View Full Version : Game Off

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5

08/10/2008, 12:42 PM
1. Does a team have to be allowed to warm-up on the main pitch, if they request to do so? The answer to this is no. As long as an adequate area of the grounds is available, and applies to both clubs, then there is nothing in the rule book that says otherwise.

2. Is there a minimum time which a team must be allowed in order to complete their warm-up? Were Limerick given that time? The visiting side must arrive at the grounds a minimum of one hour before kick off, and be fully ready in their dressing room 5 minutes before kick-off for final referees inspection of boots and shin guards. Wrm-up times for most teams vary betweem 25-40 minutes.

da bishop
08/10/2008, 1:55 PM
have to say agree with joe soap,but others will also follow gills lead now and hammer jackman pk and lets face it we have no defence here.MK made a very poor call,i have already said on the main thread he should have played under prematch protest and raised his objections afterwards both to the media and the fai.BTW if wallace is a clown i would not mind clowns like him owning l37.

oldyouth
08/10/2008, 4:25 PM
2. Different teams have different warm ups so I'd say there's no set time. We weren't given enough time though, Wallace only accepted our request 35/40 mins before kick off, and at that stage our players weren't even togged out. Even if we shortened our warm up you'd have been looking at an 8.30/8.45 kick off, which would have inconvienced everyone concerned (including the fans that Wallace claims to care about so much), and might not have been sanctioned by the ref. That's where we fall down in my opinion.
Jebus, it is obvious that you are very passionate about your club and this issue, but come on. You are now suggesting 1 hour 25 minutes to kit out and warm up???
Some of our lads, who have travelled to Jackman Park for every game that we've played you there, say L37 do not come out until half an hour before the KO. I'm only asking, but is this true?

08/10/2008, 4:37 PM
Jebus, it is obvious that you are very passionate about your club and this issue, but come on. You are now suggesting 1 hour 25 minutes to kit out and warm up???
Some of our lads, who have travelled to Jackman Park for every game that we've played you there, say L37 do not come out until half an hour before the KO. I'm only asking, but is this true?

Nope, they go through a prematch warm up before going back out to run drills, which is what your fans would see

oldyouth
08/10/2008, 6:00 PM
Nope, they go through a prematch warm up before going back out to run drills, which is what your fans would see
I think you are clutching at straws there. Not very much detail, is some of it done indoors out of sight of the opposition? I see you ignored reference my to the 1 hour 25 minutes you state would have been needed at 7.20 to get the game on. 60 minutes warm up and 25 minutes to tie the laces?:D

Jebus, I'm only messing with you. I'm on a week's sick leave from work and have nothing better to do. Lets agree neither club is in a good light over this and await the official outcome

08/10/2008, 6:03 PM
Nope, they go through a prematch warm up before going back out to run drills, which is what your fans would seeDoesn't really matter to be honest. I've spoken to a couple of the players, and a full vigorous warm up takes no more than 45 minutes. To suggest that an hour and 25 is required is funny in the extreme. Kerley behaved like a childish jackass, and Wallace like a tyrannical bully with his comments. Both clubs are now a laughing stock as a result. And its going to cost both clubs money and they're probably going to get three points we probably would have got if we just played the bloody fixture.

08/10/2008, 6:04 PM
I think you are clutching at straws there. Not very much detail, is some of it done indoors out of sight of the opposition? I see you ignored reference my to the 1 hour 25 minutes you state would have been needed at 7.20 to get the game on. 60 minutes warm up and 25 minutes to tie the laces?:D

Jebus, I'm only messing with you. I'm on a week's sick leave from work and have nothing better to do. Lets agree neither club is in a good light over this and await the official outcome

7.20 + 15 mins getting togged out + 1hr warm up (as stated by LFC themselves) + 15 min tactics and team talk gives me 1 hour and 30 minutes, so you were wrong there :p

And I'm not on the coaching staff so you're correct in saying I don't know their full prematch routine :)

We've come out of it badly, thankfully Wallace is making us look better by the press statement

oldyouth
08/10/2008, 7:44 PM
7.20 + 15 mins getting togged out + 1hr warm up (as stated by LFC themselves) + 15 min tactics and team talk gives me 1 hour and 30 minutes
:D:D:D
Stop it, I'll burst my stitches

Splurge
08/10/2008, 7:57 PM
Wexford will get a slap on the wrist for Wallace being a clown and hopefully the FAI will have the backbone to tell Wallace that opposition players have a right to use the main pitch for their prematch warm up

Appparently opposition players have no such right.

see's it
08/10/2008, 8:54 PM
the clubs face each other saturday,it should be interesting!

L37Ultra
08/10/2008, 9:14 PM
Appparently opposition players have no such right.

Your 20's team can warm up in the middle of People's Park on Saturday so ;):D

L37Ultra
08/10/2008, 9:15 PM
the clubs face each other saturday,it should be interesting!

This whole thing is just a well thought out publicity stunt from both clubs in other to get a good crowd at the U-20's game on Saturday. Well done to all involved :)

08/10/2008, 9:39 PM
This whole thing is just a well thought out publicity stunt from both clubs in other to get a good crowd at the U-20's game on Saturday. Well done to all involved :)

That's the kind of progressive thinking that will get this league moving. :) It does amuse me that 48 hours on everybody but Mick Wallace has kinda gotten to the stage where they sorta smirk in a slightly embarrassed manner about the whole fiasco.

GenerationXI
09/10/2008, 8:14 AM
It does amuse me that 48 hours on everybody but Mick Wallace has kinda gotten to the stage where they sorta smirk in a slightly embarrassed manner about the whole fiasco.

There's no place for humour in the life of a long-hair or don't you know that? :p

09/10/2008, 3:31 PM
There's no place for humour in the life of a long-hair or don't you know that? :p

Wallace has let down long hairs everywhere with his conduct. :cool::o

10/10/2008, 12:43 AM
I was there.

Saw it all unfold at very close quarters (was being nosy).

Couldn't be bothered sifting through the tripe that 98.3% of this thread is doubtless made up of.

Suffice to say we were actually right on this farce :eek:

To give some of the heads on here an idea of the level of light we are talking about, think back pitch in Hogan Park.

10/10/2008, 12:44 AM
Wallace has let down long hairs everywhere with his conduct.

Imagine the thought of a self absorbed long hair :eek: :rolleyes: :D

dutchie
10/10/2008, 12:48 AM
It makes no difference what people think here about what happened or whats now going to happen.The whole episode will be sorted by the referees report and the fai delegate report.
Then if it comes out that Limerick were wrong to do what they did somone should answer,whether it be kerly or whoever,i would be very dissapointed if it was the managers fault that Limerick players and supporters wasted their evening trecking up and down to wexford when they should have been supporting or playing for their beloved.
Another side issue,without trying to stir some sh..e is their any truth to what wallace is saying that their is a bit of hassle in the Limerick camp.
And finally why were two of Limericks best players dropped for this game.:ball:

10/10/2008, 12:52 AM
And finally why were two of Limericks best players dropped for this game.:ball:

Because Wexford are absolute fetid tripe

5th is in the bag so I'd imagine he's giving everyone a chance before new contract time roles around.

Plus Mike can be odd with his selections at the best of times.

Seriously suggesting that the fact we rested two players against one of the worst teams in LoI history somehow backs up the incoherent ramblings of the king of the bumpkins is nonsense

LFC in Exile
10/10/2008, 7:52 AM
I think that the club could do worse than have Mike Kerley make a statement of some description on the matter. His refusal to do so just adds more fuel to the fire.

No Joe, best thing is for Kerley and teh club to say nothing and let Wallace look like a flute in the papers with his buddy Gill. Saying nothing can't add fuel.

I don't think anyone is slagging off Wexford's facilities - the issue is whether there was sufficient light on the back pitch to do a proper session. I wouldn't have any issue with clubs warming up on a second pitch but it has to be fit for purpose i.e. have lights that are good enough for evening matches.

LFC in Exile
10/10/2008, 7:55 AM
i would suggest most of us have played football at some time,we all know if you want to ruin a pitch you kick about around the goal,everyone wants to kick the ball in the net.

Are you for real? You do realise that a warm-up in the eL is not like a bunch of lads turning up for a Sunday morning park game where everyone warms up by kicking shots at the fat keeper? Even at this stage that's an insult to the lowest junior club.:rolleyes:

KevB76
10/10/2008, 12:12 PM
Another side issue,without trying to stir some sh..e is their any truth to what wallace is saying that their is a bit of hassle in the Limerick camp.

I'm guessing you weren't at the Sporting Fingal match on Friday, cos anyone who was would not need to ask that question.
A squad with any sort of internal squabbles would not play like our lads did last Friday. Seriously I wish you could have seen it bud, they were brilliant :ball:

10/10/2008, 12:19 PM
It makes no difference what people think here about what happened or whats now going to happen.The whole episode will be sorted by the referees report and the fai delegate report.
Then if it comes out that Limerick were wrong to do what they did somone should answer

The good news from the ref's report is that he comes down heavily in our favour. The Wexford boys were saying so on the main forum if you want to check that out too. Apparantly the referee has said he agrees with us on the state of lighting being a cause of concern for player's safety and he criticises the Wexford stewards and Wallace himself for their behaviour

oldyouth
10/10/2008, 1:15 PM
The good news from the ref's report is that he comes down heavily in our favour. The Wexford boys were saying so on the main forum if you want to check that out too. Apparantly the referee has said he agrees with us on the state of lighting being a cause of concern for player's safety and he criticises the Wexford stewards and Wallace himself for their behaviour
Ah my friend Jebus.
I did post that I believe it will and a disrepute charge is enevitable. However, given that your statement is so definite, it is obvious that the ref and the FAI furnished you with a copy of the report. Any chance you could post it here to allow the discussion continue along rational lines

10/10/2008, 1:57 PM
Ah my friend Jebus.
I did post that I believe it will and a disrepute charge is enevitable. However, given that your statement is so definite, it is obvious that the ref and the FAI furnished you with a copy of the report. Any chance you could post it here to allow the discussion continue along rational lines

Not in the slightest :)

Footsoldier
10/10/2008, 2:43 PM
If nothing else, last Monday night's fiasco has given us some brilliant comments on these boards over the last couple of days!

10/10/2008, 2:45 PM
If nothing else, last Monday night's fiasco has given us some brilliant comments on these boards over the last couple of days!

It's been fun to be honest :)

dublin_owl
10/10/2008, 3:14 PM
Indeed, there's been a bit of friction since the Youths arrived in the league - mainly down to the fact that the sides have met quite a few times, but these recent events have well and truly rubberstamped the rivalry.

It's all in friendly spirits though folks! :)

(Except Lim til I Die - She/he comes across as a right knob :p )

kopite
10/10/2008, 3:16 PM
check out the scum newspaper, mr keely is now having a pop at youse.
nice picture of jackman park - quality...........

kopite
10/10/2008, 3:18 PM
dodgy glasses has he?????

10/10/2008, 3:48 PM
Indeed, there's been a bit of friction since the Youths arrived in the league - mainly down to the fact that the sides have met quite a few times, but these recent events have well and truly rubberstamped the rivalry.

It's all in friendly spirits though folks!

Not at all, we Limerick forummers have this very poster above our computers at all time so watch out next time you're down :mad:

http://mikeabundo.com/wp-content/uploads/2007/06/internet-serious-business.jpg

:p

KevB76
10/10/2008, 4:02 PM
The good news from the ref's report is that he comes down heavily in our favour.

That all well and good, but I still think we'll be in for a very hefty fine anyway.
The going rate for not having a second kit/colour clashes is €1k - and thats with the match still going ahead.
For refusing to fulfil the fixture, regardless of the justification, I'd say at least €2,500. Anyone else care to speculate?

10/10/2008, 4:19 PM
Ya i'd say 2,500, 3,000 at most. Anymore than that and i think its too much. Some of the fines in the league are dear enough as it is.

dublin_owl
10/10/2008, 4:33 PM
Ya i'd say 2,500, 3,000 at most. Anymore than that and i think its too much. Some of the fines in the league are dear enough as it is.

To be perfectly honest, I hope the FAI don't hand out heavy fines to either club - God knows there's enough financial trouble in the LOI at the moment.

They'll probably refix the game, and hopefully they'll give some clarification on the issues brought to light by the whole conundrum!
ie. as to whether or not the lighting on the training pitch is sufficient for warm ups; or if visiting teams must be allowed warm up on the main surface.

The sooner it's put to bed the better!

Although we supporters can continue the bitter rivalry long into the future :)

ya big Limerick eejits! ;)

10/10/2008, 5:26 PM
Although we supporters can continue the bitter rivalry long into the future :)

ya big Limerick eejits! ;) Yeah-yeah. Keep reachin for that rainbow.

oldyouth
10/10/2008, 5:31 PM
Oh No, Peace has broken out....:eek:

Guess what has been installed today all around our training pitch:)

Yep, thats right

wexfordseagull
10/10/2008, 5:39 PM
lfc in exile every team always take shots at goal even just for a few minutes,if i insulted you who f***ing cares:D

dublin_owl
10/10/2008, 6:08 PM
Oh No, Peace has broken out....:eek:

Guess what has been installed today all around our training pitch:)

Lap dancing poles! Is it lap dancing poles? It's lap dancing poles isn't it?

Or maybe some lap dancing Poles... or Estonians... :confused:

10/10/2008, 7:06 PM
Oh No, Peace has broken out...

Guess what has been installed today all around our training pitch

Yep, thats right

Ye didn't?! :eek: So with the refs report and now this can we just not play the cancelled game and assume that the score would be LIMERICK 2-0 WEXFORD nil!!! Pink ass Wexford people got pwned twice :D

10/10/2008, 7:33 PM
pwned

You're spending too much time on football 365, and I bet it's not the football you spend your time looking at :p

Let's all just hope it's pole dancing Poles (female ones) that they've installed in Ferrycarrig, I might even start going home more often :D

10/10/2008, 9:39 PM
(Except Lim til I Die - She/he comes across as a right knob :p )

Could be worse, I could come across as a right knob in the countries biggest selling newspaper rather than a forum for the oddest of oddballs who follow the oddball Eircom League.

Or I could be from Wexford.

Or I could be from Dublin.

Or I could be an owl.

Jesus. :rolleyes:

10/10/2008, 9:40 PM
:D:D:D

dublin_owl
10/10/2008, 10:02 PM
Could be worse, I could come across as a right knob in the countries biggest selling newspaper rather than a forum for the oddest of oddballs who follow the oddball Eircom League.

Or I could be from Wexford.

Or I could be from Dublin.

Or I could be an owl.

Jesus. :rolleyes:

Touché

da bishop
10/10/2008, 10:59 PM
and it must be fact if its from you jebus,no lies or unconfirmed tripe from your end not like some ,,oops was that keely who said his team would not kit out in jackman.better check that main thread again.

manalishi
14/10/2008, 11:20 AM
I see John Gill is now throwing his 5 cents worth behind Wexford, and getting involved in a matter that is of no concern to him. The media seem to be of the opinion that Wexford and Mick Wallace are the injured party here and I think that the club could do worse than have Mike Kerley make a statement of some description on the matter. His refusal to do so just adds more fuel to the fire.

The sad thing about all of this is that there has been months and months of ball breaking effort and hard work done by people like Kieran Judge, Trevor Beacom and others that now is going to be forgotten and ridiculed. You can't blame clubs like Wexford, Dundalk or anyone for now criticising Jackman because it is a dump, and does deserve criticism. But all of this is coming to light now because of this situation which should have been handled better on the night by Kerley. He shouldn't have boarded that bus...he should have played the martyr and moaned later. Even if he felt there was H&S issues with the back pitch lighting, he still refused a 40 minute warm up on the main pitch and got the team to board the bus and go home. Thats going to be a sticking point when the FAI make any decision, and one that will ultimately go against us.

Well said and all true.40 mins is plenty of time for a part time outfit,full time pros wouldn`t go thru that routine.
Lim 37 have now drawn unwanted attention to their own problems at jackman park and kerley hasn`t said one word about it yet.
I haven`t heard of any other club moaning about the lights down there and I think there is bitterness from earlier in the season when lovelle was told to get off the main pitch before a match that caused a lot of this.

14/10/2008, 11:36 AM
I haven`t heard of any other club moaning about the lights down there and I think there is bitterness from earlier in the season when lovelle was told to get off the main pitch before a match that caused a lot of this.

Not disagreeing with the general points made by you or JoeSoap but Derry City refused the previous week. Earlier in the year lighting probably wouldn't have been such an issue. Also Wallace has put in new lights on the practice pitch since so clearly they weren't that good.

We could have played the game under protest.

14/10/2008, 11:44 AM
Well said and all true.40 mins is plenty of time for a part time outfit,full time pros wouldn`t go thru that routine.
Lim 37 have now drawn unwanted attention to their own problems at jackman park and kerley hasn`t said one word about it yet.

Curiously, Wexford Youths appear to think there's a problem with them. Unless I've misunderstood one of their supporters on here it is indeed floodlights, and not an Adonis cinema as I initially guessed, that they've just installed in their darkened green space.

14/10/2008, 12:31 PM
The referee backs us up in his report as well lads, couple that with Wexford installing new lights and I think it's safe to say we won that argument. Still should have played the game mind, actually what we should have done is marched onto the main pitch for our warm up, what are the stewards going to do after all? The ball would then have been in Wallace's court

oldyouth
14/10/2008, 12:48 PM
Not disagreeing with the general points made by you or JoeSoap but Derry City refused the previous week. Earlier in the year lighting probably wouldn't have been such an issue. Also Wallace has put in new lights on the practice pitch since so clearly they weren't that good.

We could have played the game under protest.
I still think Jebus should show us his copy of the referees report to stop all this speculation but I'll have to answer some of these points. The FAI took control of Ferrycarrig Park for the final and allowed Derry warm up on the main pitch as soon as they made the request. Mick wasn't happy and said so. He has a right to make his feelings known.

Additional lights have gone up on the training pitch. They are not match standard floodlights. There would be no conspiracy here. If our ground EVER requires anything to improve it, Mick has it done immediately. No-one must have raised this issue before. We ask, we get.

I was never there, but I believe that Jackman Park is ...eh..a little basic. I think your management has drawn a lot of unwanted attention on your own Health & Safety issues and many managers have now come out in the media to confirm it. I don't recall any managers criticising the lighting on our warm up pitch since the game was called off

I admire the loyalty you and your fellow supporters show your club, but people in glasshouses etc

14/10/2008, 1:21 PM
The referee backs us up in his report as well lads, couple that with Wexford installing new lights and I think it's safe to say we won that argument. Still should have played the game mind, actually what we should have done is marched onto the main pitch for our warm up, what are the stewards going to do after all? The ball would then have been in Wallace's court
I don't think the referees report is going to count for much in fairness. It does comment upon the bad lighting, and also that the Wexford stewards were aggressive in their manner. It's the FAI delegates report that will influence the hearing. It would only be the refs concern if anything happened to influence the game, and seeing as there was none....

I would agree with you in so far as they should have walked on to the pitch if they really wanted to...but that raises the question as to why didn't they? Something still doesn't add up as to why this game wasn't played.:confused: Why bring lads 3.5 hours down to Wexford on a bus, 4 hours down there doing little or nothing, and 3.5 hours back on a bus if you're 'resting' them, for a game of very little consequence? Why was he resting them in the first place? Its hardly as if they've been killing themselves all season long as both are only with the club a short period of time, and are young and injury free.