View Full Version : Premier Manager of the Year 2008
18/11/2008, 4:12 PM
Paul Cook for me, but maybe I am influenced by the fact he gets a mention in Jamie Carragher's autobiography and the fact that he led to my brother having the 2nd best night of his life when he got to stay drinking into the early hours with the Liverpool legends.
Also has the best twinkle in his eye of all the managers.
Oh yeah and did a great job on the pitch too. :o
18/11/2008, 4:14 PM
Paul Cook for me, but maybe I am influenced by the fact he gets a mention in Jamie Carragher's autobiographyTurns out he's friends with some of the Pool players. I'm hoping he'll get a loan deal with Torres eventually:p.
18/11/2008, 4:15 PM
In 2029?
cestlavie
18/11/2008, 4:25 PM
Heggarty got a vote, get off the forum Paul.
gilberto_eire
18/11/2008, 4:31 PM
:ooops...jumped straight in and voted before reading the first post. Kenny has done a very good job this season. If Bohs beat us in the cup final, I'd give it to Fenlon. If not, still think he's done an excellent job at Bohs this year.
Same i voted for Kenna before reading the thread... in fairness though Jeff lost half his squad and took over us while we were bottom. Cook is a good mention but had Sligo not qualified for Europe would he even get a mention?, coupled that with Corks 10 point deduction. Fenlon aswell, not too sure, he had a MASSIVE budget, also got a steal from us due to our woes(Deegan). Considering a deduction helped Sligo i'd have to go for Fenlon, but i think Kenna has done the biggest feat
18/11/2008, 4:31 PM
Turns out he's friends with some of the Pool players. I'm hoping he'll get a loan deal with Torres eventually:p.
Eh heh, who informed you of this nugget of information some time back?? :D
Demoshield
18/11/2008, 4:38 PM
Who was the best manager throughout the whole season of 2008
** No voting for your own manager **
I know a lot of people talk sh1te on this forum about things that they know nothing about, but I honestly would have thought that at few of them would have know who manages the team they support!:confused::eek:;)
18/11/2008, 4:40 PM
Paul Cook by a mile!
18/11/2008, 5:15 PM
However, I think Eddie Gormely deserves an honourable mention.
Meh...I don't know.
We started the season terribly and we've had some horrible performances this year against the likes of UCD, Galway and Harps. We can do it against the "big boys" every now and again but we struggle for any kind of real consistency. 21 of our 39 points came at home to Derry and Drogs and beating Cobh three times (twice at home). There was also two awful performances in the cup quarter-final.
Also, Eddie has his favourites. He's forced out two top players (Franco and Duggan) over personal disagreements. Selecting Cawley as captain was another low point for him.
That said, we did equal our best season since returning to the Premier and we're up five points from last year.
He'd be nowhere near Kenna, Fenlon, Cook, McDonnell, Kenny or Matthews in my book.
we werent in trouble when Cook took over :confused:
I know...but there was trouble during the summer and he lost some of his players. Kuduzovic and Murphy were first-teamers, weren't they?
18/11/2008, 5:40 PM
Eh heh, who informed you of this nugget of information some time back?? :DNot you, you said it was his father he knew:p
18/11/2008, 7:44 PM
However, I think Eddie Gormely deserves an honourable mention. The fact that Bray have very quietly taken 6th despite being tipped at the start of the season as relegation candidates is testament to the good results they've had this year. I don't think there was any time they looked to be in any real danger and I think Gormley's got on with a tough job with few resources and done very well.
i was the sole one who voted for Gormley - just think that i had bray as definite to be relegated - and he kept them up easy enough
- of course Cook and Kenna were great too but............
18/11/2008, 8:05 PM
Taking away fans voting for their own manager it's now:
Fenlon - 24
Kenny - 4
Kenna - 22
Cook - 30
18/11/2008, 9:21 PM
Not you, you said it was his father he knew:pIn some parts of the country, knowing your father is impressive.
Candystripe
19/11/2008, 3:11 AM
Had to be Kenna, he took over when they already looked doomed even at that early stage.
He had to unload half the squad, got them playing atractive football,made two cup semi-finals and kept them in the premier. All with a small enough budget compared to other clubs.
Cooke would be a close 2nd.
edit edit ***************. oooooooooppps no more tit for tat.
Candystripe
19/11/2008, 3:23 AM
Fenlon, for the reasons micls stated.
Can't stand him and I don't think he is the best manager in the league, but you have to acknowledge what he's achieved this season with a smaller budget than Pat's, Drogs and Cork City and a comparable one to Derry (allegedly).
How is spending almost double Derry's budget classed as "comparable"? :eek:
BTW Connors had already assembled a team which was on a par money wise as Pats,Cork and almost Drogs.
Forget that last edit, couldn't let that post go after just reading it.
Rovers Maniac
19/11/2008, 6:07 AM
I can't stand these type polls when fans of one or two clubs vote for their own manager. I would normally go for Fenlon, his team won the league at a canter and he is in the cup final to boot, Kenna has also done an amazing job but i never actually thought Galway were gone for the simple reason what was around them was so bad. But i am going to go against the grain of what i usually like to do and go for Cook, i honestly think for him to do what he did is quite amazing. Fans of other clubs would probably be shocked but bar UCD, the team finished with what is rumored to be the lowest weekly wage bill in the league. God Give Drogs back their 10 points we would still finish above them and Cook having a 1/4 of the budget they had to work on shows what was acheived. In a year with what would have killed other clubs and teams he took us into Europe and qualified for the Setanta cup as well by managing to bring the players as a group closer together. One of the best we have ever had for sure, and has the team playing arguably the best footballl in the league.
19/11/2008, 7:45 AM
How is spending almost double Derry's budget classed as "comparable"? :eek:
Take it up with the PFAI and Alan Mathews, they're the ones who gave out that information, and I did add the word allegedly to it. I don't claim to know what the wage bill at any club was bar CCFC, I'd be surprised if a Derry fan knows what Bohs are paying any more than I do.
I'd heard a lot of the rumours about what individual players at Cork City were on last season, it was almost all hugely inflated based on rumours on sites like these, anyway, we're gone far off topic.
Neish
19/11/2008, 10:22 PM
Was stuck between Kenna & Cook, went for Cook in the end.
Who the hell voted for Heggarty? Higgsy and the Rigger must have acess to this site
WoodquayBoy
20/11/2008, 2:38 PM
bar UCD, the team finished with what is rumored to be the lowest weekly wage bill in the league.
And can you back that up? I would venture Bray had a smaller budget
20/11/2008, 3:12 PM
And can you back that up? I would venture Bray had a smaller budget
You misunderstand Foot.ie: If someone uses the word "rumoured" in their post it counts as a fact. :p
WoodquayBoy
20/11/2008, 3:56 PM
Ah, silly me
Latcheko
20/11/2008, 4:15 PM
Feck. Jumped in, didn't read first post. I voted for Kenna but I want to change it to Stephen Kenny. Feck.
sniffa
20/11/2008, 4:52 PM
Cook did well after the midseason scare but really wouldnt had qualified for Europe if Cork hadnt fecked up.
Fenlon had a massive budget but the squad of players that were already in situ cannot be accredited to him.
Jeff Kenna, for me, did the best houdini job with little or no resources.
CameramanConka
20/11/2008, 6:04 PM
I opened the poll and voted without reading the 'own manager' bit. :o
So, I'm now voting for Paul Hegarty - he gave me a couple of smokes up in the gantry when I was stuck one night. Oh and he got me a cuppa tae too.
Is there a poll where I can vote for Jacqui Hurley?
21/11/2008, 12:19 PM
I opened the poll and voted without reading the 'own manager' bit. :o
So, I'm now voting for Paul Hegarty - he gave me a couple of smokes up in the gantry when I was stuck one night. Oh and he got me a cuppa tae too.
Is there a poll where I can vote for Jacqui Hurley?
If you want you can take Higsy with you, free of charge of course.
Ok we will pay you.
Name your price.
Please?
Ill drive him there myself, ill just tell him im taking him to disneyland.
Ok we will add in a free cuppa tae at every home game.
Alright a chocolate digestive thrown in too.
CuanaD
21/11/2008, 8:02 PM
Well, the 3 who are getting most voe were the best 3 this year alright, but I have to say that Fenlon's record points haul (& being in the final on Sunday too I suppose) has GOT to swing it for him
but fair play to Kenna for keeping Galway up
& to Cook for making Sligo so enjoyable to watch (IMO)
CuanaD
21/11/2008, 8:07 PM
& I see Alan Mathews has been voting for himself on the MNS poll :rolleyes:
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/gotm.html
brianw82
21/11/2008, 8:21 PM
Voted for Fenlon. You can only beat what's put in front of you, and do the best with the resources you have. Bohs have clearly done that. Incredible consistency. To not concede any goals while playing with a right back and central midfielder as centre backs speaks volumes. The signing of Kalonas, while clearly showing he had the money, gave them a great game changer - witness his winner against Shams, or the 2nd goal in the league against Drogheda in September. He also never let the squad become complacent, and they kept going and going until they had it won.
If you want you can take Higsy with you, free of charge of course.
Ok we will pay you.
Name your price.
Buffet
Fixed for Conka;)
SMorgan
21/11/2008, 8:37 PM
No voting for your own manager my backside.
Click on the numbers and look at the names of the forum members that are voting for each manager.
22/11/2008, 1:11 AM
Fixed for Conka;)
buffet it is pleasure doing business with ye :cool: