View Full Version : Attendance figures now published.....

Pages : 1 [2]

citybone
18/01/2009, 6:10 PM
Think he was taking the p1sh a tad. There'd be something badly wrong if Cork and Derry didnt have the biggest crowds considering they have 80000+ populations with no serious rivals within a 30 mile radius. Linfield probably have the biggest potential support on the island, but thats got little to do with football.

cobh ramblers? Finn harps or institute with derry?

Oh so it was our fault your strikers were ****e?

Coming from a "massive" club that brought 50 to Windsor.

See what Annagh Red posted. Like Cork we have qualified for every Setanta cup competition too, we have qualified as champions. Can Cork say the same thing?

Erm no sorry wrong. Just because you have the biggest support does not make you the biggest club. Your little 20 year history has nothing on ours pal.

we brought 200 on a Monday or Tuesday night for a semi final, most people have jobs or college in cork. yee haven't had to travel far in the settanta cup yet.

we have qualified for next years competition as champions!

so what are the qualities for being a big club?

man utd are a big club right they have the biggest support in the English premier division, celtic/rangers in Scotland, real Madrid/Barcelona in Spain etc.

Graemerz
18/01/2009, 6:32 PM
we brought 200 on a Monday or Tuesday night for a semi final, most people have jobs or college in cork. yee haven't had to travel far in the settanta cup yet.

We have travelled to Dublin and Longford. If it wasn't for our fanbase the Setanta would be no more.

we have qualified for next years competition as champions!

Just because you won the last tournament does not make you champions. You came 5th in the Eircom League last year.

so what are the qualities for being a big club?

man utd are a big club right they have the biggest support in the English premier division, celtic/rangers in Scotland, real Madrid/Barcelona in Spain etc.

Of course fanbase is important but its not be all end all. A long history with a large amount of success is also a factor. Cork only have a 20 year odd history, and although thats not their fault they haven't really achieved enough on that time to be even near Linfield. Like it or not, Linfield are simply the biggest, best and most successful club on the island of Ireland.

Although i take nothing away from Cork, they are a good side, and deserved winners of the Setanta Cup last year.

Cobh is not in the city of Cork. Finn Harps are from Ballybofey, not exactly close to Londonderry city and its in a different country. Institute are from Drumahoe.

Let's not forget the 4,000 Glenmen there plus the 3,750 'once-a-season' 'Bluemen'.

2,500 of those Glenmen are once a season. 100 of the real supporters are the scum, but sure thats Linfield's fault.

18/01/2009, 8:07 PM
Cobh is not in the city of Cork. Finn Harps are from Ballybofey, not exactly close to Londonderry city and its in a different country. Institute are from Drumahoe.

Not quite on the topic but Harps are more a Donegal/ West Tyrone club than just Ballybofey/ Twin Towns. Indeed some areas with decent Harps support are those right on the border with Derry.

citybone
18/01/2009, 10:20 PM
Think he was taking the p1sh a tad. There'd be something badly wrong if Cork and Derry didnt have the biggest crowds considering they have 80000+ populations with no serious rivals within a 30 mile radius. Linfield probably have the biggest potential support on the island, but thats got little to do with football.

thats what i was responding. ballybofey may be over 30 miles im not sure:confused: but institute is only across the river from derry city centre. and cobh is well within 30 miles.

Just because you won the last tournament does not make you champions. You came 5th in the Eircom League last year.

Of course fanbase is important but its not be all end all. A long history with a large amount of success is also a factor. Cork only have a 20 year odd history, and although thats not their fault they haven't really achieved enough on that time to be even near Linfield. Like it or not, Linfield are simply the biggest, best and most successful club on the island of Ireland.

Although i take nothing away from Cork, they are a good side, and deserved winners of the Setanta Cup last year.
we won the league in 2005 and hence qualified for the setanta cup in 2006 as champions of our league.

biggest (would normally be mainly fan base
best(arguable, no real criteria)
most successful (yee are the most successful on the island, no argument there, but again big fish small pond) the big welsh teams don't make a big thing about not playing in there own league:p:p

18/01/2009, 11:35 PM
thats what i was responding. ballybofey may be over 30 miles im not sure:confused: but institute is only across the river from derry city centre. and cobh is well within 30 miles.

You can't be serious about Institute being a rival of Derry City. Sure I mean, geographically Newry City are closer to Dundalk than Drogheda United but you'd be laughed out of town for suggesting they were a rival. What are the chances of Derry City and Institute actually meeting in a competitive fixture (ditto for Dundalk and Newry)?

19/01/2009, 12:44 AM

Fair play to yee Graemerz - you never miss an opportunity to shoe-horn a petty political dig into a football discussion. That's some talent...

By your flawed, politically-inspired logic, City couldn't have any rivals at all in the Eircom League, as they're all "in a different country" :o

Harps attract more to the Brandywell for our games than any other team north or south do. Nuff said abour rivalries

The 2,126 for Rhyl v Prestatyn was very heartening. Worth stressing though that both that and the 1,027 who attended the other North Wales derby were Boxing Day (or near enough!) games, and hence played some 2 weeks after my original post. At the point of posting the Welsh Premier crowds were generally down on previous years. :cool:

The TNS average wasn't so much the issue I pointed to, just the one-off attendance against Rhyl who are meant to be their main rivals.

An uncharacteristically high attendance of 801 at Saturday's mid-table meeting of Camarthen - Aber to add to that.

Still tracking to be the best supported season ever for the Welsh league - credit crunch or not. (Though admittedly, we are talking very small numbers).

I'd love to see the likes of Newport Co in the WPL, as they get over a thousand at their games in Blue Square South. But I suspect the fans would rather see their club go bang than let that happen after all that occured in the early 90's.

Graemerz
19/01/2009, 12:48 PM
Fair play to yee Graemerz - you never miss an opportunity to shoe-horn a petty political dig into a football discussion. That's some talent...

Its not political, its geographical.

By your flawed, politically-inspired logic, City couldn't have any rivals at all in the Eircom League, as they're all "in a different country" :o

Hardly impossible to have rivalries in different countries. I think its fair to say Linfield/Shamrock Rovers have a history. :rolleyes:

Harps attract more to the Brandywell for our games than any other team north or south do. Nuff said abour rivalries

Well they would. Absolutely no problems for FInn Harps to come to the Brandywell, is it the same for Linfield and Glentoran when they visit the Brandywell? The bogside hasn't exactly been very welcoming towards Linfield fans...... :rolleyes:

Steve Bruce
19/01/2009, 2:03 PM
I'm not a Derry City fan by the way! I'm a Cork City fan and our attendance are official and have a electronic ticket scanning machine to make it accurate.

BIGGEST CLUB ON THE ISLAND!!!

Newcastle United must be the 3rd biggest club in England after Man Utd and Arsenal:rolleyes:

AnnaghRed
19/01/2009, 6:43 PM

Cobh may be Corks derby rivals but barring the odd good result they hardly mount a serious challenge, do they?

Ballybofey is 29.2 miles from Derry according to AA route-finder and i'd imagine few Derry fans see Institute as any real threat to their dominance in the city.

19/01/2009, 9:09 PM
Cobh may be Corks derby rivals but barring the odd good result they hardly mount a serious challenge, do they?

Ballybofey is 29.2 miles from Derry according to AA route-finder and i'd imagine few Derry fans see Institute as any real threat to their dominance in the city.

It's difficult to see Institute ever being serious rivals for us tbh.

Even if we were in the same league via an all-island venture, they'd most likely not be in the same division as us. And we won't be in the same league as them any other way.

Cymro
19/01/2009, 9:32 PM
An uncharacteristically high attendance of 801 at Saturday's mid-table meeting of Camarthen - Aber to add to that.

Still tracking to be the best supported season ever for the Welsh league - credit crunch or not. (Though admittedly, we are talking very small numbers).

I'd love to see the likes of Newport Co in the WPL, as they get over a thousand at their games in Blue Square South. But I suspect the fans would rather see their club go bang than let that happen after all that occured in the early 90's.

Newport County's average attendance for this season is 970. Link (http://www.thelinnets.co.uk/turnstile.php?s=2007) There's no chance of them voluntarily joining the Welsh Premier because they have delusions that they're destined to become a Football league team and are a sleeping giant waiting to wake up. Last season aside though, they haven't come close to a promotion for several years; indeed they might go down this year.

The highest league average attendance has been 300, in 2003/4. At the moment, it's 311 this season, but we've just had the festive period. Give it a few weeks, and the glamourous NEWI Cefn Druids v Airbus fixtures will have us back to normal.

Carmarthen Town v Aberystwyth has attracted some reasonable attendances over the years; it's not exactly a mid-table game either with both teams being in the top 6. Also it was a Friday night game which always tends to boost the numbers a bit.

In any case, I'm not sure what point(s) we're arguing over here, since I've already shown that my earlier statement was based on pre-festive fixtures when the averages were indeed down.

SolitudeRed
20/01/2009, 1:16 AM
Getting back to the attendances thing....

Average attendance: 834 (to 3rd January)
Highest attendance: 9500 (approx.) - Linfield v. Glentoran, 26th December 2008
Lowest attendance: 91 - Newry City v. Dungannon Swits, 5th December 2008

Its mad to see that the lowest attendance is less than a hundredth of the highest attendance I never thought it could be that low in the IL:eek:

I take it there is still no exact figure for the BluesvGlens game yet???

Flexy
21/01/2009, 8:22 AM
Getting back to the attendances thing....

Average attendance: 834 (to 3rd January)
Highest attendance: 9500 (approx.) - Linfield v. Glentoran, 26th December 2008
Lowest attendance: 91 - Newry City v. Dungannon Swits, 5th December 2008

Its mad to see that the lowest attendance is less than a hundredth of the highest attendance I never thought it could be that low in the IL:eek:

I take it there is still no exact figure for the BluesvGlens game yet???
91 people at a newry city match that is a disgrace.

Graemerz
21/01/2009, 9:29 AM
Thats what happens when a small village team in a GAA stronghold Co. Tyrone play in a GAA city.

Finlay Harp
24/01/2009, 12:47 PM
They are towns not villages.

Dassa
25/01/2009, 6:47 PM
Thats what happens when a small village team in a GAA stronghold Co. Tyrone play in a GAA city.

Newry is a city in Co Down.

What small village are you talking about?

25/01/2009, 9:28 PM
Newry is a city in Co Down.

What small village are you talking about?

I assume he's claiming that Dungannon is some sort of hardcore GAA town/"village".

Which is just not true.

Newry is hardly a big GAA city either.

JerseyRed
26/01/2009, 3:31 AM
Yeah, I was somewhat puzzled by that post myself.

Graemerz
26/01/2009, 12:30 PM
I assume he's claiming that Dungannon is some sort of hardcore GAA town/"village".

Which is just not true.

Newry is hardly a big GAA city either.

Nope unlike you steve i have no political agenda. It was my error though, Dungannon isn't a village, it is a small country town though with not much going on in it. Dungannon have only ever turned out in numbers once before in their senior career whcih was an Irish Cup against Linfield. Newry is a small city, with 95% of the city prefering the orange/white and red/black rather than the blue/white.

JerseyRed
28/01/2009, 2:06 AM
Nope unlike you steve i have no political agenda. It was my error though, Dungannon isn't a village, it is a small country town though with not much going on in it. Dungannon have only ever turned out in numbers once before in their senior career whcih was an Irish Cup against Linfield. Newry is a small city, with 95% of the city prefering the orange/white and red/black rather than the blue/white.

Have you any evidence to back this up? God forbid we should be making sweeping statements:rolleyes:

28/01/2009, 10:22 AM

You really are a poor quality WUM Graemerz. :o

Firstly, you have conveniently ignored responding to a challenge on your incorrect assertion that Dungannon is some kind of GAA stronghold. It isn't.

Secondly - as Jersey Red has pointed out, you're making sweeping generalisations of areas you appear to know little about, without even pretending to back them up.

And then you resoort to feeble personal digs to try to deflect from where you're going wrong.

"Stop digging" would be the best advise for you now....

Graemerz
28/01/2009, 12:18 PM
You really are a poor quality WUM Graemerz. :o

Firstly, you have conveniently ignored responding to a challenge on your incorrect assertion that Dungannon is some kind of GAA stronghold. It isn't.

Secondly - as Jersey Red has pointed out, you're making sweeping generalisations of areas you appear to know little about, without even pretending to back them up.

And then you resoort to feeble personal digs to try to deflect from where you're going wrong.

"Stop digging" would be the best advise for you now....

I never once stated Dungannon was a GAA stronghold. It was however you stating that I had said that. Dungannon is a small quiet town. The club have never had a big fanbase and i doubt they ever will. Feel free to prove me wrong about Newry though. Compare the attendances at Newry showgrounds to those at the ground next to it.

28/01/2009, 1:06 PM
I never once stated Dungannon was a GAA stronghold. It was however you stating that I had said that.

Unless you're claiming that the "small village team in a GAA stronghold Co Tyrone" you were referring to is Newry - I think the above is cast iron proof. :ball:

Dungannon is a small quiet town.

At least you're acknowledging it's not a village any more.

Compare the attendances at Newry showgrounds to those at the ground next to it.

What relevance does that have ? :confused: Down GAA is a COUNTY TEAM. So will attract suport from throughout the county. The crowds at Celtic Park in Derry are much bigger than at the Brandywell, and both stadiums are right next to each other. Does that suddently suggest that Derry is a GAA stronghold/city ? Does it hell. Down GAA play in Newry for the same reason Derry GAA play in Derry - because they're the biggest population centres with the best facilities. Not because either are GAA towns.

There are GAA strongholds throughout Co Down - Kilkeel, Castlewellan, Downpatrick etc. As the biggest settlement in the county, Newry obviously has a decent number of GAA clubs - but it has historically been more of a soccer city.

Graemerz
28/01/2009, 2:59 PM
Unless you're claiming that the "small village team in a GAA stronghold Co Tyrone" you were referring to is Newry - I think the above is cast iron proof. :ball:

yes, most of Co. Tyrone is GAA. Take Omagh Town for example folded simply because they didn't have a fanbase, therefore no money. Dungannon however is one of the few small towns within Co. Tyrone that would have very little interest in GAA. The football club are a small family run club.

At least you're acknowledging it's not a village any more.

Already have within the thread. I said it was my mistake.

What relevance does that have ? :confused: Down GAA is a COUNTY TEAM. So will attract suport from throughout the county. The crowds at Celtic Park in Derry are much bigger than at the Brandywell, and both stadiums are right next to each other. Does that suddently suggest that Derry is a GAA stronghold/city ? Does it hell. Down GAA play in Newry for the same reason Derry GAA play in Derry - because they're the biggest population centres with the best facilities. Not because either are GAA towns.

There are GAA strongholds throughout Co Down - Kilkeel, Castlewellan, Downpatrick etc. As the biggest settlement in the county, Newry obviously has a decent number of GAA clubs - but it has historically been more of a soccer city.

Tell ye what go shopping in the Buttercrane or the Quays, count how many Newry City shirts ya see in comparison to the GAA tops on display. If you can honestly come back and tell me you seen more Newry City shirts fair play to ya.

29/01/2009, 10:00 AM
Tell ye what go shopping in the Buttercrane or the Quays, count how many Newry City shirts ya see in comparison to the GAA tops on display. If you can honestly come back and tell me you seen more Newry City shirts fair play to ya.

You're probably more likely to see Meath or Dublin GAA shirts these days in the Buttercrane in all fairness.

Plus, GAA stronholds like Kilkeel and Castlewellan are 'feeder towns' for the shopping in Newry.

Which shows how pointless such an exercise is in proving relative support levels.

If I see more Donegal or Tyrone GAA shirts in the Foyleside than City ones (often happens) does that therefore mean that Derry is a GAA stronghold ?

Graemerz
29/01/2009, 12:42 PM
You're probably more likely to see Meath or Dublin GAA shirts these days in the Buttercrane in all fairness.

Plus, GAA stronholds like Kilkeel and Castlewellan are 'feeder towns' for the shopping in Newry.

Which shows how pointless such an exercise is in proving relative support levels.

If I see more Donegal or Tyrone GAA shirts in the Foyleside than City ones (often happens) does that therefore mean that Derry is a GAA stronghold ?

Where is Derry?

29/01/2009, 1:00 PM
Where is Derry?

Is this a philosophical question, a political one, or just more nonsense.... ? :confused:

I'll give you a clue - it's not a small GAA village in Co Tyrone.... :D

Not Brazil
30/01/2009, 8:12 AM
Where is Derry?

It's where the Apprentice Boys are from.:rolleyes:

I find this trait of telling other people what the name of their town is very infantile.

Just respect what others call it - life will be a lot easier.

30/01/2009, 11:27 AM

And the siege, the cricket club, the rugby club..... ;)

I find this trait of telling other people what the name of their town is very infantile.

I couldn't agree more.

Yet again, Graemerz shows himself up as nothiong more than a politically-motivated WUM... :o Anyone else would get a warning from the Mods over something like that

30/01/2009, 12:13 PM
If you have a problem with a post, report it. Mods aren't omniscient.

LOL at you calling anyone a WUM though.

30/01/2009, 1:02 PM
LOL at you calling anyone a WUM though.

Touché mon amie d'estudiant, as the Dutch would put it.....

JerseyRed
03/02/2009, 12:42 AM
I never once stated Dungannon was a GAA stronghold. It was however you stating that I had said that. Dungannon is a small quiet town. The club have never had a big fanbase and i doubt they ever will. Feel free to prove me wrong about Newry though. Compare the attendances at Newry showgrounds to those at the ground next to it.

You made the statement. Back it up with evidence.

SolitudeRed
03/02/2009, 2:36 AM

Yipeee!! a sensible post I was losing the will to live there reading some of that pointless bickering.

Anyway back to the attendances thing the latest averages not including the weekends 3 games that weren't cancelled...

1.........LINFIELD..........2378 (12 games)
2.........GLENTORAN......1473 (12 games)
3.........BALLYMENA.......951 (13 games)
4.........COLERAINE........826 (12 games)
5.........CRUSADERS.......812 (12 games)
6.........CLIFTONVILLE....768 (13 games)
7.........GLENAVON.........630 (13 games)
8.........INSTITUTE........552 (12 games)
9.........DUNGANNON......476 (13 games)
10.......DISTILLERY........464 (13 games)
11.......BANGOR.............451 (13 games)
12.......NEWRY..............323 (11 games)

citybone
20/04/2009, 9:27 AM
any update on this?

Steve Bruce
20/04/2009, 11:25 AM
any update on this?

1.....LINFIELD........2345 (16 games)
2.....GLENTORAN....1454 (16 games)
3.....BALLYMENA......958 (17 games)
4.....COLERAINE.......774 (16 games)
5.....CRUSADERS......736 (16 games)
6.....CLIFTONVILLE...732 (17 games)
7.....GLENAVON.......700 (16 games)
8.....INSTITUTE.......547 (13 games)
9.....BANGOR...........472 (16 games)
10...DUNGANNON......468 (17 games)
11...DISTILLERY.......396 (17 games)
12...NEWRY.............328 (13 games)

There are still games not included in all of those. Hopefully these will be updated shortly.

citybone
20/04/2009, 12:11 PM
1.....LINFIELD........2345 (16 games)
2.....GLENTORAN....1454 (16 games)
3.....BALLYMENA......958 (17 games)
4.....COLERAINE.......774 (16 games)
5.....CRUSADERS......736 (16 games)
6.....CLIFTONVILLE...732 (17 games)
7.....GLENAVON.......700 (16 games)
8.....INSTITUTE.......547 (13 games)
9.....BANGOR...........472 (16 games)
10...DUNGANNON......468 (17 games)
11...DISTILLERY.......396 (17 games)
12...NEWRY.............328 (13 games)

There are still games not included in all of those. Hopefully these will be updated shortly.

Yipeee!! a sensible post I was losing the will to live there reading some of that pointless bickering.

Anyway back to the attendances thing the latest averages not including the weekends 3 games that weren't cancelled...

1.........LINFIELD..........2378 (12 games)
2.........GLENTORAN......1473 (12 games)
3.........BALLYMENA.......951 (13 games)
4.........COLERAINE........826 (12 games)
5.........CRUSADERS.......812 (12 games)
6.........CLIFTONVILLE....768 (13 games)
7.........GLENAVON.........630 (13 games)
8.........INSTITUTE........552 (12 games)
9.........DUNGANNON......476 (13 games)
10.......DISTILLERY........464 (13 games)
11.......BANGOR.............451 (13 games)
12.......NEWRY..............323 (11 games)

the attendances have stayed fairly steady since the 12 game mark. i can see Newry have not kept up to date on att. but i can understand as they counted the 92 at one game lol. I would have thought the clubs in the top 6 att. would have increased after the split but hasnt seemed too

Steve Bruce
20/04/2009, 1:37 PM
the attendances have stayed fairly steady since the 12 game mark. i can see Newry have not kept up to date on att. but i can understand as they counted the 92 at one game lol. I would have thought the clubs in the top 6 att. would have increased after the split but hasnt seemed too

I don't think any attendances from the split have been included yet. Only 3 games have been played since the split (3 games each)

Coleraine vs Linfield Easter Tuesday had over 2400 at the game (official)
The Good friday attendance of Glentoran vs Linfield hasn't been included either.

Linfield home to Cliftonville on Saturday past hasn't been updated either.

It takes the IFA a long time to publish the official attendances.

ArdeeBhoy
02/05/2009, 9:57 PM
Anyone know these for recent games?
As in official/'unofficial' figures?

waide
03/05/2009, 10:21 PM
Haven't been on for a while and was looking through some of the figures published, i mjssed very few blues matches this season and although it did start off slowly some of the figures published for linfield home and away fixtures are a joke,il clubs really do themselves a misjustice when they release such obviously doctored figures.