Beecher Networks - Web Development, Hosting & Domains
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marketing the EL

Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    65 Posts

Marketing the EL

Looking at a lot of threads recently about why the league is struggling etc there seems to be a consensus that the league is not being marketed correctly/sufficiently, it got me thinking. What could be done?

While I have no background in marketing I tried to think of a few common sense things

Most if not all clubs would have a marketing dept, what if they got together monthly or bi-monthly to coordinate a focused and streamlined strategy, the league should not just pay lip service to this and should provide a budget to ensure clubs can develop a decent marketing strategy

Technology should be embraced, text updates and goal flashes should be promoted, use of the internet for delayed match highlights etc would be a profit generator, the technology to do this is there.

Clubs need to identify their target market, they should make contact with local schools and junior clubs etc for 2 obvious reasons: firstly you will hopefully pre-empt sky sports etc and create support – junior supporters clubs etc, and of course clubs can identify talent – I know a lot of clubs do this already but this should be a standard.

If clubs could come together with TV3 ( for example ) and broker a deal for live game and highlights package, there is no doubt that there is a market for live footie on TV – RTE are screening the confederations cup as we speak, this market needs to be tapped into, this would be a symbiotic relationship and RTE display a palpable lack of interest in the league at the moment anyway

Finally, and probably most importantly, players from the league need to establish themselves in the senior squad, when any player has been called up to the squad the daily rags are filled with it, this gives the league a huge profile for that week.