View Full Version : Game Off

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

LK37oldskool
06/10/2008, 7:33 PM
just heard that tonights game is off.It appears that Limerick were prevented from using the pitch to warm up so MK told the players to get back on the bus and their on their way home!
Can anyone confirm this?:confused:
will Lk37 be deducted /fined for this?

06/10/2008, 7:44 PM
Game is off. Limerick were told to use the back pitch for a warm up and Mike didn't think it was suitable, asked to use the main pitch, Wallace refused then said okay far, far too late and so Limerick refused to play. Wait for more details before posting thoughts lads

Splurge
06/10/2008, 7:47 PM
Game is off. Limerick were told to use the back pitch for a warm up and Mike didn't think it was suitable, asked to use the main pitch, Wallace refused then said okay far, far too late and so Limerick refused to play. Wait for more details before posting thoughts lads

I was at the game, apparently the LK bus left about 19:35, seems very childish to me, it's not like our lads were let onto the main pitch or anything.

06/10/2008, 7:56 PM
I was at the game, apparently the LK bus left about 19:35, seems very childish to me, it's not like our lads were let onto the main pitch or anything.

Players safety comes before a few blades of grass to be fair. Your fellow Youths are saying the lighting is poor on the back pitch so I'm inclined to believe our version of events

Here's the official Limerick press release lads

Limerick 37 would like to confirm that prior to their rescheduled match with Wexford Youths at Ferrycarrig Park this evening, Monday October 6th the team were informed that they would be unable to carry out their pre match warm up on the main playing surface.

As the alternative warm up area suggested was deemed unsafe for health and safety reasons due to poor lighting, Limerick 37 made a request to warm up on the main playing surface to the match referee. The match referee confirmed he had absolutely no issue with the team warming up on the main playing surface.

Despite this assurance from the referee the Wexford Youths stewards refused access to the pitch to the Limerick FC players and management. Limerick 37 were therefore left with no choice but to refuse to carry out the fixture as they were not afforded the opportunity to complete the pre match warm up which is a vital element in ensuring player welfare. It is extremely disappointing for all concerned with the club especially considering the majority of our squad are semi professional and had to take half days from work in order to make themselves available for the fixture.

Splurge
06/10/2008, 8:00 PM
Players safety comes before a few blades of grass to be fair. Your fellow Youths are saying the lighting is poor on the back pitch so I'm inclined to believe our version of events

Here's the official Limerick press release lads

Afaik our lads train on the warm up pitch all year round, dark and light, so if it's good enough for training it's good enough for warming up.

see's it
06/10/2008, 8:00 PM
i was told the kitman forgot the gear and limerick were offered the pink strip,mike didnt like it so told the boys get back on the bus

06/10/2008, 8:02 PM
Afaik our lads train on the warm up pitch all year round, dark and light, so if it's good enough for training it's good enough for warming up.

On the main forum I've just been told that half the pitch is floodlit, although normally those lights face away from the pitch and on to the car park, and even when they face the half of the pitch they are of a poor standard. You and Wallace may not care about player's safety, but that sounds completely unsuitable

LK37oldskool
06/10/2008, 8:12 PM
Every team that plays at Jackman are given the courtesy of warming up on the pitch.That should be afford to us when we travel.
Next time the funboys come to Limerick they can warm up in the Peoples Park.

Splurge
06/10/2008, 8:15 PM
On the main forum I've just been told that half the pitch is floodlit, although normally those lights face away from the pitch and on to the car park, and even when they face the half of the pitch they are of a poor standard. You and Wallace may not care about player's safety, but that sounds completely unsuitable

So it was good enough for Waterford in the darkness of last march, but not for LK in October

see's it
06/10/2008, 8:18 PM
the darkness isnt good enough for anyone.where did wexford warm up?

Denis The Red
06/10/2008, 8:22 PM
I was never at Ferrycarrig and I have great admiration for what Mick Wallace has achieved and is trying to achieve there but this is totally unprofessional from Wexford in a league that's trying to be as professional as possible.
What's a 10 minute warmup going to do to a pitch that's supposed to hold 90 minutes tonight. It's time to get a grip Wexford and come down from that mock ivory tower the league cup final has built for you.

06/10/2008, 8:23 PM
So it was good enough for Waterford in the darkness of last march, but not for LK in October

I've told you on the main page that I couldn't care less what Waterford thought back in March (when it isn't as dark as October at 7pm), nor do I care what Wallace thinks, Kerley and Limerick have a responsibility to our players and our players alone

06/10/2008, 8:32 PM
Can anyone confirm this?:confused:
will Lk37 be deducted /fined for this?

You surely are, Limerick should be awarded the points!

L37Ultra
06/10/2008, 8:37 PM
Just hope Limerick don't come out looking bad from this. Not going to say much until I know the full story but not impressed by Wexford at all. Saying that, its a joke Limerick left a match like that. The whole situation is a laughing stock to be honest.

06/10/2008, 8:42 PM
i was told the kitman forgot the gear and limerick were offered the pink strip,mike didnt like it so told the boys get back on the bus

I'll give you until the morning to offer proof of this or edit your post before giving you an infraction for unsubstantiated allegations... the whole situation is ludicrous enough without you making comments like that without any inclination as to whether you're joking or not.

Battery Rover
06/10/2008, 9:05 PM

Trev I dont know the full story of what happened but according to the rule book if what is being said is true then Wexford will be awarded the points and L37 fined. I hope they dont get the points as it leaves them further away from us.

LK37oldskool
06/10/2008, 9:05 PM
Mike Wallace just been on Newstalk slaggin off Limerick.He's Suggesting that LK37 were having an internal dispute as Tierney and Sheehan were on the bench so they were only lookin for any excuse to call off the game.
I had a lot of time for wallace but not any more.You cant come out on national airwaves and make statements like that.
He's makin us look really bad.

06/10/2008, 9:07 PM
i think that was meant to be a joke.

soccerc
06/10/2008, 9:07 PM
Mike Wallace just been on Newstalk slaggin off Limerick.He's Suggesting that LK37 were having an internal dispute as Tierney and Sheehan were on the bench so they were only lookin for any excuse to call off the game.
I had a lot of time for wallace but not any more.You cant come out on national airwaves and make statements like that.
He's makin us look really bad.

Wexford Youths FC and Limerick 37's First Division clash at Ferrycarrig Park tonight has been abandoned.

Wexford Youths and Limerick 37 both handed their team sheets in on time and referee Rob Rogers said that the pitch was playable.

When Mr.Rogers went to call the two teams from their dressing rooms at 7.55, Limerick were not present and the game was therefore called off.

Wexford manager Mick Wallace had the following comment to make:

"Limerick refused to warm up on our second pitch and asked to train on the match pitch. In our 18 month history in the First Division, no team in the league has warmed up on the match pitch before the game. Limerick have been here five times and warmed up on the second pitch on each occasion. Our match pitch is the best pitch in the league and our second pitch is the second best pitch in the league.

"Limerick refused to warm up on the second pitch and threatened to leave, so at 7.20, I informed them that they could in fact warm up on the main pitch, as much as this is against our policy, I did not want to cause trouble and there was about 500 supporters here who I wanted to be able to watch a game of football but at that stage they decided there was not enough time left to warm up. This seemed a crazy scenario seeing as Wexford Youths had not started to warm up. Teams generally take 20 to 25 minutes for a warm up and that would still have aloud (sic) Limerick back in the dressing room at 7.45.

"It does appear that Limerick did not want to play the game. We had noted that it was strange that two of their better players, Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were not in the starting eleven for some reason. Maybe there was problems that we didn't know about."

the dazzler
06/10/2008, 9:41 PM
lim37 could well be fined or docked points crazy we should have just got on with it not as if we can afford the cost of the traveling:mad:

L37Ultra
06/10/2008, 9:53 PM
lim37 could well be fined or docked points crazy we should have just got on with it not as if we can afford the cost of the traveling:mad:

Whos we?

the dazzler
06/10/2008, 10:38 PM
lim37 i know i dont get to many games but still i support limerick:ball:

da bishop
06/10/2008, 11:00 PM
Whos we?

cop on will you,this constant grilling of people posting here is becoming tedious.anyone who is not a diehard fan does have the potential to become one,a bit of respect wouldn,t go amiss.

Monkfish
06/10/2008, 11:27 PM
cop on will you,this constant grilling of people posting here is becoming tedious.anyone who is not a diehard fan does have the potential to become one,a bit of respect wouldn,t go amiss.

You really need to check some these people's posts in the past before defending them.

the dazzler
06/10/2008, 11:32 PM
at the end of the day i still want limerick to do well might not have agreed earlier this season the way certain things were done but its over now get on with it as for what happened tonite kerley should just have played the game and sorted it out afterwards:ball:

Monkfish
07/10/2008, 4:14 AM
the darkness isnt good enough for anyone.where did wexford warm up?

Apparantly they didnt!!!
I know Mick had his team beat 6-1 live on national tv at home in a cup final while wearing pink but theres no need to be ratty with us!
His comments on newstalk have a lot of people losing respect for the man also, i mean we bring a full squad for a nothing game on a monday night and he says what he says....
I did feel we shouldnt have fecked off when we did however i now feel had MK stayed then we would have been forced to play and without a proper warm up and that wouldnt have been on. It does however leave us open for punisment from the FAI.

oldyouth
07/10/2008, 7:49 AM
What's a 10 minute warmup going to do to a pitch that's supposed to hold 90 minutes tonight.
This seems to be the unknown aspect of it all. They were offered the main pitch 40 MINUTES prior to KO and refused. I'm sure a request to the officials for a 10-15 minute delay would have been acceptable, given that I'm sure the officials had travelled a distance themselves. I've never heard of a pre-match routine including warm up and last minute team talk that lasts an hour. There's more to this than we know at the moment

Youths4Ever
07/10/2008, 7:53 AM
Apparantly they didnt!!!

did not warm up as Limerick had left by half seven so then had training at 8pm instead

I know Mick had his team beat 6-1 live on national tv at home in a cup final while wearing pink but theres no need to be ratty with us!
His comments on newstalk have a lot of people losing respect for the man also, i mean we bring a full squad for a nothing game on a monday night and he says what he says....
I did feel we shouldnt have fecked off when we did however i now feel had MK stayed then we would have been forced to play and without a proper warm up and that wouldnt have been on. It does however leave us open for punisment from the FAI.Not been ratty with ye as you put it Derry only team in 18 months who have warmed up on main pitch not like Limerick have never been to Wexford to play before and have tried this before without lighting being a reason so I don't really buy the health and safety reason to be honest.

Limerick where not going to be forced to play without a proper warm up told at 7.20 with players already togged out that could warm up on main pitch. More than enough time as would not have come out till then or later anyway.

Mick should not have said about Limerick team selection on newstalk though either that was going to far but who has never said things in the heat of the moment that should not have been said.

GenerationXI
07/10/2008, 8:21 AM
As a builder we shouldn't really expect Mick to know much about health and safety and, in fairness, as soon as the dreaded H&S words were mentioned he did offer up the main pitch. :p

Two things: 1) It's pretentious as hell for the team not to warm up on their main pitch, but at the end of the day if that's what they want to do then that's just how they run their shop.

2) It is true (and their seems to be no argument about the fact) that once the offer to warm up on the main pitch was made, and allowing for the possibility of a delayed start, there was no reason to call off the game. I suspect the line that will be fed to me is that given that there was a dispute the players' morale and focus could have been lost. To which I would say: 1) It's the first division of the eircom league and 2) the dispute would have affected both teams (if at all).

From the facts as I see them, the reaction from Limerick may have been slightly irrational. But in hindsight, given the way Mick has behaved himself on national Radio, it was too good for them.

As to the (frankly ludicrous) allegations made by Wallace that the omission of two of our best players from the starting 11 would indicate that something's afoot: We're playing 3 games in 7 days! The Youths may have delusions of grandeur but a huge game it was not. We're travelling to Longford on Saturday and it seems logical that a few players would be rested for a game against a team that we should beat all day long.

Here's to a new bitter rivalry!:p

gaidin
07/10/2008, 8:33 AM
did not warm up as Limerick had left by half seven so then had training at 8pm instead

Not been ratty with ye as you put it Derry only team in 18 months who have warmed up on main pitch not like Limerick have never been to Wexford to play before and have tried this before without lighting being a reason so I don't really buy the health and safety reason to be honest.

Limerick where not going to be forced to play without a proper warm up told at 7.20 with players already togged out that could warm up on main pitch. More than enough time as would not have come out till then or later anyway.

Mick should not have said about Limerick team selection on newstalk though either that was going to far but who has never said things in the heat of the moment that should not have been said.

Is this a fact?

If the pitch was offered then I feel L37 should have went ahead with the game. Especially if any L37 supporters were at the game...

backodanet
07/10/2008, 8:34 AM
i was told the kitman forgot the gear and limerick were offered the pink strip,mike didnt like it so told the boys get back on the bus.

I'll give you until the morning to offer proof of this or edit your post before giving you an infraction for unsubstantiated allegations... the whole situation is ludicrous enough without you making comments like that without any inclination as to whether you're joking or not.

:rolleyes: :o living up to your name there

07/10/2008, 9:11 AM
just on today fm there that limerick have just released a statement basically saying "that to suggest limerick travelled all the way to wexford with the intention of not playing the game is ludicrous".

i just want this sorted asap and to move on at this stage whatever the outcome.

07/10/2008, 9:24 AM
Wexford manager Mick Wallace had the following comment to make:
".... In our 18 month history in the First Division, no team in the league has warmed up on the match pitch before the game."
That's straight out of Futurama.

I think it was Dr. Zoidberg said it, followed by "I appreciate it's not a very old tradition ...but it is a proud one".

07/10/2008, 9:34 AM
To be honest I think its not very good PR for the club. Once the referee had indicated that the match could go ahead and the team sheets submitted, then there was no reason it shouldn't. There is no rule in the book that states the main pitch has to be used for the warm up, and since no other EL team has warmed up on it for a league match, then why should we be made an exception? If it's true that Mick Wallace allowed the use of the main pitch 40 mins before kick off, well that just makes the situation worse.

Putting the squad back on the bus and going home was embarrassing and childish. We should have fulfilled the fixture, then made our complaints to the relevant authorities in the correct manner. That way we would have come out of it with our heads held high, with credibility intact and not open to any 'allegations of unrest in the camp' or whatever. We will lose the points, no doubt about this, and also face a hefty fine.

I don't agree with having to warm up on a badly lit back pitch either, but as everyone else has done it, including ourselves for the previous 4 or 5 times we've played there, we should have known well in advance that this was going to be the situation.

Mick Wallace should also learn to keep opinions about what he thinks about LIMERICK 37 team affairs to himself, and not air them on national radio.

07/10/2008, 9:44 AM
Even though it was bright when warming up i just thought i'd point out that limerick warmed up on athlones back pitch a few weeks back without any complaints.

07/10/2008, 10:05 AM
Whether Wexford offered the main pitch is open to dispute afaik.

I still think we should have played not least for the fans who made the journey.

However to suggest we didn't want to play the game because of injuries or disputes etc is ridiculous.

The only good thing about the night was the bowl of pasta in Wallace's wine bar.

07/10/2008, 10:20 AM
Just in case Mick Wallace is reading this the reason that Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were listed as subs is because the prevailing opinion is that your team is fairly crap and with fixtures piling up it made sense to rest them for this one as opposed to a more uh... tricky fixture.

oldyouth
07/10/2008, 10:22 AM
To be honest I think its not very good PR for the club. Once the referee had indicated that the match could go ahead and the team sheets submitted, then there was no reason it shouldn't. There is no rule in the book that states the main pitch has to be used for the warm up, and since no other EL team has warmed up on it for a league match, then why should we be made an exception? If it's true that Mick Wallace allowed the use of the main pitch 40 mins before kick off, well that just makes the situation worse.

Putting the squad back on the bus and going home was embarrassing and childish. We should have fulfilled the fixture, then made our complaints to the relevant authorities in the correct manner. That way we would have come out of it with our heads held high, with credibility intact and not open to any 'allegations of unrest in the camp' or whatever. We will lose the points, no doubt about this, and also face a hefty fine.

I don't agree with having to warm up on a badly lit back pitch either, but as everyone else has done it, including ourselves for the previous 4 or 5 times we've played there, we should have known well in advance that this was going to be the situation.

Mick Wallace should also learn to keep opinions about what he thinks about LIMERICK 37 team affairs to himself, and not air them on national radio.
Probably the most concise post on the subject, including the last line

manalishi
07/10/2008, 10:41 AM

Player safety? Are you for real, theyr`e not rugby tackling each other, only setting up a few bollards for some passing drills and stretching before the match.
Wallace owns those grounds and is entitled to do what he likes with his pitch.
Derry city who are a pro outfit had no problem with it last week at the league cup final but lim37 are too good for this.
Wallace is right when he said there was an internal problem with lim37 and they were looking for a scapegoat last night.
I`m afraid lim37 are going to pay heavily for their arrogance as they should of played on and protested later.
They had no thought for the local and travelling supporters as well.

07/10/2008, 10:45 AM
Derry city who are a pro outfit had no problem with it last week at the league cup final but lim37 are too good for this.
I agree with the rest of your post, but Derry City did have a problem with it, and insisted upon using it for the warm up. They are the only side to have done so.

07/10/2008, 10:48 AM

according to another poster derry complained and where allowed warm up on the main pitch before kick off so don't know what your talking about there.

07/10/2008, 11:14 AM

Most rational post yet.

manalishi
07/10/2008, 11:24 AM
according to another poster derry complained and where allowed warm up on the main pitch before kick off so don't know what your talking about there.

Just another point to the know alls who keep defending the situation,
at 7.00pm or just before that it is still bright enough to train as any one will
tell you who is training at the moment.There is more to this story than people
know but the whole country seems to have been there last night to witness the events.

07/10/2008, 11:27 AM
at 7.00pm or just before that it is still bright enough to train as any one will
know but the whole country seems to have been there last night to witness the events.

thats why i'm going to wait till the final outcome before giving an opinion. I'm not defending any situation, i was just pointing out that that part of your post was incorrect.

07/10/2008, 11:38 AM
Even those of us that were there were still in the dark as to what exactly happened.

oldyouth
07/10/2008, 11:39 AM
I have to say that by 7pm last night, given the rain and low clouds, it was fairly dark in Wexford.

07/10/2008, 11:55 AM
Further statement up on www.limerickfc.ie regarding this.

Hopefully this helps clear up some of it. Puts the ball back in Wallaces court.

manalishi
07/10/2008, 12:02 PM

Come down from the clouds man,to claim the points you must have a valid reason.
Running away home crying will not wear with the fai.
Bad management by kerley who should take the flak for this as he must have had the final say in matters on this.

dublin_owl
07/10/2008, 12:04 PM
Just in case Mick Wallace is reading this the reason that Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were listed as subs is because the prevailing opinion is that your team is fairly crap and with fixtures piling up it made sense to rest them for this one as opposed to a more uh... tricky fixture.

Granted we don't have a great record against Limerick (not surprising since ye get a 37 goal head start against whoever ye play - as is my understanding of the situation).

In my humble opinion Micks comments about the team selection were inappropriate, but it was certainly not a nothing game as far as Wexford Youths, Kildare County or Athlone Town are concerned, and had we gotten a point or three then similar comments could have been forthcoming from the other clubs fighting against relegation.

07/10/2008, 12:23 PM
Even those of us that were there were still in the dark as to what exactly happened.

So no lights in Limerick either? :D Good pun!