Yoyos-euros
    Smokes-cigarettes
    Gargle-drink
    Snug-alcove
    Shivnons (phonetic pronounciation)-heat or distant lightning
    Minerals-soft drinks
    Ginger/carrot-a red head
    Till-cash register

Can anyone come up with the nicknames of people living in towns and cities, eg, Dubs are known as Jackeens, Southside Dubs are known as Yuppies, Drogheda people are known as Drogs, Monaghan people are known as Mons.

Some Limerick Expressions

cmereaniwantcha = Would you mind coming over here for a second
    janawmean = do you no what I mean?
    pieball/lachie/pikie = member of the travelling community
    swear = are you being wholly truthful?
    daaaycnet = nice/decent
    della = A woman of dubious character
    Tis in my boll ix =I'm not sure thats 100% correct

roscommon people are known as rossies

prolly the best one ye can get cos it aint as obvious as mons or drogs anyhoo.

Quote Originally Posted by Lim till i die
    cmereaniwantcha = Would you mind coming over here for a second
    janawmean = do you no what I mean?
    daaaycnet = nice/decent
    Ha ha, class

Quote Originally Posted by Bosco
    LONGFORD
    mink-knacker
    sham-sometimes knacker,sometimes just used as a laugh when talking to someone
    munch-food
    lush-drink
    chatty-thing
    boure(spell check)-any woman
    feek-nice woman
    to feek-to ride
    It's some wheeze alright

230 Posts
    Jeetyet= did you eat yet?
    Nawjohnto= No, do you want to?
    gwayourdah=Really?

Drunk Kildare lingo.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

"well boy whats the craic with ya" seems to pass for hello how are you in sligo

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    "well boy whats the craic with ya" seems to pass for hello how are you in sligo
    or this: "well, wha are ya up ta?"

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Any crack at ya? (Not to be used in the States as I found out to my pearl on my first time there )
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dublinharp
    Any crack at ya? (Not to be used in the States as I found out to my pearl on my first time there )
    Or don't ask for a pack of fag's
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish
    Or don't ask for a pack of fag's
    the americans get a few quare looks also when they ask for a ride(lift) in this country
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

From Waterford:

whaddayatawkinaboutboy = you're wrong
    lack - girlfriend
    cant - to kick ones football into an inaccessibile area
    Resign, now!

Dundalk slang, Makes more sense then other ones I think.
    Well - Hello
    Wee - Small

Now this one is really unheard of but I have heard a few people say it.
    Scrag - Female scumbag
    Children in the dark cause accidents.
    Accidents in the dark cause children.

The biggest slang word in Cork is...... Langer!!

Quote Originally Posted by eamo
    Dundalk slang, Makes more sense then other ones I think.
    Well - Hello
    yup thats used in Sligo too

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    yup thats used in Sligo too
    Except it's usually followed by the word "sham"

or
    "well boy"
    "well buck"
    "well bucko"

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    It's some wheeze alright
    Some buzz Sham!
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.

SHOES!-used to highlight an individuals shoes
    JACKET!-used to highlight an individuals jacket
    HD!-used to highlight an individuals choice of hairstyle
    Buckying-Drinking
    To crush on-to leave/walk on
    pikey-knacker
    shades-guards
    De town-The only positive thing to come out of this place
    Last edited by Bosco; 08/11/2005 at 8:34 PM.
    If you can keep your head when all around you have lost theirs, then you probably haven't understood the seriousness of the situation.