17/11/2008, 6:16 PM
Should be fun :)

17/11/2008, 6:26 PM
Indeed. :)

17/11/2008, 6:31 PM
Did they have cameras at the Shels and Dundalk games?

17/11/2008, 6:37 PM
I didn't see one at Station Road myself but they said at the end of last weeks show that they would.

17/11/2008, 6:38 PM
I didn't see one at Station Road myself but they said at the end of last weeks show that they would.They also said that Cork will probably get Europe;)

17/11/2008, 7:07 PM
Were Galway fans singing you'll never walk alone during the UCD game?

Terry-Lander
17/11/2008, 7:10 PM
You'll never walk alone in Athlone, after dark.........

Nice to see Shoddy Collins admit he was wrong about the appointment of Jeff Kenna

17/11/2008, 7:15 PM
I assume Kenna was on about taking a week out to decide his future as well, not take a week out and get back to work as Collins assumed

17/11/2008, 7:16 PM
The round is done well to be fair as well.

17/11/2008, 7:17 PM
You'll never walk alone in Athlone, after dark.........
I've always preferred the version I first heard:
Sign on, sign on, with a pen in you hand,
'Cos you'll never work in Athlone,
You'll never work in Athlone.

17/11/2008, 7:21 PM
Christ the state of Finn Park pitch is a disgrace.

17/11/2008, 7:23 PM
Another cracker from Fahey I see.

Whats the word on him staying in the league? Not much chance I'd presume

17/11/2008, 7:24 PM
They're lashing through the premier division. Must be going to spend a good while on the promotion games.

WoodquayBoy
17/11/2008, 7:25 PM
I've always preferred the version I first heard:
Sign on, sign on, with a pen in you hand,
'Cos you'll never work in Athlone,
You'll never work in Athlone.
And you'll get to sing it to them to your hearts content next season!

17/11/2008, 7:27 PM
They're lashing through the premier division. Must be going to spend a good while on the promotion games.

A lot of Dundalk goals to get through! :D

Maroon 7
17/11/2008, 7:27 PM
I assume Kenna was on about taking a week out to decide his future as well, not take a week out and get back to work as Collins assumed

Well he says he has no intention of leaving but obviously if some club in England come in for him he'd find it difficult to turn it down.

17/11/2008, 7:30 PM
Robbed it at the end, **** off Brennan you **** we were more than a match for ye

Keely has nothing to say for once :D:D

17/11/2008, 7:31 PM
Damien Brennan somewhat surprised at Limerick's refusal to just roll and over die for Shels.:D

17/11/2008, 7:36 PM
"Is it awwwwver yet?" :D

Hibs4Ever
17/11/2008, 7:36 PM
Damien Brennan somewhat surprised at Limerick's refusal to just roll and over die for Shels.:D

He was pathetic in that interview

baddebt
17/11/2008, 7:38 PM
Robbed it at the end, **** off Brennan you **** we were more than a match for ye

Keely has nothing to say for once :D:D

Lets all laugh at Brennan , lets all laugh at Brennan La la la la:p

17/11/2008, 7:42 PM

Quality.

"I think Limerick came to play the last game of the season, to play 451.. I don't know what their point was.."

baddebt
17/11/2008, 7:51 PM
it was just a typical comment from a Dub team, they have an air of arrogance about them, and yeah expected Limerick to just let shels roll them over

Hibs4Ever
17/11/2008, 7:56 PM
it was just a typical comment from a Dub team

Grow up :rolleyes:

17/11/2008, 8:09 PM
Straight from the Stuey Byrne shool of gracious post match interviews. You could tell he was gutted but he wasn't doing himself any favours.

GalwayRed
17/11/2008, 8:20 PM
so who was the limeick fan who fell onto the pitch?:o
pretty poor coverage of the promotion race really and i think the reporter reffered to bisto as Anto Murphy:( get the name right at least.

LK37oldskool
17/11/2008, 8:33 PM
What is it with these dubs.At least we made an effort,unlike some of the Dublin based players who prefer to lay odds on themselves losing.
Brennan FYI.... we turned up to prevent you from getting promoted.
Shels are the Leeds of Ireland!

GalwayRed
17/11/2008, 8:49 PM
What is it with these dubs.At least we made an effort,unlike some of the Dublin based players who prefer to lay odds on themselves losing.
Brennan FYI.... we turned up to prevent you from getting promoted.
Shels are the Leeds of Ireland!
In fairness most Shels fans accept that limerick were obviously going to come out looking for a win but these were comments made half an hour after losing a league title so i wouldnt get to annoyed about them. Limerick are a credit for the efforts they put in this season and their efforts against us and dundalk in the last few weeks.
But if we are the Leeds United of the irish league......who are limerick?

LK37oldskool
17/11/2008, 8:55 PM
Meaning? Nobody hates us like they hate ye.I've come across very little sympathy for ye.
Have to say really lookin forward to our first match with ye next season!

geezer
17/11/2008, 8:58 PM
It seemed to miss the very important essence of what it meant to people, Dermot Ahern dancing with joy like a schoolboy in the dressing room, The Galway fans rendition of are you watching Tony Cousins. The joy on the limerick supporters faces for whatever reason. LOI fans are a crazy bunch but Rte seem always to copy BBC match of the Day style and its players,players,players on a perch far above the ould fan, one is no good without the other. You tube gives a way better feel for what it meant to people and them films are taken by camcorders and mobiles by joe the plumber. That ****e of showing player award nonsense and glossing over the excitement of the weekend. Of course the excited people were buffers from Galway,Dundalk and Limerick so it doesnt matter to those in rte they think pat kenny,ryan tubridy and jim jim are exciting with their diluted from nowhere accents.

LK37oldskool
17/11/2008, 9:07 PM
Well done Geezer,Good post.MNs has no soul.even when they show highlights there's this crap music that drowns out the backgound noise of the supporters.It really does very little to promote the game to the casual follower.They should have a section that takes a club profile every week from all divisions.

oriel
17/11/2008, 9:12 PM
Brennan was pathetic in that interview, arrogant and totally disrespectful to Limerick. Not just for last Sat night, but a point I made weeks ago was Limerick were certainly the most improved side in the country since August.

MNS needs a total revamp imo for next year. Its gone stale and a bit boring to be honest.

17/11/2008, 9:27 PM
MNS needs a total revamp imo for next year. Its gone stale and a bit boring to be honest.

Nah, its more to do with all the bad news this year and the end of the year was a bit of a let down. I thought the first div battle and Galway Harps thing was the only interesting thing towards the end of the season.

I think we actually need another hour magazine programme type thing, maybe on TV3 to discuss the league and its future and potential. Maybe we need more podcasts to appear on the scene.

McLovin
17/11/2008, 9:29 PM
Yeah Brennan seemed a bit pathetic.Really wanted shels to keep the scum down in the graveyard for another year or two.Maxi shouldnt be anywhere near a prem div ground

17/11/2008, 9:58 PM
Limerick fan...fell or pushed? Looked like he landed straight on his face too:D

17/11/2008, 10:01 PM
Damien Brennan is an amateur midget.

I'm delighted there's no players like that collecting a wage at my club.

17/11/2008, 10:02 PM
Limerick fan...fell or pushed? Looked like he landed straight on his face too

He was pushed.

Feud Related. ;) :p :eek:

sonofstan
17/11/2008, 10:33 PM
He was pushed.

Feud Related. ;) :p :eek:

Match report by Paul Reynolds to follow....

...... well- known Limerick gangland figures stage daring execution of North Dublin gang, once notorious, but no longer regarded as being significant players.... blah, sh!te....semi- automatic weapons, fly goalie, tragic irony, senior Garda figure (see picture)....

gufcfan
17/11/2008, 11:05 PM
Yes, it looked like a Raiders of the Lost Archive clip from a Junior game in the 60's.

Absolutely shocking.

17/11/2008, 11:14 PM
I know im being biased, but the best game of the weekend was shels and Limerick. Total tension and end to end football with great saves and two (sadly for mr brennan) committed teams. What did we get? about 25 secs worth. Thats 50 secs on rte for the last 16 years. And to show how exciting they found the first division they showed a kid falling onto the pitch twice as it was much better then the game? repeat of goals? pitch invasion by scum?

I thought naming the wrong goalkeeper over and over again in the Derry Cobh game was up there in the Paddy Power knowledge of the league.

WoodquayBoy
17/11/2008, 11:27 PM
Shocking the way they raced through the defining weekend for the whole league, as in final 2 relegation slots, and promotion slot, all decided over the weekend.
given all that happened, cpould they noy hsve pushed it out and done a 90 min programme?
No real reactioin from Dundalk and UNited fans celebrating, nor the disappointment of Harps and Shels fans. Pretty poor show given what was at stake over the weekend. Mind you, that Jacqui Hurley bird gets better looking every week, she is ageing well God bless her!!
As for Brennan's moans, what a moron - what did he expect, professional players to just travel up and roll over 'cause Shels expected to win the league. Even more delighted now for the plastics after watching that

CSFShels
17/11/2008, 11:29 PM
To be fair, if it was an hour or so later, I'm sure Brennan would have been completely different. The shock of what happened took its toll. Hes a sound man.

Blue-Army
17/11/2008, 11:51 PM
Maybe we need more podcasts to appear on the scene.
I didn't think we had any?

roversforever
18/11/2008, 7:10 AM
To be fair I think the criticism of MNS is a bit harsh. I agree it wasn't great in terms of covering the final weekend of the season but overall I think its been a decent show and a hell of a step up from the muck that used to be on tv3. It's the first season of it so you can't expect it to be perfect and hopefully they'll learn from their mistakes and it'll come back better next season.

GenerationXI
18/11/2008, 8:12 AM

Totally unbelievable. It made one of the goals too.

Lets all laugh at Brennan , lets all laugh at Brennan La la la la:p

You're a long long long way from Huddersfield now Brennan you peasant.

But if we are the Leeds United of the irish league......who are limerick?

Millwall? I think to be honest Limerick people accepted years ago that no one really likes us very much and while the rugby crowd still like to think that's changing because of Munster, we're smart enough to revel in it. We celebrated that because the Limerick man enjoys Schadenfreude more than anything else. To be there to hear so many hearts break in unison was glorious and I, for one, would do it every week if I could.

Also, Shels are very much the team to hate in the division because they presume they're better than it. Frankly, we've beaten everyone in the league this year bar Sporting Fingal, and we've been hammered by teams too. If anything will have shown Shels that they are a first division side then it's this. I mean, how badly did they really want it? It was theirs for the taking if they'd just tried.

Well done Geezer,Good post.MNs has no soul.even when they show highlights there's this crap music that drowns out the backgound noise of the supporters.It really does very little to promote the game to the casual follower.They should have a section that takes a club profile every week from all divisions.

Couldn't agree more. Even if they lost the 'lost archive' and '60seconds' and gave ten minutes to a club profile or the best First Division match or whatever.

Delighted I wore Bright Orange too. I was eminently conspicous on the Telly!!! :o

paulie_walnuts
18/11/2008, 8:14 AM
Jacqui Hurley is a man.

Very disappointed, but not surprised at the lack of decent coverage of the promotion battle.

Also, if I was a Drogs fan (are there any left?), I'd be absolutely raging at hearing my manager say 'the last 3 games didn't matter'. Cork got on with their season when they fell into examinership. Whats makes Doolin and his players so much beter than losing 10 points and having nothing much but that thing called pride to play for that 3 games 'don't matter'. I've never liked him, but for that comment I have no time for the man now.

Also, Finn Park. People complain about Oriel Park, Colm Foley most notably last night. Oriel Parks pitch would never gift a team a goal. The ball won't stick. Players won't get lost in mud baths. It is not an advantage to Dundalk. We lost 4 games in Oriel Park this season. Give over. I can't wait to beat one of the big boys at home next season, roll on the pitch excuses.

oriel
18/11/2008, 8:23 AM
I simply couldnt believe collins couldnt be axxed going to the shels v lim`k game (knowing he was going to be paid to talk about it) and he lives 5 mins away - 'i was getting texts from me daughter' arrogant prrkk

also he made sure he didnt give dlk any praise, only mentioning gill

and he gets paid for all of this

ps dundalk`s pitch is not astro turf, its a syntethic surface - i woudl personally prefer grass, but i have played on it and its a perfect surface - suits a passing game

baddebt
18/11/2008, 8:25 AM
roversforever, i agree with you MNS is a decent show, if we are looking for a bigger LoI audience it is a good start. They will surely learn from the first season, and hopefully next season will be way better. I still think there should be a camera at the top 1st Div game every week.

GenerationXI
18/11/2008, 8:31 AM
Also, Finn Park. People complain about Oriel Park, Colm Foley most notably last night. Oriel Parks pitch would never gift a team a goal. The ball won't stick. Players won't get lost in mud baths. It is not an advantage to Dundalk. We lost 4 games in Oriel Park this season. Give over. I can't wait to beat one of the big boys at home next season, roll on the pitch excuses.

I don't think that pitch makes a difference. It's basically a perfect playing surface that stays absolutely perfect becuase it's not subject to the elements in the same way as an organic pitch is. We're just so used to Mudbaths like Finn Park in this league that when the ball bounces we think witchcraft is at play. Limerick went to Oriel and beat them one-nil in a game that pretty much would have secured them the title. Didn't hear anyone talking about the pitch after that. :rolleyes:

18/11/2008, 8:36 AM
I know im being biased, but the best game of the weekend was shels and Limerick. Total tension and end to end football with great saves and two (sadly for mr brennan) committed teams. What did we get? about 25 secs worth. Thats 50 secs on rte for the last 16 years. And to show how exciting they found the first division they showed a kid falling onto the pitch twice as it was much better then the game? repeat of goals? pitch invasion by scum?

Forgetting the result, that was one of the worst footballing spectacles I've ever seen. Both sides couldn't string 4 or 5 passes together.