View Full Version : U-20 results pool 2

stann
21/09/2008, 5:53 PM
I'm getting the impression that at least some results are going to be hard to come by this season for whatever reason.
Can I suggest that we get a thread going for each of the four pools and anyone who might have heard something can put a score or two in as they're passing?

Pool 2 comprises Carlow, Cobh, Cork, Kilkenny, Limerick, Waterford and Wexford.

stann
21/09/2008, 5:58 PM
First off the mark:

Sept 13th Wexford Youths 1-2 Cork City

Sept 17th Carlow FC v Waterford United - postponed

Sept 20th Kilkenny City 5-0 Wexford Youths (unconfirmed :) )

Sept 21st Waterford United 4-0 Cobh Ramblers
Goals from Willie John Kiely, Trevor Crotty (2) and Kenny Purcell.

21/09/2008, 6:00 PM
Confirmed on Aertel.
http://www.rte.ie/aertel/236-03.html

21/09/2008, 6:38 PM

That's the wrong way around. Youths win 5-0 according to our supporters club site. Ireland under 19 international Shane Dempsey scored a hattrick.

stann
22/09/2008, 6:29 AM
Great stuff PI, this is exactly the kind of thing these threads are for!
Jesus first game out and they have it fecked up already. :D

23/09/2008, 8:55 AM
Bit of a match report from the Youths game:
http://www.wexfordyouthsfc.ie/u20vkkreport.html

23/09/2008, 10:07 PM
Limerick 1 Cork city 5

attn 150

da bishop
24/09/2008, 11:00 PM
my god that att is more than kildares,mons,and ucd average att,great stuff gael.pity about the result though,whats the story and has hogan pk seen a roller lately.

amjl
28/09/2008, 9:28 PM
Limerick 37 2-1 Kilkenny City

FC Carlow 3-0 Cobh Ramblers

Youths4Ever
29/09/2008, 4:15 PM
Does anyone know when our game against Waterford is on as postponed this weekend due to the cup final?

stann
03/10/2008, 12:40 PM
As far as I know that game hasn't been refixed yet Y4E, but I'll try and find out tonight.

Better put Wednesday's result here as well to keep it in the right thread.

Waterford United 2-1 FC Carlow
(WJK with both goals)

We're next up against Cork City, the match is at Bishopstown this Sunday at 2pm.

04/10/2008, 8:56 PM
FC Carlow 3 - Limerick 0

Youths4Ever
05/10/2008, 3:25 PM
Wexford Youths 2 - 0 Cobh Ramblers

McGuire, Furlong

stann
05/10/2008, 7:39 PM
Cork City 1-1 Waterford United at Bishopstown today.
Kevin Gahan the Blues goalscorer.

Youths4Ever
07/10/2008, 8:28 PM
Our postponed game against Waterford has been rescheduled for next Tuesday 14th October at 8pm Ferrycarrig Park

Mango
08/10/2008, 11:07 AM
wel lads, would any1 be able to post the full limerick u-20's squad pls.:)

dublin_owl
11/10/2008, 4:07 PM
Limerick 0 - Wexford 1

Result as far as I know.

ForzaWexford
11/10/2008, 5:02 PM
Yep 1-0 to Wexford. Graham Healy came off the bench to score.

amjl
11/10/2008, 7:37 PM
Kilkenny City 0-1 FC Carlow

Topman
12/10/2008, 12:23 PM
Tomas Brennan with the Winner for FC Carlow.
I didnt get a number on it but there was a good crowd at the game.

12/10/2008, 5:22 PM
Yep 1-0 to Wexford. Graham Healy came off the bench to score.

2 red cards for Limerick too, 1 before and 1 after the goal I think but tbh the game was terrible and my attention to it diminished somewhat as it wore on...

KevB76
13/10/2008, 12:26 PM
2 red cards for Limerick too, 1 before and 1 after the goal I think but tbh the game was terrible and my attention to it diminished somewhat as it wore on...

I only saw about 1/2 hour of the first half but have to say we were looking a lot better than v Cork City the other week. They looked a lot more organised and comfortable, although the game wasnt played at such a frantic pace as the aforementioned Cork match.

stann
14/10/2008, 1:02 PM
The Wexford Youths v Waterford United match rescheduled for tonight at 7:30 at Ferrycarrig has been called off due to a waterlogged pitch.
No date has been set for the re-re-fix as yet.

stann
25/10/2008, 9:09 PM
Only found out last night that the Waterford-Wexford match was scheduled for today at 2pm at the RSC. Then today it was rained off! Someone doesn't want this game played. :D

Kilkenny City v Waterford United was moved to accomodate this, and is set for this Wednesday, Sept 29th at 8pm in Buckley Park.

Bernie
27/10/2008, 7:39 PM
Cork City Under 20's results to date:

Wexford Youths 1-2 Cork City
Limerick 37 1-5 Cork City
Cork City 1-1 Waterford United
Cobh Ramblers 1-2 Cork City
FC Carlow 1-2 Cork City

stann
27/10/2008, 8:35 PM
all included below now.

the sub
27/10/2008, 9:13 PM
Cobh ramblers 2 +0 _Kilkenny

stann
27/10/2008, 9:42 PM
How's that look, do I have everything? :D

Table as at 27/10/2008

Pool 2

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Cork City 5 4 1 0 12 5 13
Wexford Youths 4 3 0 1 9 2 9
FC Carlow 5 3 0 2 9 4 9
Waterford United 3 2 1 0 7 2 7
Limerick 37 4 1 0 3 3 10 3
Cobh Ramblers 5 1 0 4 3 11 3
Kilkenny City 4 0 0 4 1 10 0

Apologies to The Boss for swiping the code. :o

Results so far:
Cork City: WY 1-2 CC; L37 1-5 CC; CC 1-1 WU; CR 1-2 CC; FCC 1-2 CC
Wexford Youths: KK 0-5 WY; WY 1-2 CC; WY 2-0 CR; L37 0-1 WY
FC Carlow: WU 2-1 FCC; FCC 3-0 CR; FCC 1-2 CC; FCC 3-0 L37; KK 0-1 FCC
Waterford United: WU 4-0 CR; WU 2-1 FCC; CC 1-1 WU
Limerick 37: L37 2-1 KK; FCC 3-0 L37; L37 1-5 CC; L37 0-1 WY
Cobh Ramblers: WU 4-0 CR; FCC 3-0 CR; CR 1-2 CC; WY 2-0 CR; CR 2-0 KK
Kilkenny City: KK 0-5 WY; L37 2-1 KK; KK 0-1 FCC; CR 2-0 KK

stann
30/10/2008, 11:06 AM
Kilkenny City v Waterford United match due for last night was called off due to waterlogged pitch.
Someone would want to look at switching to summer football or something!

Any of ye Limerick lads know when and where this weekend's game is going to be? Have got three different answers down here so far.

KevB76
31/10/2008, 1:00 PM
.....from Wednesday night:

Limerick 2-2 Cobh

Limerick started well but went a goal down against the run of play about 15/20 minutes in, shot from distance beat our keeper. A second for Cobh followed soon after, keeper was off his line and got lobbed, again from distance.

Very evenly matched in the second half, Limerick did well to get back in it. Excellent shot from our no.11 on the right wing curled in and cracked off the cross-bar, Evan Quinlivan was in quick to head home the re-bound before the keepr had time to react. The second came form a speculative shot from about 20 yards out, the Cobh keeper spilled it and again one of our lads was right in there to hit home the rebound :ball:

KevB76
31/10/2008, 1:01 PM
Any of ye Limerick lads know when and where this weekend's game is going to be? Have got three different answers down here so far.

From Limerick website : http://www.limerickfc.ie/fixtures/u20.html

Saturday Nov 1st, 2pm in Athea.

stann
01/11/2008, 9:23 PM
Result today:
Limerick 37 0-1 Waterford United (Purcell 50)

Youths4Ever
02/11/2008, 6:20 PM
Result today:
Wexford Youths FC 1 - 1 FC Carlow

Topman
02/11/2008, 6:35 PM
Result today:
Wexford Youths FC 1 - 1 FC Carlow

Dara Walsh with the goal for "FC Carlow"

Good to see "Youths4ever" got our name correct!!!! The name on the poster at the entrance to the game today had "Wexford Youths v Carlow Town" Come on guys, a little respect :eek:

stann
02/11/2008, 9:43 PM
Topman, do you know if our game with ye is at your place this weekend?
It's down for the RSC in the original schedules, but since the first match was switched and played here will that mean the back match will be switched also?

stann
03/11/2008, 7:17 AM
Updated, with the Limerick v Cobh and Waterford games, and Wexford v Carlow, added. And Cork v Kikenny now, thanks Bernie. :)
Any more I've missed in that time please let me know.

Table as at 03/11/2008

Pool 2

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Cork City 6 5 1 0 16 5 16
Wexford Youths 5 3 1 1 10 3 10
Waterford United 4 3 1 0 8 2 10
FC Carlow 6 3 1 2 10 5 10
Limerick 37 6 1 1 4 5 13 4
Cobh Ramblers 6 1 1 4 5 13 4
Kilkenny City 5 0 0 5 1 14 0

Results so far:
Cork City: WY 1-2 CC; L37 1-5 CC; CC 1-1 WU; CR 1-2 CC; FCC 1-2 CC; CC 4-0 KC
Wexford Youths: KC 0-5 WY; WY 1-2 CC; WY 2-0 CR; L37 0-1 WY; WY 1-1 FCC
FC Carlow: WU 2-1 FCC; FCC 3-0 CR; FCC 1-2 CC; FCC 3-0 L37; KC 0-1 FCC; WY 1-1 FCC
Waterford United: WU 4-0 CR; WU 2-1 FCC; CC 1-1 WU; L37 0-1 WU
Limerick 37: L37 2-1 KC; FCC 3-0 L37; L37 1-5 CC; L37 0-1 WY; L37 2-2 CR; L37 0-1 WU
Cobh Ramblers: WU 4-0 CR; FCC 3-0 CR; CR 1-2 CC; WY 2-0 CR; CR 2-0 KC; L37 2-2 CR
Kilkenny City: KC 0-5 WY; L37 2-1 KC; KC 0-1 FCC; CR 2-0 KC; CC 4-0 KC

Topman
03/11/2008, 8:22 AM
Topman, do you know if our game with ye is at your place this weekend?
It's down for the RSC in the original schedules, but since the first match was switched and played here will that mean the back match will be switched also?

Stann the game will be played this Saturday 8th November with a 2.00pm kick off in Hawkins Lane Tullow (Parkville United FC)

Map / Directions http://www.parkvilleunited.com/index.php?option=com_joomleague&func=showClubInfo&p=3&cid=10&Itemid=

stann
03/11/2008, 8:40 AM
Thanks, Topman. Top man! :)

Bernie
03/11/2008, 10:18 AM
U20 Result from 2/11/08

Cork City 4-0 Kilkenny City

Youths4Ever
04/11/2008, 8:21 PM
stann

have you heard when the fabled game between Wexford and Waterford has been rescheduled for again?

Bernie
06/11/2008, 7:39 AM
Waterford Utd v Wexford Youths Sun 16th Nov. R S C. 2.00 pm

Youths4Ever
06/11/2008, 11:39 AM
Waterford Utd v Wexford Youths Sun 16th Nov. R S C. 2.00 pm

thanks for that

stann
06/11/2008, 11:54 AM
Thanks Bernie.
More than I was told here. :o
Having said that, with the last match of the season taking place the night before I fully expect that to be changed. Four of our lads will be up in Monaghan for a start, even if they do head back the same night they'll hardly be in a fit state to play at 2 the next day.

Youths4Ever
06/11/2008, 12:04 PM
Thanks Bernie.
More than I was told here. :o
Having said that, with the last match of the season taking place the night before I fully expect that to be changed. Four of our lads will be up in Monaghan for a start, even if they do head back the same night they'll hardly be in a fit state to play at 2 the next day.

i doubt it will be moved for those reasons to be honest.

we face that every week as our players are so young not an excuse just stating not a reason for game not to be played.
last weekend seniors where in Athlone saturday night and u18 had a game sat afternoon and then the u20 played sunday and from what i remember all players used on sunday having played the day before.

espically the kepper Willie Doyle our senior kepper got an injury Friday and Willie played 3 games in 48 hours played for u18 at home traveled to Athlone played and then played for u20 sunday

stann
06/11/2008, 12:46 PM
Well, I hope it won't be moved too. This match has been too long in the coming already! :D
I was just surmising though because we've already had one of these fixtures cancelled on us for exactly that reason, AFAIK. I might have it wrong, but wasn't this match originally due for a Sunday at the RSC and was cancelled cos ye were playing the LC Final the night before?

Anyway, looking forward to it whenever it is. Seems to be 3 or 4 really good teams in this pool, should be a cracking competition I think.

Youths4Ever
06/11/2008, 12:53 PM
Well, I hope it won't be moved too. This match has been too long in the coming already! :D
I was just surmising though because we've already had one of these fixtures cancelled on us for exactly that reason, AFAIK. I might have it wrong, but wasn't this match originally due for a Sunday at the RSC and was cancelled cos ye were playing the LC Final the night before?

Anyway, looking forward to it whenever it is. Seems to be 3 or 4 really good teams in this pool, should be a cracking competition I think.

yeah that what i heard to about first game wont mention to several attempts in between times lovely "summer football"

yeah looking forward to it as well. Then are good teams in the group Cork look the best so far that i have seen (only waterford left to see)

Topman
09/11/2008, 3:54 PM
Result from Saturday 8th November

FC Carlow 3 (Darragh Walsh x 2 and Ryan Curran 1)
Waterford United 1

Youths4Ever
09/11/2008, 6:36 PM
our game against cork was called off

stann
10/11/2008, 9:05 AM
Updated again. Have only added the Carlow-Blues result, if any more games have taken place since let me know.

Table as at 10/11/2008

Pool 2

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
FC Carlow 7 4 1 2 13 6 13
Waterford United 5 3 1 1 9 5 10
Kilkenny City 5 0 0 5 1 14 0

Results so far:
FC Carlow: WU 2-1 FCC; FCC 3-0 CR; FCC 1-2 CC; FCC 3-0 L37; KC 0-1 FCC; WY 1-1 FCC; FCC 3-1 WU
Waterford United: WU 4-0 CR; WU 2-1 FCC; CC 1-1 WU; L37 0-1 WU; FCC 3-1 WU
Limerick 37: L37 2-1 KC; FCC 3-0 L37; L37 1-5 CC; L37 0-1 WY; L37 2-2 CR; L37 0-1 WU
Cobh Ramblers: WU 4-0 CR; FCC 3-0 CR; CR 1-2 CC; WY 2-0 CR; CR 2-0 KC; L37 2-2 CR
Kilkenny City: KC 0-5 WY; L37 2-1 KC; KC 0-1 FCC; CR 2-0 KC; CC 4-0 KC

stann
14/11/2008, 7:26 PM
Don't know why I couldn't edit the last post, only four days later?

Anyway added Wednesday's result:
Kilkenny City 0-4 Waterford United.
Willie John Kiely (2), Joey Mulcahy and Kenny Purcell the scorers.

Again, if anyone knows of any other results I missed since whenever it was, the 3rd or 4th, please let me know.

Table as at 14/11/2008

Pool 2

CLUB P W D L F A PTS
Waterford United 6 4 1 1 13 5 13
FC Carlow 7 4 1 2 13 6 13
Kilkenny City 6 0 0 6 1 18 0

Results so far:
FC Carlow: WU 2-1 FCC; FCC 3-0 CR; FCC 1-2 CC; FCC 3-0 L37; KC 0-1 FCC; WY 1-1 FCC; FCC 3-1 WU
Waterford United: WU 4-0 CR; WU 2-1 FCC; CC 1-1 WU; L37 0-1 WU; FCC 3-1 WU; KK 0-4 WU
Kilkenny City: KC 0-5 WY; L37 2-1 KC; KC 0-1 FCC; CR 2-0 KC; CC 4-0 KC; KK 0-4 WU