View Full Version : Joey O'Brien
Pages :
[
3]
irishultra
29/10/2008, 3:43 PM
but most people support (mainly english) teams since they are little children...i think thats what he means.
Billsthoughts
29/10/2008, 3:49 PM
But now they are adults and if they like football they can go watch it. If they have kids they can bring the kids. then the kids would be able to watch live football of the team they support.
but most people support (mainly english) teams since they are little children...i think thats what he means.
i dont think that matters IU. I supported Everton (no jokes!) up til i was introduced to Bohemians by a fellow fan 10yrs ago now (jeeze)
I instantly felt more of a connection with Bohs than with Everton, whom i had been to see a number of times. In other words i did exactly what POS said it is not possible to do.
but most people support (mainly english) teams since they are little children...i think thats what he means.That's the real Irish footballing culture for you. Brainwashed by Sky, newspapers, etc, and aided by the fact that every decent Irish player is shipped off to England before completing his intermediate. As kids we all want to support 'winners' which is why you can often see an Irish person's choice of a nowadays cr*p team as an estimate to their age, because when they started following the team, it was at its greatest. Leeds circa 1960 - 1967 (which included me until they started playing sh*t, such is my fickleness as a follower of English football). Derby fans circa 1965. Forest and Ipswich fans born circa 1970. Villa circa 1975. Blackburn circa 1985.
Against the Premiership hype which dwarfs anything from the sixties and seventies, the League of Ireland doesn't stand a chance.
shaneker
29/10/2008, 4:18 PM
Its age thats the key thing. The Premiership has the stars that the kids look up to, including Irish internationals, and when they are young, unless they have someone to bring them to LOI games, there is no reason a 7-10 year old kid will look any further. Kids that age don't understand the concept of community clubs, or helping Irish football from the grassroots upwards, they just want to see their heroes play every week with flashy TV coverage and big stadiums. Obviously with the media plugging the EPL so much in Ireland, and a proportionately tiny amount of LOI coverage, its a losing battle.
Not trying to defend it, I would love to see a strong domestic league with Irish internationals scattered around it, but its easy to see how a strong attraction develops with an English club (or Celtic), and its not easy to chuck that away when you get to 15 or 16 and learn more about how the game works, and the Irish game in particular.
However, I think the day an Irish club makes it into the group stages of the Champions League (which I think will happen within 3 or 4 years) will be a big change. Overnight the LOI will become a sensation, and if the FAI can capitalise on that, we could begin to see a change.
jmurphyc
29/10/2008, 4:42 PM
However, I think the day an Irish club makes it into the group stages of the Champions League (which I think will happen within 3 or 4 years) will be a big change. Overnight the LOI will become a sensation, and if the FAI can capitalise on that, we could begin to see a change.
I totally disagree. It'll just be a flash in the pan for domestic football. Remember when Shelbourne got to the 3rd round of the qualifiers? The game after they played Depor (with what 25,000 there?) they had pretty much the same attendance as always. There may be a bit of revival eventually but unless it's properly invested in, it will probably never sustain decent crowds (sadly).
shaneker
29/10/2008, 4:45 PM
I totally disagree. It'll just be a flash in the pan for domestic football. Remember when Shelbourne got to the 3rd round of the qualifiers? The game after they played Depor (with what 25,000 there?) they had pretty much the same attendance as always. There may be a bit of revival eventually but unless it's properly invested in, it will probably never have decent crowds (sadly).
The group stages might provide more enthusiasm, 6 games, 50% chance there would be an English team for added spice, likes of Milan, Barca, Real, Inter, Bayern (assuming all are in the competition that year) plus the 'first time' effect might help. Suppose its impossible to know until it happens though.
Hopefully we won't have to wait too long to find out!
29/10/2008, 5:01 PM
Yes ultra you got the point or at least some of it, thats half the point, the other half is the issue of growing up near a LOI club. The reality is, is that as a child you see more about Man United, lIverppool etc, due to television, brothers/uncles/irish players playing for them/whatever than you do say a club 40 miles down the road(i..e those outside dublin)
The point is obvious enough, and its the case with those people mentioned before by Bill.
Sksu, i never said anything about it not being possible.
29/10/2008, 5:05 PM
The group stages might provide more enthusiasm, 6 games, 50% chance there would be an English team for added spice, likes of Milan, Barca, Real, Inter, Bayern (assuming all are in the competition that year) plus the 'first time' effect might help. Suppose its impossible to know until it happens though.
Hopefully we won't have to wait too long to find out!
Ya well said, but the key would be sustaining it. So they mightn't get great attendances throughout the year but they would get them for 6 games of the CL. Can a club survive on that alone? If they can and it occurs yearly that an EL team appears in the group stages of the CL im pretty sure the support would grow for Irish teams.
29/10/2008, 10:29 PM
A bandwagon effect is certainly possible, especially if a team were to make the breakthrough in Europe. As an example look at the crowds the Ireland team attracted in the mid eighties, pre Charlton. I vividly remember a game I attended against Brazil (which was actually after Charlton had taken over, but before qualification for Euro 88) in Landsdowne in 1987. There were 17,000 there and tickets were available at the gate. If that game was now tickets would be like golddust. If it can happen at National level it can happen at club level. It's all about hype and perception. Though as I've said some team is going to have to be capable of actually making the breakthrough first, which is a bit chicken and egg - ie harder to do without decent support in the first place. We should never stop aiming for it though, or believing it's possible. After all, that's what all football support is about.
Billsthoughts
30/10/2008, 8:54 AM
Like waiting on a stranger to tell you your wife is good looking before you beleive it yourself....
seanfhear
30/10/2008, 9:16 AM
Like waiting on a stranger to tell you your wife is good looking before you beleive it yourself....
I like your analogy if thats the right word.
30/10/2008, 9:48 AM
i dont think that matters IU. I supported Everton (no jokes!) up til i was introduced to Bohemians by a fellow fan 10yrs ago now (jeeze)
I instantly felt more of a connection with Bohs than with Everton, whom i had been to see a number of times. In other words i did exactly what POS said it is not possible to do.I was the same. No real interest in the LOI until a friend brought me to a game and I was hooked immediately.
Sligo Hornet
30/10/2008, 9:57 AM
As kids we all want to support 'winners' which is why you can often see an Irish person's choice of a nowadays cr*p team as an estimate to their age, because when they started following the team, it was at its greatest. Leeds circa 1960 - 1967 (which included me until they started playing sh*t, such is my fickleness as a follower of English football). Derby fans circa 1965. Forest and Ipswich fans born circa 1970. Villa circa 1975. Blackburn circa 1985.
Jaysus....what happened to me then?...1965 Watford FC 9th in the Third Division!......and they're still cr*p!!:eek:
lopez
30/10/2008, 12:27 PM
Jaysus....what happened to me then?...1965 Watford FC 9th in the Third Division!......and they're still cr*p!!:eek:I suppose you're one of the people who SkStu is talking about and going for your local team rather than, as I did, the team winning nearly everything but in reality also a dirty bunch of boring b*stards. Anyway, you must like the experience. And you got in that time an FA Cup final, second place in the League, a couple of dodgy trips to Europe thrown in, plus a discount on Elton John's Greatest Hits CD. ;)
31/10/2008, 11:47 AM
What a ridiculous post. Obviously all of the young Africans playing in the Premiership shouldn't play for their country as they don't represent their countries football culture
Their countries' football cultures have been raped by their former colonial masters since time immemorial. There is a serious (i.e., one I couldn't be bothered outlining to the likes of you) debate about this within African football, and CAF recently established a continental tournament exclusively for national teams of domestically-based players. In any case, academies such as the famous ASEC club in Cote D'Ivoire - more advanced than any in Britain - produce players for domestic football and export. The best graduates eventually go overseas, but they grow up rooted in Ivorian football culture and so representing that culture means something to them.
- whatever the f*ck that is.It's a football thing. You wouldn't understand.
Or even Fabregas, never played a senior game in Spain in his life - how can he be part of his countries "football culture".Eh...yeah. The Barcelona fanatic Fabregas who came through that club's youth structure, you mean? Who, incidentally, is seen as no more than a good substitute at national team level, partly because he doesn't fit the mould.
Last I heard you are representing your country when pulling on the green shirt, not the "football culture" of that country as dictated by LOI fascists.You'd want to listen again then, champ. Because if you look at the badge on a national team shirt you'll see exactly what it represents - the country's football association whence it derives its legitimacy. LOL at "LOI fascists." Do you people seriously not realise that you'd be laughed out of any other country in Europe for this attitude? You'd fit right in in South East Asia though.
31/10/2008, 12:54 PM
SHCUMI did you mean to post that here?
galwayhoop
31/10/2008, 2:49 PM
yeah but some people would thump a persons lights out if they said his wife was good looking....
31/10/2008, 2:57 PM
ya the big boggers from galway of a saturday night!
14/12/2008, 11:40 PM
I think this deserves to be highlighted. Personally I thought it was blown out of proportion at the time. I also take the quotes attributed to Alan Lee with a pinch of salt.
Joey sounds like a good lad.
O’Brien clears up Ireland quit claims (http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen/news.asp?n=35277)
Bolton Wanderers defender Joey O’Brien has dismissed speculation that he was ready to call time on his Republic of Ireland career.
O’Brien lost his place in the Irish squad for last month’s friendly against Poland after speaking of his frustrations at his lack of game-time at international level.
He questioned whether boss Giovanni Trapattoni had even seen him play – and the subsequent omission was seen as a rebuttal from the veteran Italian.
But O’Brien insists he has never contemplated following Manchester City midfielder Stephen Ireland into international exile.
The 22-year-old, who has been out of action for six weeks with a groin injury, said: “I was asked the question back in October, was I frustrated with international football? And my answer was, of course. I said that I was becoming a bit frustrated going away with the Ireland squad and sitting in the stand. But I never, ever said I would quit. That was blown up out of all proportion.
“The press tried to link it with what Stephen Ireland was saying at the time – two young lads calling it quits – but it is something I never said, and I have clarified the situation with Liam Brady.
“I told him that I had no plans to retire, I still love playing for my country, but the simple fact was that I wasn’t playing. I was sitting in the stands. I was walking round in an Ireland tracksuit claiming I was an Ireland player, when obviously I didn’t feel like I was.
“I think a curse was put on me the moment I said anything. But that’s football, I suppose. When I made the statement, I was in the Bolton Wanderers team. I wasn’t used to sitting in the stands.
“I answered the question honestly. If I had said that I love going away and sitting around doing nothing then people would think I was winding them up. I thought I’d said the right things but people have put their own spin on it, but the bottom line is I love playing for my country and I hope I get the opportunity to do it again.”
14/12/2008, 11:57 PM
Can we get thread title changed?
Joey O'Brien = Not Shameful. Good lad.
Hunty's Flatcap
15/12/2008, 11:42 AM
He was a fool to say what he did when he did - not least because those centre midfield positions are anyones at the moment. Fair played to him for his clarification of the situation though. He does at least show some passion for the shirt. Smart move to get back in with Brady - we've already seen what influence he has in the current set-up...
15/12/2008, 1:03 PM
It was a stupid remark alright, but the original quotes (the ones I saw on eleven-a-saide.com anyway) were far from "I quit international football" as at least one previous poster pointed out. Our own media is becoming one of our biggest enemies IMO.
Noelys Guitar
15/12/2008, 2:13 PM
It was a stupid remark alright, but the original quotes (the ones I saw on eleven-a-saide.com anyway) were far from "I quit international football" as at least one previous poster pointed out. Our own media is becoming one of our biggest enemies IMO.
"I am not happy sitting on the bench. I would rather be playing" Becomes UPSTART DECLARES WILL NEVER PLAY FOR IRELAND AGAIN.
15/12/2008, 3:08 PM
"I am not happy sitting on the bench. I would rather be playing" Becomes UPSTART DECLARES WILL NEVER PLAY FOR IRELAND AGAIN.
it could just as easily have become "AMBITIOUS YOUNG FOOTBALLER WANTS TO GET INTO STARTING XI" but that wouldn't sell as many papers.
Cynical, me??
Our own media is becoming one of our biggest enemies IMO.
Could not agree more, it reached a height during the Stan era and there is still signs of it ready for if Trap slips up. Stan was a disaster for us as a manager but one of our best ever players and the treatment he got from most of the media was nothing short of disgraceful.
Paddy Garcia
15/12/2008, 8:38 PM
Stan was a disaster for us as a manager but one of our best ever players and the treatment he got from most of the media was nothing short of disgraceful.
It was very fair.
15/12/2008, 8:56 PM
It was very fair.
Tabloids harassing his parents was very fair?
Razors left peg
15/12/2008, 8:56 PM
It was very fair.
Agreed.... appart from that rag of a paper The Sun making him look like Kermit the frog
Metrostars
26/01/2009, 8:27 PM
O'Brien speaks:
Indeed, he's dismissed speculation of a rift with Irish manager, Giovanni Trapattoni.
"I've had worse injuries than the one I have now and come back better so I'll do it again," says the 22-year-old utility star.
"It's upto me to get back in the team here and then put myself for the Ireland side.
Frustrated
"I said I was frustrated going away with Ireland and sitting in the stand.
"But I never ever said I would quit.
"I was walking around in an Ireland tracksuit claiming I was an Ireland player when obviously I didn't feel like I was.
"However, I still love playing for my country."
http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/sport/football/bolton_wanderers/s/1092421_obrien_keeps_battling
18/02/2009, 2:19 PM
O'Brien hoping for comeback in late April: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_4939090,00.html
Anyone think a fit Joey O'Brien would be our best option at right back now behind finnan?
Dr. Ogba
19/02/2009, 10:08 AM
Anyone think a fit Joey O'Brien would be our best option at right back now behind finnan?
no, Kevin Foley is....
05/10/2009, 9:20 AM
only just saw this: http://www.theboltonnews.co.uk/sport/4650627.Make_or_break_comeback_bid_for_luckless_Jo ey_O_Brien/
O’Brien hopes that in four months time, he can once again start training with his team-mates, just as he had at the start of this season before his latest setback.
05/10/2009, 10:19 AM
Really worried now about Joey’s future. Hope he makes a full recovery and we get to see him playing for Ireland again.
Murfinator
05/10/2009, 5:13 PM
Seems to be forever injured...
05/10/2009, 5:39 PM
hes stephen ried mark 2
Carrigaline
05/10/2009, 5:46 PM
no, Kevin Foley is....
I've seen him twice with Wolves in the Premier League and both times he has quite frankly struggled.
What's Stephen Carr doing these days? :o
05/10/2009, 5:47 PM
What's Stephen Carr doing these days? :o
doing A decent job at birmingham
Razors left peg
05/10/2009, 6:29 PM
doing A decent job at birmingham
and has retired from international football about 5 times now
05/10/2009, 10:10 PM
and has retired from international football about 5 times now
sure we may get him the opportunity to do it a sixth so!
Jacky08
26/11/2009, 7:44 AM
What's the craic with Joey
Seems to have fallen off the radar
26/11/2009, 8:08 AM
What's the craic with Joey
Seems to have fallen off the radar
Last I heard his career was hanging in the balance. Think he has had to have another operation which will keep him out until March/April. NO guarantees it will be a success.
http://www.physioroom.com/news/english_premier_league/epl_injury_table.php?SKEY=6c73a06f331d5db3980b480e 6179b5f6
Just says no return date
Razors left peg
21/01/2010, 3:46 PM
Does anyone know if there there are any updates on Joey O Briens injury situation, the lad has been out so long now that it almost seems like he has retired
Crosby87
22/01/2010, 12:27 AM
Does anyone know if there there are any updates on Joey O Briens injury situation, the lad has been out so long now that it almost seems like he has retired
On September 18th the specialist said he would be out 4-6 months.
Fixer82
22/01/2010, 2:42 AM
Don't think Trap will be bringing him back either way
19/07/2010, 7:57 AM
Made his long awaited return to football when he played 45 minutes in Boltons pre-season friendly. Best of luck to the lad, he seems to have been through the mill.
DannyInvincible
19/07/2010, 4:54 PM
I'm a bit out of the loop on Joey O'Brien, to the extent that I'd almost completely forgotten about him as a potential option for the future. I always thought he was a good prospect before injuries seemed to have their way with him. Is there a realistic chance he could be challenging for a place in the squad, or starting line-up even, for the forthcoming campaign given his relative versatility?
Article on his return here: http://www.google.com/hostednews/ukpress/article/ALeqM5jW0nChkhLlJ8vnrl0w8YStsTEZgA
He seems to feel pretty confident about the knee. Best of luck to him anyway.
Razors left peg
19/07/2010, 5:02 PM
Was reading in the Star today that alot of people told him that he would have to retire including the surgeon Richard Steadman so it looks like hes gonna need alot of luck. But fair play to him for sticking with and getting back this far