Thread: United Churches Football League 2008/09

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    425 Posts

United Churches Football League 2008/09

New season starts this weekend. Just though I'd open a general thread, I think a few posters on here are playing at different levels in the league. My own club Terenure FC was the most successful side in the league last season, the first team came 2nd in division 2, won the MMI cup and divisional shield. Second team won division 3a and Sidney Bedlow Cup, while the 3rd team were 4th in division 3b. We look like having teams in Div 1, Div 2b, Div 3a and 3b this season.

UCFL website is here. It's not brilliant but usually has the results and tables fairly up to date. Doesn't work properly in Firefox either.

Best of luck to everyone for the season.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Fair play to you and the best of luck

how's it going

How did Terenure get on at the weekend?, where games on with the weather etc?

425 Posts
    First team lost 3-2, 4th team lost 4-2. Other two teams won't be starting for a few weeks. I'm with the 4ths, we were supposed to play tonight too but no referee available. Disappointing start for both teams, but playing teams that would be expected to be near the top too so could have been worse. Our team was very rusty, too many lads skipped pre-season, we were 1-1 at half time and fell asleep at start of second half, went 4-1 down, fought back and missed a few great chances, then again they had a few more chances too. Was a decent game considering the conditions, the standard seems to be roughly the same across all the division 2 and 3 leagues, only notice a real difference in division one and premier.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

it's early days cheif, once you get a few games under your belt you'll be okay, roll on the Star in the morning and more games to look forward to, is Ian Mahony still with yourselfs?, he played for us for a few seasons, Parkhead Celtic.

425 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dub-Boy View Post
    it's early days cheif, once you get a few games under your belt you'll be okay, roll on the Star in the morning and more games to look forward to, is Ian Mahony still with yourselfs?, he played for us for a few seasons, Parkhead Celtic.
    Ya Ian plays with my team. He's off on holidays at the moment. Missed the first game and he'll miss this week too. Pity because he was one of the few that did all the pre season.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

462 Posts
    I emailed the site a few months back asking for some info on previous seasons but did not get a reply. Is there another e-mail address.

if you emailed the website, www.ucfl.ie, then you might aswell have opened up the window and let a fart and see if someone in outer Mongolia hears it, they are not the best at up dating the results etc, it has been raised at alot of meetings, the LsL and AUL sites are far more comprehensive and quicker to update on the results and scorers .

425 Posts
    3B is looking like it'll be very tight this season.
    We're in the paper this week, my name is spelled wrong
    First team are doing pretty well in division one, seconds drew their first game and thirds had a handy win in their first. We've recovered from two defeats at home to record two away wins on the bounce.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Hi

How are yous getting on.The Forum for the UCFL isnt the best is it.Not much activated.

Rob

Slievenamon Utd

Div 2b