17/11/2008, 7:49 PM
Who was the best manager throughout the whole season of 2008
** No voting for your own manager **
Tis-smeee
17/11/2008, 7:50 PM
Jeff Kenna
CSFShels
17/11/2008, 7:50 PM
Should definitely be Paul Cook, not Pat Fenlon who will end up getting it.
17/11/2008, 7:53 PM
Should definitely be Paul Cook, not Pat Fenlon who will end up getting it.
I concur
Youths4Ever
17/11/2008, 7:54 PM
Jeff Kenna or Paul Cook torn between the two Kenna for the fact he got Roddy to admit he was wrong :D has to help his vote
17/11/2008, 7:57 PM
Paul Cook for me.
WoodquayBoy
17/11/2008, 7:58 PM
Why Paul Cook? Sligo only got to Europe because Cork were bold boys. Considerting he has won 1 cup, and is in the final of another, I voted for Stephen Kenny
Hibs4Ever
17/11/2008, 7:59 PM
Voted for Kenny. Best manager in the league by a long distance
17/11/2008, 8:02 PM
hedderman voted for Kenny as well :rolleyes:
CSFShels
17/11/2008, 8:02 PM
Why Paul Cook? Sligo only got to Europe because Cork were bold boys. Considerting he has won 1 cup, and is in the final of another, I voted for Stephen Kenny
They still did excellently.
17/11/2008, 8:13 PM
Sorry, I quite clearly jumped into the poll without reading the first post:o
Jeff Kenna get's my vote in that case...
It has to be Fenlon. Look objectively at it.
He brought in some quality and won the league(possible double) smashing the record points total with only the 4th highest budget.
Im not a fan of the man myself and overall I think Cooks a better manager but you have to look at the year and what he's achieved. Bohs have been incredible
17/11/2008, 8:29 PM
18 point winning margin and a shot at the proper Double obviously counts against people nowadays...
micls has it spot on tbh
17/11/2008, 8:31 PM
18 point winning margin and a shot at the proper Double obviously counts against people nowadays...
micls has it spot on tbh
Fenlon wouldn't have achieved what Cook achieved at Rovers or what Kenna achieved at Galway.
Ceirtlis
17/11/2008, 8:32 PM
How can people vote for Cooke over Fenlon? Bohs have been light years ahead of everybody this season with a similar budget to some of the other big sides so Fenlon wins hands down.
Fenlon wouldn't have achieved what Cook achieved at Rovers or what Kenna achieved at Galway.
And would either of the above have achieved what he did at Bohs? Highly doubt it.
The question isnt who's the best manager overall, it's manager of the year.
17/11/2008, 8:45 PM
Lads, who had the highest budget in the league this year? Drogheda?
pixiehead
17/11/2008, 8:47 PM
Give it to Cook!!!! And a box of strepsels too ;)
hedderman
17/11/2008, 8:52 PM
hedderman voted for Kenny as well :rolleyes:
:ooops...jumped straight in and voted before reading the first post. Kenny has done a very good job this season. If Bohs beat us in the cup final, I'd give it to Fenlon. If not, still think he's done an excellent job at Bohs this year.
It has to be Fenlon. Look objectively at it.
He brought in some quality and won the league(possible double) smashing the record points total with only the 4th highest budget.
Im not a fan of the man myself and overall I think Cooks a better manager but you have to look at the year and what he's achieved. Bohs have been incredible
thank you - finally some well thought out plaudits from an opposition fan for what Fenlon has achieved this season.
I will give my vote to Cook. Great job this year.
17/11/2008, 8:54 PM
apologies, i did the same.
Kenna for me
17/11/2008, 9:05 PM
Had to give it to Kenna. Look at where they were when he took over and look at the trouble the club were in.
Cook is a very close second for very similar reasons.
17/11/2008, 9:09 PM
Had to give it to Kenna. Look at where they were when he took over and look at the trouble the club were in.
Cook is a very close second for very similar reasons.
we werent in trouble when Cook took over :confused:
charliesboots
17/11/2008, 9:38 PM
As much as I hate to say it, it has to be Fenlon by a mile
17/11/2008, 9:49 PM
Taking away fans who voted for their own manager I make it
Fenlon - 8
Kenny - 2
Kenna - 12
Cook - 8
17/11/2008, 9:49 PM
Wouldn't pick anyone apart from Cook (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1059518&postcount=54)...so I spoiled my vote:p.
Paddyfield
17/11/2008, 10:23 PM
Cook had to offload players.
I voted for him. He is a great motivator and believes in his players. Fenlon and Kenny have these qualities too but neither would have got Sligo up to 4th place.
17/11/2008, 11:46 PM
Fenlon and Kenny have these qualities too but neither would have got Sligo up to 4th place.
i like how you and a few others base your vote on massive and impossible-to-prove assumptions such as above, and stated with such certainty... lol, its actually quite funny.
anyone who doesnt vote for Fenlon either doesnt have a clue or is just bitter. Look at the league table, look at our away record, look at our goals conceded record.
To suggest anyone else is simply laughable.
Trainee
18/11/2008, 12:00 AM
i like how you and a few others base your vote on massive and impossible-to-prove assumptions such as above, and stated with such certainty... lol, its actually quite funny.
anyone who doesnt vote for Fenlon either doesnt have a clue or is just bitter. Look at the league table, look at our away record, look at our goals conceded record.
To suggest anyone else is simply laughable.
With the money Bohs have and the squad of players 5-6 mangers could have won the league with bohs
18/11/2008, 12:10 AM
thats not really true... Connor couldnt win it with us last year with pretty much the same players.
We didnt have as much money as a few teams in the league, we only had the 4th highest budget ffs.
Fenlon has kept those players motivated and unstoppable from the start. Losing to Pats on matchday 2 was the only blip along the way to winning the league with a records points haul, by a record margin, probably the best defensive record ever, unbelievable away record. In my opinion, Fenlon is by streets the best manager in this league, one of the best the league has ever seen. And i dont even particularly like the little pr1ck.
But as for best manager this year, only Cook comes close, and he is a distant second to be fair.
roversforever
18/11/2008, 6:54 AM
I gave my vote to jeff kenna because you can't vote for your own manager but it would have been cookie for me. He makes his players believe they are the best and gets every drop of ability and effort out of them. Also has us playing great football. Ok bohs won the league and at the end of the day i suppose its a results business but their football wasn't exactly entertaining.
18/11/2008, 9:01 AM
1. Fenlon - Didn't spend that much, most of the players were there from Connor's time, look at the massive improvement of players like Fenn and Crowe on last season and Fenlon has to get credit for that. I was never a big fan of his but record points total and possible double has to win him manager of the year.
2. Kenna - Kept Galway up despite losing 6 or 7 senior players in mid season, having taken over when they were already rooted to the bottom. Not only did they survive but they survived by playing decent football. I think Galway will be challenging for top 4 next season if he can be kept on.
3. Cook - Sligo play some of the most open attacking football in the league, they work under a tight budget and they lost key players to Drogheda, despite this Cook has taken them into a European position. He's also made some excellent signings like Boco and Almeida who have added quality to the league.
I gave my vote to jeff kenna because you can't vote for your own manager but it would have been cookie for me. He makes his players believe they are the best and gets every drop of ability and effort out of them. Also has us playing great football. Ok bohs won the league and at the end of the day i suppose its a results business but their football wasn't exactly entertaining.
Dont buy into the hype (mainly coming from a certain R Collins) that Bohs are not entetaining. Thats just lazy. Its difficult to score the goals they have without playing good football. Look at the goals they scored against the big teams, Pats in Cup semi, Cork at the weekend, Drogheda away twice. They have played very good stuff especially in the 2nd half of the season. Yes they grind out some results too, but every team does throughout a long season.
For the record I'd vote for Kenna. His first gig, at the bottom when he took over, players released to free up cash and overall financial problems at the club. To keep them up and playing nice football too was a massive achievment. Well done Kenna.
18/11/2008, 9:16 AM
With the money Bohs have and the squad of players 5-6 mangers could have won the league with bohsGetting into the Christmas spirit early? ;)
You could just as easily say that anyone could have won the league with the money Drogheda, Cork and Pats were spending for most of the year. Bohs didn't just win the league, they won it by miles. If that's not enough for manager of the year, what is?
18/11/2008, 12:59 PM
2. Kenna - Kept Galway up despite losing 6 or 7 senior players in mid season, having taken over when they were already rooted to the bottom.
In fairness, those six or seven were rubbish players anyway who were only signed because they were willing to go full time. It helped his cause that the club had to get rid of them. The main question mark over Kenna is whether someone who's only been manager for half the season is eligible for Manager of the Year.
18/11/2008, 1:03 PM
Fenlon, for the reasons micls stated.
Can't stand him and I don't think he is the best manager in the league, but you have to acknowledge what he's achieved this season with a smaller budget than Pat's, Drogs and Cork City and a comparable one to Derry (allegedly).
18/11/2008, 1:07 PM
In fairness, those six or seven were rubbish players anyway who were only signed because they were willing to go full time. It helped his cause that the club had to get rid of them. The main question mark over Kenna is whether someone who's only been manager for half the season is eligible for Manager of the Year.
Deegan went to Bohs and was their best player in the second half of the season. I realise they weren't all that good, but to suggest that losing them was a benefit is a bit much. It might have helped galvanise the players that were left and improved team spirit, but that's about it.
Gary Deegan, Reggie Noitmeer, Wes Charles,Greg O'Halloran,Stephen O'Flynn and Derek O'Brien absolute rubbish Stu. You are some WUM.:rolleyes:
18/11/2008, 1:17 PM
Wes Charles was one of the worst players in the league. Nooitmeer was been given out about on the Galway forum as completely off form. Leech went too. All positives, as far as I can see. Maybe one or two good players had to go too, but overall, it was good business and helped the club.
Fenlon, for the reasons micls stated.
Can't stand him and I don't think he is the best manager in the league, but you have to acknowledge what he's achieved this season with a smaller budget than Pat's, Drogs and Cork City and a comparable one to Derry (allegedly).
Bohs budget was not less than Pats. Where did you get the idea it was from?
Anyway, Fenlon by several miles.
18/11/2008, 1:37 PM
Bohs budget was not less than Pats. Where did you get the idea it was from?
Anyway, Fenlon by several miles.
Wage bill/staff budget is what I meant. Don't know anything about their other costs.
The PFAI told me that directly. I wasn't given, nor did I ask for, figures, but the order I've put the clubs in is correct based on the information I was given. Alan Mathews, based on communication with the PFAI and the FAI, confirmed it separately in public.
WoodquayBoy
18/11/2008, 2:12 PM
Just looking at who voted for who - didn't the first post say you shouldn;t vote for the manager of your own club? That's why I voted for Kenny, though my biased vote would obviously go to Kenna given what he did in the circumstances he found himself in
i noticed that most of Kennys other votes came from Derry fans...
lol - good on ye lads.
18/11/2008, 2:26 PM
I voted grudgingly for Fenlon. You can't argue with 85/99 points over 9 months, 7 goals more scored than their nearest rivals and at a rate of 1.6 a game, and the best defensive record in the league by 11 goals. As much as they are rivals and as much as I dislike Fenlon, you absolutely cannot find fault with that and I think deep down everyone who voted otherwise knows that.
However, I think Eddie Gormely deserves an honourable mention. The fact that Bray have very quietly taken 6th despite being tipped at the start of the season as relegation candidates is testament to the good results they've had this year. I don't think there was any time they looked to be in any real danger and I think Gormley's got on with a tough job with few resources and done very well.
Also, who the hell voted for Hegarty? :eek:
WoodquayBoy
18/11/2008, 2:30 PM
Also, who the hell voted for Hegarty? :eek:
Sligoman. Says it all really
Tir Oilean
18/11/2008, 2:36 PM
Sorry, I quite clearly jumped into the poll without reading the first post:o
Jeff Kenna get's my vote in that case...
Same as that and I'll go with Paul Cook instead
18/11/2008, 2:37 PM
Sligoman. Says it all really
In fairness, he said it was a spoilt vote.
How can anyone truthfully say Fenlon shouldn't walk away with this is beyond me
WoodquayBoy
18/11/2008, 2:38 PM
In fairness, he said it was a spoilt vote.
That can be the only logical explanation
18/11/2008, 4:08 PM
my vote is for paul cook forget about cork city being docked points he still had to motivate them.. he had to sell three to four players cos of financial reasons and still they improved considerably over the last few weeks.. it was a pheonamonal achievement for him to qualify for europe...