View Full Version : MNS Tonight 17/11
GenerationXI
18/11/2008, 8:39 AM
Forgetting the result, that was one of the worst footballing spectacles I've ever seen. Both sides couldn't string 4 or 5 passes together.
The first forty-five minutes were rubbish. But after the break, when it was clear that Mike had told the lads to go out and get a result, it came alive.
Mind you, that Jacqui Hurley bird gets better looking every week, she is ageing well God bless her!!Never thought too much of her until I saw her one Friday afternon on one of the Afternoon Shows on RTE dolled up to the nines and she scrubbed up quite well.
Had to do a double take, almost unrecognisable.
paulie_walnuts
18/11/2008, 9:15 AM
I don't think that pitch makes a difference. It's basically a perfect playing surface that stays absolutely perfect becuase it's not subject to the elements in the same way as an organic pitch is. We're just so used to Mudbaths like Finn Park in this league that when the ball bounces we think witchcraft is at play. Limerick went to Oriel and beat them one-nil in a game that pretty much would have secured them the title. Didn't hear anyone talking about the pitch after that. :rolleyes:
Exactly. Its people crying if they don't get their way. Fear of the unknown, whatever else you want to call it. Limerick came to Oriel twice, played fine football and deservedly won both times. I believe Gareth Cronin had a moan about the pitch when Waterford lost on it. As long as the pitch is there, its going to be used as an excuse. Unless a team wins of course.
baddebt
18/11/2008, 9:16 AM
i got this striaght off the MNS website:
From Con Murphy.
When the lads got to studio it was pretty much straight down to business. Chat time was tight because we had so much footage to show from the various games, and I received a couple of emails after the programme accusing myself and Colm Foley of Dublin bias because we questioned whether Dundalk's artificial pitch would be passed by the licensing committee for next season's Premier Division.
Apparently because we're both from Dublin we are sick that Shels didn't get promoted. Two words. The first is Bull and the second begins with S. I was delighted for John Gill and Dundalk to get back to the Premier Division. I've had many great nights at Oriel Park, and for someone to think that either I, or Colm, would support Shels because we come from Dublin is nonsense.
http://dynamic.rte.ie/0001dc44-150.jpgThe footage from Station Road at the full-time whistle was great because you could see that the Dundalk players were dejected despite their big win and then word obviously filtered through and bedlam broke out. By contrast, the Shels players were absolutely stunned and as Dave Barry said, it's the beauty of the game in a way, that an entire season can turn on the kick of a ball. It must be said that Limerick deserve a lot of credit for giving it a go at Tolka Park, and Dundalk should send a few crates of McArdles to Shannonside soon.
GenerationXI
18/11/2008, 9:23 AM
Dundalk should send a few crates of McArdles to Shannonside soon.
Or build us a new ground or whatever. :p
paulie_walnuts
18/11/2008, 9:25 AM
How about a few slabs of Harp, its nicer :D
18/11/2008, 9:26 AM
Very disappointing that they only showed a couple of minutes of the promotion games and filled up nearly the whole second half of the show with an awards ceremony and chatting.
paulie_walnuts
18/11/2008, 9:32 AM
An awards ceremony indeed but they failed to acknowledge the First Division Player of the Year.
I hate to think they will ignore the first division next season, because it wil be very, very competitive.
18/11/2008, 9:45 AM
I hate to sound like an RTÉ match commentator, but who is Jim Jim?
WindmillWarrior
18/11/2008, 9:49 AM
Also, if I was a Drogs fan (are there any left?), I'd be absolutely raging at hearing my manager say 'the last 3 games didn't matter'. Cork got on with their season when they fell into examinership. Whats makes Doolin and his players so much beter than losing 10 points and having nothing much but that thing called pride to play for that 3 games 'don't matter'. I've never liked him, but for that comment I have no time for the man now.
Well said.
18/11/2008, 9:58 AM
Mind you, that Jacqui Hurley bird gets better looking every week, she is ageing well God bless her!!
She's 25ish, give her a few years yet. :D
Millwall? I think to be honest Limerick people accepted years ago that no one really likes us very much and while the rugby crowd still like to think that's changing because of Munster, we're smart enough to revel in it.
Revel? Speak for yourself. By virtue of having the longest unbroken run in the first division we're of little relevance to anybody other than other small clubs like Shels. :) Obviously there's a bit of rivalry with certain clubs (2 or 3 tops I'd say) but most are either wholly indifferent to us or there's weird cases like Sligo where there seems to be an unspoken link of some description (I expect Monkfish's efforts to cement Limerick-Dundalk relations will be an easier task after the weekend).
18/11/2008, 10:12 AM
We celebrated that because the Limerick man enjoys Schadenfreude more than anything else. To be there to hear so many hearts break in unison was glorious and I, for one, would do it every week if I could.
Thats almost poetic, fair play man, i like it
I'd be absolutely raging at hearing my manager say 'the last 3 games didn't matter'. Cork got on with their season when they fell into examinership. Whats makes Doolin and his players so much beter than losing 10 points and having nothing much but that thing called pride to play for that 3 games 'don't matter'. I've never liked him, but for that comment I have no time for the man now.
Has the guy just scuppered any chance of getting a job again in Irish Football? He's up there with Roddy for throwing the towel in now.
Exactly. Its people crying if they don't get their way. Fear of the unknown, whatever else you want to call it. Limerick came to Oriel twice, played fine football and deservedly won both times. I believe Gareth Cronin had a moan about the pitch when Waterford lost on it. As long as the pitch is there, its going to be used as an excuse. Unless a team wins of course.
That is it in a nutshell right there.
jinxy lilywhite
18/11/2008, 10:23 AM
I have to say I was dissappointed with the coverage of the 1st division promotion race. Then the comments afterwards enraged. We never get credit for winning anything. It's always that someone slipped up. If shels had of won they would of said "great to see them back". They wouldn't of said "sure they got there because dundalk slipped out".
the dublin media do believe that if their teams don't win then they'll focus on why they didn't win. And its not only us. Last season I think the drogs got half a page (Bohs got on average a 2 page spread), if derry beat bohs (which I hope they do) a page will be dedicated to gutted bohs where at losing the double and derry will only get a paragraph.
18/11/2008, 11:10 AM
agree, i found all season the first divison previews in the papers where more an account of Shels journey to winning the title than previews of any other matches. Rarely a write up of other games. The only Limerick matches that they covered where the ones vs Shels, every other match was just a mention of Kickoff time at the end of the paragraph. As gill said himself, no one has the right to be in the premier or the right to win the title. I know not all Shels thought they had the right to be in the premier and that they are above the first divsion but lots did think this way.
Also back on topic i was very dissapointed with the coverage of the promotion race. only showed the goals and not even decent footage of Dundalk fans on the pitch singing etc......
18/11/2008, 11:12 AM
The only Limerick matches that they covered where the ones vs Shels, every other match was just a mention of Kickoff time at the end of the paragraph.
I heard midseason that Limerick don't send out team news which is the main reason for that.
WoodquayBoy
18/11/2008, 12:38 PM
I heard midseason that Limerick don't send out team news which is the main reason for that.
And could the journos not get off their backsides and make a phonecall to get the team news? Pathetic excuse
18/11/2008, 12:40 PM
Has the guy just scuppered any chance of getting a job again in Irish Football? He's up there with Roddy for throwing the towel in now.
Haven't seen it yet, but from the sounds of it, I'd say he's just getting his excuses in for a poor season. Did it with us too - all of a sudden, he couldn't buy any players (though he could, and they were almost all rubbish) and everyone was leaving at the end of each season (not true) and blah blah blah. He's a useless whinebag. Though on the Drogs forum, some reckon he'd have a good chance at the vacant Swindon Town job. :p
18/11/2008, 2:45 PM
And could the journos not get off their backsides and make a phonecall to get the team news? Pathetic excuse
No, they won't. It's poor media relations not to put out a press release with those details. Every club should be doing it.
18/11/2008, 4:16 PM
Watched it online in work a while ago. The coverage they gave to the graveyard division was pitiful, thankfully.
18/11/2008, 4:31 PM
Anthony Fennelly was in goal for Ramblers not James McCarthy as Kevin Egan insisted.
18/11/2008, 4:48 PM
If a club doesn't put out team news, it has no right to complain when it's left out.
18/11/2008, 4:52 PM
Its more a case of the national media not seeking information prior to going to print. Local and national media are sent weekly news bullitins and texts (till the fai sponsored texts ran out) regarding the club. The club PRO has done a fantastic job this year. How come aertel always have (when they have space for it) news while the papers dont have any? they just aint interested in none prem teams is the answer, unless its a doom and gloom story
19/11/2008, 3:25 PM
Its more a case of the national media not seeking information prior to going to print.
Nonsense. Why should they? E-mail the relevant journalists and publications team news a couple of days before the game and our 1 line preview in The Star will become a 2-3 line preview just like almost everybody else. Limerick team news is of interest to a tiny, tiny portion of any market. If the club want that information out there it's up to them to provide it. The vast majority of first division clubs get it right.
L37Ultra
19/11/2008, 3:29 PM
Nonsense. Why should they? E-mail the relevant journalists and publications team news a couple of days before the game and our 1 line preview in The Star will become a 2-3 line preview just like almost everybody else. Limerick team news is of interest to a tiny, tiny portion of any market. If the club want that information out there it's up to them to provide it.
The club does provide team news and club updates before all games. I get them by e-mail. I even have the list of newspapers that get the team news and often they don't bother writing anything about the game in the paper.
19/11/2008, 3:32 PM
The club does provide team news and club updates before all games. I get them by e-mail. I even have the list of newspapers that get the team news and often they don't bother writing anything about the game in the paper.
Then are you suggesting that it's part of some wider anti-Limerick conspiracy? :rolleyes: What are we doing differently to the other clubs? Would it be so difficult to contact said media and ask what we need to do to have our team news afforded the same coverage as the Kildares and Monaghans of this world?
19/11/2008, 3:42 PM
AFAIK its part of the participation agreement that all clubs must have team news out to the media before 12 on the day before a game.
Our Media Officer sends out a basic preview, list of suspensions and injuries, last 5 results and next 5 games as well as some quotes from the manager. Usually, even though we send a good A4 size preview, they do the same amount on us as most of the first division. The press have to pick the best bits but can only do that if they have the information.
Battery Rover
19/11/2008, 4:07 PM
I do the same as above.
Last season of it for me. Will be taking the big step up to club secretary after the AGM if people want me back
CameramanConka
19/11/2008, 4:09 PM
Jacqui Hurley is a man.
Jacqui's absolutely gorgeous. :o
Youths4Ever
19/11/2008, 4:42 PM
AFAIK its part of the participation agreement that all clubs must have team news out to the media before 12 on the day before a game.
Our Media Officer sends out a basic preview, list of suspensions and injuries, last 5 results and next 5 games as well as some quotes from the manager. Usually, even though we send a good A4 size preview, they do the same amount on us as most of the first division. The press have to pick the best bits but can only do that if they have the information.
Our Media Offices does something similar also writes a few articles for the website through out the year last one he did was very good IMO and i know very biased before anybody says anything http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/brightenup.html
19/11/2008, 5:44 PM
Revel? Speak for yourself. By virtue of having the longest unbroken run in the first division we're of little relevance to anybody other than other small clubs like Shels. :) Obviously there's a bit of rivalry with certain clubs (2 or 3 tops I'd say) but most are either wholly indifferent to us or there's weird cases like Sligo where there seems to be an unspoken link of some description (I expect Monkfish's efforts to cement Limerick-Dundalk relations will be an easier task after the weekend).
Well said sir.
Limerick are Newport County if we're honest.
I think the whole Sligo thing, in so much as it exists, goes back to when they won the First Division. We had some absolutely fantastic games against them that year, the game they won 2-1 against us in Rathbane was a classic.
Also Jaqui Hurley is pointier than a big bag of pointy nails.
19/11/2008, 5:47 PM
She certainly seems to make a lot of people on here a little pointier anyway.
19/11/2008, 9:50 PM
Jacqui's absolutely gorgeous.
I think she is a looker as well, definitely got something going on, and she seems sound as well to be fair.
http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001ade70cdr.jpg
19/11/2008, 9:53 PM
I think she is a looker as well, definitely got something going on, and she seems sound as well to be fair.
http://dynimg.rte.ie/0001ade70cdr.jpg
Couple of years behind me in college, she is a sound girl.
19/11/2008, 9:56 PM
Got that strange lopsided thing a lot of Irish girls have going on. Someone needs to sort out the assymetrical face gene in their DNA. Foreign girls all the way. :cool:
Monkfish
19/11/2008, 10:08 PM
Cardiff City id say. 2nd tier league, in a rugby city, run down ground, playing in blue with a couple of dodgy ex-owners, :)
19/11/2008, 10:53 PM
Got that strange lopsided thing a lot of Irish girls have going on. Someone needs to sort out the assymetrical face gene in their DNA. Foreign girls all the way. :cool:
She's at an angle to the camera, doofus. ;)
brianw82
19/11/2008, 11:29 PM
Enjoyed MNS this week. Sure, they did pack the games into the first half of the show, but I really liked the cup final build up, especially the Derry player's assessments of his team-mates. "Gareth McGlynn, typical Donegal man, never puts his hands in his pockets" I was laughing at that one.
GenerationXI
20/11/2008, 10:23 AM
Jacqui's absolutely gorgeous. :o
Sorry CameramanConka:
FROM AN INTERVIEW IN THE RTE GUIDE:
Who is the greatest love of your life?
My boyfriend, Shane; soul-mates!
Well said sir.
Firstly, don't encourage him. Secondly, I meant Millwall in terms of dislikeable fans who are proud of their dislikeability and not the scale of the club, if I did mean the scale of the club I'd be looking at Cwmamman Utd. in the Welsh Third Tier. You know that I have no illusions about the scale of our club.
I just do not understand this Jacqui Hurley fetish either. Far too big and lumpy for me. She looks like a female bouncer.
She certainly seems to make a lot of people on here a little pointier anyway.
20/11/2008, 2:13 PM
Secondly, I meant Millwall in terms of dislikeable fans who are proud of their dislikeability
That's the part I disagreed with. :)
Anthony Fennelly was in goal for Ramblers not James McCarthy as Kevin Egan insisted.McCarthy can't have been happy to have been mistaken for Fennelly, he was atrocious. Surely theres better keepers in the MSL?
22/11/2008, 7:26 PM
Surely theres better keepers in the MSL?
There are better keepers who watch the MSL never mind play in the MSL!