View Full Version : The Foot.ie Challenge
04/11/2008, 8:49 PM
Aye...Just flew it today!:D
Battery Rover
05/11/2008, 12:12 PM
Is there any way of making it a test of skill with harder level questions rather than it turning into a speed contest
05/11/2008, 10:48 PM
Competition getting seriously hot now. I remember a time when 10 in around 60 seconds was good enough for a win. I managed my fastest ever today with 10 in 47 seconds and I'm still only 3rd 15 seconds behind Stann :(
I still say the questions should be a little harder, as it is turning into a speed competition rather than a quiz. 9 correct answers hardly gets you in the top ten anymore and people are only getting 9 if faced with an American sport/college question
Oops. :o
Note to self - watch more telly.
Suggest we start our own topic of nasty hard questions just to shake up the Yanks!
Sign me up, I'm getting fed up with questions getting repeated and then the American football/baseball/college shyte
Is there any way of making it a test of skill with harder level questions rather than it turning into a speed contest
Your wish is my command, Battery Rover. We may regret asking for that.
Tomorrow's questions will be on World: UK (That's an advantage for us Derry ones!)
Friday: General Knowledge (Difficult)
Sat: General Knowledge (Very difficult)
Sun: History (Difficult)
Mon: Literature (More difficult)
Tues: World (Europe)
Wed: Science and Technology (Difficult)
That should curb those high scores. Frustrating week ahead all round, good luck everyone.
stann
05/11/2008, 11:16 PM
Excellent!
Interesting week ahead anyway.
Reserving the right to replace that 'excellent' with an almighty whinge at a later date though. :D
Flippin' well distracted on my strongest topic.
I fear for a literature round :o :D
HarpoJoyce
06/11/2008, 12:59 AM
Your wish is my command, Battery Rover. We may regret asking for that.
Tomorrow's questions will be on World: UK (That's an advantage for us Derry ones!)
Well done for mixing the competition up.
Just clarify why have they used World: UK. Surely it's the same thing. The UK is the World isn't it?
Everyday's a schoolday for me no matter what is put up.
06/11/2008, 10:34 AM
Much better. I got an easy question wrong because I thought it was a trick, I suppose it's balanced by getting one lucky guess too. Things should be much more interesting now. :)
06/11/2008, 11:24 AM
Ditto passing. I panicked!
stann
06/11/2008, 12:18 PM
Oops!
That was very tough, good though.
8 of the 10 I had to really go through the options - took an age, and still got two wrong!
Oldest theatre in England and biggest square in London did for me. Worked out who drove Ivor the Engine in the end though! :D
Like the new look too TCM.
06/11/2008, 12:37 PM
Yeah, much better, even though I scored badly!
06/11/2008, 2:05 PM
Well done for mixing the competition up.
Just clarify why have they used World: UK. Surely it's the same thing. The UK is the World isn't it?
I just copied and pasted quickly. It's because there is 4 or 5 topics under 'World' for example: "World: UK" "World: Asia" "World: Europe" is all.
Glad you all like it, I got a paltry 5. :mad:
Join the club, mr man.
That was better today..
oldyouth
07/11/2008, 7:43 AM
What I wouldn't have given for a 5:(
6 today, but what on earth was this question doing in General Knowledge: Difficult...
What is 2 and 2? :cool:
07/11/2008, 11:36 AM
First 10/10 of the new regime! :D
07/11/2008, 12:28 PM
9, that wasn't too bad today. I lost out on where in the world "Jerk Chicken" was eaten.
First sketch in this show might help you out! :D
_s3fqbmzORk
Jeez, those questions today were rock hard!
07/11/2008, 1:59 PM
Some of mine were beyond ridiculous:D
07/11/2008, 2:12 PM
Much more interesting though. Ashamed to say I didn't know which war the Battle of Hamburger Hill took place in. Had a couple of 'educated' guesses too.
Battery Rover
07/11/2008, 2:54 PM
Really hard questions but no complaints it has become more interesting and we are at least learning something everyday
09/11/2008, 6:32 PM
Feck this, bring back the other questions!
09/11/2008, 6:59 PM
No way! Much better this way. :)
10/11/2008, 9:05 AM
Feck this, bring back the other questions!
Ah, the first surrender. :D
Battery Rover
10/11/2008, 9:23 AM
My knowledge of literature is non existant and my score today proves it.
But still enjoying it and learnt some stuff today I would never have known otherwise.
10/11/2008, 9:43 AM
Three Stephen King questions, two on the dark Tower series, two other questions about fantsy literature, two on Shakespeare (a quote I should have know and on obscure character in a minor play) and two on ancient Greek literature/mythology. I think the only one I was sure of was a Sherlock Holmes story! Embarrassed to admit that my degree is in English, Media and Cultural Studies :o
10/11/2008, 11:50 AM
Ha ha. I was confident about 6 and completely guessed the other 4.
I love this new set of quizzes. :D
Would've had 8 if I pressed Narcissus as a Greek myth instead of a latin word:mad:
Also got dark tower questions, Shakespeare and Stephen King questions..
10/11/2008, 3:15 PM
Ah, the Dark Tower.
Did that book have an actual point? Only read the first one, but it was one of the most rambling books I've ever read. I can't remember a single thing that happened, other than there being a tower which never got any nearer no matter how much yer man walked.
10/11/2008, 3:19 PM
Ah, the Dark Tower.
Did that book have an actual point? Only read the first one, but it was one of the most rambling books I've ever read. I can't remember a single thing that happened, other than there being a tower which never got any nearer no matter how much yer man walked.
I read the third one, I think it was a Christmas or birthday present, so it made even less sense. I certainly didn't rush out to read the rest of them (if I had I'd have gotten at least 2 more questions right)!
11/11/2008, 2:04 PM
9 in 80 secs has me top today so far...last weed I'd have been down in 6th or 7th.
4 of my questions were in French!
11/11/2008, 2:07 PM
9 in 80 secs has me top today so far...last weed I'd have been down in 6th or 7th.
4 of my questions were in French!Damn it, I was going for 5 in a row!
I had two questions in French and one in German.
11/11/2008, 2:11 PM
1 in French and 1 in Italian for me. A lot easier than the previous days though.
Battery Rover
11/11/2008, 2:44 PM
I had 4 of them in Latin and 1 in Italian. Managed to get them right but it was the english language ones that got me.
11/11/2008, 3:24 PM
Jesus, I got four questions on French sayings and one on German. WTF?!
Hopefully, they'll bringing up some Spanish ones soon...
I read halfway through my Italian question and gave up and guessed..wrong. And where Turino is and what elector became the King of Prussia in 1701..
Though didn't mind the Greek football questions:cool:
Yeah that's it, WTF is right!
I wouldn't mind questions on languages. I got one on Latin - grand. But one fully in Italian and one fully in French is not good (though it seems I got off lightly), and they weren't ones with place names or personages you could recognise and pick out, you had to be able to read them. Lucky I got those Italian CDs from the Mail last year! :D
12/11/2008, 8:26 AM
Brace yourselves for the science and tech questions. Oh boy.
Battery Rover
12/11/2008, 9:24 AM
Brace yourselves for the science and tech questions. Oh boy.
My feelings exactly. its a real challenge now and that can only be good
12/11/2008, 9:36 AM
That was tough. Delighted with 7. I was only confident of 3, was hopeful with 2 and had 2 good guesses. It's way more interesting this way.
12/11/2008, 10:20 AM
I didn't know babies lost weight after birth, much less how long it takes them to get the weight back.
12/11/2008, 10:35 AM
Really, really tough one today. Two of my guesses came up though. Schumi, you do seem to be some kind of genius though. Could you stop playing and give the rest of us a chance please? :p
12/11/2008, 11:40 AM
I was drinking till two, and was then asked to work out the length of the edge of a cube whose internal diagonal is 12" long. My head still hurts. :o
Unfortunately my degree is in Chemistry and so can't stand all the Biology questions I get. :mad: :(
13/11/2008, 2:04 PM
Schumi, you do seem to be some kind of genius though. Could you stop playing and give the rest of us a chance please? :p:D
I'm only mid-table today (was last just after I finished!) so you have your chance. Use it well. ;)
13/11/2008, 2:13 PM
I'm having no luck lately (well maybe a bit yesterday), about half my questions were on English geography e.g which of the following towns is not in Essex, these famous locks are on which river, I haven't got the foggiest!
14/11/2008, 1:00 PM
I think the difficulty of the last few days has scared people off playing. Don't worry folks it's a bit easier today. Just make sure to brush up on classical composers.
14/11/2008, 1:03 PM
I think the difficulty of the last few days has scared people off playing.
Seems to be more playing it lately. I got 25 points for winning yesterday I think. Leading today as well too. We're UCD, and we're better than you.:cool:
14/11/2008, 1:33 PM
Seems to be more playing it lately. I got 25 points for winning yesterday I think. Leading today as well too. We're UCD, and we're better than you.:cool:
That's the last time I go to IADT for my degree, dust gathering piece of crap :)
**** it, done by a retard's question! :mad:
Which number has an eerie conection with the Twin Towers attack.
I figured it was going to be 9 or 11. :D
What I didn't know was there was 11 people on one plane, 65 on the other (6+5, wooooooo), and the flags flew at half mast until the 22nd (2 11s, woooooooo!)
(BTW, there was 11 crew on that plane, 81 passengers. Why not 8+1=9 woooooooo! Or why not 92, as the 65 on the other plane was passengers AND crew)
Jesus is there no quality control with the questions in this thing??!!
[/rant]