View Full Version : Irish in England

Pages : 1 [2] 3

nlgbbbblth
21/10/2003, 5:39 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
You're making a point about an argument I've never made. How come Ireland spawned these people? Without being too vulgar, I would have thought it was because they popped out of their mother's womb in this country, and that's precisely how Ireland spawned them. Why they were put here is a question that could keep you, I and a host of theologians and philosophers on here for days.

BTW if Biffo Banagher was backing me up I'd start questioning my own judgement. His logic is that if he repeats the insult and puts it in capitals, he's made a great point. That might constitute wit amongst Offaly's Celtic FC hordes, but I suspect that "Keeping Up Appearances" and "Bull Island" would keep that lot amused. It's exactly why the rest of the country calls them Biffos to begin with.

I have no real difficulty with where people were born. It's when one person calls me a "hun" for not loving Celtic, and you pat his head, that I start objecting. Noone has the right to claim they are more Irish than me, and I certainly won't tolerate the "hun" jibes.

well said Conor

I speak some Irish, have been born and lived in Ireland all my life, consider people living in Northern Ireland as Irish, support an Irish league club as well as a Premiership club [Man City], listen to Irish traditional music

Yet I don't support Celtic nor do I support Rangers - both are fine as teams but are ruined by their significant percentage of sectarian and bigoted supporters - and you Banagher are one of these.

You my BIFFO friend probably considered those people who came out and cheered St Patricks Athletic [an Irish club, made up of predominately Irish players, who play in Ireland] against your beloved Celtic [a foreign club despite what you say] - as huns

I hold my hand up and say I support a Premiership club - who make no bones about the fact that they are English - but then again I don't have a problem with most England or English people.

And I'll be cheering on Man Utd tomorrow night against Rangers -and if they were playing Celtic I'd do the same. There's only two teams I support the red scum against and both are from Glasgow, - one group of fans think they're English, the other Irish.

cop onto yourself for f u c k s sake and stop insulting people with your bull**** arguments

lopez
21/10/2003, 5:45 PM
You're making a point about an argument I've never made. How come Ireland spawned these people? Without being too vulgar, I would have thought it was because they popped out of their mother's womb in this country, and that's precisely how Ireland spawned them. Why they were put here is a question that could keep you, I and a host of theologians and philosophers on here for days.

And that is your answer? :rolleyes:

An argument you never made? Start questioning anyone's Irishness because they were born abroad, calling them plastics, and you have an argument with me. The reason that these four chaps were born in Ireland but clearly threw their lot in with the country's imperial occupier is that they were of the occupier's ethnicity. Pretty simple! Not one Irish name. All Anglican. Indeed look at their biographies and time and again the word 'ascendancy' crops up. The point is that being born in Ireland, even in republican Kerry, means **** all, just as being born in Britain did not mean that us 'plastics' are British. If anyone is looking for the automatic right to be Irish merely on account of an Irish birthplace, they can look elsewhere for it as far as I'm concerned.

Regarding Celtic, I'm not one of the club's greatest fans, but it is not because it lacks Irish roots, and I have no problem with the description of it as an 'Irish' club. Founded by the Irish, for the Irish and 115 years later, supported mostly by people of Irish descent. Oh yes, a Scottish club definitely: No room for discussion on that point!

As I said before, you just can't win with some people, even when it comes to showing just a little bit of respect to a dead lady, even - if I may speak ill of the dead - one that spent most of her life like the matriarchal head of some dysfunctional sink estate family, but being paid well for the pleasure. Stand in silence and show a bit of respect and Celtic fans are Brits. Sit down, boo and generally show oneself up in an ignorant manner, and once again they are trying to be 'more Irish than the Irish themselves.'

lopez
21/10/2003, 5:48 PM
Originally posted by nlgbbbblth
cop onto yourself for f u c k s sake and stop insulting people with your bull**** arguments
I could say the same about you. Instead of wasting time on this site, sit down and read the history of your country...especially the bit about EMIGRATION (am I allowed to say that here?)

Duncan Gardner
21/10/2003, 6:10 PM
Evening Senor Lope. I see ye're having a pop at the Methodists above. Er, carry on ;)

Perhaps you should tell the other readers about our recent conversation. During which you suggested that NI fans (as exemplified by footie's oppo, http://www.ourweecountry.co.uk ), show something of an obsession with side issues like identity? Seems they're not alone...

I think the popular football club Glasgow Celtic will beat Anderlecht and Lyon to at least second phase in their group. They were well impressive against the French.

I'm from Duncairn Gardens, a bucolic verdant retreat on the pleasant slopes of Belfast's Cave Hill, not that it's an issue like.

London Irish
21/10/2003, 6:12 PM
well said. If anyone wants to know what being Irish means than get yourself along to an Ireland away game (rather than watch it in the pub). You'll meet lads from all over the place and for 99.999999999% of them accent will be irreleavant.

All will have their own little part of the Irish story to tell.

nlgbbbblth
21/10/2003, 9:04 PM
The Luck of the Irish
John Lennon & Yoko Ono

If you had the luck of the Irish
You'd be sorry and wish you were dead
You should have the luck of the Irish
And you'd wish you was English instead!

A thousand years of torture and hunger
Drove the people away from their land
A land full of beauty and wonder
Was raped by the British brigands! Goddamn! Goddamn!

If you could keep voices like flowers
There'd be shamrock all over the world
If you could drink dreams like Irish streams
Then the world would be high as the mountain of morn

In the 'Pool they told us the story
How the English divided the land
Of the pain, the death and the glory
And the poets of auld Eireland

If we could make chains with the morning dew
The world would be like Galway Bay
Let's walk over rainbows like leprechauns
The world would be one big Blarney stone

Why the hell are the English there anyway?
As they kill with God on their side
Blame it all on the kids and the IRA
As the b a s t a r d s commit genocide! Aye! Aye! Genocide!

If you had the luck of the Irish
You'd be sorry and wish you was dead
You should have the luck of the Irish
And you'd wish you was English instead!
Yes you'd wish you was English instead!

lopez
21/10/2003, 9:48 PM
Originally posted by Duncan Gardner
Evening Senor Lope. I see ye're having a pop at the Methodists above. Er, carry on ;)

DG, long time no hear! Was wondering if you had deserted us. Not having a pop at John Wesley's (or his Blue and White army), especially not in the 300th anniversary of his birth - at least not intentionally - just that we can't bring religion into every football club where the Irish have congregated. Always thought you were a Mormon according to DAV's description of your drinking habits. ;)

By the way, I've been meaning to ask you this - and I think this is appropriate considering the topic of conversation (even if we have got sidetracked) - but do you get many 'plastics' following YWC? I mean we get 'plastics' that are qualified to follow YWC; there were English accents in kilts going to Glasgow in February; I've known some English accented Taffs; and of course you don't need to mention the Italians, Turks and the Spanish.

Desperately seeking to swerve away from: 'Celtic are/aren't an Irish club: Discuss.' (We've had 2000 pages already!!) :D

Beavis
21/10/2003, 9:56 PM
Originally posted by London Irish
If anyone wants to know what being Irish means than get yourself along to an Ireland away game (rather than watch it in the pub). You'll meet lads from all over the place and for 99.999999999% of them accent will be irreleavant.

All will have their own little part of the Irish story to tell.
Brilliant.

This thread should end on this.

Lionel Hutz
21/10/2003, 10:14 PM
well said Conor

I speak some Irish, have been born and lived in Ireland all my life, consider people living in Northern Ireland as Irish, support an Irish league club as well as a Premiership club [Man City], listen to Irish traditional music

Yet I don't support Celtic nor do I support Rangers - both are fine as teams but are ruined by their significant percentage of sectarian and bigoted supporters - and you Banagher are one of these.

You my BIFFO friend probably considered those people who came out and cheered St Patricks Athletic [an Irish club, made up of predominately Irish players, who play in Ireland] against your beloved Celtic [a foreign club despite what you say] - as huns

I hold my hand up and say I support a Premiership club - who make no bones about the fact that they are English - but then again I don't have a problem with most England or English people.

And I'll be cheering on Man Utd tomorrow night against Rangers -and if they were playing Celtic I'd do the same. There's only two teams I support the red scum against and both are from Glasgow, - one group of fans think they're English, the other Irish.

I love this argument that keeps getting put forward as a reason for it to be acceptable to support English teams but not Celtic!
It has to be the most idiotic Iv ever come across!

Name me one English team that has the same proportion of ethnic minorities, (black and asian) who attend matches as live in areas sorrounding the grounds which usually are in inner city areas where ethnic minorities make up a significant proportion of the population?

If you can not name me one, and Im fairly confident you wont be able to, will not among the bigger clubs which are generally from larger urban areas, then please give me your reasons why you think this is the case?

BanagherOK!
21/10/2003, 11:32 PM
I have no real difficulty with where people were born. It's when one person calls me a "hun" for not loving Celtic, and you pat his head, that I start objecting. Noone has the right to claim they are more Irish than me, and I certainly won't tolerate the "hun" jibes.

methinks Ive hit a raw nerve here with Connor the Hun,,,its not because you dont love Celtic its because you hate them and thats the difference

BanagherOK!
21/10/2003, 11:51 PM
well said Conor

cop onto yourself for f u c k s sake and stop insulting people with your bull**** arguments [/B][/QUOTE]

if Celtic play an Irish club in a friendly or competitive match your saying that I or any other Celtic fan would think of them as huns????????????? get real ffs,,,if you hate any football club you expect to get it in the neck from those fans,,,I couldnt give a toss if you liked Man City or any other club but start hating my "beloved" club and your gonna get it big time,,,,and as for your foreign comment Im sure there are a few who would think your a foreigner,,hence your love of english football (not me btw :p )

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 12:04 AM
Originally posted by Plastic Paddy
Like I said before, this kind of ****e is embarrassing. The man disagrees with you, as is his prerogative. Calling him a 'hun' does little for the reputation of Celtic fans as a whole. Disagree by all means, but choose your comebacks more carefully. Time for a little growing up.

For the benefit of anyone reading one of my earlier posts (in which I tried to defend our friend here), I'd like to point out for the record that my auld fella comes from just over the Galway side of Banagher bridge... :rolleyes: ;)

:D PP
telling me to grow up ???,,ok hows this for a careful comeback,,Plastic by name Plastic by nature your not my friend (thank feck) and over the Galway side of the Banagher bridge is where the tinkers live.

22/10/2003, 6:49 AM
Originally posted by BanagherOK!
telling me to grow up ???,,ok hows this for a careful comeback,,Plastic by name Plastic by nature your not my friend (thank feck) and over the Galway side of the Banagher bridge is where the tinkers live.

Very good... did you write that one all by yourself? Anyway, you're up a wee bit late for a school night. Mammy will be cross when she sees you at breakfast! :p

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 8:01 AM
Very good... did you write that one all by yourself? Anyway, you're up a wee bit late for a school night. Mammy will be cross when she sees you at breakfast! :p

Being up late is more to do with Celtic playing ****e In Belgium than any wishful thinking on your part :(

22/10/2003, 8:07 AM
Being up late is more to do with Celtic playing ****e In Belgium than any wishful thinking on your part :(

Tell me about it. The worst display I've seen by Celtic under MON. And that includes the 5-1 defeat at Greyskull when he first took over. Sloppy finishing, an absent midfield (with the possible exception of Sutton) and once Jackie Mac went off, Joos left us well exposed down the left hand side.

Not happy either. But I digress.

:( PP

22/10/2003, 8:38 AM
Its not about having a different point of view its about your HUN point of view you stupid fecker
Surely a "hun", would totally back up your arguement about Celtic, as opposed to anyone with any intelligence who would be able to quite definatively say that Celtic play in Glasgow, which is in Scotland, which is in Great Britain....

Anyway - fook both of the sectarian w@nkers....

Duncan Gardner
22/10/2003, 8:57 AM
Originally posted by lopez
By the way, I've been meaning to ask you this - and I think this is appropriate considering the topic of conversation (even if we have got sidetracked) - but do you get many 'plastics' following YWC? I mean we get 'plastics' that are qualified to follow YWC; there were English accents in kilts going to Glasgow in February; I've known some English accented Taffs; and of course you don't need to mention the Italians, Turks and the Spanish.

Not really. When we played Germany in Dortmund a few years ago, rumour had it all the squaddies from Hannover and Gladach would turn up, but they didn't. Because of the poor run our support has a much larger proprtion of 'diehards' than, say, Wales at the moment. We took 900 fans to Spain, 500 to Greece, 100-200 to far Eastern Europe in this competition. I have to say your continued travelling support is amazing :)

22/10/2003, 8:59 AM
Originally posted by Macy
Anyway - fook both of the sectarian w@nkers....

You're on a bit of a shoogly peg there, Macy... some of us follow Celtic as we actually like the football. In fact, the vast majority of us feel that way. I'm sure - no, I'm certain - it's just the same for most Rangers fans.

Anyway, I'll get my coat... ;)

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 10:58 AM
Originally from Lionel Hutz
Also werent Liverpool called "Niggerpool" in reference to their attitude to black players?

First black player was Howard Gayle. Niggerpool was a term coined by Everton fans before the first Merseyside derby in which John Barnes played.

Paddy Ramone
22/10/2003, 11:08 AM
Everton's Dixie Deans(30's) and Mike Trebilcock(60's) were both of mixed race. I think Liverpool were one of the last of the top clubs in England to open it's doors to black players.

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 11:17 AM
I think Liverpool were one of the last top teams to open its doors to black players.

Not sure, off the top of my head (and i am open for correction on this one) Man Utd's first black player was after Howard Gayle (i think Remi Moses). Tottenham Hotspur also (Garth Crooks). The only team i think who consistently played black players were WBA.

I think all the teams were pretty awful until the late 70's and early 80's. Makes u wonder how many great players we never saw because of their colour.

22/10/2003, 11:21 AM
Although academic in approach, the following link from the Sir Norman Chester Centre for Football Research provides an excellent summary of the impact of Black players in British football. Well worth a read.

http://www.le.ac.uk/footballresearch/resources/factsheets/fs4.html

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 11:25 AM
Although academic in approach, the following link from the Sir Norman Chester Centre for Football Research provides an excellent summary of the impact of Black players in British football. Well worth a read.

Thanks Paddy.

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 11:57 AM
Damn, Lopez and Biffo had something beautiful going on, until Biffo went and spoiled it all by saying something stupid like...

Could there be a certain frostiness creeping into this cyber friendship? I suspect there is no point dealing with Biffo, by using the very term his ally hates, I get the impression that everything that has been posted here has gone ever so slightly over his head.

Lopez, on the other hand, clearly you are intelligent, and appreciative of Irish history and culture. If the "plastic" reference offended you, I apologise. As noted above, I reacted to Biffo's reference to "hun" and I saw you as applauding his points. I have a good friend who spent 30 years in Coventry before returning and I call him "plastic" and he laughs at it, but like anything I suppose it depends on context. If an English friend called me "Mick" in a lighthearted manner, I wouldn't care. If an English stranger called me "Mick" I would get very annoyed.

Conan the hun must be feeling ganged up on so he starts to suck up some arse...anyways,,strange thing is you keep saying Biffo,,is it me or all people from Offaly you have a problem with?

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 12:02 PM
Tell me about it. The worst display I've seen by Celtic under MON. And that includes the 5-1 defeat at Greyskull when he first took over. Sloppy finishing, an absent midfield (with the possible exception of Sutton) and once Jackie Mac went off, Joos left us well exposed down the left hand side.

Not happy either. But I digress.

:( PP

the real annoying thing is that we got turned over by a team who played with the same passion that we do at Parkhead. Agathe might as well been playing for the opposition,,btw their black player Anun? fell all over the place but when he stayed on his feet he was superb :mad:

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 12:15 PM
Quite amused by the use of the word Hun. Its slightly ironic that it started its existence as an insult for Irish Catholics in Scotland during WW1.

Conor, stop winding up poor old BanagherOK! (which is a contradiction in terms if ever i heard one) or he may have to use other insults - anyway he is obviously not used to non-Celtic supporters down the pub.:D

lopez
22/10/2003, 1:47 PM
If an English friend called me "Mick" in a lighthearted manner, I wouldn't care. If an English stranger called me "Mick" I would get very annoyed.
It's not the term plastic from a stranger that annoys, its the suggestion that being born in a certain place overrides everything else.

Re: Celtic, you could make a number of accusations about Celtic that would be true - the club's collusion with Rangers despite the latter's discrimination against RCs and as I read in one of Britain's classier rags this morning, as shown by Alex Ferguson, those who have RCs as spouses; the religious bigotry of some of its supporters; the argument that if Celtic are 'an Irish club' why do some people put it on par with the national team (can't imagine even Rovers fans doing that). But this constant sniping of their identity suggests to me more a hostility to the 'diaspora'.

A few people may shed some light on this, but a few years back the Celtic board were trying hard to whitewash its Irish roots and one of the things was to promote the black and teddy boy sock green away shirt in more matches where the hoops would have played. Fans were up in arms about what they saw as the de-hibernification of the club.

Surely a "hun", would totally back up your arguement
Rangers fans will invariably argue that Celtic's Irishness is illegitimate while discriminating (no longer with players since 1989) on the sole grounds of their Irishness. Spend any time on the Follow Follow forum of Rangers, or even the site Duncan Gardner suggested above to see how these 'Plastics' (yes its that word again) from Scotland and, I kid you not, Northern Ireland should stop pretending they're Irish.

Celtic, as opposed to anyone with any intelligence who would be able to quite definatively say that Celtic play in Glasgow, which is in Scotland, which is in Great Britain....
...and of course me, PP, Junior etc were born in England which is in Britain, so we must be British. :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Lionel Hutz
Name me one English team that has the same proportion of ethnic minorities, (black and asian) who attend matches as live in areas sorrounding the grounds which usually are in inner city areas where ethnic minorities make up a significant proportion of the population?
The answer to your question of course is none. I went to watch Leicester against Atletico Madrid some years back and I didn't see one Asian in the ground...in ****ing Leicester?:confused:

Beavis
22/10/2003, 1:58 PM
While youse are in and around Celtic and Liverpool,can anyone enlighten me on why Celtic sing 'You'll never walk alone'?Some people have said that the Celts sung it first but this can't be true can it?

Duncan Gardner
22/10/2003, 2:00 PM
Lopez- the suggestion (in today's London Guardian) that Ferguson was forced out of Ibrox due to his RC wife is a bit tenuous. Were it true- and were the subtext, ie that Alex should have been a regular internationalist, shared by anyone other than him and his mates- then surely the club would have transferred him to someone in England, where his brother played. Not Falkirk.

At the risk of turning this into a exlusive dialogue, you're slightly misrepresenting OWC. Rangers are discussed there rather less than Celtic here- largely, I think, because we're so bad that we don't tend to attract floating fans to Windsor. If/ when we start winning, they'll be back of course :)

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 2:03 PM
...and of course me, PP, Junior etc were born in England which is in Britain, so we must be British.

Horse and Stable argument again!!!:D

Though the difference is that u had no choice in where u were born. In Celtics case they built the stable and decided to live it. Probably Celtic are zebras, they look like a horse, they were born in a stable but there is just something different about them!:D

Surely Celtic are a British based-club with an Irish heritage and culture?

22/10/2003, 2:15 PM
Originally posted by S.E.P.1990

At last. Amen to that. :)

While we're here, do you fancy a job at the Northern Ireland Office in Belfast brokering the next moves in the peace process? I'm guessing it would be - only slightly, admittedly - easier than gaining consensus on this board as to Celtic's status... ;)

22/10/2003, 2:18 PM
...and of course me, PP, Junior etc were born in England which is in Britain, so we must be British

Lopez, you have my curiosity aroused. I see you're in Hertfordshire - whereabouts? I spent my yoof in Watford and went to school in Rickmansworth - are either familiar to you?

lopez
22/10/2003, 2:18 PM
Lopez- the suggestion (in today's London Guardian) that Ferguson was forced out of Ibrox due to his RC wife is a bit tenuous.
Perhaps, but it was also the case of other employees of Rangers at least until the eighties

At the risk of turning this into a exlusive dialogue, you're slightly misrepresenting OWC. Rangers are discussed there rather less than Celtic here- largely, I think, because we're so bad that we don't tend to attract floating fans to Windsor. If/ when we start winning, they'll be back of course :)
Rangers are discussed less often because fewer people - perhaps you and a couple of others - are willing to criticize them (unlike Celtic). My suggestion that many posters on the site continue to call Republic fans from the six counties as 'plastics' is true.

Exactly!! Would you agree - in the name of peace - with that Connor?

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 2:20 PM
While youse are in and around Celtic and Liverpool,can anyone enlighten me on why Celtic sing 'You'll never walk alone'?Some people have said that the Celts sung it first but this can't be true can it?

Not sure why Celtic sing it but Liverpool sang it first, there is a recording of the Kop singing it in, i think, 1962/63.

22/10/2003, 2:20 PM
Rangers fans will invariably argue that Celtic's Irishness is illegitimate while discriminating (no longer with players since 1989) on the sole grounds of their Irishness. Spend any time on the Follow Follow forum of Rangers, or even the site Duncan Gardner suggested above to see how these 'Plastics' (yes its that word again) from Scotland and, I kid you not, Northern Ireland should stop pretending they're Irish.
Don't think Rangers discriminated on nationality, only on religion... Also (and I open to correction here) didn't Rangers only implement the non-catholic policy in the 1930's ish (Thought I'd heard that before but could be way off the mark)....

...and of course me, PP, Junior etc were born in England which is in Britain, so we must be British.
I'd say if you're link to Ireland stretches back to 1887(?) then you links would be tenuous - the equivalent of some 6th generation "I've got Irish roots" T shirt wearing yank..... Sure if a players links were that far back they wouldn't qualify for the national team....

S.E.P.1990
22/10/2003, 2:27 PM
Fergies claims re: his wife are extremely tenuous. Fergie wasnt even 4th choice striker at Rangers. In the one good season (appearances wise) at Ibrox the top two strikers had long term injuries (as far as i remember reading somewhere).

Wasnt it quite recently that the first non-Catholic got a seat on the Board at Celtic??

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 4:36 PM

Conor, stop winding up poor old BanagherOK! (which is a contradiction in terms if ever i heard one) or he may have to use other insults - anyway he is obviously not used to non-Celtic supporters down the pub.:D

I sense you have been taking the bravery pills

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 4:43 PM

Not sure why Celtic sing it but Liverpool sang it first, there is a recording of the Kop singing it in, i think, 1962/63.

According to Gerry Marsden in a radio interview prior to him singing the song live before the Celtic v Liverpool game last year he said that the song was heard on the football terraces shortly after it was released as a single ,,,his opinion was it was sung at Liverpool first but only by a couple of weeks

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 4:50 PM

Wasnt it quite recently that the first non-Catholic got a seat on the Board at Celtic??

It was almost impossible for anyone to get a seat on the Celtic board who wasn't a member of the families that owned the club,,Fergus changed all that.

BanagherOK!
22/10/2003, 4:56 PM

Though the difference is that u had no choice in where u were born. In Celtics case they built the stable and decided to live it. Probably Celtic are zebras, they look like a horse, they were born in a stable but there is just something different about them!:D

surely Cliftonvile are a British based club with an Irish heritage and culture? (cough)

22/10/2003, 5:07 PM
According to Gerry Marsden in a radio interview prior to him singing the song live before the Celtic v Liverpool game last year he said that the song was heard on the football terraces shortly after it was released as a single ,,,his opinion was it was sung at Liverpool first but only by a couple of weeks

YNWA is in fact a Rodgers and Hammerstein composition, and was written in 1945 for the musical Carousel. Several books have reported (including at least two histories of Celtic that I've read) that this was sung from the late-1950s onwards by the occupants of the Jungle at Parkhead, in other words, a few years before Gerry and the Pacemakers released their cover version in 1963.

I obviously can't substantiate this, as I'm too young... :D

lopez
22/10/2003, 5:07 PM
While we're here, do you fancy a job at the Northern Ireland Office in Belfast brokering the next moves in the peace process? I'm guessing it would be - only slightly, admittedly - easier than gaining consensus on this board as to Celtic's status.
I'll second that.

Lopez, you have my curiosity aroused. I see you're in Hertfordshire - whereabouts? I spent my yoof in Watford and went to school in Rickmansworth - are either familiar to you?
Don't tell me you were one of those little ****s from the school named after the French bird that came to an untimely end on a bonfire, that made (sorry, continue to make) my life hell on the tube.;)

No I'm from Hemel Hempstead, which you would know, but I work from Rickmansworth as a tube driver, which at the moment is like being Michael Schumacher...you know £3million pound vehicle, likely to kill me and a few other people any minute.:eek:
...oh alright, I'll agree then. ;) :D

PS, don't tell Banagher peace has broken out. Then he'll think we're all just "sucking arse", to use his curious phrase.
Brilliant!! Now Banagher can we kiss and make up?

22/10/2003, 5:13 PM
Don't tell me you were one of those little ****s from the school named after the French bird that came to an untimely end on a bonfire, that made (sorry, continue to make) my life hell on the tube.;)

No I'm from Hemel Hempstead, which you would know, but I work from Rickmansworth as a tube driver, which at the moment is like being Michael Schumacher...you know £3million pound vehicle, likely to kill me and a few other people any minute.:eek:

:eek: Madness! My auld fella was a driver at Rickmansworth depot for over ten years. His best friend was one John Madden, who I've no doubt you'll know, and who retired from there recently. A small world indeed.

And yes, I was one of those wee ****s. Although I never used the train home and, frankly, had I done so, would have been on my bestest behaviour...

PS Who the feck are you trying to kid that 'A' stock trains are "£3million vehicles"? :p

lopez
22/10/2003, 6:30 PM
:eek: Madness! My auld fella was a driver at Rickmansworth depot for over ten years. His best friend was one John Madden, who I've no doubt you'll know, and who retired from there recently. A small world indeed.

When I was a guard there were four 1G drivers: a gentle old Corkman, another Corkman who was a nutter into bodybuilding and steroids and who was constantly telling me how he'd like to bugger me (without the KY of course), my old driver from Ballinasloe but he had four daughters, and the bloke who I think was your dad, Tom. If it is him, then say hello from Mr. Redmond.

:PS Who the feck are you trying to kid that 'A' stock trains are "£3million vehicles"? :p

But the rest of it was true.;)

22/10/2003, 7:02 PM
When I was a guard there were four 1G drivers: a gentle old Corkman, another Corkman who was a nutter into bodybuilding and steroids and who was constantly telling me how he'd like to bugger me (without the KY of course), my old driver from Ballinasloe but he had four daughters, and the bloke who I think was your dad, Tom. If it is him, then say hello from Mr. Redmond.

But the rest of it was true.;)

In one, Lopez. Your deductions are spot-on. Tom junior at your service. :D

From your descriptions, my father identified Mick Reilly, Peter Corcoran and John Meehan. He wasn't entirely certain about Meehan, but your description of Corcoran was on the nail. Enough said.

He returns your regards. What a small world. :)

lopez
22/10/2003, 8:28 PM
In one, Lopez. Your deductions are spot-on. Tom junior at your service. :D

From your descriptions, my father identified Mick Reilly, Peter Corcoran and John Meehan. He wasn't entirely certain about Meehan, but your description of Corcoran was on the nail. Enough said.

A Salvador Dalí moment for you. eh? Got it right about the first two, but Dundalk John (his brother was one of the original Shadows) had gone into management when I joined (20 years this friday). Ballinasloe boy was Mick (Pasqual) Flaherty - think he lived near you in Croxley.

There were indeed five 1Gs - Chris Hartford the last. I was thinking about him on this thread - we have to keep some of this to football or Mr. Moderater may well quite rightly chuck us off - because he was a CofI Dubliner (father was a vicar or something higher) and although he went to watch Ireland in rugby and the 76 and 80 footie games at Wembley, was a Rangers supporter - nothing serious, just if anyone asked him his views on the old firm. Classic! Got the sack in the end through the drink, after being grassed up by this Scot, an ex-screw at the Maze.

22/10/2003, 8:53 PM
A Salvador Dalí moment for you. eh? Got it right about the first two, but Dundalk John (his brother was one of the original Shadows) had gone into management when I joined (20 years this friday). Ballinasloe boy was Mick (Pasqual) Flaherty - think he lived near you in Croxley.

The old boy will be :o when I mention Pascal Flaherty as they were really good friends, and he's evidently forgotten all about him! He did indeed live in Croxley and his kids went to the same primary school as my sister. In fact, Pascal was due to give me driving lessons when I turned 17 (a long time ago now), but for some reason it never quite happened.

Happy anniversary for Friday. I imagine you'll be out on the sauce so long as Saturday's your rest day... ;)

I'm interested on your anecdote about Chris Hartford from the footballing aspect, as the question about Rangers support in the Republic is one that rears its head from time to time on the Celtic message boards. There is talk of a Union flag flying at Rangers home games with "Dublin Loyal" embroidered on it. One fairly well-known case is that of Alan Maybury, the Hearts and sometime Ireland full-back, who grew up in Dublin and followed Rangers as a boy. Any others spring to mind, people?

lopez
22/10/2003, 9:03 PM
I'm interested on your anecdote about Chris Hartford from the footballing aspect, as the question about Rangers support in the Republic is one that rears its head from time to time on the Celtic message boards. There is talk of a Union flag flying at Rangers home games with "Dublin Loyal" embroidered on it. One fairly well-known case is that of Alan Maybury, the Hearts and sometime Ireland full-back, who grew up in Dublin and followed Rangers as a boy. Any others spring to mind, people?

Chris, as I stated , was Protestant, and despite the suggestion that he was therefore led by this to 'support' Rangers, he was anything less of an Irishman nor a bigot. Personally I have no probs with Irish people supporting Rangers. There are plenty people with no connection with either RC nor Ireland that support Celtic. There is a web site of the Dublin RSC, although by tommorrow, the banshees will be disturbed and there may well be all number of curses laid down on this bunch on this thread.:eek: BTW, there is a passionate Celtic supporter, friend of both mine and Duncan Gardner, and poster on this forum that is CofI, so it isn't always down to religion.

22/10/2003, 10:13 PM
Chris, as I stated , was Protestant, and despite the suggestion that he was therefore led by this to 'support' Rangers, he was anything less of an Irishman nor a bigot. Personally I have no probs with Irish people supporting Rangers. There are plenty people with no connection with either RC nor Ireland that support Celtic. There is a web site of the Dublin RSC, although by tommorrow, the banshees will be disturbed and there may well be all number of curses laid down on this bunch on this thread.:eek: BTW, there is a passionate Celtic supporter, friend of both mine and Duncan Gardner, and poster on this forum that is CofI, so it isn't always down to religion.

I agree, and no inference was drawn about the correlation between Chris's religion, the club he followed, and certainly not about anything else like politics. :eek: I know plenty of Tims who profess no religion and plenty more from Protestant and Dissenter traditions; for these bhoys and ghirls, just as for myself, it's all about the football. As it should be.

I went to the website you mentioned above, and apart from it being in need of updating, it's written with a great sense of humour and is very entertaining. I've now also seen the famous "Dublin Loyal" flag. More power to them all, so long as they're content with second place in perpetuity. ;)

BanagherOK!
23/10/2003, 1:01 AM
Earth to strange guy, earth to strange guy, we can't make any sense of your post. Please resubmit using English, repeat please resubmit using English...

I didnt expect you to undertsnd it oh thick hun,,,and pssss it wasnt meant for you either!