View Full Version : St Pats in player betting allegations
Saint_Charlie
09/11/2008, 6:25 PM
That makes it all better then, maybe we could have a whip round to make sure he isn't out his twenty euro as well? :rolleyes:
Now your talking.
09/11/2008, 7:48 PM
But the article which started it all is from the Daily Mail which only mentions the two Pats players betting against their team. There's no quotes from any bookmakers about suspicious betting patterns regarding Pats.
That's true- Quinn admitted this himself live on radio after the games on Friday. Strange how he waited to break the story until Friday instead of releasing it when he "found out" about it. I'd say he waited so Bohs wouldn't get the brunt of bad publicity in the press...
09/11/2008, 9:06 PM
see that the news of the world were the first sunday tabloid to reveal gary dempseys name but would this not open a can of worms?? dempsey could easily have done this in the past and simply got away with it...
09/11/2008, 9:24 PM
Gary dempsey apparently admitted it.
Not making this up btw:rolleyes:Did you read the latest posts before posting? It's been talked about already.
Didn't a ceratin bookie report 'irregular betting patterns' in the game involved.
No. Ridiculous how this has spiralled. One pats squad member bet €20 on a game when he wasn't playing (in a double with another game) and some people want him banned for life?
Dramaqueens.
Pats will ban him for rest of season, fine him 2 weeks wages. League will do nothing.
Rovers Maniac
10/11/2008, 9:38 AM
Original story was not written about a €20 double that lost, it was meant to involve around a €26,000 win.
charliesboots
10/11/2008, 9:45 AM
Original story was not written about a €20 double that lost, it was meant to involve around a €26,000 win.
The original story regarding this topic was in the Daily Mail and is posted on page 3 of this thread. Where in that original article does it mention a win of €26,000 involving any Pats match or player?
WoodquayBoy
10/11/2008, 10:20 AM
I understand Pats fans here wanting to defend one of their own, but Dempsey deserves a massive ban. Doesn't matter howsmall the bet was, doesn't matter that it lost, he bet against his own team which is a breach of morals and decency, never mind rule 100 of the league.
The guy may be thick, he may be a genius but he was very stupid to bet against his own team and should be made an example of
10/11/2008, 10:24 AM
Its nothing to do with him being a pats player for me. If you think he's the only player in the league to bet on games you're living in a fantasy world.
€20 on a game where you're not involved is nothing.
randomcomment
10/11/2008, 10:30 AM
That time Drogheda played Shamrock Rovers - Drogheda played their U18's and some of the senior players had thousands on Rovers
10/11/2008, 10:31 AM
Its nothing to do with him being a pats player for me. If you think he's the only player in the league to bet on games you're living in a fantasy world.
Agree with you on this. A lifetime ban for this is nonsense. He was very stupid to do what he did but lets get real here.
WoodquayBoy
10/11/2008, 10:41 AM
Rubbish, €20 on a game when betting against your team mates, your own club, is not nothing, but this will obviously be a case where we will have to agree to disagree
10/11/2008, 10:45 AM
Rubbish, €20 on a game when betting against your team mates, your own club, is not nothing, but this will obviously be a case where we will have to agree to disagree
What is it then? As a gambler he thought galway were overpriced. They were.
Krstic
10/11/2008, 10:54 AM
This €20 double is a load of crap.
Why,where & when would a €20 lost bet ring any alarms with Bookies and be pick up by a tabloid newspaer?
Seems to me that Dempsey is taking the fall for something a bit bigger.
10/11/2008, 10:57 AM
This €20 double is a load of crap.
Why,where & when would a €20 lost bet ring any alarms with Bookies and be pick up by a tabloid newspaer?
Where has any newspaper, or anyone else, reported that bookmakers were alarmed. Paddy Power and William hill have come out and said there were nothing of note about the game to them.
L37Ultra
10/11/2008, 10:59 AM
But what kind of professional sports person bets against his/her own team.
Seems very strange to me. I would say there is more to this than we are being told and Dempsey is covering something up.
sligored
10/11/2008, 11:00 AM
how would you feel dodge if he backed bohs for the cup semi final.
if i was a footballer betting against my team i would stay under the radar by placing small bets in a number of bookies instead of 1 large bet.
not saying dempsey did , but this is serious mispractice and if the club and the fai dont come down heavy on him , the will be seen to condone it.
10/11/2008, 11:01 AM
But what kind of professional sports person bets against his/her own team
Loads of them. You need a dose of reality if you think otherwise.
And once again, he was not involved in the game.
10/11/2008, 11:04 AM
how would you feel dodge if he backed bohs for the cup semi final.
If he was only betting €20 I wouldn't give a toss. His win bonus for reaching FAI Cup final would far, far, far outweigh the €50 he'd win with that bet. However he didn't bet on that game, as he was playing in it. Dempsey has said he only ever bet against Pats once, and he wasn't playing in that game. No point guessing about other things that haven't happened
if i was a footballer betting against my team i would stay under the radar by placing small bets in a number of bookies instead of 1 large bet.
Whats that got to do with anything? You're making assumptions that he's covering up a more serious gambling habit. One which there's no evidence to suggest
Once again
Dramaqueens
But what kind of professional sports person bets against his/her own team.
But he wasn't playing or in the match day squad, so what influence over the result could he have had? Talk of life bans is nonsense.
10/11/2008, 11:07 AM
If a €20 bet is all that's there, then this is a storm in a teacup.
The club should throw the book at the individual player, on principle, but please end the hysteria (front page in both Indo and Times sports supplements today) as far as the implications for the league are concerned, unless and until more evidence of a serious problem can be shown.
jimhacker
10/11/2008, 11:11 AM
If this is all that is involved then that Quinn chap should go and have a long cold shower for himself!
He was mutering on the LW programme the other night about the stories being unsubstantiated - if that's the case why publish them?
L37Ultra
10/11/2008, 11:11 AM
But he wasn't playing or in the match day squad, so what influence over the result could he have had? Talk of life bans is nonsense.
I never said he had influence over the result. Its obvious he didn't but I just can't understand the mind set of someone who would want to bet against the team they play for. Just doesn't make sense to me.
10/11/2008, 11:12 AM
Out of interest, are players allowed to back themselves to score or their team to win? I'd assume they are?
i would stay under the radar by placing small bets in a number of bookies instead of 1 large bet.One large bet? It was 20euro, that's feck all in bookies terms. If he wanted to back the other team he should have got someone else(non Pat's) to put it on for him.
10/11/2008, 11:16 AM
Out of interest, are players allowed to back themselves to score or their team to win?
The rule doesn't differentiate between betting for or agianst your team
10/11/2008, 11:17 AM
I never said he had influence over the result. Its obvious he didn't but I just can't understand the mind set of someone who would want to bet against the team they play for. Just doesn't make sense to me.
To a lot of players it's just a job, they don't particularly like football, outside of being good at it, and don't have any sentiment towards their employer. Just like most of the rest of us don't feel any great sentiment towards our employers, they just see good odds down the bookies and think "I can make a few quid here".
Exactly - I'd have no problem betting against my employer if the opportunity arose.
L37Ultra
10/11/2008, 11:29 AM
I suppose. Just me being innocent thinking football was different. :D
Sad though the coverage this gets in the national papers and if it was a normal week there would have been barely anything about the actually matches themselves.
WoodquayBoy
10/11/2008, 11:44 AM
Oh Lord, I'm going to sound like my mother when I say this but . . . just because it goes on a lot doesn't make it acceptable.
I agree there has been a degree of hysteria, but at the same time, he broke sporting ethics by betting against his own team and deserves to be made an example of
10/11/2008, 11:46 AM
I agree there has been a degree of hysteria... deserves to be made an example of
Way to stop the hysteria there.
10/11/2008, 12:24 PM
Exactly - I'd have no problem betting against my employer if the opportunity arose.Thats why a conviction for insider trading carries a significant jail sentence.
Fantastic argument.
L37Ultra
10/11/2008, 12:24 PM
Who made the bets that cost the bookies €60k?
Thought that was on the Monaghan-Longford game?
10/11/2008, 12:26 PM
Thought that was on the Monaghan-Longford game?
Yeah just remembered so now deleted.
10/11/2008, 12:27 PM
Out of interest, are players allowed to back themselves to score or their team to win? I'd assume they are?
Wimbledon players got done for it about ten years ago. They appealed I think; can't remember how it ended up in the end, but they were in trouble over it initially anyway.
10/11/2008, 12:29 PM
Thats why a conviction for insider trading carries a significant jail sentence.
Fantastic argument.
That's why it wasn't an argument on my behalf, just a statement of why players would do it and feel no remorse.
10/11/2008, 12:32 PM
That's why it wasn't an argument on my behalf, just a statement of why players would do it and feel no remorse.Yes, agree that thats what the players view would be. Thats basically what Dempsey said in his statement. He didn't think it was wrong.
Which is the most troubling part of all of this IMO.
Thats why a conviction for insider trading carries a significant jail sentence.
Fantastic argument.
Having a bet is the same as insider trading? And even then, insider trading is based on what outsiders wouldn't know - everyone (except the bookies apparently) knew that Pats had nothing to play for because they'd hit poor form, and were up against teams fighting for their survival.
WoodquayBoy
10/11/2008, 1:21 PM
Way to stop the hysteria there.
Bit of selective quoting to make a point there Dodge, I said
'I agree there has been a degree of hysteria, but at the same time, he broke sporting ethics by betting against his own team and deserves to be made an example of'
Emmet Malone has a piece on it in today's Irish Times, and his last line is quite apt:
'No one at St Patrick's, who trake on Derry City at Richmond Park tonight, is likely to take quite so lightly the fact thgat Dempsey - one of the club's better paid players - was sitting in the stand watching a league game which he might have been hoping his team would lose'
You tell me how you or any other Pats fan find this acceptable?
I'd never speak for other pats fans but I don't care that Dempsey made a bet of €20. I've made bets against Pats, and no one wants them to win more than me. If Pats win, I'm delighted. If they lose, I've money to console me. For the amount of money Dempsey is on, and the amount he bet, the outcome of the bet made absolutely no difference to him.
Gamblers make bets based on value. if they think a team is overpriced, they'l bet on it. The outcome doesn't really matter as they think that if they back enough overpriced teams, they'll eventually win.
I don't care if you can't understand this. I'm sick to my back teeth of fecking dramaqueens
WoodquayBoy
10/11/2008, 2:00 PM
I don't care if you can't understand this. I'm sick to my back teeth of fecking dramaqueens
I understand it, I just don't accept it.
I'm sick to every one of my teeth with people being labelled dramaqueens' when they think a certain course of action is appropriate for a breach of rules, so we'll just ignore each other on this now
10/11/2008, 2:04 PM
Doesn't matter how small the bet was, doesn't matter that it lost, he bet against his own team which is a breach of morals and decency, never mind rule 100 of the league.
Exactly, Its not like it matters if it was 5c or a grand, it was a bet that involved his team.
If you think he's the only player in the league to bet on games you're living in a fantasy world.
That doesn't matter, even if ever single player in every league in the world, from schoolboys to over 65's bet against themselves is still doesn't justify it
Apparantly it is now though
The rule doesn't differentiate between betting for or agianst your team
Or the winning or losing of the bet, its just if it involves your own team, and its still wrong.
Thats why a conviction for insider trading carries a significant jail sentence. Fantastic argument.
That it exactly .... it doesn't carry the same weight legally, but its in the same category, like it or not as the case may be.
Emmet Malone has a piece on it in today's Irish Times, and his last line is quite apt:
'No one at St Patrick's, who trake on Derry City at Richmond Park tonight, is likely to take quite so lightly the fact thgat Dempsey - one of the club's better paid players - was sitting in the stand watching a league game which he might have been hoping his team would lose'
I think Emmet should have asked 'how much would Pats fans put up with before they stop protecting their players" because even though everyone is agreed that €20 in a flutter against your club isn't even worth talking about it still clouds the judgement of some.
Match fixing carries a life time ban for a player last time i heard. This is not the same thing in this case nor will it ever be deemed to be the same thing as far as i can see so a life time ban is irrelivant to be honest.
If nothing is done to the player then it'll be too easy for barstoolers and journos to throw this crap out in a years time to crutch up one of their 'seek and destory' articles on a slow news day. We all know how it works, and we should all expect the FAIs administration to be able to deal with this issue comprehensively.
I think Emmet should have asked 'how much would Pats fans put up with before they stop protecting their players" because even though everyone is agreed that €20 in a flutter against your club isn't even worth talking about it still clouds the judgement of some.
As I "defended" the Drogehda players a couple of years ago, its not that he's a Pats player. You say it clouds the judgement of some. As Dempsey made the bet, what type of judgement did it cloud? He wasn't playing...
Match fixing carries a life time ban for a player last time i heard. This is not the same thing in this case nor will it ever be deemed to be the same thing as far as i can see so a life time ban is irrelivant to be honest.
its is irrelevant, and yet you still mention it. Why's that? Guilty by inference?
If nothing is done to the player then it'll be too easy for barstoolers and journos to throw this crap out in a years time to crutch up one of their 'seek and destory' articles on a slow news day. We all know how it works, and we should all expect the FAIs administration to be able to deal with this issue comprehensively.
Who said nothing should happen? He should be fined, and receive a short ban. Anything else is ridiculous
Oh and I use the term dramaqueen because it fits most on this topic, and others. Complete overraction to every little story.
neville neville
10/11/2008, 2:31 PM
Feckin Drama queens in this thread
if you were to ban all the players who have bet for/against theyre team in the league there would be an awful awful lot of bans
and its not a LOI problem all levels of the pro/semi pro game are full of it
not that it makes it right
Who said nothing should happen? He should be fined, and receive a short ban. Anything else is ridiculous.
I agree. It was stupid thing to do & such a punishment would be appropriate. Mentioning it in the same paragraph as match fixing is ridiculous.
That said opposition fans will have great fun with Dempsey next season. ;)
10/11/2008, 2:50 PM
If this is all that is involved then that Quinn chap should go and have a long cold shower for himself!
He was mutering on the LW programme the other night about the stories being unsubstantiated - if that's the case why publish them?
Probably because he is a Bohs fan.
Big difference between wanting a team to lose and thinking they will lose.
10/11/2008, 2:51 PM
I've bet against UCD using team news and not being able to influence the game. Ban me!
10/11/2008, 2:54 PM
As I "defended" the Drogehda players a couple of years ago, its not that he's a Pats player. You say it clouds the judgement of some. As Dempsey made the bet, what type of judgement did it cloud? He wasn't playing...
To be honest i tihnk Dempsey was a clown to be honest, putting the bet down himself. If he want to have a punt on a game then he should have someone else put it on for him, but that would be be my take on it.
its is irrelevant, and yet you still mention it. Why's that? Guilty by inference?
That wasn't for your benefit Dodge, i was saying that a life time ban wouldn't be imposed for this even if he had put down €20,000 on it. Its match fixing gets the ban and he didn't fix a match, he just betted on it.
Who said nothing should happen? He should be fined, and receive a short ban. Anything else is ridiculous
My concern was just how people on the outside will preceive it. we all have the conversations in the canteen Dodge and it is something else to sling at the league.
And if it happened at an English club they'd laugh at the rapscallion for getting caught, but admire the cheeky side to it "oh how we laughed, isn't it a great game", but because its the eircom League and one of their own country men hes a scumbag, a match fixer, probably dealing drugs as well and he sums up everything that is wrong with the game in this country.
10/11/2008, 2:56 PM
I've bet against UCD using team news and not being able to influence the game. Ban me!
But the probabibilty is alot higher in your case so the odds are in your favour there Stu !! ;):p
10/11/2008, 2:59 PM
If the bookies want to give stupid odds, that's their loss.
:D:D:D