View Full Version : St Pats vs Hertha Berlin - Match Thread

Pages : 1 [2] 3

30/09/2008, 5:25 PM
What was Lynch doing?

30/09/2008, 5:31 PM
Not been able to watch much yet but Pats have a real go now.

30/09/2008, 5:34 PM
Wouldn't ya love to see yer man Chahead play EL football just for his name alone.
He sounds like he should be playing GAA for Rosscommon or something.................Chahead on the 45, cuts inside and passes to Mark Murphy, gets the ball back on the 20 and scores a beautiful point!:D

kev mcq
30/09/2008, 5:34 PM
Post again

Maroon 7
30/09/2008, 5:35 PM
No luck for Pat's. They hit the woodwork again.

30/09/2008, 5:37 PM
Starting to have a familiar tone this match, Pats on top last 20 but just cant make the breakthrough, pity as Belin arent interested.

30/09/2008, 5:37 PM
I missed Fahey's shot off the post and his pass to Guy cause I was getting a cup of tea:mad::D

Jesus that John Murphy's a tall lad!:eek:

30/09/2008, 5:49 PM
All over now.

Youths4Ever
30/09/2008, 5:50 PM
How have Pats not scored

30/09/2008, 5:52 PM
How have Pats not scored

Poor finishing, simple as, unfortunatley.

30/09/2008, 5:53 PM
Berlin were there for the taking, unfortunately Pat's couldn't take them, terrible finishing really cost them:(.

30/09/2008, 5:56 PM
0-0 full time.

Did not see enough to comment too much but Hertha did not impress.

Don't know how new system affects but under the old system the 1 ranking club point would probably ensure Pats seeded in 1st qualifying round for 5 years.

30/09/2008, 5:57 PM
pat's were incredibly lucky over 2 legs. a better left back and a proper finisher and they could have progressed. even roddy can't deny the obvious progress the league has made in the last 5 years. will fahey be playing in the bundesliga next year?

viagogo
30/09/2008, 6:01 PM
Well done Pats. Great performance but ye really have to take those chances that came yer way. If ye got one I think ye would have got another.

TheBoss
30/09/2008, 6:08 PM
Did everything possible but score, but thats is what it is about. They really needed a box striker in there to move the centre backs around, making space for midfield runners to enter the box and they lacked crossing the ball also, but what they did, they did very well.

30/09/2008, 6:11 PM
Pats could have easily gone through this evening.
Dempsey could/should have had 2 (header straight at keeper and shot off post)
Murphy should have done better with his 2 attempts.
Fahey could have had one.
Lynch scuffed a decent opportunity.

All in all though they gave a good account of themselves. Dempsey and Fahey controlled the game with Guy and Kirby playing well out wide. Rogers actually done well and put in an excellent cross that, only for Siminic' touch, Fitzpatrick had a free header on goal.

Now, lets hope they are fooked and we can get a point or 3 out of them on Friday :D

Inside Man
30/09/2008, 6:13 PM
Just back in the car after the game. F*ckin robbed.
Gutted No doubt they deserved to win.
Simply just a real pity. Have to wait another year now:mad:.

Great atmosphere.

Angus
30/09/2008, 6:20 PM
Thought Pats were excellent - Fahey in particular immense - would not be surprised if the germans try and sign him

finnpark
30/09/2008, 6:21 PM
Rubbish refereeing and poor finishing cost Pats a place in the Group stages. Same old hard luck story Im afraid.

Will we ever get to the promised land?

Mad Moose
30/09/2008, 6:21 PM
Having lived out of Ireland the last year I'd be out of the loop entirely bit for fantastic RTE Radio coverage and the dulcet tones of the legendary Eoin Hand. Sadly I didn't get to see the game online so relied on the old faithful radio online. Now I consider Eoin Hand a mellow devil, he's a great and experienced voice on the Irish game and I've never really known Eoin to get heated but I'm not sure if anybody else heard the exchanges between Eoin Hand and Eamon Collins. I have to say I enjoyed it. In a nutshell Eamon Collins did underestimate the St Pats performance by commenting that Hertha Berlin are not a good side. Eoin wasn't having that and there was a nice heated exchange of words on what each had to say.

Entertaining radio as ever.

finnpark
30/09/2008, 6:23 PM
Thought Pats were excellent - Fahey in particular immense - would not be surprised if the germans try and sign him

Hes an incredible player. He has more class than the whole Irish international team put together.

30/09/2008, 6:24 PM
well done pats - done the league proud. was watching (a bit) and listening (mostly) to the game. Should have put them away but i feel that success is just around the corner for irish teams.

And if/when it happens i hope everyone in this forum will say i told you so to the really "soccer mad" fans in this country.

Sorry about the (short) rant. Well done Pats.

30/09/2008, 6:25 PM
Having lived out of Ireland the last year I'd be out of the loop entirely bit for fantastic RTE Radio coverage and the dulcet tones of the legendary Eoin Hand. Sadly I didn't get to see the game online so relied on the old faithful radio online. Now I consider Eoin Hand a mellow devil, he's a great and experienced voice on the Irish game and I've never really known Eoin to get heated but I'm not sure if anybody else heard the exchanges between Eoin Hand and Eamon Collins. I have to say I enjoyed it. In a nutshell Eamon Collins did underestimate the St Pats performance by commenting that Hertha Berlin are not a good side. Eoin wasn't having that and there was a nice heated exchange of words on what each had to say.

Entertaining radio as ever.

heard it HB - and loved it!! :D

Mad Moose
30/09/2008, 6:25 PM
It definetely was heated and Eoin's been a bit flustered. Not quite sure what he was talking about there but came out with a very choice word in describing certain people in talking about the state of the game. 'Bull****ters' was his language of choice. What a man hi. :D

robertob
30/09/2008, 6:30 PM
I think we can all be proud! Saints played a brilliant second half. Only the goal lacked. Pats had deserve the win and was so much better than Hertha BSC. It was a great performance with a lot of passion and figthing spirit. I think this was good advertising for irish soccer.
Fahey was fantastic again! He showed that he is a player on a high level. I had a lot of fun to watch him today and also befor two weeks in Berlin.

Thank you St. Pats for the great footballgames in europe this year.This were unbelievable moments and a big success to beat Elfsborg and play two good games against Hertha BSC!

30/09/2008, 6:32 PM
yeah it was along the lines of...

and im sick of the bullshi*tters in... ah sorry, i shouldnt have said that word... but i am, im sick of them!" class.

TheBoss
30/09/2008, 6:37 PM
Rubbish refereeing and poor finishing cost Pats a place in the Group stages. Same old hard luck story Im afraid.

Will we ever get to the promised land?

I can see it happening within 2-3 years, I would confident of that.

irishultra
30/09/2008, 6:42 PM
how annoying seeing dunphy rattle on about manchester united on rte now!!!!

well done pat's...such an improvement on those shels matches in 2004(no disrespect) when they could hardly keep the ball against teams like Lille. Pat's owened Hertha Berlin, and looked better all over.

Bohemian1890
30/09/2008, 6:55 PM
On another night Pats,would have scored 3 or 4,shows again that Irish football is better than,what the Oirish ole fans think:o.Arseholes,

Also i think we LOI football fans underestimate how good are league is,anytime we do well people always go its because they other team were crap,its because we were good simple as.

30/09/2008, 6:56 PM
Overall, Berlin showed what they are, a poor side, clinging onto a 0-0 draw for dear life to a LOI side. Pats were the better side over the two legs, and with a bit of luck would have won the tie, as Drogheda would have last month.

Bar Cork, a very good year for our teams in Europe, and we got another bit of a coefficient point tonight, following Pats' result. :)

30/09/2008, 7:05 PM
Unlucky Pat's. Great performance, easily worth two goals. And that was definitely a penalty in the first half.

Straightstory
30/09/2008, 7:44 PM
Pats were excellent. Confident, purposeful, skillful. Fahey was very impressive. We're getting closer every year.

saintmaniac
30/09/2008, 8:30 PM
I expected comments here along the lines of "Pats threw away the greatest chance the League had in years of progressing in Europe", was all ready to defend the team, so I'm a bit relieved I don't have to now... we did sort of do that though. :o

I can't criticise my club, those players, they gave it everything. Very emotional. Gutted we won't have another European season with Keith Fahey in our side. I can't see him staying now. He's just a class above.

finnpark
30/09/2008, 8:35 PM
I expected comments here along the lines of "Pats threw away the greatest chance the League had in years of progressing in Europe", was all ready to defend the team, so I'm a bit relieved I don't have to now... we did sort of do that though. :o

I can't criticise my club, those players, they gave it everything. Very emotional. Gutted we won't have another European season with Keith Fahey in our side. I can't see him staying now. He's just a class above.

If Kelleher has the money that club can go anywhere. Keep Fahy and buy 3 or 4 class acts and go for it every season for a few seasons. If Fahy goes Pats should 4M or 5M

Bohemian1890
30/09/2008, 8:43 PM

Yea well,if Fahey moves he should avoid Britian,they dont have much room for a player like him.

Bohemian1890
30/09/2008, 8:45 PM
If Kelleher has the money that club can go anywhere. Keep Fahy and buy 3 or 4 class acts and go for it every season for a few seasons. If Fahy goes Pats should 4M or 5M
I think he will keep his money for now,the recession and all that.

saintmaniac
30/09/2008, 9:00 PM
Yea well,if Fahey moves he should avoid Britian,they dont have much room for a player like him.

I saw, you made some forceful points in the Fahey thread. :D

I hope he avoids Britain as well obviously, but I think he'd want to go there, probably feels he has a point to prove after his time at Arsenal and Villa. He's a far better player now than he was when he first signed for Pats, that's for sure.

People forget that Dempsey was playing in the SPL until recently as well - O'Cearuill can't get into our team but was capped by Staunton. We're not a million miles away from making the breakthrough. But I'd like to see an Irish club not only get to the group stages, but to be competitive in those games. We've had a few teams be competitive in the first round - now to the next level. When I started going to games as a kid in the mid 90s, winning the first qualifying round in Europe was a freak result, and that wasn't too long ago. It's a far greater gap this time, but what's the point in being negative? Believe. :)

30/09/2008, 9:15 PM
Thought we played well. Fahey wasn't at his best tonight and still looked class against a midfield full of internationals. Dempsey was brilliant for Pats too

Bit unlucky on the night but there you go. Hopefully next year we can push on

Mad Moose
30/09/2008, 9:24 PM

and im sick of the bullshi*tters in... ah sorry, i shouldnt have said that word... but i am, im sick of them!" class.

That was it exactly. Can't remember if it was Gabriel that was presenting it but he said something along the lines of 'ack its alright'. As if to say its only you Eoin. Don't worry about it. :D

Harmless stuff but very very funny. Eoin Hand is a legend. I think he was still a bit rattled and heated from the confrontation with Eamon Collins.

Well done St Pats. By all accounts they rattled Hertha whom I believe were shaking their heads in disbelief at half time.

30/09/2008, 10:21 PM
Eoin Hand called who bullsh*ters??? Is this online anywhere? I have to say Hand always has it right. When theres something wrong in the league he always spits it out and he doesn't fap about on issues either, he tells ya how it is, so i'd love to hear what he said.

cheifo
30/09/2008, 10:33 PM
Bad luck st Pats.Def deserved a bit more but have given so us all some rewarding moments this season.
We live in hope Gentlemen, we live in hope.

30/09/2008, 10:38 PM
Delighted I was able to go to that. Sickened that Pat's didn't get the win they deserved. I thought Dempsey and Lynch were the outstanding players for Pat's, Fahey disappointed me a little, I thought his passing was a little off, especially in the first half, that's not to say he wasn't very good, just that I've seen him play better.

Lynch was my man of the match despite fluffing a great chance and getting sent off. Thought the crowd was fantastic, even down in block H where I was, well away from the main singing crowd, we were joining in with the chants and getting behind the team. Almost pulled my hair out when Pat's hit the post for the second time. Spotted a Bray jersey and a Derry City (or might have been Sligo) in my section. Great night for the league I thought, just a pity they couldn't get that goal. I'd say over 6,000 there.

30/09/2008, 11:19 PM
Spotted a Bray jersey and a Derry City (or might have been Sligo) in my section.

I'm not sure any of us could handle so much excitement and tension in one night. :p

Burny89
01/10/2008, 12:11 AM
Tommy Smith, the pain in the ass commentator on ESPN, was doing the Man United Champions League today, and actually said, ' i just wanna take a minute and say what a fantastic result St Patrick's Atheltic had tonight against a great Hetha Berlin team' and mentioned something about showing some people up who diregard the League of Ireland

soccerc
01/10/2008, 12:26 AM
Crowd is shocking. They would have been much better off holding it in Dalymount or even Tolka. At least then they'd also get floating eircom League supporters from around D3 or D7... D4 is hardly a hotbead for LOI fans... A packed Jodi stand whould have looked much better on tv too.

Clueless in Pigsboro.:rolleyes:

Gypsy1890
01/10/2008, 12:45 AM
Pat's were easily the better team but didn't take their chances. Fahey was running the show.
Clueless in Pigsboro.:rolleyes: FYP :o
I take it you don't know your way around Dublin too well then? If you meant Phibsborough - where the Home Of Irish Football is located, maybe you could do with some English reading lessons:

soccerc
01/10/2008, 12:50 AM
I take it you don't know your way around Dublin too well then?

Know the way around my city extremely well, but I think you fail at reading, margarine kid :eek:

01/10/2008, 7:17 AM
I thought McDonnell did bottle it a bit and took the draw after an hour. Pat's were crying out for a double substitution with half an hour to go (Murphy for Fitzpatrick, O'Brien for Guy with Kirby going wide right) but he waited until the tie was irretrievable before making a move.

Quigley needs a slap too, if he didn't spend so much time trying to be a playmaker in a team that already has one Pat's would be much healthier.

Very good performance, all in all. Hertha Berlin (Cicero apart) are not a better team than St. Patrick's Athletic, it's as simple as that.

robertob
01/10/2008, 8:32 AM
If anyone can't watch the match than look to the following link for the RTE analyse and match highlights:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/2008/0930/stpats_hertha_av.html

EAFC_rdfl
01/10/2008, 8:38 AM

Eoin Hand called who bullsh*ters??? Is this online anywhere? I have to say Hand always has it right. When theres something wrong in the league he always spits it out and he doesn't fap about on issues either, he tells ya how it is, so i'd love to hear what he said.
I was listening to this on the way home from training, it was great entertainment, very funny but also quite true. they brought the debate round to why Leinster can pack out the rds every other week but LOI games are still getting bad crowds. The host asked Eoin Hand and Jim mcLaughlin for their ideas. Neither could give an exact answer but Hand said how we need to get the right people sitting down and coming up with ideas but also that "... we need to get rid of the bull****ters" and then as SkStu says, he sort of apologised but the host told him not to worry about it!!!
I've listened to most of the radio 1 coverage of the LOI teams in europe this season (due to a half hour drive after training :mad:) and it has been great. All of the guests and presenters are LOI to the bone. Fair play to Pats btw, would have done it on a different night