View Full Version : Supporting two teams.

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5

01/09/2008, 10:34 PM
for me some the comments on this thread are plain stupid and is why some people never want go near a domestic football game with attitude like some of you guys.

Oh yeah, definately.

Candystripe
01/09/2008, 10:40 PM
I've only ever missed 7 Derry City home games since 1985 including friendlies and LC games and I also support Liverpool.

I go to Anfield and have been to Wembley twice to see them and don't have a problem with it. If Derry were to play Liverpool I would support Derry as they are my home town team.

As some of you's may know we didn't have a senior club in Derry in the 70's so as a child I picked Liverpool in a game V Leeds when my 2 older brothers were supporting Leeds and to this day I still do.

I don't understand how people can't follow there local club while supporting an EPL or Scottish team.

I would say at least 7/10 LOI fans do follow clubs across the water.

BTW Even though I'm from Derry I've never had a massive love affair with Celtic which where I grew up was going against the grain!

Hibernian
01/09/2008, 10:50 PM
Oh yeah, definately.

i said some comments.

basically i refer to supporters of el teams who are more interested in the worries of what epl teams are doing then what is going on at there own club. if these people got with times and stop being so us v the world attitude you see a better market for new support

Eoingull
01/09/2008, 11:11 PM
I support Bray "back home", as they were my local team growing up...and I support York City in the UK as it's where I live, and it's good entertainment at the weekend. I hardly ever watch football on tv, and always felt that if you like the game, you'd just go watch the nearest team that offered you live fare. Over time, one then develops an affection...

cheifo
02/09/2008, 12:47 AM
In a nutshell most of us agree that if you mainly watch football on a TV screen then you are not a football fan.

There yis go.Tidied;)

02/09/2008, 8:47 AM
What hope do we really have when a FAI Ambassador Ray Houghton would rather talk about English lower league clubs "closer to home" when he was asked about Irish clubs being in trouble on Morning Ireland.

SunderlandBohs
02/09/2008, 10:09 AM
The thing I can't understand about "the soccer mad Irish" is why we have this atitude towards are own league. Personnally, I hate watching matches on T.V and would rather be at a live game. Nothing can beat a live game. The thing that grinds my gears is when bar stoolers, like my brother in law look down on me because (a) I follow a less successful English, Sunderland, for years & never seen them win anything & waste my time travelling over 10, 12 times a year. (b) I follow a LOI team , Bohemians, & no one in there right mind would watch that ****e. How can you like that crap! (c) I don't know anything about football because I follow two teams & he is one love one United man. Plus he knows more about football because he supports Man Utd & they are the biggest club in the world. People who follow small clubs or local soccer are morans to choose that path instead of super successful ManYoo.

What a tool!!!!

stovelid
02/09/2008, 12:29 PM
Bit more complicated for me. I was born in Manchester, moved here when I was 11/12 so was brought up (by my dad) to support MUFC. Ended up living in Tallaght and would now support Rovers. I wouldn't discard United. I tend to do more financially for Rovers like membership or buying a lot of merchandise. Personally, I don't see the problem with Irish-born EL fans having an EPL team as long as they put as much money as possible into the game here. The one thing that makes me crazy is that Irish football fans can go as far as to actually put the boot in on the EL and badmouth it. That I can't understand.

02/09/2008, 12:37 PM
i said some comments.

basically i refer to supporters of el teams who are more interested in the worries of what epl teams are doing then what is going on at there own club. if these people got with times and stop being so us v the world attitude you see a better market for new support
So basically you're saying if your mythical new market support was less interested in the opnions of some people onthe internet, they'd have more chance of going to games?

See, we can all make ridiculous assumptions.

If somebody uses the excuse of an internet post talking about british football as a reason not to go to a game, they're either liars or fools

02/09/2008, 12:44 PM
Its all got to do with the buzz around the town when they are doing well and if people can take Limerick seriously after what has happened in the past. Things are changing though and I have brought many friends to games this year who I would have never expected to go to a Limerick game. I always get smart comments from people when I am in town with any sort of Limerick gear. Ironic thing is it comes from fellows wearing Liverpool jerseys etc.. I just tell them I feel sorry for them :) Do you get that attitude in Limerick, Jofspring?

ya alot of people don't understand how i can support limerick because they say the standard is awful etc.... but i also find alot of people who when i'm on a night out if i mention i support limerick they say fair play and ask what divsion we are in, how we are getting on in the league and they'd love to get up to a match sometime which makes me think there are alot of people interested its just getting them motivated to go to matches is the problem. a friend of mine went to the odd match as i kept inviting him up and now he is a season ticket holder and loves going up to the matches home and away. if people would just support the team for more than one or two matches here and there and went to at least half the home matches in a season i know they'd get hooked. slowly but surely i think people will come back watching limerick, especially if they continue to play football like they did on friday against dundalk. :ball:

Duffman
02/09/2008, 12:47 PM
slowly but surely i think people will come back watching limerick, especially if they continue to play football like they did on friday against dundalk. :ball:

Just ensure that happens against Waterford and Fingal :)

Hibernian
02/09/2008, 12:49 PM
So basically you're saying if your mythical new market support was less interested in the opnions of some people onthe internet, they'd have more chance of going to games?

See, we can all make ridiculous assumptions.

If somebody uses the excuse of an internet post talking about british football as a reason not to go to a game, they're either liars or fools

It reaches far greater then internet posts, but does people opinions get reflected within the stands of each and every single Eircom League club.

Rather then look across the sea and blame the premership is pointless and we should really be focusing on Irish football and not be worried about everything around us its quite that simple.

02/09/2008, 12:54 PM
It reaches far greater then internet posts, but does people opinions get reflected within the stands of each and every single Eircom League club

No it doesn't. I've never, ever heard anybody "slag off" the EPL while watching a game in Ireland (apart from a bit of good natured banter). In fact, you'll here most people discussing it before the game, at half time etc

As I've said, if somebody uses the excuse of being slagged for being a Liverpool or Man utd fan as a reason not to go to a game in ireland, they're either liars or fools.

If people don't want to go to games, fine but don't make up ridiculous excuses. It isn't the fault of LOI fans that people aren't coming to the games, and anyone who tries to imply it is doesn't even deserve this much of an answer...

Shelsman
02/09/2008, 1:01 PM
Don't get me started on that! I got in an arguement with a friend who tried to tell me Celtic were more Irish than Bohs.:rolleyes:

I hope he's not your friend anymore.

02/09/2008, 1:07 PM
If somebody uses the excuse of an internet post talking about british football as a reason not to go to a game...

Whatever assuages the guilt...

02/09/2008, 1:10 PM
What a tool!!!!
Could be worse, he could be screwing your sister....

Shelsman
02/09/2008, 1:12 PM
That is one thing that bugs me, as if the quality of football means anything

Strangest post of the year? :confused:

I'm not going to waste my time and money watching a side who play rubbish football. Teams have an obligation to play entertaining / skillfull football IMO. Only die hard fans care about the result only, and you can't expect new fans to be like that until they've settled in. The product must be appealing to get new fans in.

That said, I'd settle for any eL team winning ugly in Europe but would prefer if they did it in style.

jinxy lilywhite
02/09/2008, 1:28 PM

I'm not going to waste my time and money watching a side who play rubbish football. Teams have an obligation to play entertaining / skillfull football IMO. Only die hard fans care about the result only, and you can't expect new fans to be like that until they've settled in. The product must be appealing to get new fans in.

That said, I'd settle for any eL team winning ugly in Europe but would prefer if they did it in style.

Aren't Entertaining and Skillful different things. I prefer the entertainment side of things which I think our league offers at a very reasonable price. i.e On MNS last night the highlights of the Sligo-Drog made it look like a very entertaining game though I doubt the skill levels would be very high.
Some games may be highly skillful but may not entertain me. Maybe its just me

02/09/2008, 1:33 PM

You must love Pats at the moment ;)

Cortezuma
02/09/2008, 1:42 PM
That is one thing that bugs me, as if the quality of football means anything

Also i hate when people moan about facilities
Sure they are bad, but its football
I mean i go to the pub for the beer, not cause the toilets are lovely, etc

On the contrary, I think most of the posters here are glossing over the reason many people have for not following LOI. The quality of football means everything to me for one.

I'm a football fan first and foremost and like to see it played as it is meant to be played. I've not seen a very high standard of this in the LOI and so I spend most of my time watching La Liga or other European leagues including the Premiership. I travel to Barca or Everton matches (yes I'm aware Everton aren't renowned for good footy, but they are improving...)when I can but don't always have the money for it.

I have been to a few Dublin LOI matches when a friend invites me along, but not been in a while. Enjoyed the experience to a degree, but not the matches, in the same way I don't enjoy many of the superhyped Super Sunday clashes on Sky. Too little technical ability and too much stifled defensive/hoofing football.

Because I watch the majority of my footy on TV does not mean I am any less of a fan. Football is my number one passion, and while I agree the live experience is superior, I think this is the case only if the football is good. I wouldn't hesitate in choosing a Barca match on TV over going round the corner to watch Shels because the football is on a different level.

You guys seem to be lumping everyone who doesn't follow an Irish team into the same bracket. I'm sure there are a number of fans who are just plain ignorant and lazy and jump on bandwagons, but there are also plenty of fans who want better football or who simply grew up supporting a team from England and would never think to consider changing to another team because that English team is all they've known since they were kids.

There's a lot of bitterness here is all I can tell.

(although maybe I'm wrong and I am completely a minority and am not relevant to this argument..... :).....if so, continue bashing the pig ignorant barstoolers)

Cortezuma
02/09/2008, 1:46 PM
Jinxy - ''Some games may be highly skillful but may not entertain me. Maybe its just me''

I understand what you mean. I know plenty of people who would automatically find a 0-0 in La Liga boring as hell because they don't know the players and there was no goals.

I would generally enjoy the skillful/technical side of the game first, even if in a 0-0, but of course I'm not completely immune to a shockingly bad 4-4 draw with comical defending.

02/09/2008, 2:04 PM
Jinxy - ''Some games may be highly skillful but may not entertain me. Maybe its just me''

I understand what you mean. I know plenty of people who would automatically find a 0-0 in La Liga boring as hell because they don't know the players and there was no goals.

I would generally enjoy the skillful/technical side of the game first, even if in a 0-0, but of course I'm not completely immune to a shockingly bad 4-4 draw with comical defending.English football is acknowledged as being technical inferior, played at a helter skelter pace and favouring the physically, rather than mentally, strong and fast players.

Yet you still support it?

Slightly jars with your reference to skill above.

EPL football just features bigger and faster players than the EL. No more, no less technical.

boovidge
02/09/2008, 2:08 PM
The quality of football has very little to do with the entertainment value. How many times have we seen terrible games by supposedly "quality" players in the premiership? Man Utd vs Chelsea FA Cup 2007 was one of the worst games i've ever seen and theyre supposed to be two of the best in Europe.

I was watching a youth game the other day and obviously the quality was terrible apart from one or two of the kids but it was still a good game to watch.

stovelid
02/09/2008, 2:21 PM
I'm a football fan first and foremost and like to see it played as it is meant to be played. I've not seen a very high standard of this in the LOI and so I spend most of my time watching La Liga or other European leagues including the Premiership. I travel to Barca or Everton matches (yes I'm aware Everton aren't renowned for good footy, but they are improving...)when I can but don't always have the money for it.

You're a football consumer (which is fair enough), not a football supporter. I like football in general. I think a direct, physical game can have its own attractions, and I also like seeing beautiful football as much as anybody else.

I'm always mystified about how the quality of the EPL is used to bash the EL. The EPL is rightly seen as a technically inferior league, and this filters down to the English (and Irish) national team.

Also makes me laugh to see EPL fans say that they are driven cross channel for technical football. I assume that if Everton (bad choice of team for your argument by the way) went bust a-la Leeds, went down a couple of divisions and had to play (even) more direct, physical football, you'd immediately switch allegiance to Arsenal then?

Cortezuma
02/09/2008, 2:29 PM
<P>
The quality of football has very little to do with the entertainment value. How many times have we seen terrible games by supposedly "quality" players in the premiership? Man Utd vs Chelsea FA Cup 2007 was one of the worst games i've ever seen and theyre supposed to be two of the best in Europe. </P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>I was watching a youth game the other day and obviously the quality was terrible apart from one or two of the kids but it was still a good game to watch.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>You negate your own point there. In that match many of the players had great technical ability and are undoubtedly 'quality', but the match itself was killed by negativity and a negative gameplan. When watched in other games Utd play excellent football. Chelsea may be less pleasing to watch but they will hopefully get better.</P>
<P>&nbsp;</P>
<P>The quality of the football, for me, has everything to do with it. The match&nbsp;you mention, did not have quality football, so it had no entertainment value for&nbsp;me either.</P>

Cortezuma
02/09/2008, 2:34 PM
English football is acknowledged as being technical inferior, played at a helter skelter pace and favouring the physically, rather than mentally, strong and fast players.

Yet you still support it?

Slightly jars with your reference to skill above.

EPL football just features bigger and faster players than the EL. No more, no less technical.

Very fair point. I find myself watching a lot more La Liga nowadays than the EPL but there are plenty of examples in recent seasons of English teams improving. Arsenal are one of the best footballing teams I have ever seen and I would argue that when they want all of Portsmouth, United, Everton, Middlesborough, Reading(1st season up) and Spurs attempt to play a patient passing game as opposed to hoofing. The hoofing is still very much apparent in many matches, including by the teams I mention, but I've seen enough to say that the foreign players and coaches are having an influence for the better.

Cortezuma
02/09/2008, 2:40 PM
Stovelid - are you saying I am not a football supporter because of my financial restrictions? I can't afford go every week to see the teams I support. There are plenty of Everton and Barca supporters from Liverpool and Barcelona who probably cannot get to games as much as they would like any more. Yet they are still supporters.

You are right about Everton slightly disproving my point but I am an Everton supporter as it is something that has been with me since I was very small, for 20 years or so now. So, no, if they get relegated or disimprove drastically I won't stop supporting them, as for better or for worse I'm stuck with them same as anyone who started supporting a team when young.

I can see the point you are trying to make, but the direct answer is I would not now start supporting a LOI team, becasue I am older and know what I like in football and I don't see it in the league here.

02/09/2008, 2:43 PM
Because I watch the majority of my footy on TV does not mean I am any less of a fan

Yes it does. You mightn't like to admit it, but its the truth. This isn't my superiority complex coming out either. Someone from Wrexham that watches them play is more of a football fan than a Liverpool fan from Wrexham who watches them on TV

The fact that most people in Ireland do not understand this simple point, sepertes them from the rest of the footballing world.

The standard of football is, generally, poor enough here. But its like that in laods of countries with relatively strong, vibrant leagues. The difference is that locals still apy to watch the games.

The facilities here are rubbish too. But people who blame the facilities and the standard of football for not going are completely missing the point.

The facilities are rubbish, adn the standard of football isn't great BECAUSE people aren't going to the games. If clubs had the money they'd love to have 10,000 seater stadiums and have the money to attract better players into the leagues, but until people still think they're football fans by watching it on TV, this won't change.

And, honestly, I'm not bitter about this. Its completely your loss. I'd love to see big criowds in INchicore, and around the league, but I don't think I will. If I spent all my time worrying about people with no iterest in irish football, I'd never have time to enjoy the ups and downs of being a football supporter.

Cortezuma
02/09/2008, 2:50 PM
Yes it does. You mightn't like to admit it, but its the truth. This isn't my superiority complex coming out either. Someone from Wrexham that watches them play is more of a football fan than a Liverpool fan from Wrexham who watches them on TV

The fact that most people in Ireland do not understand this simple point, sepertes them from the rest of the footballing world.

The standard of football is, generally, poor enough here. But its like that in laods of countries with relatively strong, vibrant leagues. The difference is that locals still apy to watch the games.

The facilities here are rubbish too. But people who blame the facilities and the standard of football for not going are completely missing the point.

The facilities are rubbish, adn the standard of football isn't great BECAUSE people aren't going to the games. If clubs had the money they'd love to have 10,000 seater stadiums and have the money to attract better players into the leagues, but until people still think they're football fans by watching it on TV, this won't change.

And, honestly, I'm not bitter about this. Its completely your loss. I'd love to see big criowds in INchicore, and around the league, but I don't think I will. If I spent all my time worrying about people with no iterest in irish football, I'd never have time to enjoy the ups and downs of being a football supporter.

fair enough, I can't totally disagree with you but you are missing the point that I am only restricted currently from seeing more games of Everton and Barca due to not having enough spare money. At some stage I plan on living in Barca and then at least I can catch them regularly. You are lumping me in with someone who just watches on TV.

Also, what you would ideally want, from someone like me, is for me to go to the LOI matches and put up with poor football in the hope that my support will make what I'm watching eventually better. I don't think it's my loss, as I am watching quality football on a regular basis on TV, and seeing it live whenever I can.

boovidge
02/09/2008, 2:50 PM
You negate your own point there. In that match many of the players had great technical ability and are undoubtedly 'quality', but the match itself was killed by negativity and a negative gameplan.

But how many people would have watched that game because it supposedly had two "quality" teams and then ignored the LOI game down the road because of the poor "quality" players?

The whole point of being a football fan is that you enjoy watching live football whether its Ronaldo scoring a trademark freekick or a fat bloke scoring a scrappy header in a pub match before going in for a pint. That's what football's all about.

Could you honestly say you'd rather watch a Bolton vs Wigan game on Sky Sports over the live experience of your local team?

boovidge
02/09/2008, 2:53 PM
Also Cortezuma I see you're an Ireland fan. Why don't you just support Brazil or Argentina as theyre technically better sides?

02/09/2008, 2:55 PM
Also, what you would ideally want, from someone like me, is for me to go to the LOI matches and put up with poor football in the hope that my support will make what I'm watching eventually better. I don't think it's my loss, as I am watching quality football on a regular basis on TV, and seeing it live whenever I can.

As I've said, thats your perogative. But you're not a football fan unless you go to support your team, and time and money issues aren't a real factor. The bottom line is that you don't want to support an irish team

02/09/2008, 2:59 PM

I just think its bizarre and a bloody terrible excuse to blame the standard of football and facilities (re what Dodge just said and put it much better than i did!)
You support your local league because its our league, end of.

We all care about the way the game is played, but in reality few teams play like Brazil of the 70s anymore, and the EPL has an awful lot of muck in it too.
I don't stop watching football today cause football is ****e (and it is nowadays), i continue to waste years of my life watching football, and will continue to do so despite the quality. I m not for turning, and i wont subscribe to rugby or the ga either:)

placid casual
02/09/2008, 3:00 PM
I follow Rovers. I go to 95% of Games
i also follow Roma,Sporting Lisbon & Boca Juniors
I go twice a year to Roma & Sporting .
i've only been once to see Boca (the airfare and distance is restrictive)

I'd also add that i wish misfortune & ill luck on liverpool,lazio & porto.

Boh_So_Good
02/09/2008, 3:13 PM
I am not bothered at all as long as their support for the hometown/LOI club comes first. It's a free world, doesn't make it right, but live and let live and all that cak.

The only thing in this regard that annoys me is when you get banners at LOI clubs with the British team and/or GAA team included. For example; there was one horrible banner for years at Bohs that was a Bohs, Celtic, Dubs combo banner. The issue with this is I have never seen a half Celtic/Bohs banner made by a Celtic supporter from the banks of the Clyde and no GAA head I know would support a LOI side in a million years and carry a banner to a bogball game proclaiming it.

Now listen to me carefully...I would rather have AIDS than support a British Club in any way shape or form.

I am 100% serious. I have nothing against the British people be they in London, Liverpool, Glasgow or Cromwell-on-the-Papist.

I consider Irish people who go around in British soccer jerseys saying "we", "us" and so forth to be nothing more that easily fooled, gullible, deluded, thick Paddy simpletons. Sorry if this offends some, but that's how I feel, because that's how it really is. Because that's what you all are. You just all swapped your mindless 'Feckless Irishman' devotions from Popes, Padre Pios and Our Lady of Lourdes to Liverpool, Man U Chelsea etc. Whatever gene the Irish posses which makes them a nation of easily controlled followers of foreign creeds and cultures was switched from the Vaticancentric mindset to the Murdochcentric one sometime in the early 90's.

Poor Paddy is easily impressed with flashing light and loud noises god love him and into the arms of Murdoch they ran for salvation.

This is the only country in the world were you British-wannabe Oirish soccer supporters are sheltered from the reality of your own bizarre identity crisis. It is the mentality of the Irish population which is the problem on this island when it comes to domestic soccer and not the LOI.

Oirish Premiership loolahs would not find another country in Europe which would think they are normal except Ireland - even the authentic "we's" and "us's" across the water see you this way.

Deal with it you shower of barstool, Ryanair "home game" Orish morons, rather than pointing the finger at you local LOI ground. You are the issue, you are the problem and the LOI and its supporters are the only normal ones when it comes to soccer in this country.

The rest of the world REAL SOCCER SUPPORTERS is against YOU and what YOU represent and they are on the side of the LOI supporters in this country. You are the losers.

stovelid
02/09/2008, 3:19 PM
Stovelid - are you saying I am not a football supporter because of my financial restrictions?

Nope, but even if football supporters want their team to play ball, they stick with the team in periods of bad football. I'm sorry, I just can't get my head around the fact that people support Ireland, the EPL, and 'look out for the Irish lads in England', but ignore their local teams. You can do both, surely?

As for not liking what you see, again, you're confusing the fact that EPL teams are 'better' (true) with the fact that they 'play better football' which they often do not. Believe it or not, you can often see a nice football match at your local five-a-side or junior pitch if you want to. You either like football or you don't. You don't just cherry-pick the top brands.

What people really mean when they say foreign teams are 'better' is that they are glamorous, play in big stadia and you can converse to the tax-driver about them. I like the buzz of the top teams on TV as much as anybody - what football fan wouldn't? - but you can't beat match night in your own city.

placid casual
02/09/2008, 3:22 PM
I am not bothered at all as long as their support for the hometown/LOI club comes first. It's a free world, doesn't make it right, but live and let live and all that cak.

The only thing in this regard that annoys me is when you get banners at LOI clubs with the British team and/or GAA team included. For example; there was one horrible banner for years at Bohs that was a Bohs, Celtic, Dubs combo banner. The issue with this is I have never seen a half Celtic/Bohs banner made by a Celtic supporter from the banks of the Clyde and no GAA head I know would support a LOI side in a million years and carry a banner to a bogball game proclaiming it.

Now listen to me carefully...I would rather have AIDS than support a British Club in any way shape or form.

I am 100% serious. I have nothing against the British people be they in London, Liverpool, Glasgow or Cromwell-on-the-Papist.

I consider Irish people who go around in British soccer jerseys saying "we", "us" and so forth to be nothing more that easily fooled, gullible, deluded, thick Paddy simpletons. Sorry if this offends some, but that's how I feel, because that's how it really is. Because that's what you all are. You just all swapped your mindless 'Feckless Irishman' devotions from Popes, Padre Pios and Our Lady of Lourdes to Liverpool, Man U Chelsea etc. Whatever gene the Irish posses which makes them a nation of easily controlled followers of foreign creeds and cultures was switched from the Vaticancentric mindset to the Murdochcentric one sometime in the early 90's.

Poor Paddy is easily impressed with flashing light and loud noises god love him and into the arms of Murdoch they ran for salvation.

This is the only country in the world were you British-wannabe Oirish soccer supporters are sheltered from the reality of your own bizarre identity crisis. It is the mentality of the Irish population which is the problem on this island when it comes to domestic soccer and not the LOI.

Oirish Premiership loolahs would not find another country in Europe which would think they are normal except Ireland - even the authentic "we's" and "us's" across the water see you this way.

Deal with it you shower of barstool, Ryanair "home game" Orish morons, rather than pointing the finger at you local LOI ground. You are the issue, you are the problem and the LOI and its supporters are the only normal ones when it comes to soccer in this country.

The rest of the world REAL SOCCER SUPPORTERS is against YOU and what YOU represent and they are on the side of the LOI supporters in this country. You are the losers.

good man.

This guy might be a bohs fan,and his club and mine are bitter,bitter rivals....
but he means more to me than most of the fools on here who inhabit the very inertia he speaks of.

see youse on the 29th;)

the-blue-harp
02/09/2008, 3:23 PM
I'm a finn harps and secondly a leeds united fan, you cant get any more hardcore than that!!:D

belfastred
02/09/2008, 3:27 PM

Excellent post - exactly the same up in the North

lofty9
02/09/2008, 3:30 PM
I lived in South East London for 2 and a half years. 10 minutes away from the New Den and watched Millwall on a regular basis. Am I a sinner?

Seriously lads, my sig says I care, but these endless threads of the superfan and his snobbery are getting more and more tedious and ridiculous.

belfastred
02/09/2008, 3:31 PM
I lived in South East London for 2 and a half years. 10 minutes away from the New Den and watched Millwall on a regular basis. Am I a sinner?

Seriously lads, my sig says I care, but these endless threads of the superfan and his snobbery are getting more and more tedious and ridiculous.

No, they are your local club while you are living in London

DUFC4life
02/09/2008, 3:38 PM

spot on.

02/09/2008, 3:45 PM
Did a little test in a pub during one of Ireland's internationals (home game against Cyprus) where I wore my French national shirt to the pub. When asked by a few at my table why I was wearing it I replied that I support France on the international stage, when they asked why I would do such a thing I said it's because their style of football is much more attractive than the Irish national side. After much slagging they asked who I supported at club level, I said Limerick, after much more slagging I asked who they supported, the answers varied between Liverpool and United, and I asked why they supported them when they are from Dublin, they said it was because the LoI is ****, to which I replied, 'but what's the difference between me supporting France cause I think they are better than Ireland and you supporting United/Liverpool cause they are better than Bohs/Rovers/whoever?'. I got a few mumbles about it being completly different, but it shut them up fairly lively.

In conclusion I find baiting Premiership supporters in bars to be one of the better aspects of being a League of Ireland football supporter :)

* I have a French jersey because a) I quite like them, and b) it was €20 in Lifestyle

boovidge
02/09/2008, 3:47 PM
Did a little test in a pub during one of Ireland's internationals (home game against Cyprus) where I wore my French national shirt to the pub. When asked by a few at my table why I was wearing it I replied that I support France on the international stage, when they asked why I would do such a thing I said it's because their style of football is much more attractive than the Irish national side. After much slagging they asked who I supported at club level, I said Limerick, after much more slagging I asked who they supported, the answers varied between Liverpool and United, and I asked why they supported them when they are from Dublin, they said it was because the LoI is ****, to which I replied, 'but what's the difference between me supporting France cause I think they are better than Ireland and you supporting United/Liverpool cause they are better than Bohs/Rovers/whoever?'. I got a few mumbles about it being completly different, but it shut them up fairly lively.

In conclusion I find baiting Premiership supporters in bars to be one of the better aspects of being a League of Ireland football supporter :)

* I have a French jersey because a) I quite like them, and b) it was €20 in Lifestyle

haha that is great. good man :)

the-blue-harp
02/09/2008, 3:47 PM
genius!!

02/09/2008, 3:51 PM
Just had a thought, don't know if this has been discussed before but how much do you think Irish people pump into British football....whether it be jerseys (or any merchandise for that matter), match tickets, television subscrption fees(which in turn are paid out to clubs), memberships etc.....??

02/09/2008, 3:54 PM
Just had a thought, don't know if this has been discussed before but how much do you think Irish people pump into British football....whether it be jerseys (or any merchandise for that matter), match tickets, television subscrption fees(which in turn are paid out to clubs), memberships etc.....??

Enough to dramatically improve the League is the simple answer, yearly it would break into a 7 figure sum I reckon

02/09/2008, 3:54 PM

Brilliant!! :D :ball:

02/09/2008, 3:57 PM
Enough to dramatically improve the League is the simple answer, yearly it would break into a 7 figure sum I reckon

i'd say the sum of money would be sick to look at.

boovidge
02/09/2008, 3:58 PM

certainly for celtic i'd say the irish market is crucial. Also marketing celtic as an irish club gets them support from people in America.