View Full Version : Vs. Cork

04/11/2008, 6:55 PM
We all know this game is massive, particularly if Cork win tonight(currently 0-0). We should have a bigger crowd down there this time round with the importance of the game. Any points we get there will be great.

Gamble suspended for Cork.

thesilverfox
04/11/2008, 7:18 PM
Would be delighted with a point. Just noticed Cork have a superior goal difference. Not including tonights game they are +18 compared to us being +11. I think this adds a greater significance to the Bray game making it also a "must-win" but we are lucky to be at home compared to Cork's trip to Dalymount.

Win, lose or draw in Cork, I would still perfer to be in our shoes at 10pm Friday night

04/11/2008, 8:05 PM
Cork 1-0 up Vs. Pat's :(

adamd164
04/11/2008, 8:54 PM
Would be delighted with a point. Just noticed Win, lose or draw in Cork, I would still perfer to be in our shoes at 10pm Friday night
You sure about that bud? If we win then we secure 4th place.

04/11/2008, 8:57 PM
You sure about that bud? If we win then we secure 4th place.4th's worth feck all to ye if you're banned from Europe though, I'd say that's what he means. Even with the FAI's backing, I see no reason why Cork City should be allowed to break the rules and play in Europe next season, hopefully Uefa will step in.

adamd164
04/11/2008, 8:58 PM
4th's worth feck all to ye if you're banned from Europe though, I'd say that's what he means. Even with the FAI's backing, I see no reason why Cork City should be allowed to break the rules and play in Europe next season.
Don't think that's what he meant, read his post again there and you'll see! He's on about us having Bohs in the last game, my point is it means nothing if we beat you on Friday.

Keep telling yourself we're banned anyway, nothing's been decided. The only thing I've heard is the FAI saying they'll back us if we qualify.

Rovers Maniac
04/11/2008, 9:11 PM
Don't think that's what he meant, read his post again there and you'll see! He's on about us having Bohs in the last game, my point is it means nothing if we beat you on Friday.

Keep telling yourself we're banned anyway, nothing's been decided. The only thing I've heard is the FAI saying they'll back us if we qualify.

No a local rag in Cork has said this this. Nothing official has come from the FAI and anyway i don't think they can turn around and say no we won't support Cork. Anyway we know what we need to do and that is to win down there and this will be your 3rd match in 6 days so it has to be taking its toll.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/11/2008, 10:15 PM
There's very little we can do if UEFA do decide to let them play if they finish ahead of us. I would be surprised if they do but you can never tell. I thought the Colin Healy saga would have been resolved in Corks favour and it didn't. No point getting worked up about it.

Best thing to do would be to finish ahead of them and then not have to get worked up at all. We still haven't managed a win against any of Bohs, Pats, Derry, Drogs or Cork this season. Friday would be a great time to change that.

Rovers Maniac
04/11/2008, 10:22 PM
There's very little we can do if UEFA do decide to let them play if they finish ahead of us. I would be surprised if they do but you can never tell. I thought the Colin Healy saga would have been resolved in Corks favour and it didn't. No point getting worked up about it.

Best thing to do would be to finish ahead of them and then not have to get worked up at all. We still haven't managed a win against any of Bohs, Pats, Derry, Drogs or Cork this season. Friday would be a great time to change that.

Our team and club will be written off for most trips this season including this, we know we have to win and this is their 3rd game in 6 days and Joe Gamble is missing for the match so all we can do is give it a real go as the players have done themselves proud by even giving themselves a shout taht with 2 days to go we are in with a serious shout.

celticV3
04/11/2008, 10:48 PM
Best not entertaining a "if cork get fourth" scenario as i don't think is going to happen. I am cautiously optimistic that the effort and determination shown by the lads in difficult times won't end this friday. With a win over pats and cup win over glens then i'm hoping that there ego's are inflated and we can catch them off guard.

Never had this much optimisn before, must be in a build up to a european adventure:D

04/11/2008, 11:17 PM
Colin Healy's out injured too. With him and Gamble out that's their first choice central midfield out of action.

dublinred
05/11/2008, 9:30 AM

Agree best to try and win this on the pitch , although i got a nice email this morning from a "proper" accountant so would be fairly confident of still playing in Europe if we dont finish fourth their was an interesting precedent set with Coleraine who were still refused for 3 years despite IFA appeals. I think the Cork result last night was good for us and we know what we have to do now and wont be going down there playing for a draw we are at our best going forward.

05/11/2008, 11:43 AM
was a the Pats game last night and there is no reason we cant beat them, Pats were shockin last night too, if Cork were decent up front they would have won by 3 or 4. We definetly have a chance, as long as we dont concede early.

neutrino
05/11/2008, 12:54 PM
it's on the pitch our fate will be decided and that's all we should focus on. we are two wins away from Europe being a certainty. A win in cork will be tough but it has been done before and it should be a cracking game with what's at stake. Finishing 4th would be wonderful for the club in every department and would ensure our finances would be improved for next season. If we end up 5th in the league it will be a tremendous season for us. And after that if we happened into Europe for reasons off the pitch then fine - so it shouldn't concern us at this stage.

05/11/2008, 4:46 PM
Bring it on.

Rovers Maniac
05/11/2008, 5:34 PM
100% agree Rory H lets see what they are made of and give everything i think we can get the win with the believe in the camp and after fighting back last week we are battle hardened.

05/11/2008, 8:22 PM
boco and judge doubtful with flu ventre and cash face late fitness tests :(

sligofan4ever
05/11/2008, 8:27 PM

Would'nt be to worried about not having Judge in the team. Boco would be our biggest loss :(. Is Cash's late fitness test anything to do with the injury he picked up playing last Saturday ?

Inside Man
05/11/2008, 9:40 PM
One thing must be noted its in our hands whether we finish fourth or not. Which makes me proud to say. Europe for the first time in 12 years. Even the thought of it brings back brilliant memories.
If we preform like we did against Shams we will get bet. I'm not traveling for the simple fact I know we are going to be conned out of it(Well thats if we threaten to beat Cork). Remember this would be bad for the league(FAI) if we won, as Cork offer a better representative for the FAI. Sure they have even publically said they would back Cork for Europe. What more explanation do you need, and the referee's work for the FAI.
Should we threaten to beat them, or hold them for a draw. Expect it all to go against us. As much as it hurts to say i guarantee you this will happen. One of the Boys at the top will have a word in the refs ear. I'm not a paranoid man, but I've seen it before in football, and the FAI are as corrupt an organisation as they come.

srfc1928
05/11/2008, 11:25 PM
One thing must be noted its in our hands whether we finish fourth or not. Which makes me proud to say. Europe for the first time in 12 years. Even the thought of it brings back brilliant memories.
If we preform like we did against Shams we will get bet. I'm not traveling for the simple fact I know we are going to be conned out of it(Well thats if we threaten to beat Cork). Remember this would be bad for the league(FAI) if we won, as Cork offer a better representative for the FAI. Sure they have even publically said they would back Cork for Europe. What more explanation do you need, and the referee's work for the FAI.
Should we threaten to beat them, or hold them for a draw. Expect it all to go against us. As much as it hurts to say i guarantee you this will happen. One of the Boys at the top will have a word in the refs ear. I'm not a paranoid man, but I've seen it before in football, and the FAI are as corrupt an organisation as they come.

Thats crazy talk Inside Man.
But i wouldnt be surprised either.

If we do achieve 4th place, it'll be a major coup
We maybe seen as a small unfashionable club,
but we have one of the best average attendences in the league.
This game could be a watershed in the recent history of Rovers

We have the potential to be one of the biggest.

Rovers Maniac
06/11/2008, 11:04 AM
Really getting excited about this game i think we can win it going to go for a 1 or 2 nil win for us.

Only1Rovers
06/11/2008, 11:38 AM

Where did you hear this?

06/11/2008, 12:11 PM
Where did you hear this?

http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/663/1/

red bellied
06/11/2008, 12:16 PM
Which training session did the bed ridden boys miss, today or yesterday?

Rovers Maniac
06/11/2008, 12:51 PM
Ah god will that is that to be fair, have a look at the team news. :(

06/11/2008, 3:25 PM
****e:(

We can still do it.

BTW A little plea, if there is anyone driving down with a space in their car would they be able to give me a lift..Would be so greatly appreciated if they could!:)

06/11/2008, 3:29 PM
I can't help but think that it's mind games by Cook, apart from Cash maybe. I think Boco will be playing anyway.

06/11/2008, 3:37 PM
Hopefully:)

06/11/2008, 3:40 PM
Hopefully:)Just heard Boco's in hospital so maybe not:eek: Can't see us winning without his pace in the team.

06/11/2008, 6:54 PM
Can't see us winning

right, dont come so.

Inside Man
06/11/2008, 7:29 PM
Was seriously considering dossing work tomorrow and going against the wishes of the missus but after seeing the Team news i think I'm better off giving it a miss. Terrible news. Prediction ; 3-0 to cork. Have a good trip lads.:(

red arrow
06/11/2008, 8:43 PM
oh yee of little faith. rovers to win because of their never say die attitude.

sligofan4ever
06/11/2008, 8:45 PM
oh yee of little faith. rovers to win because of their never say die attitude.

Plus we've gotten by without Boco before. Our only real problem is who will play out the wing if Cash dosent pass fit ? Theres Sean Doherty but I don't see Cook taking Raff out of a forward position to play him out the wing.

06/11/2008, 9:17 PM
after seeing the Team news i think I'm better off giving it a miss.What a fine attitude you have, fair play to ya!

06/11/2008, 9:36 PM
http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=28540

roversman
07/11/2008, 12:42 PM
will the cork match be on any local cork radio or online

Only1Rovers
07/11/2008, 1:37 PM
http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=28540

This could work in out favour.

The lads who are on the way down will go nuts though... or maybe not.

07/11/2008, 1:38 PM
Hasnt rained all day. Shouldd be okay

Only1Rovers
07/11/2008, 1:41 PM
Hasnt rained all day. Shouldd be okay

****e, I hope Jeebus and Co do an aul rain dance or two down their.

dublinred
07/11/2008, 2:38 PM
Jeebus and co dancing to heineken at the moment ,no rain yet downhere

Shedzer
07/11/2008, 3:23 PM
anyone know??

07/11/2008, 6:42 PM
http://corkcityfc.ie/views/matchday.php

text updates here anyway

boco and cash starting :)

07/11/2008, 7:40 PM
0-0 HT.

Could go either way by all accounts. We should've had a penalty too apparently.

07/11/2008, 8:33 PM
0-0 FT.

Great result!

Put's all the pressure on the Corkies now to win away to Bohs!:D

forza rovers
07/11/2008, 8:41 PM
great result tonight
please let bohs do us a favour and we beat bray!

showgies
07/11/2008, 8:53 PM
Looks like we could even afford to let Drogheda have their 10 points back now :)

Inside Man
07/11/2008, 11:09 PM
Great Result. I for one now regret not making the long haul, but sure thats life. Roll on Bray now and hope we pack the showgrounds for this one.
Oh and up the Bohs!

Rovers Maniac
08/11/2008, 8:19 AM
Good result last night could have won near the end, roll on Bray is right and let us hope they put out a full strength team. Rossiter, Burns, Murphy and Singh do us a favour lads. :)

Sean South
08/11/2008, 9:50 AM
Best away trip in a long time fair play to all who travelled cracking atmosphere before during and after the game

08/11/2008, 10:24 AM
Absolutely dreadful conditions, lashed from start to finish.
Was impressed by Sligo, good side, playing with confidence, that Coleman lad is superb, number 10 looked decent up front apart from a touch of small man syndrome.
We probably had the better of it overall but with Behan up front we could still be there looking for a goal, Sligo had an excellent chance at the death but a draw was probably a fair result.
Scottish ref did well in the conditions.