View Full Version : Dundalk or Shelbourne
13/11/2008, 10:24 PM
Going for Dundalk, just feel they have be hard done by over the years and their fans have been through some big let downs in recent seasons.
GalwayRed
13/11/2008, 10:33 PM
Any other team but shels were involved and i would want dundalk to get promoted because of all theyve been put through........but its shels so hopefully theyll be spending another year in the first:D
SMorgan
13/11/2008, 10:50 PM
Why the comparison between Oriel and Tolka? God only knows where shels will end up playing their home games.
13/11/2008, 11:01 PM
Dundalk are the only fans that require a serious police presence, after both visits the "ultras" made a bad impression. Maybe more fans would turn up if you didnt play on a Tursday night, virtually no other club in the world play son Thursdays!
The Dundalk visits to flancare this season were grand not a bit of hassle. At least they resisted the urge to hurl full bottles of coke at players unlike a section of the Shels "support"
Splurge
14/11/2008, 1:08 AM
How do you know Waterford brought more to your ground than Dundalk brought to Limerick??
I dont, but i know WD brought more fans to ferrycarrig than Dundalk did and there wasnt a problem, so its not the numbers that are the problem, its the people, the Derry game aswell was a wonderful occasion.
Like another poster said there were some bad eggs in the first game but in the 2nd game at least they directed their vitriol at their own as we hammered them 3:1.
maroon ultra
14/11/2008, 3:31 AM
Shels as much as i dont like them. Dundalk play on a Thursday and its not exactly a town I would enjoy visiting.
14/11/2008, 3:38 AM
Shels i hate John Gill
brianw82
14/11/2008, 7:05 AM
I voted Dundalk, purely because I don't want to have the League of Dublin. With the greatest of respect to Shels, I want football to do well in the regions and would prefer to have 6-7 of the 10 teams from outside Dublin. Another Dublin team doesn't really add anything.
Having said that, whoever wins does deserve it. It's been a very interesting season in the 1st.
It's much improved in the past couple of years in fairness.
Dundalks groundsman done a fantastic job this season :p
shelsfan1
14/11/2008, 7:24 AM
that is the good thing to come from this situation. if we go up great. if we don't it'll mean bohs/rovers/cork fans will be stuck in oriel. gettin soaked, with a crap view, no drink, soggy chips that have been carried over in the rain. and no jacks which makes it a real joke
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2008, 7:28 AM
Dundalk are the only fans that require a serious police presence, after both visits the "ultras" made a bad impression. Maybe more fans would turn up if you didnt play on a Tursday night, virtually no other club in the world play son Thursdays!
I think that is an unfair assesment of some of our support. Some are undesireable but your tarnishing us all with the one brush. I thought Wexford Youths supporters would be better than that.
I guess I'm failing to see the link between "Thursday" and "Amateur"
It suits Dundalk and if I was a Dundalk fan I'd be fully behind it.
I've said it before and I'll say it again if every other club stood up to Dundalk they wouldn't be long cutting the Thursday nonsense.
As it is, why should they??
Thursday nights are unique somehow. We did try to have games on other nights but for some reason the attendences where lower on fridays and away support never compensates. Apart from UEFA cup games we are the only club in europe that plays on a thursday. The matchday mag ran an article of some norweigan called steve who through gambling on a thursday is a massive dundalk fc supporter.
I dont, but i know WD brought more fans to ferrycarrig than Dundalk did and there wasnt a problem, so its not the numbers that are the problem, its the people, the Derry game aswell was a wonderful occasion.
Look at the distance between Waterford to Wexford and Dundalk to Wexford. You'll find your answer there.
Back to topic.
Obviously I want dundalk to win. C'mon the town
Slightly off topic, just on the fans issue ... usually our home games against
Shels and Dundalk are classed as high risk games and need extra security
on account of the usually large travelling numbers.
Now I know most clubs (us included) have a few idiots who tarnish the name
and reputation of the majority of decent fans ... but the only time this season
that an away fan pulled a knife on a steward in Lissywollen was when we
played Dundalk.
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2008, 8:13 AM
Slightly off topic, just on the fans issue ... usually our home games against
Shels and Dundalk are classed as high risk games and need extra security
on account of the usually large travelling numbers.
Now I know most clubs (us included) have a few idiots who tarnish the name
and reputation of the majority of decent fans ... but the only time this season
played Dundalk.
Where the Gardai informed. Was any action taken. The only way we stop idiots like that is for us all to stop turning blind eyes to it. Zero tolerance. A minority of our fans are no angels but as you know they are the ones who tarnish the names of our clubs.
redobit
14/11/2008, 8:17 AM
Dundalk was the first away game i went to, was about ten, so dont mind going to Oriel
Where the Gardai informed. Was any action taken. The only way we stop idiots like that is for us all to stop turning blind eyes to it. Zero tolerance. A minority of our fans are no angels but as you know they are the ones who tarnish the names of our clubs.
Absolutely,as the majority of fans I meet home and away are sound and
interested in nothing other than the football and having a bit of craic.
Not sure what action, if any, was taken but there were a number of Dundalk
fans removed from the stadium. I think a few stanley knives were left behind
in the away section of the stand after the game.
Zero tolerance is definately the way to go, some of our fans were also removed
from stadium for acting up this season so its not exclusive to away fans.
14/11/2008, 8:31 AM
Shelbourne. Dont understand this sympathy vibe for Dundalk for not being promoted a few years back. They knew the rules.
Shels are a great example of a club who bit the dust over financial irregularities, came down to the 1st division, regrouped and put out a competitive team without breaking the bank. In fairness to Dundalk they have done the same so whoever wins it on the pitch and fulfills the Premier Licence criteria, fair play.
Still want Shels to do it though!
Mmmmm this is a really tough one.
There have been numerous instances since the 80's of 'incidents' when away in Oriel which never endeared the club to me.
But on the other hand they have done great work with the club to give it stability and deserve credit for the way they have got their house in order. And I suppose they were hard done by a couple of seasons back and they have a very decent level of support.
Shels would be a easy away trip to get to. I actually always like going to Tolka as a ground and Shels also deserve a huge amount of credit for taking their medicine a couple of seasons ago and rebuilding to the point where they are just a whisker away from promotion.
However it may be better all round for the league if County Louth has a repsesentative rather than another Dublin team especially when you consider the doom merchants are predicting the end of Drogheda Utd.
So Dundalk in a hobsons choice kind of way.
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2008, 8:35 AM
Shelbourne. Dont understand this sympathy vibe for Dundalk for not being promoted a few years back. They knew the rules.
Shels are a great example of a club who bit the dust over financial irregularities, came down to the 1st division, regrouped and put out a competitive team without breaking the bank. In fairness to Dundalk they have done the same so whoever wins it on the pitch and fulfills the Premier Licence criteria, fair play.
Still want Shels to do it though!
Awh Magicme I thought we had an agreement that you didn't want to see us in the KCP and we didn't want to go to the KCP next season.
Pls god I don't want to go there for another year. Send me anywhere, I'll do anything
Claret Murph
14/11/2008, 8:39 AM
Very easy, Hate Dundalk as they are a bitter and twisted lot .
We have a better DVD then you or there .;);)
monutdfc
14/11/2008, 8:46 AM
Shels
Can't wait to burst my sides laughing when Dundalk muck it up again*
(*hoping those words don't come back to haunt me)
Splurge
14/11/2008, 8:47 AM
I think that is an unfair assesment of some of our support. Some are undesireable but your tarnishing us all with the one brush. I thought Wexford Youths supporters would be better than that.
Look at the distance between Waterford to Wexford and Dundalk to Wexford. You'll find your answer there.
A few undesirable's are reason enough for me and other Youths fans to not miss you if you do go up next season. I know of people that didnt go to the 2nd game this season as word of the first one got around, which was a pity , not least because we put in our best home performance of the season and it came directly after the Limerick debacle.
Im not saying Wd fans are better than you lot as there were more present, im saying that it's not the number of fans that were the problem, it was the few bad eggs that tarnished the rep of Dundalk in Wexford at least.
The Lilywhites
14/11/2008, 8:51 AM
Shels
Can't wait to burst my sides laughing when Dundalk muck it up again*
(*hoping those words don't come back to haunt me)
We can't all reach the targets we set ourselves at the start of a season. Well done to Monaghan United for achieving theirs yet again. Fair play. :ball:
14/11/2008, 8:58 AM
Awh Magicme I thought we had an agreement that you didn't want to see us in the KCP and we didn't want to go to the KCP next season.
Pls god I don't want to go there for another year. Send me anywhere, I'll do anything
Mon U are a credit to the league in fairness. They are one of only a few clubs that treat away fans with respect.
GuisaSaigon
14/11/2008, 9:00 AM
Dundalk or Shels?
It feels like a Carlsberg ad. " They're not great options are they?":D
If pushed I'd prefer Shels mainly because the Thursday night situation. There is probably a good chance both will be in the Premier next year anyway.
monutdfc
14/11/2008, 9:04 AM
We can't all reach the targets we set ourselves at the start of a season. Well done to Monaghan United for achieving theirs yet again. Fair play. :ball:
TL, both sides were relegated about 8 years ago. How much money have Dundalk spent since then? What have Dundalk achieved in that time?
The Lilywhites
14/11/2008, 9:14 AM
TL, both sides were relegated about 8 years ago. How much money have Dundalk spent since then? What have Dundalk achieved in that time?
Not quite eight years ago. At least we've shown ambition to get out of this division since we got relegated in 2002. This season will be Monaghan's highest placing since then. Sixth, wow, you must be proud! We've spent well within our means over the last three seasons to get into the top 2-3 and challenge. We haven't overspent in trying to get promoted, if that's what you're implying.
monutdfc
14/11/2008, 9:26 AM
We haven't overspent in trying to get promoted, if that's what you're implying.
In fairness, since Matthews took over you have cut your cloth to fit (but even in his first year the club made a loss).
But prior to that, yes you did overspend; why else was Hiney park sold? Gannon's budget was huge by First Division standards (I heard what it was from a very reliable source), and I suspect Anderson's budget was too.
Any chance both will be refused a premier license? If so that gets my vote
If not, Dundalk. And I hate Dundalk...
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2008, 9:39 AM
Any chance both will be refused a premier license? If so that gets my vote
If not, Dundalk. And I hate Dundalk...
hate is such a big word dodge.
I choose my words carefully
hate is such a big word dodge.
Not really...it's only 4 letters
14/11/2008, 10:04 AM
The Lilywhites, I know I said I didnt want to go to Oriel anymore (and only coz we get such bad beatings there) but I still want Shels to be promoted in front of you.
As for our season, we have pretty much achieved what we set out to do at the start of the season. We are midtable(ish) and have the highest amount of points we have gotten in years. We kept within our budget, paid our players and have our new astro pitch going in early in the new year. While we would love to have been challenging for promotion with you guys, that was not the plan for this season as we have so many other things to achieve off the pitch so our aim was to be as competitive as we could be while doing these.
I am proud of the year we have had. We have beaten some of the best teams (unfortunately lost to some of the weaker teams) and have managed to keep our head above water. That my dear is a success in the year that was.
maroon ultra
14/11/2008, 11:09 AM
Not really...it's only 4 letters
Yes but its a big word if your from Dundalk.:p
14/11/2008, 11:23 AM
The away section at Oriel is cramped and has no shelter....well its cramped if your club has a good support anyway;) Dont see why people would be complaining about tolka. Loads of space for away fans and IMO its a nice ground
Tolka has deteriorated in the past few years...
Horrendous non-views at the Ballybough End for those in the first 10 rows.
If you watch the MNS highlights of when Kalonas scored against Rovers - there is a "shockwave" of celebration as those at the back saw the ball go in - which then transferred down to the front as people who were stood there had no clue what had happened and went on the reactions of those stood behind them.
Add to that the "Rivers of Urine" stand - aka the Riverside - which I think is only being held together by sheer will and vegetation at this stage
And finally - the floodlights - when they aren't swaying in the wind, they're either not working at all or being set on fire by over eager Rovers fans at Cup Finals... ;)
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2008, 11:29 AM
marmarlade is the biggest :p
14/11/2008, 12:16 PM
Yes but it's a big word if you're from Dundalk... :rolleyes:
14/11/2008, 1:34 PM
but the only time this season
played Dundalk.
Funny, that has never happened in Limerick :eek: :p
Shels are a great example of a club who bit the dust over financial irregularities, came down to the 1st division, regrouped and put out a competitive team without breaking the bank.
In fairness Shels are in trouble if they don't go up.
Financially prudent it aint.
14/11/2008, 1:35 PM
Have you the info to back that up coz in fairness I havent heard anything about them in trouble!
14/11/2008, 1:39 PM
Have you the info to back that up coz in fairness I havent heard anything about them in trouble!
Lots of people I would consider to be very reliable sources normally.
A Shels fan more or less admits it over on our forum.
I don't have their books if that's what you mean. :p
jinxy lilywhite
14/11/2008, 1:51 PM
try this
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1049/
Shels will report losses this season.
100k is they don't win the league
50K if they do.
Not fair eh
14/11/2008, 1:56 PM
This is what I was looking for! :-p As for you having their books, jaysus lord above help them if you did! :D
try this
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1049/
Shels will report losses this season.
100k is they don't win the league
50K if they do.
Not fair eh
Dam, will have to take down my shrine to them now. :eek:
For poor Saturday night giggles I want Dundalk to go up :)
ramsfan
14/11/2008, 2:33 PM
shels
14/11/2008, 3:41 PM
Dundalk. This time last year I would have definitely disliked them more than Shels but that... that has changed.
Joey Killester
14/11/2008, 4:24 PM
Who cares why or how many people vote for whoever, its only a tintert poll. When (tempting fate?) we win tomorrow, Im sure this will be the last thing on your mind, Higgo..
14/11/2008, 4:52 PM
I'd like Dundalk to go up. Don't want to go there next season and Shels is a handy away trip.
Dundalk.
That'd be two rival teams we wouldn't have to face next season then. ;) :p
15/11/2008, 12:09 AM
Tolka has deteriorated in the past few years...
Horrendous non-views at the Ballybough End for those in the first 10 rows.
If you watch the MNS highlights of when Kalonas scored against Rovers - there is a "shockwave" of celebration as those at the back saw the ball go in - which then transferred down to the front as people who were stood there had no clue what had happened and went on the reactions of those stood behind them.
Add to that the "Rivers of Urine" stand - aka the Riverside - which I think is only being held together by sheer will and vegetation at this stage
And finally - the floodlights - when they aren't swaying in the wind, they're either not working at all or being set on fire by over eager Rovers fans at Cup Finals... ;)
The Connacht St. stand is worse than anything else in Tolka.
KoemansCC
15/11/2008, 1:46 AM
I'm not touching that with a bargepole ;)
Back on topic, now that I can breath regularly after tonight...Dundalk!!:eek: It'll be an interesting few games, best of luck....
Paraic
15/11/2008, 8:24 AM
you can take the man out of dundalk....has to be Dundalk for me.
didn't think they had the players at the beginning of the season but they're hanging in there and I really hope results go their way tonight. Come-on-ye-Lily-Whites.......