were supposedly interested.
But they wont be in Europe next year! :p:D
sligored
20/11/2008, 12:58 PM
i would get rid of feeney also as he has no pace
redobit
20/11/2008, 2:44 PM
i would get rid of feeney also as he has no pace
Did i hear somewhere that he was involved with the A team / U20 managment. Could be an additional reason to consider keeping him.
sligofan4ever
20/11/2008, 2:49 PM
Did i hear somewhere that he was involved with the A team / U20 managment. Could be an additional reason to consider keeping him.
He's the coach or the manager for the U-20's.
Inside Man
20/11/2008, 5:08 PM
Hope now Cook doesnt jump the gun to sign players. I'm sure he won't and will stick to his mentality for quality rather than quantity. We will have a hell of a lot more games next year considering we only had 3 cup matchs last year! and we are now in 4 cup comps, do the math.
Judge is defo gone.
He's gotton trials with Brighton. He has a few conections within the club thats how he got them, couldn't see him getting them any other way to be honest.
Main proirity is to keep the backbone of the team: Brush, Coleman, Peers, O'Grady, Raf, Boco. Build a team around them.
sligofan4ever
20/11/2008, 5:11 PM
Hope now Cook doesnt jump the gun to sign players. I'm sure he won't and will stick to his mentality for quality rather than quantity. We will have a hell of a lot more games next year considering we only had 3 cup matchs last year! and we are now in 4 cup comps, do the math.
Judge is defo gone.
He's gotton trials with Brighton. He has a few conections within the club thats how he got them, couldn't see him getting them any other way to be honest.
Main proirity is to keep the backbone of the team: Brush, Coleman, Peers, O'Grady, Raf, Boco. Build a team around them.
Source ?
Hopefully we can hold on to the players you named, and hopefully we can keep the same back 4 as this season (when Butler recovers).
Is there any left backs available Cook could try and sign in the meantime until he does come back ?
20/11/2008, 6:29 PM
We need a keeper as back up for Brushie, 2 covering defenders plus a replacement for Seamie (Presuming...), a midfielder or 2 and a big target man up front. All or most relatively proven in the Eircom League.
The rest of our team next year should be what we have at the minute plus u-20's coming up.
I would hate to see a lot of money being spent on unknown quantity's coming across from England or wherever...
20/11/2008, 10:18 PM
According to an interview with Paul Cook Mauro,Boco and Cretaro are all signing new contracts, so hopefully this happens.Where is this interview? Last time I spoke to Cook, he didn't sound too confident that Mauro would be back.
(Jennings more than likely wont be kept on)Breaking news:eek:
Out:
Cash
Curran
JudgeJudge is going. I'd keep Cash and Curran but then it's well known you don't like them so that's why you'd like to see them go:p
EDIT: Parkhouse to Rovers is more than just a rumour, Cook would like to sign him. He would need to get fit though.
sligofan4ever
20/11/2008, 10:33 PM
Where is this interview? Last time I spoke to Cook, he didn't sound too confident that Mauro would be back.Breaking news:eek:Judge is going. I'd keep Cash and Curran but then it's well known you don't like them so that's why you'd like to see them go:p
EDIT: Parkhouse to Rovers is more than just a rumour, Cook would like to sign him. He would need to get fit though.
In a short segment with Paul Lennon, he didn't say they were definetly signing contracts but he said Mauro,Boco and Cretaro should be signing new contracts. Hopefully we do hold onto Mauro, he's brilliant at the back and he seems to love it here.
20/11/2008, 10:39 PM
Aye, It's known that Cook admires Parkhouse a lot...
redrov2005
20/11/2008, 10:56 PM
I think Conor Gethins would be a much better buy than Parkhouse.
20/11/2008, 11:12 PM
I think Conor Gethins would be a much better buy than Parkhouse.Not a hope. In fairness to Parkhouse, he would add height to our strikeforce and if he got fit, would be alright, it's just a case of whether he'd get fit or not.
Gethins is just a small, poor striker.
20/11/2008, 11:13 PM
I reckon Parkhouse could do well for us...Good supply, good players around him....
srfc1928
20/11/2008, 11:34 PM
I think Conor Gethins would be a much better buy than Parkhouse.
gethins is contracted to harps next season.
Parkhouse is more the type of player we need
altough i dont know if hes the right one.
Afaik Sean Hargan will not be getting a new contract at Derry.
Would be a good signing for left back.
great exerperience in the league and europe
celticV3
21/11/2008, 2:04 AM
Honest to god i would take sean flannery back than gethins or parkhouse!!!!
dublinred
21/11/2008, 8:28 AM
Not a hope. In fairness to Parkhouse, he would add height to our strikeforce and if he got fit, would be alright, it's just a case of whether he'd get fit or not.
Gethins is just a small, poor striker.
Wath do you mean by if he got fit , is he injury prone or is it just a transition from Harps level of fitness to Cooks.
21/11/2008, 8:29 AM
He's a fat ****.
LondonRover
21/11/2008, 8:41 AM
That's definitely a rumour I've heard over here from family back in Tubber... :(
redrov2005
21/11/2008, 1:23 PM
Gethins got 17 goals for Harps when they won promotion. He got 6 this season while Parkhouse scored 7. Yep, you are right. He is a small useless striker and Parkhouse is the answer.
21/11/2008, 2:24 PM
Gethins got 17 goals for Harps when they won promotion. .
yes, but that was the 1st Division
right now i wouldnt touch Parkhouse, but, theres a chance Cook could turn him into decent player. He was very unfit looking this year, maybe a decent manager could get him fit and have him actually wanting to play for his club.
sligofan4ever
21/11/2008, 3:46 PM
I just seen this on St.Pats website.
http://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2757
Does anypne think we should try and sign any of them ?
21/11/2008, 3:59 PM
Doubt many would like to leave Dublin...Kirby and Paisley would be decent...
21/11/2008, 4:20 PM
Kirby will be based in Longford soon, he's marrying a local girl and they're building a house here so I'd say Sligo could interest him. Paisley would spend too much time in the stand though when he is fit he's a good player.
RedRebel32
21/11/2008, 7:07 PM
Kirby is a very good player,would be an addition.Surely drogs have one or two that may interest cookie also.
As usual cawley and martyn will be mentioned,would love to see them here.cawley in the pub last year insisted he had never had an offer from rovers before when asked would he come.
I think i'm one of the few people that think parkhouse could be successful here,he could be very handy for us especially with out forwards being so small.trouble is not really his fitness imo,hes generally lazy and it makes him look unfit!i think he would be a decent signing though,could be very good here.
real pity we didnt get farren before,does anyone know whats the craic with mchugh?god knows why sean connor didnt sign him when we had a chance,would love to see him in the showgies.
i honestly wouldnt take anyone of galway,sad reality but i dont think any of there players would get in our side apart from o'shea and hes off to england.
what do people think of the harps left full,also a handy wee player,is it holmes or something?chris butler come back quick though!
sligofan4ever
21/11/2008, 10:07 PM
Kirby is a very good player,would be an addition.Surely drogs have one or two that may interest cookie also.
As usual cawley and martyn will be mentioned,would love to see them here.cawley in the pub last year insisted he had never had an offer from rovers before when asked would he come.
I think i'm one of the few people that think parkhouse could be successful here,he could be very handy for us especially with out forwards being so small.trouble is not really his fitness imo,hes generally lazy and it makes him look unfit!i think he would be a decent signing though,could be very good here.
real pity we didnt get farren before,does anyone know whats the craic with mchugh?god knows why sean connor didnt sign him when we had a chance,would love to see him in the showgies.
i honestly wouldnt take anyone of galway,sad reality but i dont think any of there players would get in our side apart from o'shea and hes off to england.
what do people think of the harps left full,also a handy wee player,is it holmes or something?chris butler come back quick though!
Last I heard he's in talks with Linfield, would love to see him here, how often has he featured for Derry this season, had a very quiet season.
dublinred
21/11/2008, 10:34 PM
He's a fat ****.
After Foyzer I cant see Cook tolerating another one of these.
21/11/2008, 11:53 PM
would defenitly take Kirby and Paisley, maybe O'Neill too
Well Red
22/11/2008, 7:09 PM
The manager is probably doing the professional thing by just biding his time and he knows that there will be a host of good players becoming available as clubs announce their departures. Pats have just listed 9 of their squad that are on their bikes including some big names. IMO there will be dozens of quality players becoming available over the next weeks. Maybe I missed it but the biggest signing for next year will be Cook himself, have we any decent information on this other than a quote from one journalist. Cook is so good at all sides of management and is also a very likeable guy but obviously he is still at a very early stage of his career and he would be the first to admit that he has made the odd tactical error this season . Probably another year at Sligo would help his own career and there is no doubt he can look forward to a decent career in football.
Uncle Tupelo
23/11/2008, 12:52 PM
I'd love to get Adam Hughes back, i presume he'll be a free agent now. Couldn't be bothered with Faz but Hughes was brilliant for us. Alan Cawley would be a great signing, but cant see it happening, he's the best player Bray have by a mile.
The team Cookie has built this year is solid and it would just take the signing of a striker and one or two others to really kick it on. I presume Richie Ryan will be staying for next year. He's really improved after a shaky start.
RedRebel32
23/11/2008, 3:01 PM
I'd love to get Adam Hughes back, i presume he'll be a free agent now. Couldn't be bothered with Faz but Hughes was brilliant for us. Alan Cawley would be a great signing, but cant see it happening, he's the best player Bray have by a mile.
The team Cookie has built this year is solid and it would just take the signing of a striker and one or two others to really kick it on. I presume Richie Ryan will be staying for next year. He's really improved after a shaky start.
i agree on hughes though isnt he off to england?
alan cawley is very good though i think kavanagh is brays best player.indeed ryan looked the part,though we do need to strengthen there too
MMVIII
24/11/2008, 8:46 PM
A cousin of mine is a harps fan and him and his mates were talking to Hegarty and he said we offered Parkie 900 a week. Dont know how credible this is. Hope he's just trying to wind me up.
24/11/2008, 10:51 PM
i agree on hughes though isnt he off to england?
himself and Zayed are supposedly off to Korea to look for a new club.
They were over there 2 weeks ago. Zayed (at least) has been offered a couple of deals. He's unlikely to take them
Only1Rovers
27/11/2008, 10:37 AM
St Patrick's Athletic, meanwhile, have made an offer to Rafael Cretaro, but Sligo Rovers manager Paul Cook is confident that the winger will stay.
Sligo are understood to be close to signing former Derry City winger Owen Morrison and Finn Harps striker Stephen Parkhouse.
Taken from today's Indo.
Morrison has been round the block - he seems to leave clubs soon after joining with contracts being cancelled.
27/11/2008, 3:39 PM
Raf will no way go to Pats. Be very surprsied.
Morrison is a decent player all the same...
sligofan4ever
27/11/2008, 5:32 PM
Owen Morrison would be a very good sgning in my opinion. Him and Raff out the wings would be great and we still have other wingers as it is incase one gets injured (Doherty,Cash etc...) Only problem is Morrison has a bit of an attitude problem. I dn't see Raff signing for Pat's, He'll be vital to us in Europe and the setanta cup.
red_away
28/11/2008, 2:24 PM
If Pats trim their squad they still have a sugar daddy who whilst will not waste at the level that has been in the past will still back them and could offer a decent package to Raf!!
Although hopefully that fact that we will be in the same competitions and we are his home team will win the day!!!
Only1Rovers
29/11/2008, 1:07 PM
If Pats trim their squad they still have a sugar daddy who whilst will not waste at the level that has been in the past will still back them and could offer a decent package to Raf!!
Although hopefully that fact that we will be in the same competitions and we are his home team will win the day!!!
Well composed red_away
redobit
04/12/2008, 8:27 AM
This is potentially one of the most exciting seasons in Rovers history. As a Sligo man and a rovers fan I cant see Raf missing it. I hope.
Redie
04/12/2008, 10:11 AM
Have you been away. It has been announced for days now that Raf has signed for next season.
redobit
04/12/2008, 11:53 AM
Deadly
04/12/2008, 7:31 PM
Have you been away. It has been announced for days now that Raf has signed for next season.
Ive been away, although heard Raf has signed new deal, was this officially announced?