View Full Version : Joey O'Brien

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8

28/10/2008, 9:25 AM
here here oh blue one. great post.

28/10/2008, 9:47 AM
I'm sure there's a statto about could pull up the details.
I'm even surer Bohemian1890 should do it, seeing as how he said it

28/10/2008, 10:12 AM
I'm even surer Bohemian1890 should do it, seeing as how he said it
Of course he should provide additional detail related to a statement he made on a forum which has been confirmed by several other people. It's, like, a law, innit?

28/10/2008, 10:17 AM
'Born and bred'? What exactly does that mean?

It's is a saying , It means they were born and grew up there.

shaneker
28/10/2008, 10:53 AM
Alright, now I can stand in the Cussack Stand and shout "Forza Italia!" for 90 odd minutes without a hint of irony. You have made me see that supporting a team based on your country or community is silly unless they are some premiership side (Where did I say that?). So applying that Oirish Soccer Fan mentality to it's ultimate logical conclusion I will be supporting Italy at Croker and not that second rate rubbish.

What's the point in supporting second rate teams just because they are Irish...right?(Again, I didn't say that).

Just wrote a lengthy and thorough response to this, and then deleted it because you're a waste of time. If you think supporting a LOI team makes you a better Ireland fan than me (someone who has spent the vast majority of his life outside of Ireland, but doesn't support a foreign team), good for you. If you think it gives you the right to tell people who they can and can't support 'full stop', more power to you. I'd rather have this discussion with someone with a more balanced and less patronising way of thinking, and thats the end of it as far as my contribution is concerned. Feel free to misquote me to your hearts content.

Anyway, if O'Brien has been accurately quoted, he should be left of of the squad until a full public apology is issued. Time for Trap to send a message, that he is the boss and if you don't like his way of thinking then get your head down, work hard and force your way into the side, or else you won't be considered. Prima donna footballers **** me off!

lopez
28/10/2008, 11:38 AM
It's is a saying , It means they were born and grew up there.Yes I know what it supposed to mean, although it seems to emphasize conception and birth, rather than the growing up bit. But what makes Viera and Desailly less French because they weren't born there, than two other players whose parents are African? (I'll leave Henry and some of the others as they're from French possessions in the West Indies, and therefore, even the official line of the FN and Jean Marie Le Pen, is that they're French) They played for France and captained France, yet they are both (along with Trezeguet) from countries that weren't even former French colonies.

And growing up in France. What difference did that make to their identity? Yeah, I'm sure soon as they arrived they took an instant love of snails, frogs legs, and Maurice Chevalier films. :rolleyes: I don't think it's wrong to question how actually 'French' these people are (even if it is perhaps often racist) when the same question is asked of how 'Irish' someone is who has two Irish parents, but happened to be born outside Ireland (and that is what the 'granny rule' includes).

One more point: But who the f*ck is this Joey O'Brien?

28/10/2008, 11:39 AM
Shane, it was obvious what you said that they misquoted you, they took something completely out of context and made it into a "EL" bashing response, don't worry, most of you us knew what you meant ;)

Lopez he is a good friend of the dub Gartside who plays for Bolton and is a bit arrogant like his fellow peers.

28/10/2008, 11:44 AM
You can't always trust how these player interview things are slanted. Although O'Brien was quoted publicly on RTE, I would be okay with if he grew up a bit and sorted it out with Trap etc.

shaneker
28/10/2008, 11:55 AM
Shane, it was obvious what you said that they misquoted you, they took something completely out of context and made it into a "EL" bashing response, don't worry, most of you us knew what you meant ;)

Cheers Paul, I'll get that tenner to you later :p

Guts&Glory
28/10/2008, 12:22 PM
Why cant we all just get along ???? :)

28/10/2008, 12:34 PM
And growing up in France. What difference did that make to their identity? Yeah, I'm sure soon as they arrived they took an instant love of snails, frogs legs, and Maurice Chevalier films.
They grew up in the French football culture. They are part of the French football culture. They represent French football.

I don't think it's wrong to question how actually 'French' these people are (even if it is perhaps often racist) when the same question is asked of how 'Irish' someone is who has two Irish parents, but happened to be born outside Ireland (and that is what the 'granny rule' includes).They didn't grow up in the Irish football culture. They are not part of the Irish football culture. They don't represent Irish football. When they retire they'll go back to coaching and spouting sh1t about the game in Britain, apart from the occasional detour to spout sh1t about the (British) game in Ireland.

Hibernian
28/10/2008, 1:06 PM
Is it me but it seems to be the Irish players who were born and lived in this country who don't seem to want to play for Ireland.

Look at Steve Reid, Carsley and Kilbane guys who would jump on the first plane to Dublin to play for "there" country.

The Charlton era was the same these boys showed more pride in the Irish jersey then some of our clowns.

I remember reading Cascarino book and him on about going to world cup 1982 to support England yet when asked to play for Ireland he gave 100% and wasn't always sulking. I know he was by no means world class but commitment he did give and so can be said for the rest of the English born guys who wore the green.

I hope these guys realise its a honour to play for your country not a right.

DeLorean
28/10/2008, 3:19 PM
Who cares? the way I see it Joey O'Brien being in or out of the team isn't gonna be the difference between us being in SA or not. Same goes for Stephen Manchester as somebody further up quite fittingly labelled him. He's a luxury player for Man City and has never put in a decent 90mins for Ireland but did score a couple of goals for us, somewhat covering up pretty much non existant performances otherwise. On assessment of his performances for City he basically hangs around half way waiting for the counter attack and has plenty of energy saved to get in the box. Good eye for goal no doubt but a luxury we cannot afford, in fact Andy Reid would give a far more workman like performance if given the chance.;)

Boh_So_Good
28/10/2008, 3:56 PM
Just wrote a lengthy and thorough response to this, and then deleted it because you're a waste of time.

Oh come now, tell the truth. You could not stand having your double standards held up to your face for absolute truism they forced you to confront.

The gas thing is that I find it simply amazing that the same Oirish/Oirland Premiership Cult Lemmings think nothing of slagging off Joey O'Brien or Stephen Ireland for turning their backs on Irish soccer while at the same time these "Ireland" supporters walk into Croker with Liverpool, Celtic and Man U scarves.

You can write all the lenghty posts you want to me. I don't care as I like the rest of LOI supporters are the only true Irish soccer supporters in this country (same for the IL supporters up North). And we know it, and so do you lot and deep down inside you're not... and never will be as long as you indulge in nuroisis of following the league next door cos "the Irish one is ****e", while supporting the Ireland national team because "YOU'LL NEVER BEAT THE IRISH!!!! even when they are being ran off the pitch by San Marino"

Gullible Morons and Tragic Lemmings every last one of you.

Here is another fact for you; for over 20 years now, Linfield have be more of Irish soccer team than any of the ROI squads have every been in that same time frame.

Dust the Walkers Crisp Crumbs out of the crack in your arse and deal with that one O' devoted Irish soccer fan.:D

Hibernian
28/10/2008, 4:03 PM
Oh come now, tell the truth. You could not stand having your double standards held up to your face for absolute truism they forced you to confront.

The gas thing is that I find it simply amazing that the same Oirish/Oirland Premiership Cult Lemmings think nothing of slagging off Joey O'Brien or Stephen Ireland for turning their backs on Irish soccer while at the same time these "Ireland" supporters walk into Croker with Liverpool, Celtic and Man U scarves.

You can write all the lenghty posts you want to me. I don't care as I like the rest of LOI supporters are the only true Irish soccer supporters in this country (same for the IL supporters up North). And we know it, and so do you lot and deep down inside you're not... and never will be as long as you indulge in nuroisis of following the league next door cos "the Irish one is ****e", while supporting the Ireland national team because "YOU'LL NEVER BEAT THE IRISH!!!! even when they are being ran off the pitch by San Marino"

Here is another fact for you; for over 20 years now, Linfield have be more of Irish soccer team than any of the ROI squads have every been in that same time frame.

Dust the Walkers Crisp Crumbs out of the crack in your arse and deal with that one O' devoted Irish soccer fan.:D

WTF was that all about

28/10/2008, 4:07 PM
I don't care as I like the rest of LOI supporters are the only true Irish soccer supporters in this country
No you are not.

shaneker
28/10/2008, 4:12 PM
WTF was that all about

Not sure, I think he's got a little bit of sand in his vagina.

Tell you what mate, you buy me a season's worth of flights from England to Cork next season and I'll get myself a season ticket to my hometown club. I've already got the shirt and the flag I bought from the CCFC shop earlier this year to try and do my bit when the club were in financial trouble, so I should fit right in. No worries about the Celtic/Liverpool/Man U scarf, I don't actually have any of them...actually, come to think of it, I don't support any foreign sides! And you know what? Even if I did, it wouldn't make the slightest bit of difference. Crazy how when you make assumptions you end up with egg on your self-satisfied little face.

Let me know when my first flight leaves mate. If you care to lie down underneath the wheels at take-off you would make my day.

Edit - Does anyone know if this guy is actually for real? Beginning to think I may be the victim of a wind-up here...

DeLorean
28/10/2008, 4:13 PM
Generally kids start following soccer at the ages 8-12 maybe and without knowing much about anything we start watching the English club matches with far more enthusiasm than that of our own League. Once you've been supporting a certain club for a number of yrs it isn't that easy just to turn it off, plus why the f**k should we, just because some pretentious idiot like yourself feels that we should. If I support Man U, Cork City, Liverpool or feckin Glasgow Rangers then that's my choice and i certainly don't feel any less Irish because some Dalymount dick thinks I should.

Brendan 82
28/10/2008, 4:32 PM
But my brother goes to every Cork City home game, a few away ones too, and is also a staunch Man United supporter. Surely this is impossible...have I been living in a dream?

No. Some people just talk crap.

As for Joey O'Brien; he may as well concentrate on his club career if he does not want to be a bench warmer. Unsurprisingly, that is where he seems to be spending most of his time at Bolton anyway.

28/10/2008, 5:03 PM

I honestly think you are embarassing the league with a response like that. I love going to LOI games and enjoy supporting Bohs and see football week in week out and would encourage people to do so.

However if somebody is not living in Ireland and they were not born there it is very hard for them to support a League of Ireland team. Some of the most die hard Irish fans are 2nd Generation fans and I hope that does not sound patronising.

Your post makes so many generalisations and does not do your point any good. Arrogance and vitriol are never good in a debate and lessen your point even if you aspects of truth in it.

third policeman
28/10/2008, 6:10 PM
Who cares? the way I see it Joey O'Brien being in or out of the team isn't gonna be the difference between us being in SA or not. Same goes for Stephen Manchester as somebody further up quite fittingly labelled him. He's a luxury player for Man City and has never put in a decent 90mins for Ireland but did score a couple of goals for us, somewhat covering up pretty much non existant performances otherwise. On assessment of his performances for City he basically hangs around half way waiting for the counter attack and has plenty of energy saved to get in the box. Good eye for goal no doubt but a luxury we cannot afford, in fact Andy Reid would give a far more workman like performance if given the chance.;)

To say that Ireland is a luxury we cant afford is an exercise in wishful thinking. I would suggest that Whelan, Gibson, Andrews et al are medoicrities that we cant afford. Ireland's work rate for City is outstanding. I suggest you watch him over 90 minutes and not just the highlights of his goals and killer passes. It's one thing saying that Ireland should not be welcomed back, but to argue that Whelan, Gibson and A.Reid are better players is ludicrous. I suppose that's why they are all warming the bench at their respective clubs whilst Ireland is winning plaudits from respected football journalists like Paddy Barclay week in week out.

Brendan 82
28/10/2008, 6:22 PM
To say that Ireland is a luxury we cant afford is an exercise in wishful thinking. I would suggest that Whelan, Gibson, Andrews et al are medoicrities that we cant afford. Ireland's work rate for City is outstanding. I suggest you watch him over 90 minutes and not just the highlights of his goals and killer passes. It's one thing saying that Ireland should not be welcomed back, but to argue that Whelan, Gibson and A.Reid are better players is ludicrous. I suppose that's why they are all warming the bench at their respective clubs whilst Ireland is winning plaudits from respected football journalists like Paddy Barclay week in week out.

Reading your posts is like listening to a mate whose bird broke up with him ages ago but he still constantly goes on about her and the possibility of them getting back together.

jmurphyc
28/10/2008, 6:51 PM

Well, his work rate was always appalling when he was playing for us. Unless he comes back 100% committed, I wouldn't want him anywhere near the squad. He was an embarrassment in his last appearance for us.

RiffRaff
28/10/2008, 6:59 PM
I read somewhere that the Scottish FA had considered a lifetime ban for Kris Boyd for walking out recently and that would certainly sort out this problem once and for all. Suffice to say if we actually qualify for something the likes of Ireland and the O'Briens will be interested in playing again. As for Joey O'B, I hope he either comes out and clears up any misunderstanding, or is dropped from the squad. After all we managed with David O'Leary for a while and it didnt hurt us as much as much as it must have hurt him watching Euro 88.

Bohemian1890
28/10/2008, 7:06 PM
I suppose I should stop going to Ireland games as I wasn't dropped on Irish soil. Another t'ick tw*t that missed out the history lesson on emigration.:rolleyes:

Well tw*t is a very English word,so maybe you should follow them??In Ireland we would call you a c*nt.

Bohemian1890
28/10/2008, 7:16 PM
Generally kids start following soccer at the ages 8-12 maybe and without knowing much about anything we start watching the English club matches with far more enthusiasm than that of our own League. Once you've been supporting a certain club for a number of yrs it isn't that easy just to turn it off, plus why the f**k should we, just because some pretentious idiot like yourself feels that we should. If I support Man U, Cork City, Liverpool or feckin Glasgow Rangers then that's my choice and i certainly don't feel any less Irish because some Dalymount dick thinks I should.

Why should S.Ireland play for Ireland,or JOB just because some idiot like yourself feels he should??

28/10/2008, 8:37 PM
Well tw*t is a very English word,so maybe you should follow them??In Ireland we would call you a c*nt.
Well c*nt is a German word, so maybe you should follow them??

brianw82
28/10/2008, 8:38 PM
FFS lads, I only made the comment that 'Irish people should support Irish teams' in response to the original poster's notion that 'Irish people should withdraw their support for teams who don't let players from small countries represent said country', or words to that effect.
You know the expression, 'Ask a stupid question, get a stupid answer'? It's hardly going to make any difference if a few people here stop buying Liverpool jersies because Rafa would rather Robbie stay at Melwood than play for us.

davey
28/10/2008, 9:28 PM
They grew up in the French football culture. They are part of the French football culture. They represent French football.
They didn't grow up in the Irish football culture. They are not part of the Irish football culture. They don't represent Irish football. When they retire they'll go back to coaching and spouting sh1t about the game in Britain, apart from the occasional detour to spout sh1t about the (British) game in Ireland.

What a ridiculous post. Obviously all of the young Africans playing in the Premiership shouldn't play for their country as they don't represent their countries football culture - whatever the f*ck that is. Or even Fabregas, never played a senior game in Spain in his life - how can he be part of his countries "football culture". Last I heard you are representing your country when pulling on the green shirt, not the "football culture" of that country as dictated by LOI fascists.

livehead1
28/10/2008, 9:42 PM
I don't care as I like the rest of LOI supporters are the only true Irish soccer supporters in this country (same for the IL supporters up North). And we know it, and so do you lot and deep down inside you're not...

I was born and raised in England to Irish parents and bear little if any affinity to any LOI club. This isn't particularly my choice, it is more of a result that I wasn't exposed to it in the same way with which I was exposed to English soccer teams, resulting in me supporting Nottingham Forest. Since I have been old enough to watch soccer, which is a considerable period of time I have always supported the Irish national side, I don't remember the last time I didn't watch any of their games (I would actually go to the live games if i wasn't stumping up unreal post-grad uni fees). Where do I, and others like me fit into your twisted logic?

lopez
28/10/2008, 10:05 PM
Footballing culture? What growing up and playing with people that aren't actually French. What the f*ck is French footballing culture when nearly every one of their best players emigrates. Great answer.

They didn't grow up in the Irish football culture. They are not part of the Irish football culture. They don't represent Irish football. When they retire they'll go back to coaching and spouting sh1t about the game in Britain, apart from the occasional detour to spout sh1t about the (British) game in Ireland.And what exactly is so different from the Irish footballing 'culture' compared with any the football played in Britain. You'd make a more sensible argument if you were a GAA bigot banging on about foreign games. But then you are an expert spouting so much sh*t you must know when other people do the same. :rolleyes:

Firstly, In Ireland you have your own language, which you seem reluctant or unable to use in normal discourse. :D

Secondly, I'd say you'd end up supporting England before me. Most people on this forum would, and don't think a half-wit like you would be any different.

Thirdly, when your b*llocks have finally dropped and you move into the more advanced school studies you might actually discover a couple of the heads of states of post independent Ireland who spoke with English accents. You might also discover a thing called emigration, which when you grown up, if the doomsayers are to be believed, you might be a participant in it. Still this won't come as big as a shock to you as when you discover babies come from ladies front bums, though? :rolleyes:

irishultra
28/10/2008, 10:20 PM
BOHEMIAN1890 is laughable, and even though this 'giving the LOI' a bad name is nonsense he is trying his best to do it.

lopez
28/10/2008, 10:25 PM
I was born and raised in England to Irish parents and bear little if any affinity to any LOI club. This isn't particularly my choice, it is more of a result that I wasn't exposed to it in the same way with which I was exposed to English soccer teams, resulting in me supporting Nottingham Forest. Since I have been old enough to watch soccer, which is a considerable period of time I have always supported the Irish national side, I don't remember the last time I didn't watch any of their games (I would actually go to the live games if i wasn't stumping up unreal post-grad uni fees). Where do I, and others like me fit into your twisted logic?You don't. If these people had their way you'd be put in a red cross van an taken on a one way ticket to the woods.

BOHEMIAN1890 is laughable, and even though this 'giving the LOI' a bad name is nonsense he is trying his best to do it.Even someone as 'English' as me can see that he's a basket case in the minority of 1%.

irishultra
28/10/2008, 10:29 PM
yeah well thats good lopez....

there is some absolute goons on this site.

28/10/2008, 11:25 PM
i have no problem with english born players playing for the national side at all. I believe in tradition and heritage and i believe in the right of 2nd and 3rd gen irish men and irish women to feel an affinity to Ireland.

However, I do think that BohSoGood made a very good and subtle point which i think a lot of you have missed/misinterpreted.

Why support a (lets face it) pretty sh1te national side who will never win a major championship? Using the main argument made by many on this site against supporting an irish club side (i.e. theyre all sh1te) why settle for second or third best when it comes to a national side? Why not pick the one that wins the trophies or that plays nice ball or employs the fanciest system?

29/10/2008, 9:41 AM
Who on this site doesn't support a LOI club because they are sh1te?

No one misundertood/missed/misinterpreted what he was trying to say, even if you would like to think we are all oblivious to it because we dont necessarily have an EL team.

You would be hard pressed to find ppl on this site, who don't support LOI teams because they are sh1te, in the public you are probably right but not on this site. I would say the majority of those who don't support EL teams that post on this site, is because they have no affiliation to any club and never grew up supporting an EL side(whether they are born in Ireland or wherever else or are expats), you cant just switch a lightbulb and decide "today I am a Pats fan, and for the rest of my life" :rolleyes:

DeLorean
29/10/2008, 10:06 AM
Why should S.Ireland play for Ireland,or JOB just because some idiot like yourself feels he should??
I don't feel that either of them should, O'Brien cos he's not good enough and Ireland cos he's a tosser. Terrible come back by the way, anybody would think that being told who and who not to support by some pretentious LOI 'fan' was the same thing as questioning whether or not a guy should play for his country.

DeLorean
29/10/2008, 10:18 AM
Who's arguing that Gibson and co are better players?? Look I'm as impressed with Ireland's eye for goal as anybody but to suggest his workrate is outstanding is crazy talk. And I would have thought that if it was just highlights of goals and killer passes that I've seen then I would think he's top class....fair enough I don't see every City match as they are generally not on Sky or Setanta but I did see enough of them over the past 2 seasons to give an opinion on him, as being Irish he would be one of the players I would be most interested in. If you can't make a judgement for yourself on a player and need Mr Barclay to tell u if a player's good or not then fair enough but maybe it's him that's just watchin the highlights!!

Billsthoughts
29/10/2008, 10:24 AM
Jaysus!!
Probably the bones of a decent debate lost in hail of insults and false indignation.

Firstly a different slant on the players retiring early. Leaving aside the individual cases. Does anyone here feel the fans share some of the blame for creating a situation were players hate playing for their country? Negative atmosphere at games? E.g 7 out of 9 points for Trapp and he is shipping loads of criticism? The criticism directed at Gibson/Whelan? Letting Delaney away with some of the cr*p he has pulled. Cause I do.

Secondly – Great post Sheridan.

Thirdly is anyone going to tell me(in a reasonable manner) the difference between supporting Man u etc over Irish clubs and supporting Italy over Ireland national team?

I wouldn’t consider myself to be anyway knowledgable about the EL but I like football so if I wanna go see a decent game I can just go down to inchicore for 15 euro. If people on here claim to love football so much why don’t they do the same for their local team? Whether that be nottingham forrest or Finn Harps?

29/10/2008, 10:36 AM
Jaysus!!
Probably the bones of a decent debate lost in hail of insults and false indignation.

Firstly a different slant on the players retiring early. Leaving aside the individual cases. Does anyone here feel the fans share some of the blame for creating a situation were players hate playing for their country? Negative atmosphere at games? E.g 7 out of 9 points for Trapp and he is shipping loads of criticism? The criticism directed at Gibson/Whelan? Letting Delaney away with some of the cr*p he has pulled. Cause I do.

Secondly – Great post Sheridan.

Thirdly is anyone going to tell me(in a reasonable manner) the difference between supporting Man u etc over Irish clubs and supporting Italy over Ireland national team?

I wouldn’t consider myself to be anyway knowledgable about the EL but I like football so if I wanna go see a decent game I can just go down to inchicore for 15 euro. If people on here claim to love football so much why don’t they do the same for their local team? Whether that be nottingham forrest or Finn Harps?

Bill, you still don't understand though, i made the point above. Name the people on here that have contributed that can do that and don't?!

You can just "go down to inchicore", what say 15 mins away? Thats not the case for a lot of people outside Dublin/ppl born outside of Ireland/expats etc.

irishultra
29/10/2008, 10:47 AM
Just to add, there is no difference supporting Italy over Ireland, but doing it out of spite is.

Billsthoughts
29/10/2008, 10:48 AM
Well in fairness I did say your local team. And come on, a lot of people on this site are Dublin based or Cork based. Both have clubs to choose from.

Docboy
29/10/2008, 11:15 AM
Well in fairness I did say your local team. And come on, a lot of people on this site are Dublin based or Cork based. Both have clubs to choose from.

Surely it doesn't come down to choosing a club, do they not in a way choose you? Not trying to be cryptic but choosing is done by those who want success. And just for the record I'm a Spurs fan...

Billsthoughts
29/10/2008, 11:25 AM
Surely it doesn't come down to choosing a club, do they not in a way choose you? Not trying to be cryptic but choosing is done by those who want success. And just for the record I'm a Spurs fan...

Do you like football?
Why not go down and watch it then if its readily available?
Ya dont have to buy all the merchandise and become an uber fan overnite. Live football different experience than watching on telly.

29/10/2008, 1:41 PM
Who on this site doesn't support a LOI club because they are sh1te?

No one misundertood/missed/misinterpreted what he was trying to say, even if you would like to think we are all oblivious to it because we dont necessarily have an EL team.

You would be hard pressed to find ppl on this site, who don't support LOI teams because they are sh1te, in the public you are probably right but not on this site. I would say the majority of those who don't support EL teams that post on this site, is because they have no affiliation to any club and never grew up supporting an EL side(whether they are born in Ireland or wherever else or are expats), you cant just switch a lightbulb and decide "today I am a Pats fan, and for the rest of my life" :rolleyes:

dont pull that one POS - in my short time on this site i have seen it myself from many posters that the EL is sh1te, long ball, hoof etc etc. Do not deny that.

You say: "you cant just switch a lightbulb and decide "today I am a Pats fan, and for the rest of my life" - im sorry but why is that not possible yet it is possible to do it for a club that is based miles away, in a different country, with which you have no real affinity for the locality or the people? Just wondering where that difference lies Paul?

29/10/2008, 1:45 PM
I went back to supporting Bohs after a long abscence of living in Clare etc. Now it has been a slow process of really getting to the stage where I am nervous and it effects my mood etc but it is there now and the journey has been enjoyable too and as Billsthoughts said going to live football for 15 euro a month is great value. In many ways it was going to away games with Ireland that made me want to get that live football experience on a more regular basis that got me going to the LOI after been brought there as a little kid.

lopez
29/10/2008, 3:02 PM
You say: "you cant just switch a lightbulb and decide "today I am a Pats fan, and for the rest of my life" - im sorry but why is that not possible yet it is possible to do it for a club that is based miles away, in a different country, with which you have no real affinity for the locality or the people? Just wondering where that difference lies Paul?You can follow a team in a foreign country if it has a number of large Irish internationals playing for them. What I don't understand - and this sounds like I'm the Support Police - is the continuation of this 'love' when there are no longer any Irish players and the manager actually hates the Irish. I took a great interest in Arsenal in the late seventies, solely for the numbers of Irish - North and South - at the club. Once they left, I couldn't really be bothered any more, especially as following Ireland was such a far greater footballing experience as a fan - cr*p team at the time but I didn't realise I'd witness them in a World Cup quarter final.

I met Eddie McGoldrick once and he told me George Graham hated the Irish. He knew him better than me, but it sort of vindicated me never following them (and let's face it I've had ample chance to rejoin the bandwagon).

As for the LOI, I've watched Irish teams in Wales (Cork City), Belgium (Sligo) and the Olympic team in Dunkirk against France. That last game was perhaps the best performance of an Irish national team since the 2-2 draw away to Holland in 1981. What I've seen of it is far from sh*t.

29/10/2008, 3:08 PM
I met Eddie McGoldrick once and he told me George Graham hated the Irish. He knew him better than me, but it sort of vindicated me never following them (and let's face it I've had ample chance to rejoin the bandwagon). The same George Graham that had Dave O'Leary as his assistant at Leeds?

lopez
29/10/2008, 3:33 PM
The same George Graham that had Dave O'Leary as his assistant at Leeds?And the many misogynists that marry women?

29/10/2008, 3:39 PM
You can follow a team in a foreign country if it has a number of large Irish internationals playing for them. What I don't understand - and this sounds like I'm the Support Police - is the continuation of this 'love' when there are no longer any Irish players and the manager actually hates the Irish. I took a great interest in Arsenal in the late seventies, solely for the numbers of Irish - North and South - at the club. Once they left, I couldn't really be bothered any more, especially as following Ireland was such a far greater footballing experience as a fan - cr*p team at the time but I didn't realise I'd witness them in a World Cup quarter final.

I met Eddie McGoldrick once and he told me George Graham hated the Irish. He knew him better than me, but it sort of vindicated me never following them (and let's face it I've had ample chance to rejoin the bandwagon).

As for the LOI, I've watched Irish teams in Wales (Cork City), Belgium (Sligo) and the Olympic team in Dunkirk against France. That last game was perhaps the best performance of an Irish national team since the 2-2 draw away to Holland in 1981. What I've seen of it is far from sh*t.

absolutely Lopez, you can follow any team you like. I follow the fortunes of overseas Irish players too as i love the national team and want to see them do the best that we can expect.

My issue was with POS's statement. Thats absolute rubbish. Why can you (not you specifically) pick a foreign team to support for the rest of your life, as is the case of so so many Irish men, but to pick an Irish team is something where "you cant just switch a lightbulb and decide "today I am a Pats fan, and for the rest of my life". To me it is far easier to do that with an Irish team than with a foreign team with no affinity to the community/county/country of your birth? Pauls statement puzzles me beyond belief.