View Full Version : Rovers 2-1 Shamrock
red bellied
03/11/2008, 9:31 PM
Just out of curiosity, who was Steve Lynex ? never heard of him.
Shams signed him from Birmingham. Played with Leicester as well.
Fabrizio
03/11/2008, 10:03 PM
In my valued opinion, i thought Raf was man of the match for obvious reasons closely followed by Richie Ryan. Ryan is maybe the catalyst for Rovers good form the last few weeks, he always finds a pass, always trys to get it down and play and is without doubt one of the best footballers in the team.
Would love to see himself and Boco in centre midfield and O'Grady in a holding role. Coleman is practically a wing back already and Ventre can get forward also.
Im going to say 0-0 n TC this Friday!
03/11/2008, 10:51 PM
Feck off, Fabrizzio and don't be interrupting a conversation. Steve Lynex came over to play for THE Rovers but left after two games as he said he was homesick and a gun had been pointed at him in Sligo because he was English.A week later he recovered to sign for the lesser rovers. Carpenter, who was a commercial traveller, was advised by the Gardai to stay away from Sligo for his own safety. I have to say that, apart from that day, he was one of the best refs ever.
Steve Lynex
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Stephen Charles Lynex (born 23 January 1958 in West Bromwich) is an English former football player, formerly of Leicester City FC, West Bromwich Albion FC and Shamrock Rovers.
He made his Rovers debut on 28 August 1977 away to Dundalk after joining the then Johnny Giles managed club. During his time at Milltown he won the FAI Cup in 1978 and scored 2 goals in the UEFA Cup Winners Cup wins over APOEL[1]. Made a total of 4 appearances in Europe for the Hoops.
He left Rovers in December 1978 to join Birmingham City. Later had spells at Leicester City, Birmingham again, West Brom and Cardiff [2].
Lynex is best remembered at Leicester for his prolific scoring for a winger as well as creating chances for Gary Lineker and Alan Smith. He also occasionally acted as a stand-in goalkeeper.
Now, carry on, Fabrizzio, what were you saying about the brother?
Shedzer
03/11/2008, 11:10 PM
In my valued opinion, i thought Raf was man of the match for obvious reasons closely followed by Richie Ryan. Ryan is maybe the catalyst for Rovers good form the last few weeks, he always finds a pass, always trys to get it down and play and is without doubt one of the best footballers in the team.
Would love to see himself and Boco in centre midfield and O'Grady in a holding role. Coleman is practically a wing back already and Ventre can get forward also.
Im going to say 0-0 n TC this Friday!
Sorry bud your wrong, Ryan is average
For instance any 'footballer' should be able to get the ball down and pass it 10 yards as he does. Hes decent but nothing special, no presence on the park, quiet, tidy enough, lacking drive and a spark ie-Anto Murphy/Chris Turner type element to his play
He is average...
Boco could play anywhere, however i feel he runs the channels very well up front, he holds the ball up well and brings others into play. Himself and Raf work well upfront and im not saying he wouldnt be good in the centre, but i think he causes more damage with his pace and skill against the defenders of this league
0-0 in TC would be great
roversforever
04/11/2008, 7:52 AM
great atmosphere and great result!hopefully pats will do us a favour and beat cork tonight.i don't want to be negative but i think cookie was a very lucky man on saturday night....playing stevie feeney in a massive game like that when he's hardly played all season was a crazy decision that could well have backfired.i simply isn't fit,he was huffing and puffing but was no threat to shams.he's a very honest player and he did his best but i don't think he should have been thrown into that situation.anyway im a big cookie fan and he's still learning his trade so mistakes have to be expected.he's the best manager we've had in a long time so hopefully we hold onto him.