View Full Version : Rovers vs City

22/09/2003, 1:35 AM
anyway know what the story is yet. r we gonna get a chance to put and end to our 2 defeats in a row at the cross

hopfully the game will be at the cross
id say reynolds is ****ting a brick in case he has to come back down so soon

The Donie Forde
22/09/2003, 5:49 PM
Just heard that the game WILL be at Turners Cross next Saturday evening and it will be a Shamrock Rovers HOME fixture. Just off the phone from my Rovers contact, that's all I know for now.

Donie

RedX
22/09/2003, 5:59 PM
Does this mean we are paying Shamrock Rovers officials at the turnstiles?It will be there biggest gate of the season.What a crazy situation.I want to see City play but i dont want my yo yo's going towards there club.I know it might sound silly but i would seriously consider boycotting this game if Rovers are getting my money.Only in the eircom league could you see such happenings.

22/09/2003, 6:07 PM
Originally posted by RedX
Does this mean we are paying Shamrock Rovers officials at the turnstiles?It will be there biggest gate of the season.What a crazy situation.I want to see City play but i dont want my yo yo's going towards there club.I know it might sound silly but i would seriously consider boycotting this game if Rovers are getting my money.Only in the eircom league could you see such happenings.

so u wouldnt go to city vs rovers in dublin coz they were getting the money for it

GROW UP FOOL

one_bounce
22/09/2003, 6:17 PM
i dont understand why any of the gate should go to rovers... it is their own responsibility to provide a ground for the match that complies with all of the regulations laid down by the fai... if they cant do this the most logical thing is they play at the cross... but this is our ground therefore city should get the gate and a big thank you from rovers for accepting their scumbag support at the cross when they are not obliged to...
rovers had a pitch due to st pats generosity and they f*cked it up... why should city sort them out and give them the loot?

22/09/2003, 6:33 PM
cork city football club DO NOT own turners cross
they rent it / long term lease from the MFA,

so presumably rovers have done a deal with the MFA in this case.
and i'd assume yes that rovers will pay for security, rent of the ground etc etc

ludicrous to sugest any sort of boycott imo, thats only gona hurt cork city

lads we've got a tricky away game moved to cork, now have an extra home game

lets pack the place to the rafters, scare the ****e out of RATnolds and get the 3 points.. surely thats the priority..

Counting Crow
22/09/2003, 8:34 PM
Please, please tell me this is not true.......not next Saturday night.

I have just made arangements for Saturday night with some friends ( one of which is a mad City fan also ) and our spouses and it would kill me to miss this one.

Read elsewhere that Rovers are saying it will be either Friday @ the Cross or Sunday @ Tolka.

Anything but Saturday night..............if there's a God .........!

22/09/2003, 8:47 PM
ah c'mon crow....what happened to CITY TIL I DIE
city must come b4 the wife

RedX
22/09/2003, 9:36 PM
Maybe i was being to strong with the boycott thing.But still though its a disgrace that this is happening in the league.Anyway it will be good to have that extra game at the X...

thecorner...do you ever watch The Fimbles?...my son really loves that show.

22/09/2003, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by RedX
...thecorner...do you ever watch The Fimbles?...my son really loves that show.

all the time, fimbo is my favourite. who's yours

22/09/2003, 11:03 PM
just watching eircom league weekly
they r saying saturday at the cross also

fingers crossed they r right

joe
22/09/2003, 11:10 PM
looks like being at the Cross on Saturday with a 5pm or 7pm kick-off likely. should be confirmed in the morning

bert
22/09/2003, 11:12 PM
As the "away" fans will we have to squeeze into the corner of the stand and yield the shed to the scum?;)

22/09/2003, 11:56 PM
To suggest that boycotting the game on saturday doesnt make u a city fan is ridiculous. And to suggest why go to any away games coz they get the moeny is even more ridiculous. The brass tacks of this one is, that by every person who pays €10, is helping Rovers out big time. Sure they are even saying it themselves, that itll be good to play at the cross, as the cash they will generat (they reckon in excess of €50k) will bankroll them for another month. Why should we assist those orrible cnuts in any way, shape or form. In fact, by paying entrance to this Rovers home fixture, u are supporting Rovers getting to tallaght, or wherever the hell it is they want to go. Also, someone suggested that a boycott would hurt City. How so? I dont think so in the slighest.

I dont think ill be giving a tenner to them anway.

Or else, just ignore this as a semi drunken ramble.

One thing im happy to see though is that this must be the ultimate insult to the so called best team ever in Ireland, playing a home match in Da Real Capital!

23/09/2003, 12:59 AM
gary

r u saying ud never go rovers vs city in dublin cos ur giving money to rovers:rolleyes:

23/09/2003, 8:02 AM
I agree with RedX here:
1. Shams are a embarrassment to the League to let this happen
2. I'd have a sick feeling in my stomach handing over a tenner to some Jackeen on the stiles of the Box.

Who's providing security?
If it's CCFC, How many "stewards" can they let in for free?
1500?
And 120 working in the Club Shop?
And 85 working in the sweet shop?
And 2500 to keep an eye on the TV gantry in case in falls off?

curts82
23/09/2003, 8:22 AM
Originally posted by thecorner
so u wouldnt go to city vs rovers in dublin coz they were getting the money for it

GROW UP FOOL

I wouldn't go to Dublin to see Rovers as there Dodgy

The Donie Forde
23/09/2003, 8:23 AM
Originally posted by joe
looks like being at the Cross on Saturday with a 5pm or 7pm kick-off likely. should be confirmed in the morning

Just checked Rovers official site - they have it as 7.45 on Saturday.

Donie

NorthoftheLee
23/09/2003, 8:24 AM
When you go and watch the city scum game in dublin you are handing over €10 to them anyway.....whats all the fuss??? they might get a better gate but they do anyway when they play the dublin derbys...you dont see many of the pats, shels(dont see many of them anyway) bohs etc not going to those games because its giving money to the oposition????????thats stupid...Its a nice time and venue and I personnally hope that a large City crowd go to the game........As someone said turining a difficult away game into a positive home game........

plus we'll finally put this away support numbers thing to rest...4,000 + away fans....:D

"you're supposed to be at home"

curts82
23/09/2003, 8:27 AM
Originally posted by NorthoftheLee

"you're supposed to be at home"

A nice banner along with the Reynolds rot in hell would do nicely to :D

The Donie Forde
23/09/2003, 9:31 AM
Originally posted by The Donie Forde
Just checked Rovers official site - they have it as 7.45 on Saturday.

Donie

And to add to the confusion; just heard from CCFC and they say it's on at 7pm!

Well, it's deffo Saturday at least. Watch the press for the exact KO...

Donie

23/09/2003, 9:50 AM
Watch the press for the exact KO...

you mean like the echo eh :rolleyes:
hardly a reliable source of information

i reckon send joe down to the cross at say 2oclock on saturday and as soon as he hears / see's anything get him to post it on here
the only really reliable way imo :p

23/09/2003, 11:08 AM
ok

lets all go to the cross saturday bout 5 and protest

we dont want the game at the cross
we would rather go to dublin

we dont want another "home" fixture

we dont at least 5000 "away" supporters with us

we dont wanna chance to get our european dream back on track

jesus,some people are never happy

23/09/2003, 11:19 AM
well lads the word is out

on the official rovers website

rovers vs city 7.45 turners cross saturday night
http://www.shamrockrovers.ie/

23/09/2003, 11:45 AM
Originally posted by bert
As the "away" fans will we have to squeeze into the corner of the stand and yield the shed to the scum?;)

Yes. The Shed is for home fans only which on Saturday is Rovers. Cork City don't own Turners Cross. We're renting off the MFA same as you do. Get used to it and stop your poxy whinging. Anyway the stand isn't that bad or you could always go to the St Annes End.

23/09/2003, 11:47 AM
Originally posted by WeAreRovers
Yes. The Shed is for home fans only which on Saturday is Rovers. Cork City don't own Turners Cross. We're renting off the MFA same as you do. Get used to it and stop your poxy whinging. Anyway the stand isn't that bad or you could always go to the St Annes End.

ye have some chance of getting into the shed:p :p

i see u never mentioned going into the corner
or are ye that brave to take both shed and corner
all 50 of ye

curts82
23/09/2003, 12:10 PM
Originally posted by WeAreRovers

You can always try. Ye bringing down yer Thousands??:cool: :cool:

ForzaHoop
23/09/2003, 12:43 PM
Just imagine lads, Rovers will be the Owners of the ground on the DAY, we will have the shed end and you boys will have the little area in the stand.

Green Force
23/09/2003, 12:48 PM
well its our game, youll have the annes and half the stand, we'll have the other bit and the shed so like it or lump it

23/09/2003, 12:54 PM
It is a shame having to hand any money over to the scum, but as I already did it this year at the stadium of sh*te, when there was the usual pathetic "home crowd", I'll just pay again.
Lads, think of it as the entrance fee to see Ratbast@rd being humiliated again....:)
The 50 or so toerags that will get out of the 'joy or the ghetto for the day can see what it is like to have a ground, a following and a life......:D

green-blood
23/09/2003, 12:59 PM
it'll be 12 yoyos in - if ya can afford it

There is a 20% premium to see the superhoops,none of them common or garden 10euro Cork games

joe
23/09/2003, 1:02 PM
from what i've heard the game will be run, in effect, as a cork city home game with the usual local stewards etc. and the only input rovers will have is to bring down a few programmes to hawk :D

23/09/2003, 1:08 PM
any one buying or selling wha?

was in a taxi in dublin there b4 the all-ireland and the cabbie informed me
"i uuuuuussta follly rovers, in miltowaan"

rovers the club with the tradition
the club with the history
the 'cup specialists'

morelike
the club with no fans, that hasnt won anything in decades :)
the club with hundreds of thousands who followed them in the past, but only a mere 1000 or so now
homeless beyond belief, and heading for division 1

Kilcoyne our Hero ( i hear he'll be wearing a hero's hat on saturday night, at the rovers home game in CORK;))

Juz the Hoop
23/09/2003, 1:10 PM
Originally posted by joe
from what i've heard the game will be run, in effect, as a cork city home game with the usual local stewards etc. and the only input rovers will have is to bring down a few programmes to hawk :D

I wonder will that red berded baldy steward be involved. That means Im on programme duty

JUZ

joe
23/09/2003, 2:28 PM
Originally posted by Juz the Hoop
I wonder will that red berded baldy steward be involved. That means Im on programme duty

JUZ

where did i say ye'd be bringing yer own programme sellers? ;)

curts82
23/09/2003, 2:37 PM
Originally posted by Green Force
well its our game, youll have the annes and half the stand, we'll have the other bit and the shed so like it or lump it

The place will be empty if ye have yer way as yer bring fe ck all down as usual I say

23/09/2003, 2:41 PM
wether its a home or away game for rovers they will still only have their usual 50-100 supporters with them

Kilcoyne Our Hero

Dylan
23/09/2003, 4:12 PM
"Kilcoyne our Hero ( i hear he'll be wearing a hero's hat on saturday night, at the rovers home game "

Anybody who thinks Kilcoyne is a hero is an idiot.
Kilcoyne, advised by his right hand man Eamonn Dunphy, hitched himself to the crooks who were running our club at the time after he sold out Rovers.
These scum tried to destroy the League of Ireland.
I am no lover of Rovers, but they, like ourselves ,have genuine supporters who are lucky to have a club at all after the great Louis and his ilk.
Rovers have a bad element among their support. But does anyone really want another club to go under?

23/09/2003, 4:24 PM
Fair play, Dylan. I was beginning to think that Cork fans weren't aware that that snake Kilcoyne used Cork as much as he used Rovers. Even as a wind-up you are doing your own club a diservice using that ****'s name.

No real football fan in this country could have any truck with evil Louis.

23/09/2003, 4:47 PM
Conor, there are so many mistakes in your eulogy to Louis that I won't even bother going in them. But here's a few - where you say ploughed money we'd say (and be correct) stole money. Transfers/big friendlies/bar money - all went into Lucifer's pocket. Don't waste your time having any sympathy for him.

He didn't own the ground, his brother bought it off the jesuits a year before selling it. The poor old Jesuits got burnt as well. I could go on but the subject turns my stomach.

When he finally ****ing dies I'll buy you a pint at the funeral/celebration and explain it all to you.

23/09/2003, 6:11 PM
just checked www.shamrockrovers.ie and they have changed the time from 7.45 to 7pm on their website

organise brewery

do these two words make sense yet lads

23/09/2003, 6:57 PM
Originally posted by Conor74
I don't, just wondering were things as bad as represented or was there another side. Seems like they were. Any site contain a synopsis of events around that time?

Good question. I'll have a look around for you. Definitely have loads of fanzine stuff.

Hoopie
23/09/2003, 7:30 PM
What are you city fans moaning about????
(goin to speak in bogger form just so ye understand)

1. Ye are gettin a home game and ye dont have ta travel up to the "big smoke"
2. u'l b payin d same amout of yo yo's(who says that?????)as u do for a "home" game..
3. To d inconsiderite idiot....i'd like to see cork try and surivive in d top division in dis county without a home ground for 15 years and trying to get a new ground up and runnin at d same time....hope luis gets ass raped by a sheep next time he is in dat county of urs.
4. WHEN we get into tallaght...we will put ur hole of a ground to shame...oh yeah its NOT ur ground.

Shamrock Rovers Football Club: 15 Leagues
24 FAI Cups
Most successfull club in Ireland

Green and White blood.

23/09/2003, 8:52 PM
will tickets be on sale at usual outlets for city fans??????

SSS
23/09/2003, 9:12 PM
What's the story with Season Tickets.. seeing as City are getting half the gate, any chance they'll make a gesture towards season ticket holders and let them in without extra charge..

23/09/2003, 10:04 PM
Who does get the money from the gate ... offically. Not everyone throwing their tupence.

Donie? Joe?

Ruairi
24/09/2003, 6:57 AM
Originally posted by Hoopie
i'd like to see cork try and surivive in d top division in dis county without a home ground for 15 years .....
4. ...oh yeah its NOT ur ground.

Just answered your own question there didn't ya?

Green and white blood me arse.

The Donie Forde
24/09/2003, 8:24 AM
Originally posted by A face
Who does get the money from the gate ... offically. Not everyone throwing their tupence.

Donie? Joe?

Well it is Rovers' home game, but reading stuff in the papers there is the implication that some 'arrangement' has been made. City may get a cut, but I'd say Rovers will be well happy with their share...
Sorry can't enlighten you any further, A face, I'm just not privvy to the details...

Not sure on the season ticket story - but, like, it is an away game after all. Check with the club if you're in doubt: 4321958.

Donie

24/09/2003, 8:46 AM
City may get a cut, but I'd say Rovers will be well happy with their share...

Donie
It'll be the biggest gate they will have got in years..:p

24/09/2003, 2:42 PM
any news yet on where city fans will get tickets

will the hut be outside as usual