View Full Version : New owners for Cork City
adamd164
12/09/2008, 10:24 AM
Confirmed at supporters meeting last night that an official bid was submitted yesterday evening by a consortium led by property developer Tom Coughlan. Plan to buy the Horseshoe pub next to the ground and make it a supporters' bar. Club to remain full time.
Today's Examiner has this:
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa212/ccfcforum/mat1.jpg
12/09/2008, 10:28 AM
Great news for Cork City FC :ball:
Salmon Coloured
12/09/2008, 10:49 AM
The most important info there for me was that the Horseshoe is part of the deal. GOOD as some of the service I got in there was atrocious. I bought a Pint of Guinness & a naggon of whiskey there once & yer one behind the Bar actually scolded me for not ordering the Guinness first. Good riddance to em. Thats just one of the instances.
Oh yeah congrats if this is true Cork Fans. Although it was great not to hear a peep out of ye for a month or so.
Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 10:50 AM
Confirmed at supporters meeting last night that an official bid was submitted yesterday evening by a consortium led by property developer Tom Coughlan. Plan to buy the Horseshoe pub next to the ground and make it a supporters' bar. Club to remain full time.
Today's Examiner has this:
http://i202.photobucket.com/albums/aa212/ccfcforum/mat1.jpg
Great news for the immediate future off the club, but long term we may see this again. Future of the club is for them all to be run like us by the fans for the fans.
12/09/2008, 10:50 AM
The word property developer always sets alarm bells ringing.
I hope he's in the Mick Wallace mould for Cork's sake. Good news that an investor came along anyway.
12/09/2008, 10:56 AM
Yeah but Cork don't own Turner's Cross so not much of likelihood of a property grab. I'd say he thinks the club can be quite profitable especially if you add in the Horsehoe as a club bar.
12/09/2008, 10:59 AM
True enough, as long as he has no, Arkaga style, 20,000 seat stadium mega developments in mind it should be all good!
Youths4Ever
12/09/2008, 11:02 AM
good news for Cork hope it works out
12/09/2008, 11:03 AM
Suonds encouraging, albeit with passinginterest's caution about the phrase "property developer".
Assuming it goes ahead (and God knows how many deals we've had in the league which have been on the verge of happening only to disappear), what's going to happen to the squad? Even if full time football is kept, are players still likely to leave?
Also, who owns the Horseshoe at present?
Also also, what's tire/tyre kicking?!
12/09/2008, 11:03 AM
Is keeping the club full time feasible in the short to medium term though? Most other clubs are scaling back to part time so I'm not so sure Cork shouldn't be looking to do likewise
Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 11:06 AM
To be honest i think fans of Lims were desperate for this Munster club to take off !
Good news day for Cork bad news day for Limerick
12/09/2008, 11:07 AM
Assuming it goes ahead (and God knows how many deals we've had in the league which have been on the verge of happening only to disappear), what's going to happen to the squad? Even if full time football is kept, are players still likely to leave?
I think Cork have the potential to finance a full time set up but it can't be anything like as expensive as the one they had with crazy wages and bonuses and too many off the field employees. They may lose one or two players but at a sensible level they should be able to have a full time set up. I think the Horsehoe is owned by some local family isn't it?. Tyre kicking would be where you're checking out a car in the garage and you kick its tyres a couple of times while you're getting the sales pitch! I assume so anyway.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 11:09 AM
Horseshoe has been up for sale for 12 months.
Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 11:11 AM
Horseshoe has been up for sale for 12 months.
Must be making a killing ! This has all the wholemarks of somebody not known what they are getting themselves into.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 11:13 AM
Must be making a killing ! This has all the wholemarks of somebody not known what they are getting themselves into.
Owned by an old fella who can't be arsed anymore.
12/09/2008, 11:14 AM
Tyre kicking would be where you're checking out a car in the garage and you kick its tyres a couple of times while you're getting the sales pitch! I assume so anyway.
Oh, very good. Makes sense alright!
I think it's easy to say Cork can afford a full-time team, but the reality is that no-one knows how much money it'd cost to run a full-time team, so it's very hard to make that call.
Wholemarks! :D
Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 11:16 AM
I am not doubting that but we here in the capital have noticed a steady decline in pub business. The very fact that it has been on the market in Cork for 12 months would mean that it is not doing so well.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 11:23 AM
RM, it's a shame that you and some others can't be happy for us as I would be if the 'shoe was on the other foot (pun intended!)
Salmon Coloured
12/09/2008, 11:24 AM
Never saw any of them in there arsed. They took my money though & I drank their booze. Transaction completed.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 11:31 AM
Never saw any of them in there arsed. They took my money though & I drank their booze. Transaction completed.
You're welcome back any time SC.:cool:
12/09/2008, 11:31 AM
To be honest i think fans of Lims were desperate for this Munster club to take off !
Yeah, enjoy that inevitable merger with Bohs by the way :rolleyes:
12/09/2008, 11:40 AM
Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 11:41 AM
12/09/2008, 11:47 AM
Pablo Escobar
12/09/2008, 11:58 AM
I am not doubting that but we here in the capital have noticed a steady decline in pub business. The very fact that it has been on the market in Cork for 12 months would mean that it is not doing so well.
I never go in there because it's a dump. But if City owned it I'd be there all the time. And many others would be the same.
12/09/2008, 12:00 PM
Jebus, I wouldn't get too worried about what Rovers Maniac has to say, he doesn't even know which club he supports. (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=100630)
Rovers Maniac
12/09/2008, 12:01 PM
Jebus, I wouldn't get too worried about what Rovers Maniac has to say, he doesn't even know which club he supports. (http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=1015246&postcount=1)
I am unique i support Rovers et al !
I never go in there because it's a dump. But if City owned it I'd be there all the time. And many others would be the same.
True. I suspect it could be got a good price too as not exactly a queue of potential purchasers. It is just a local pub & bacon fries would the height of its cuisine. I would think it currently does minimal trade as numerous better pubs in the area.
Titan
12/09/2008, 12:32 PM
Suonds encouraging, albeit with passinginterest's caution about the phrase "property developer".
How can you not know what tyre kicking is when you work in a car dealership!:eek:
12/09/2008, 12:35 PM
I work in accounts. That's how I know about clubs' accounts. :)
12/09/2008, 12:41 PM
Is keeping the club full time feasible in the short to medium term though? Most other clubs are scaling back to part time so I'm not so sure Cork shouldn't be looking to do likewise
I agree tbh. But Il take anything at this stage
As would I and many others.
The thing that seems promising about this deal is the fact that this fella got in contact with FORAS has met with them and want them/us involved from the start.
Im still skeptical though. Optimism is bad
A few too many people jumping the gun on this one. Loads of "interested" parties came in during Rovers examinership and most didn't have best interests of the club at heart. Either way nothign will be decided before the examiner presents his report to the court.
Long way to go for Cork but I wish them well
Celdrog
12/09/2008, 1:48 PM
A few too many people jumping the gun on this one. Loads of "interested" parties came in during Rovers examinership and most didn't have best interests of the club at heart. Either way nothign will be decided before the examiner presents his report to the court.
Long way to go for Cork but I wish them wellIts a lot more encouraging than a few weeks ago. Hope it works out.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 1:53 PM
Long way to go for Cork but I wish them well
This is the first official bid received by Kieran McCarthy.
I realise that. I'm jut saying that just because they've come in with a bid, doesn't neccessarily mean that the examiner or judge will think its viable
I agree its encouraging
adamd164
12/09/2008, 2:06 PM
Absolutely. It could be shot down. I'd be far less optimistic if not for Alan Mathews comments.
12/09/2008, 2:20 PM
I am unique i support Rovers et al !
:D class
your unique alright RM :cool:
12/09/2008, 2:43 PM
Once you see the words "property developer", you know it's rubbish. The property market has collapsed, so property developers will pis off when the property is no use to them, and move on to something else to play with.
The only way to run a club prudently, is let the fans run it. People whose livelihood depends on whether the club survives or not.
Once you see the words "property developer", you know it's rubbish. The property market has collapsed, so property developers will pis off when the property is no use to them, and move on to something else to play with.
The only way to run a club prudently, is let the fans run it. People whose livelihood depends on whether the club survives or not.
While im skeptical myself, saying its rubbish makes no sense. He has lodged an official bid, despite the rubbish property market and the fact we dont own the cross.
Id say maybe the idea of having a bar has gotten him interested, and maybe just goodwill. Who knows.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 2:53 PM
The point the begrudgers keep forgetting is that we don't own Turners Cross, so there's shag all for a property developer to flog.
12/09/2008, 2:57 PM
Agreed, but the alternative suggestion (that the developers want to use Cork to build a new multi-purpose stadium with lots of profitable houses and shops around it) is still unrefuted. It may be nonsense, and obviously not owning your ground is in this case an advantage, but it's a possibility.
adamd164
12/09/2008, 3:00 PM
Coughlan has said that our future lies in Turners Cross. hence the buying of the Horseshoe.
Agreed, but the alternative suggestion (that the developers want to use Cork to build a new multi-purpose stadium with lots of profitable houses and shops around it) is still unrefuted. It may be nonsense, and obviously not owning your ground is in this case an advantage, but it's a possibility.
I dont think youl find many City fans with a problem with being used for the above, with FORAS involved to safeguard the future in some way.
Given that Arkaga already tried this and failed miserably though id imagine someone coming in now would be taking a bit of a risk trying the same, since I doubt the FAI will accept the flimsy promises of last time again.
12/09/2008, 3:07 PM
since I doubt the FAI will accept the flimsy promises of last time again.
So you're assuming the FAI have learnt from their mistakes? ;)
I agree it's less likely to be a worry without your own ground, but property developers are notorious for screwing football clubs, and not just in this country. Obviously if FORAS are involved, so much the better.
Point about the Horseshoe is a good one too.
So you're assuming the FAI have learnt from their mistakes? ;)
Good point
I agree it's less likely to be a worry without your own ground, but property developers are notorious for screwing football clubs, and not just in this country.
True. I cant see how but then I didnt see a way for Arkaga to screw us either so there you go
Obviously if FORAS are involved, so much the better.
Point about the Horseshoe is a good one too.
yeah as I said, with FORAS having a seat on the board at least fans will be privy to whats going on and if things do start going down the tubes we should be aware of it early enough to do something about it.
We have a seat on our board, you'll find that it's a token gesture and you don't get invited to the serious meetings, trust me
Do ye have a shareholding? Did ye put much money in?
We had with the Soccer Limerick crowd and we gave our donation at the end of the season. Under the Yank we don't have any shares (or any problems yet to be fair)but still get to sit in on meetings.
Under the previous adminstration we were cut out of the loop whenever they didn't want us involved
I agree it's less likely to be a worry without your own ground, but property developers are notorious for screwing football clubs, and not just in this country
Only one club has ever been screwed over a property deal in this country (Rovers)
So far anyway...
We had with the Soccer Limerick crowd and we gave our donation at the end of the season. Under the Yank we don't have any shares (or any problems yet to be fair)but still get to sit in on meetings.
Under the previous adminstration we were cut out of the loop whenever they didn't want us involved
So they gave ye shares at teh start and ye paid at the end with the donation?
Its obviously something that will have to be looked at but doesnt company law have rules about the information that has to be passed on to shareholders?