View Full Version : Joey O'Brien

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8

30/01/2014, 4:33 PM
There is a huge list of Irish players over the last decade or so whose careers were looking very promising up the their early 20s too, but serious injury stopped them in their tracks.

Sadlier, Healy, Wayne Henderson and many others. I think Tets posted a list a few years back.

TheOneWhoKnocks
15/04/2014, 11:14 AM
Baby kangaroo is back in training and has an outside chance of involvement tonight against Arsenal.

19/04/2014, 1:32 PM
Back on the bench for this afternoon's game with Crystal Palace.

TheOneWhoKnocks
11/05/2014, 1:33 PM
The answer to our problems at left-back may be right under our noses. Joey starts away to Man City today.

TheOneWhoKnocks
12/05/2014, 6:44 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/joey-o-brien-pulls-out-of-ireland-squad-1.1792491

Disappointed in Joey. He has a chance to cement that LB position and get a run of games for the first time in 1/4 of a year but he cries off. It would be understandable if the injury that kept him out until last weekend was in any way related to his knees but it isn't.

He is as well to formally retire now from International football and stop wasting everyone's time.

12/05/2014, 6:54 PM
Whose time is he wasting? He was called up, had a chat with the medical team and they decided together that his health is paramount in this instance, as it has been before. It seems like the only person's time being wasted here is yours.

12/05/2014, 7:14 PM
I've read that he has persistent pain and needs a special recovery and training programme. I can understand where he's coming from. Only he knows whether he's slacking or not.

DannyInvincible
13/05/2014, 4:33 PM
http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/international/joey-o-brien-pulls-out-of-ireland-squad-1.1792491

Disappointed in Joey. He has a chance to cement that LB position and get a run of games for the first time in 1/4 of a year but he cries off. It would be understandable if the injury that kept him out until last weekend was in any way related to his knees but it isn't.

He is as well to formally retire now from International football and stop wasting everyone's time.

Crying off?... He's on an agreed medical programme and has his career to think about. He's an injury-prone player and is perhaps lucky to be still playing top-flight football. It would make sense for him to ensure his physical condition is the priority and to refrain from unnecessarily risking his well-being in non-competitive fixtures.

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2014, 3:10 PM
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2642630/Joey-OBrien-goes-helicopter-ride-marrying-model-Joanne-Martin-Dublin-Andy-Carroll-Kevin-Nolan-attending.html

back of the net
31/05/2014, 5:40 PM
Are u using the dailymail and the fact that hw turned up to his own wedding as backup for the crying off comment TOWK?

TheOneWhoKnocks
31/05/2014, 5:52 PM
If he doesn't turn up for International duties because he cleverly booked an International window for his wedding, then he should at least be honest about his reasons for not turning up.

Rob Elliot also got married during this gathering but he still managed to turn up.

If there is genuinely a good reason for not turning up that is related to his knees - then I am sorry - but the fact is that he has been fully fit for well over a month now and the last injury he had was completely unrelated to his knees.

I know I'm probably sounding like a d*ck here but he could have played in two spaced out games here on top of 20 odd games during the regular season. It wouldn't have overexerted him at all; and if it does, how will he cope when the regular season is back in swing in September?

31/05/2014, 6:51 PM
If he doesn't turn up for International duties because he cleverly booked an International window for his wedding, then he should at least be honest about his reasons for not turning up.

Rob Elliot also got married during this gathering but he still managed to turn up.

If there is genuinely a good reason for not turning up that is related to his knees - then I am sorry - but the fact is that he has been fully fit for well over a month now and the last injury he had was completely unrelated to his knees.

I know I'm probably sounding like a d*ck here but he could have played in two spaced out games here on top of 20 odd games during the regular season. It wouldn't have overexerted him at all; and if it does, how will he cope when the regular season is back in swing in September?

How do you manage to castigate Joey O'Brien and yet give Stephen Ireland such leeway?

The mind truly boggles.

31/05/2014, 10:55 PM
The mind also boggles when you consider his missus was a Miss Universe contender.

02/06/2014, 5:31 PM
The mind also boggles when you consider his missus was a Miss Universe contender.

Photographic evidence please.

Grafter
08/06/2014, 8:44 PM
What is the general feeling on Joey and his future international prospects now in light of regular absenteeism?

Olé Olé
08/06/2014, 9:29 PM
What is the general feeling on Joey and his future international prospects now in light of regular absenteeism?

Tough call, isn't it? I mean, he's got a fresh start with MON so it's a pity he's been injured at times when he would have been assessed.

He's starting regularly at full-back in the Premiership so he's better than some of our other options at, for instance, left-back. I guess it just all depends on whether they can assess him or are willing to start him in the competitive qualifiers should they be his first inclusion complimented by actual and subsequent fitneess.

In reality, one would imagine he has to show something at international level to justify any consequential selection over other options. Marc Wilson is a decent option at left-back but if he's not to start at centre-half or midfield against, for example, Scotland, then it's hardly equitable to put O'Brien in at left-back and leave Wilson on the bench.

Pilkington is another injury-prone player who was a regular absentee. He's really managing to establish himself as a player that could conceivably start in our Euro qualifiers.

DannyInvincible
09/06/2014, 9:00 AM

What part of this from the Irish Times piece do you not understand?:

The FAI issued a statement on Monday evening stating that after discussions between the respective medical staffs at the association and club, it had been agreed the Dubliner would not take any part in the programme of matches.

Given the nature and frequency of his previous injuries, the medical programme he's on - probably one of rest and recuperation so as to elongate his career - was most likely planned months in advance.

Olé Olé
09/06/2014, 10:55 AM
What part of this from the Irish Times piece do you not understand?:

Given the nature and frequency of his previous injuries, the medical programme he's on - probably one of rest and recuperation so as to elongate his career - was most likely planned months in advance.

The man has played 151 league games at the age of 28. Given that he made his league debut in 04/05, he's played 10 seasons of competitive football at senior level- that's an average of 15 appearances per season, which says it all about the long periods he has spent out chronically injured.

He made 17 appearances this season (exceeding his average), following on from 33 the prior year (almost double his average and serving to skew the average).

I think this article sums up the issue: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/joey-obrien-savouring-rub-of-the-green-after-injury-nightmare-29645472.html
-Regarding his exclusion under Trap: "I was sick to say the least."
-West Ham's (his employer, from whom he was very lucky to earn a contract, not to mind a 3 and a half year deal) view on his international career: "Yeah, of course it's been mentioned to me at the club about coming over here."
-His inability to cope with the workload of his counterparts is also highlighted.

DannyInvincible
09/06/2014, 11:09 AM
Good article. Clearly the programme he's on is a long-term arrangement, so he'd long have known he wouldn't be participating in non-competitive games at the end of his season.

Dubliner O'Brien has a carefully managed training and prevention programme that is required to maintain his status as a Premier League footballer.

TheOneWhoKnocks
09/06/2014, 1:39 PM
I was really hard on Joey but it's just out of frustration/fear that sub standard players will be playing ahead of him in competitive games.

He's played virtually his entire career in the PL and also has experienced European football. If it's a case that he only plays competitive games for us, it may be better than the alternatives.

TheOneWhoKnocks
29/10/2014, 5:20 PM
End of the road for O'Brien at Intl. level then?

http://talksport.com/football/really-top-10-fastest-players-premier-league-revealed-141028121279

Bit of a surprising one this. O'Brien is the 10th fastest player in the Premier League.

29/10/2014, 5:23 PM
I'd be more surprised about Jagielka. To be fair, top speed is different from normal speed, so it doesn't make them the fastest. You'd imagine these stats would lean towards defenders who spend a lot of time running without the ball.

29/10/2014, 5:29 PM
Top speed is different from normal speed.I've heard it all now.

All hail the bastion of superior intellect and knowledge that is foot.ie

Those pesky boards and ybiggers hawwwh! Hail fellow well met

29/10/2014, 5:34 PM
It should be pretty obvious what I meant. A lot of players aren't going to hit their top speed in a match, so a player who has the top speed as measured in a match isn't necessarily the fastest, which is what TOWK had said.

07/12/2014, 2:58 PM
first appearance for O'Brien for West Ham since August today as a second half substitute

TheOneWhoKnocks
27/06/2015, 4:04 PM
O'Brien hopes to impress Bilic in Europa League next week; eyes on International recall

http://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/joey-obrien-talks-to-sportsjoe-about-his-fifa-rating-safaris-and-going-to-celtic-park/29952

Song is just one of many top quality international players that O'Brien has played with and against during his career. However, despite playing in such a competitive league, the Dubliner was a surprise choice as the tenth fastest player in the English top flight, according to EA Sports. (http://talksport.com/football/really-top-10-fastest-players-premier-league-revealed-141028121279)

Raheem Sterling, Theo Walcott and Alexis Sanchez would apparently all be left chasing O'Brien in a footrace.

"I don't know about that," O'Brien laughed.

" I saw that but there must have been a fault in the speed machine. FIFA [EA Sports makes the game] definitely make me better than I am."

O'Brien has won five caps for Ireland since making his debut in 2006 and is still hopeful of making a comeback, if things go well with West Ham this year.

"I didn't get to play much football at all last year so if I get back to playing week in, week out hopefully I can get back into the squad," O'Brien said.

He read last week's story about Ireland allegedly being offered $10,000 a man not to kick Lionel Messi (http://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/argentine-paper-makes-bizarre-claim-about-irish-players-getting-paid-to-not-hit-lionel-messi/29845) in a 2010 friendly at the Aviva in disbelief. He wasn't in that squad but had strong views about the situation.

"I found it laughable," O'Brien said.

"Even people talking about it is ridiculous. There's no way there was any ten grand given."

18/10/2015, 10:15 PM
Linked with a move to Sunderland today, along with a few other of Sam Allardyce's former players

dr_peepee
19/10/2015, 8:11 PM
A pint says John Walters moves there during the January window

22/10/2015, 12:20 PM
Why would Walters want to take a backward step like that (other than for money of course)? Hope he doesn't as we have enough players in the Championship ?

22/10/2015, 12:33 PM
A pint says John Walters moves there during the January window

two pints says stoke give him a new contract next january

31/10/2015, 2:08 PM
O'Brien back on the bench today, first appearance in a match day squad since the end of July

pateen
09/11/2015, 1:57 PM
No bench appearance this weekend

DeLorean
09/02/2016, 1:26 PM
Looks like he'll get a start tonight (http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/football/fa-league-cups/west-ham-vs-liverpool-preview-what-channel-is-it-on-what-time-premier-league-a6861276.html) against Liverpool.

Player to watch - Joey O’Brien.

Filling in for James Tomkins, who suffered a calf injury at Southampton, O’Brien has some big shoes to fill and the pressure will be on. Bilić has backed the 29-year-old, insisting he has what it takes to fill the void. O'Brien's lack of recent playing time could, however, result in West Ham’s right flank being exposed with the Anfield trio of Sturridge, Origi and playmaker Coutinho set to return.

09/02/2016, 5:11 PM
two pints says stoke give him a new contract next january

dr_peepee owes you one pint and you owe him two :)

DeLorean
10/02/2016, 7:57 AM
Hit the post last night, a deflected shot that would have put West Ham 1-0 up. He had a busy night as Liverpool were strong down that side, their Australian Brad Smith did a lot of attacking from left back. Almost inevitably, poor JOB ended up going off injured late on in normal time.

TheOneWhoKnocks
19/03/2016, 3:55 PM
I was questioning why Bilic wouldn't bring on O'Brien to help shore up West Ham's defence and hold on to their lead, instead electing to make another attacking change, and sure enough lo and behold Chelsea are level again.

CraftyToePoke
19/03/2016, 11:53 PM
TOWK in. Bilic out.

I know id pay good money to watch that unfold anyway.

12/08/2016, 1:23 PM
Released by West Ham in June. No word of any new club. Would do a good job for a Championship club on a year's contract. What's his Agent up to ?

TheOneWhoKnocks
14/09/2016, 9:20 PM
Rotherham pass on O'Brien.

http://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/football/rotherham-united/rotherham-united-millers-no-go-on-ex-west-ham-left-back-joey-o-brien-1-8123186

seanfhear
15/09/2016, 7:23 AM
I thought Sam Alardyce may have called him up . Sam was certainly a big supporter of Joey .

Colbert Report
14/05/2017, 5:49 AM
Didn't sign with a club all season and still only 31. What's the deal with this guy? Has he an injury stopping him from playing?

14/05/2017, 9:31 AM
Don't think it's one specific injury, more likely it's his history of injuries

08/09/2017, 11:07 AM
Possibly linking up with Bolton again
https://lionofviennasuite.sbnation.com/2017/9/8/16272810/transfer-gossip-bolton-wanderers-could-sign-former-player-ahead-of-baptista-epl-efl

08/09/2017, 12:56 PM
I saw Joey O'Brien down at Crumlin Utd watching a relative play football about 18 months ago. A nice summers day so everyone in shorts and short shirts. The first impression I got was the guy was too skinny. That might sound ironic coming from a fat bast@rd who could probably eat Joey O'Brien in one sitting and ask for seconds, but that was my gut reaction. It wasn't toned, it was slightness.

Always wanted more for the guy, but it never happened.

seanfhear
08/09/2017, 1:07 PM
I saw Joey O'Brien down at Crumlin Utd watching a relative play football about 18 months ago. A nice summers day so everyone in shorts and short shirts. The first impression I got was the guy was too skinny. That might sound ironic coming from a fat bast@rd who could probably eat Joey O'Brien in one sitting and ask for seconds, but that was my gut reaction. It wasn't toned, it was slightness.

Always wanted more for the guy, but it never happened.Is he another one that had arrested development due to injury . I always wonder what some of these lads could have been except for injury....Thems the breaks I suppose.....Football can be very cruel game/business......

09/09/2017, 11:39 PM
Joey had a serious knee injury and was lucky to ever get back playing. Before the injury he was a very good defensive midfielder when Big Sam's Bolton were in their prime. He was unfortunate to get that injury and it certainly curtailed his career.

seanfhear
10/09/2017, 7:56 AM
Joey had a serious knee injury and was lucky to ever get back playing. Before the injury he was a very good defensive midfielder when Big Sam's Bolton were in their prime. He was unfortunate to get that injury and it certainly curtailed his career.We have had a few that never fulfilled their true potential due to injuries ; Stephen Reid , Stephen Carr , David Myler and thats just a few to name off the top of my head .

And how about the number of young fellas that got injuries that stopped them early in their careers .

One of the first things you need to make it in football is to be lucky with injuries and have a body that can stand up to the rigours of professional football .

TheOneWhoKnocks
19/09/2017, 11:28 AM
Played with Bolton's U-23's the other night; Bolton considering a deal.

http://www.theboltonnews.co.uk/sport/wanderers/15542582.Ex_Wanderers_star_to_make_playing_return_ in_development_squad_tonight/#comments-anchor

19/09/2017, 7:16 PM
We have had a few that never fulfilled their true potential due to injuries ; Stephen Reid , Stephen Carr , David Myler and thats just a few to name off the top of my head .

And how about the number of young fellas that got injuries that stopped them early in their careers .

One of the first things you need to make it in football is to be lucky with injuries and have a body that can stand up to the rigours of professional football .we had a thread a few years ago, when you were a buachall og rather than a seanfhear, and the list of Irish prospects cut down by serious injury was staggering, both in its length and the quality of the prospects. I've forgotten most by now but it included Colin Healy and Richard Sadlier. Who was the poor red haired Wayne Rooney lookalike? Terry Dixon? Went from Spurs to non league in Kent after a horrible knee injury.

TheOneWhoKnocks
19/09/2017, 7:25 PM
Alan Judge is not a young prospect but he was cut down in his prime right when when he was pushing for a Euros squad place and a PL move.