View Full Version : Home Cyprus game meet-up?

24/09/2008, 8:35 PM
Who's up for it?

When and where? Will be going down on the Galway bus, so providing there are not too many stoppages for the Skangers this time, we should be getting in about 5pm or before into Mountjoy Sq (I think)

kingdomkerry
24/09/2008, 9:52 PM
The Big Tree or Quinns in Drumcondra?

Sligo Hornet
25/09/2008, 6:22 AM
A group of us ( including Bear 11,AidoM,Moscow Mule) are meeting in the Big Tree.......I'll be early as my flight arrives into Dublin at 07.15!:eek:

aidz1
25/09/2008, 8:49 AM
i would recommend mcgraths pub beside drumcondra railway station.
seems to be an easier place to get served when the crowds fill in.

25/09/2008, 9:29 AM
I will be in Kate's Cottage from 4pm onwards, across the road from Connolly station.

25/09/2008, 9:53 AM
Neil thats more than a 10 min walk to croker, is that where all the snobs sorry I mean southsiders come up from? :D

Big Tree is a good location, im not going to be able go back to this one unfortunately.

Sligo Hornet
25/09/2008, 9:57 AM
Neil thats more than a 10 min walk to croker, is that where all the snobs sorry I mean southsiders come up from? :D

Big Tree is a good location, im not going to be able go back to this one unfortunately.

....:D

25/09/2008, 10:44 AM

Handy for me thats all and handy for any lads coming from outside Dublin as its beside Busarus and Connolly. Good Guinness, Good food and does not get jammed either and its a nice starting point. A few good TV screens too for the football and most importantly a hot Brazilian girl works behind the bar. It will also be handy for where Sligo Hornet is staying that night as Store Street Station is next door.

25/09/2008, 2:34 PM
I'm usually in or around the Big Tree or Quinn's on matchday

citizenerased
25/09/2008, 4:13 PM
big tree for around 6 id say,

stiffler
25/09/2008, 5:20 PM
Quinns for around 6.

AidoM
25/09/2008, 5:46 PM
A group of us ( including Bear 11,AidoM,Moscow Mule) are meeting in the Big Tree.......I'll be early as my flight arrives into Dublin at 07.15!:

We're deffo going to McGraths now :o :rolleyes: :D

galah
25/09/2008, 7:27 PM
work-> mcdaids -> big tree -> croker-> flannerys -> coppers -> leggs - > gutter - > sick day lyin on my couch....

25/09/2008, 8:45 PM
I'm not usually a fussy person, but I'm sick of the Big Tree, always rammed and there's no craic in there at all. Have to say I'd be up for McGrath's(is got for service) or Quinns. Our bus drops us to Mountjoy Sq so ideally we should be going to the pubs round there. I dunno, put it to vote!
Never been in Kate's Cottage but i know of it. Neil, you tramp, get yer southsider mates to meet closer to Croker?
Calling Saint Tom etc?

25/09/2008, 11:03 PM
Kates Cottage is not south Side its northside and its right beside Connolly and Busarus so could not be easier to find. Great spot in my view. Good Barman etc and does not get wedged and seriously it is not a far walk to Croker from there Just 5 minutes to the 5 lamps and then another ten mins from there.

I agree with you about the Big Tree

Sligo Hornet
26/09/2008, 6:47 AM
I'm not usually a fussy person,
:eek::confused:

I'll just go wherever I'm told.......provided Aido is there, as its his round!:D

AidoM
26/09/2008, 8:07 AM
I'll just go wherever I'm told.......provided Aido is there, as its his round!

It couldn't be my round :eek: I bought one in 2000 :o :D

26/09/2008, 9:01 AM
work-> mcdaids -> big tree -> croker-> flannerys -> coppers -> leggs - > gutter - > sick day lyin on my couch....

thats class galah, cos the last time i was home for a match i nearly did the exact trek.....well i didnt end up on your couch though :D no smart responses GT :)

aidz1
26/09/2008, 9:02 AM
Kates Cottage is not south Side its northside and its right beside Connolly and Busarus so could not be easier to find. Great spot in my view. Good Barman etc and does not get wedged and seriously it is not a far walk to Croker from there Just 5 minutes to the 5 lamps and then another ten mins from there.

I agree with you about the Big Tree

so you mean a 15 min walk then :D

personally would rather be <5 mins walk from the entrance. im sticking to mcgraths (suits anyway, beside drumcondra railway station and not far from the mater where the bus drops me off).

26/09/2008, 9:14 AM
thats class galah, cos the last time i was home for a match i nearly did the exact trek.....well i didnt end up on your couch though :D no smart responses GT :)

A Roscommon lad in Flannerys and Coppers, what is the world coming to. These dens of sophistication surely were above you Mr O Shea.

Moscow Mule
26/09/2008, 10:59 AM
:eek::confused:

I'll just go wherever I'm told.......provided Aido is there, as its his round!:D

But Aido never drinks so it can't be his round.

The Big Tree is too busy and you spend all of your time in hoping to get served.

26/09/2008, 11:43 AM
Yeah I agree, the Big Tree is awful in my view.

26/09/2008, 12:31 PM
big tree shocking, try anywhere else lads, maybe kate's for a swift one, then on to mcgraths. Live a little! :D
Paul o'shea you've been in bed with galah, so his couch is nothing! Dirty git

26/09/2008, 2:04 PM
Sounds good to me Green Tribe. I will be in Kate from 4pm onwards. I hope she likes it.

26/09/2008, 2:13 PM
tell Kate I was asking for her will ey lads?

Neil, I have to slum it when I come back from the big smoke to lowly dirty Dublin. No better places. well there probably is like somewhere out in inchicore but...:D

28/09/2008, 10:36 PM
word on the street some foot.ie residents are prepared to give the big tree a miss??? :eek:

The Scientist
29/09/2008, 8:21 AM
im going to the big tree for an auld verse of travelling man from papa john!!! :D:D

29/09/2008, 11:52 AM
I will be def going to Kates Cottage now as I am in crutches so its handy for me. There goes Traps plans of using me to fill in for Stephen Reid or more like Andy Reid.

AidoM
29/09/2008, 5:31 PM
I will be def going to Kates Cottage now as I am in crutches ........................

Neil, what were you up to :eek: a promising River Dance career in ruins as well :rolleyes:

Moscow Mule
29/09/2008, 8:07 PM
I will be def going to Kates Cottage now as I am in crutches so its handy for me. There goes Traps plans of using me to fill in for Stephen Reid or more like Andy Reid.

The lengths some people will go to in order to avoid going to the bar. What have you done?:confused:

30/09/2008, 11:30 AM
Torn ligaments in my knee playing football. What can you do. I am sure I will be ok for the Cyprus game (ok to drink that is).

Missing the St Pats game tonight and missed the Bohs Rovers match on Friday as I was in hospital.

Sligo Hornet
30/09/2008, 11:59 AM
Torn ligaments in my knee playing football. What can you do. I am sure I will be ok for the Cyprus game (ok to drink that is).

Missing the St Pats game tonight and missed the Bohs Rovers match on Friday as I was in hospital.

Playing football....my a*se!!.......tripped over chasing yet another piece of skirt that was too flighty for him!!:D

30/09/2008, 12:41 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/stoke_city/7642418.stm

Sligo Hornet
30/09/2008, 1:00 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/s/stoke_city/7642418.stm

I was being kind Neil.......so OK she was a bit a dog!;)

30/09/2008, 1:09 PM
Thats a harsh thing to say about your daughter. !!!

Sligo Hornet
30/09/2008, 1:14 PM
Thats a harsh thing to say about your daughter. !!!

Be careful!!:mad:.........she might look sweet, but like all Hornets, can give you a nasty sting!

30/09/2008, 10:04 PM
So...now we've got rid of Neil, we can all drink in peace. ;) Tonya Harding did a good job on him :D

McGraths anyone?? Anywhere but the big trollop

01/10/2008, 12:11 PM
You won't get rid of me that easily. I know where McGrath's is you know, its on the Clare/Dublin border.

Sligo Hornet
01/10/2008, 12:19 PM
You won't get rid of me that easily. I know where McGrath's is you know, its on the Clare/Dublin border.

No Neil not that one....GT's "local" is this one http://www.mcgrathspub.net/

01/10/2008, 1:03 PM
that looks like a cracking irish pub. might head over just to go there.

citizenerased
01/10/2008, 3:31 PM
big tree all the way, Sligo is your daughter going to the game ?

Sligo Hornet
01/10/2008, 3:52 PM
big tree all the way, Sligo is your daughter going to the game ?

No she's not.....recently started a new job....plus her boyfriend has other plans!

01/10/2008, 3:53 PM
why do you ask citizen?

01/10/2008, 4:38 PM
Getting jealous there Paul!!!

01/10/2008, 6:24 PM
:D :D :D Citizen the big tree is dung

galah
02/10/2008, 7:28 AM
:D :D :D Citizen the big tree is dung

thats why us culchies feel at home there!!

02/10/2008, 8:27 PM
thats why us culchies feel at home there!!

I'm a culchie but i still hate it:p
Kip:rolleyes:

Reddladd
03/10/2008, 8:25 AM
Has to be the Big Tree................great beer garden for us nicotine addicts. Short walk to the HOgan Stand then. The fact they have 4 bars there helps with the queue time!

03/10/2008, 2:08 PM
stop it reddladd, it is crap :mad:

Reddladd
03/10/2008, 2:20 PM
It's not that bad GT..............head up to the upstairs bar and find a spot along the balcony area................doesn't get packed at all up there!